Go to Hammer Amp »

Only show reviews for Hammer Amp

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.86Write a Review    Read all 14 reviews

I Love It
 
86% (12 of 14)
I Like It
 
14% (2 of 14)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 14)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 14)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 14)

Hammer Amp Reviewed By: Sweetpea Bowl 07/07/2013 13:22 ( stars)

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.


 
The AMP is best characterized by a strong, early, smooth reaction and is best suited for fresh oil patterns. It does continue through the pocket very nicely and hits hard. I drilled mine with a 50 x 6 x 20 layout with a weight hole on my PAP. I left the ball at box surface. I found this ball to react EXACTLY as advertised. On fresh, I could close down my angles a little bit and see the ball read predictably and smoothly. It would not jerk off of the spot and it did continue through the pins. It especially mellowed out the wet/dry that is normally found on the THS. I believe this ball will see its best use on any fresh THS and any mid range sport/challenge pattern. A bowler can open up a bit with this ball and still see this ball work with proper hand positioning. Still, this ball\\\'s strong suit is fresh oil and clean backends. I can also see this ball being used by a variety of different bowling styles and rev rates. See your local proshop about the AMP!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sweetpea Bowl


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: Thompson32 08/13/2013 09:04 ( stars)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8 x 1" Up
 
BOWLER INFO:
PAP/Track: 5 1/8” x 1” up
Axis Rotation: 25 degrees
Axis Tilt: 12 degrees
Rev Rate: 440
Ball Speed: 18-20mph
LANE CONDITION
Lane Patterns Used: 39' House Shot, USBC Singles/Double Pattern, & 2013 ITC Sectional Singles Pattern (43'), Kegel Broadway Pattern, Kegel Kode Challenge Series (40’ & 45’)
COMMENTS
Ball Layout: 55 x 5 x 35
Likes: I was curious to see this ball in action from when I received it. The Amp has a new core (PowerShot Asymmetric) & cover (Overdrive Hybrid) and the core/cover compliments each other very well. There is enough push in the front part of the lane with the Clean N Sheen process of the cover, and this ball is very STRONG mid-lane motion ball that continues through the pin decks.
I compared this ball to my Ratchet drilled with the same layout, and the Amp is about 4 boards stronger overall than the Ratchet was…. So unfortunately, the Ratchet has now been replaced in my bag for the heavier oil patterns. Ended up polishing my Ratchet so when the Amp is too strong, the Ratchet will fill in nicely.
Dislikes: Might be a little too much ball for the lighter patterns, which it is not designed to be in the. There are plenty of options within the Hammer line for the lighter patterns.
This ball should be the 1st ball out of the bag for most style of bowlers in league as well as tournament play. The coverstock is very versatile & easily tunable to matches up well with most medium patterns. This ball does NOT quit in the backends… it is very continuous motion that most styles of bowlers will enjoy to have in their bag. You can move in with this ball and with the new core/cover combo, still turns the corner and smash the pins with the famous Hammer hitting power.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Thompson32


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: gobeavers92 08/12/2013 14:44 ( stars)

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


 
I drilled my Amp with a 4 1/2 in pin under my ring finger with the CG kicked out (4 1/2 x 3). I added an extra hole on my VAL 2 inches down from my PAP. I have had a chance to throw the AMP for a few weeks now and have seen it on multiple patterns. This ball is designed to be an evening arcing ball with a strong mid-lane roll so I laid out this ball to match up to the ball strengths (smooth and heavy rolling). I took the surface down with a 500 pad and then applied a medium polish to the 500 surface. The Amp glides through the front part of the lane with ease but picks up very nicely in the mid-lane without hooking too soon. Once this ball gets to the end of the pattern the Amp makes a smooth move toward the pins without slowing down too fast. I was pleasantly surprised to see how much continuation this ball has as it goes through the pins. Sometimes when you have a ball that likes to rev up early and roll it can lose energy when the ball goes through the pins. Not the Amp this ball always seems to be going right to left off the pin deck. Along with keeping the pins nice a low it is a recipe for GREAT pin carry. The Amp is a great benchmark ball. It does not hook too much or too early but it definitely has enough core and cover to be the first ball out of your bag on a fresh league or tournament condition. On an overall hook scale of 1-10 (10 being the most) I would give the Amp an 8, perfect to cover many conditions.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gobeavers92


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: Hammergirl 09/22/2013 12:49 ( stars)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
BOWLING BALL: HAMMER AMP
CORE: "NEW" POWERSHOT
COVER : "NEW" OVERDRIVE HYBRID
RG / DIFF 15# RG (2.49) Diff (.054)
LAYOUT: 50X4 1/2X40
SURFACE: BOX FINISH 500-1000-POWERHOUSE CLEAN N'SHEEN
LANE PATTERN: TYPICAL HOUSE SHOT (LIGHTER VOLUME) AND AUTOBAHN

PROS: I HAVE THROWN THIS BALL A LOT THIS SUMMER AND IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES. I HAVE NOT SEEN ANY WIGGLE DOWN LANE WITH THIS BALL YET! IT IS VERY STRONG AND VERSITILE. ON THE AUTOBAHN IT WAS THE BEST CHOICE TO BLEND THE LONGER VOLUME OF OIL AND STILL HAVE STRONG CONTINUATION THROUGH THE PINS. ON THE HOUSE SHOT FOR ME WHICH IS A BIT DRIER WHERE I BOWL, THIS BALL HAS HELPED ME BY ALLOWING ME THE CONFIDENCE TO MOVE DEEP IN AND TRUST THAT THIS BALL WILL COME BACK.. AND IT DOES!!

CONS: I HAVE NO CONS WITH THIS BALL IT IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammergirl


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: BOM300 09/12/2013 16:22 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4.75 x 0
 
The AMP is fast becoming my favorite ball. Part of the reason is the smooth, predictable continuation of this ball. I have loved the Arson series, but at times, needed something a little stronger at the backend without being a skid/flip ball. The AMP is that ball. If you love the Arson, but need a little more...here you go.

By raising the DIFF with the new Powershot Core, it makes this ball just strong enough be be more than the Arson without being uncontrollable or TOO strong. The 2.49 Rg allows the AMP to still be a good midlane ball, but as I said, raising the DIFF to .054 let's this ball comes strong on the backend.

If you need something not as much as a Taboo or First Blood, but more than an Arson...the AMP is the ball for you.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: Armstrong857 08/29/2013 12:50 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/4 x 2in UP
 
The Hammer Amp is a very smooth arc, early rolling ball for me.I drilled my Amp with a 3 3/8" pin to pap layout with the Mass bias in my thumb. This layout for me is very strong. The idea behind this layout was to create a motion similar to what a Columbia Enigma gave me. I have a stay I am very impressed with how similar the motions are for me. Out of the box the Amp was very smooth but didn't provide enough traction in oil for me due to my ball speed. I decided to sand the ball with a 500 grit then 800 grit abralon pads and that made all the difference in the world for me.With the extra surface the Amp was able to read heavier patterns and sport shots with ease. Out of the box I tend to use the ball on fresh house shots and sport shots that are between 38-40'in length. With the added surface I use the Amp on flatter patterns similar to that of the US Open 1:1 ratio. With the smooth arc and continuation this ball is very easy to read and make adjustments off of. For being an early rolling ball, the AMP still provides the tremendous hitting power that everyone has come to love from Hammer. I think every bowler could find a spot in there bag for this ball.

Mike Armstrong Jr.
Hammer Staff Member
PBA Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Armstrong857


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: bgburefan 08/21/2013 15:42 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I had my Amp drilled 60*4\"*25 and this ball reads the midlane strongly and has a ton of recovery on the backend. I have\'t had a Hammer ball read the midlane this good in a very long time. You are able to play the heavier volume in the middle of the lane on the THS and play straighter angles or open it up. Very Versatile ball from Hammer, this ball should be in everyone\'s bag!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bgburefan


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: jake_washington 08/17/2013 15:37 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I drilled my absolute curve with a 90X35 degree layout. The pin distance is 3 ½”. Using this layout on this ball, I was aiming for a strong mid-lane reaction with a smoother backend motion. The Absolute Curve was everything I was hoping it would be and then some.
It has quickly become one of my favorite balls, because it is so versatile and I can use it on so many different conditions. On any house patterns or medium length sport patterns I have used the Absolute Curve on, it gives me an easy-to-read mid-lane reaction that allows me to make more accurate adjustments as the lanes change. I have even been able to use it on longer patterns after they have broken down a little bit. It reads early enough to use on long oil due to the strong cover on the ball and the layout chosen for it, and since it isn’t going too long it is able to face up to the pins quicker and increase carry.
The Absolute Curve also has a very versatile cover. I have played around with a variety of different surfaces on a variety of different patterns and I didn’t see a single reaction that I didn’t like. I found that I had a particularly good reaction with the Absolute Curve on a fresh 45 ft. pattern after I had cut the surface to 1000 grit.
Overall, I am extremely impressed and already crazy about the Absolute Curve, and I think this ball would be an awesome fit for any bowler due to its versatility. Try one for yourself. You won’t be disappointed.

-Jake Washington


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jake_washington


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: Hammer23 11/19/2013 13:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    204
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 5/8 over and 7/8 up
 
LANE CONDITION

Length: 40 ft THS, Kegel Pattern Mexico City

Volume:Medium, Heavy

LAYOUT: 50 X 4 1/2 X 45

Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):


COMMENTS

Likes: The AMP is awesome piece. This ball has a lot of continuation, it never wiggles down lane. Very versatile ball. The cover is very friendly .....sanded or polish your layout keeps the same ball motion, just varies in overall length. I have used the AMP on several different patterns. It is rolls the best on the medium to longer patterns. However I sanded to ball to 4000 on high speed on a ball spinner and it shined up without polish. It gave me a lot of length and more continuation. I drilled the AMP with a stronger layout for me. It gives a very predicable ball motion. It is very smooth and strong , but does not loose backend reaction.



Dislikes: With the strong layout, it forces me to play away from the track.




Brent Watson

Hammer Amateur Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammer23


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: hammerbowler87 10/29/2013 17:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8 over 5/8 up
 
Layout=55x4 7/8x40
Rev Rate=425

The Amp is a must go to ball in the hammer line. With 1000 clean n sheen finish this ball gets down lane like a 4000 polished ball for me but hooks out the house like some of my duller equipment. The AMP fits perfect in between my Cold Blood and my Absolut Hook. This is great move in hammers mid high performance line from the ratchet and wrench. You will love this ball on any condition or surface that you house has. Get an AMP you wont be disappointed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hammerbowler87


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: Chrisbo 09/25/2013 12:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I haven't really liked a Hammer product in quite awhile. Most of them seemed to produce a skid/snap motion that I struggled with. However, the Hammer Amp has been fantastic on multiple lane surfaces for me.

The ball has great mid-lane read and is very continuous through the pocket. I have used the ball at three different houses (one of them actual wood lanes) and been extremely satisfied with the way the ball reads and reacts. The motion seems to be much more consistent than the old skid/snap, and it has done equally well when swinging the ball or going up the lane.

If you're looking for a ball with a great, consistent motion and fantastic carry, I recommend the Hammer Amp. It has a solid spot in my 3-ball lineup that I like to carry (and trust me, I own plenty of different bowling balls) due to its versatility and consistent reaction.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: Hammer23 09/24/2013 11:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    204
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 5/8 over and 7/8 up
 
About the Bowler
Bowling Hand Right Handed
Experience Advanced
League Average 228
Sport Shot Average 208
Ball Speed Medium-Fast
Style Cranker
PAP 5 1/2 over 1/2 up
LANE CONDITION
Length: 40 ft THS, Kegel Pattern Mexico City
Volume:Medium, Heavy
LAYOUT: 50 X 4 1/2 X 45
COMMENTS
Likes: The AMP is awesome piece. This ball has a lot of continuation, it never wiggles down lane. Very versatile ball. The cover is very friendly .....sanded or polish your layout keeps the same ball motion, just varies in overall length. I have used the AMP on several different patterns. It is rolls the best on the medium to longer patterns. However I sanded to ball to 4000 on high speed on a ball spinner and it shined up without polish. It gave me a lot of length and more continuation. I drilled the AMP with a stronger layout for me. It gives a very predicable ball motion. It is very smooth and strong , but does not loose backend reaction.
Brent Watson
Hammer Amateur Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Hammer23


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: istrike4u 09/22/2013 21:07 ( stars)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I read thru some of the early reviews and I have to say, maybe because Im left handed, but, my HAMMER AMP not only pick up strong in the midlane but turns the corner harder than any other ball in my bag, since the JET BLACK. I layed mine out stacked with the pin above the ring finger, nothing special. This ball is very much like when cheater balls first came out, it starts and never quits. Another GREAT addition to an already solid line, Thanks HAMMER!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by istrike4u


Hammer Amp Reviewed By: qball1221 09/19/2013 10:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    232
Sport Shot Average    201
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 over 1/2 up
 
BOWLING BALL: HAMMER AMP
CORE: "NEW" POWERSHOT
COVER : "NEW" OVERDRIVE HYBRID
RG / DIFF 15# RG (2.49) Diff (.054)
LAYOUT: 70 X 5 3/4 X 5
SURFACE: BOX FINISH 500-1000-POWERHOUSE CLEAN N'SHEEN
LANE PATTERN: TYPICAL HOUSE 41', MEXICO CITY 45'

PROS: I must say this is a great NEW core and NEW cover combo in our new Upper Mid. Designed to provide ultra-high mid-lane revolutions with a very defined breakpoint. The Amp handles medium to heavy house patterns very good, but really excels on medium to meduim heavy sport patterns, with the strong but controllable mid lane break point, and very strong continuation throw the pins. I never seen this ball ever wiggle down lane, even when there was carry-down.

CONS: not to good for short or light volume pattens, polish could help, and drilling depending on bowler's specs.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by qball1221


Read all 14 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter