Go to Radical Torrid Affair »

Only show reviews for Radical Torrid Affair

Customer Reviews          Average: 5Write a Review    Read all 8 reviews

I Love It
 
100% (8 of 8)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 8)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 8)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 8)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 8)

Radical Torrid Affair Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 08/29/2013 10:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 1 7/8"

Dual Angle Layout - 80 x 1 7/8 x 55"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box ( 500, 1000, 2000 Siaair/High Gloss)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

The Torrid Affair is my first bowling ball in this line from Radical. Since the ball has a solid coverstock with a symmetrical core, I'm expecting a smooth, easy-to-read reaction.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

The Torrid Affair is the embodiment of what is called a "benchmark" reaction. A medium hooking, controlled reaction with decent length. A polished solid is the best way to achieve the benchmark reaction, and Radical has done just that. The Torrid Affair has good length with a fairly strong, predictable backend reaction. This should be the first ball out of your bag as it will allow you to decide quickly if you need more or less hook, more or less length. Most of the time though, you'll just stick with the Torrid Affair!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Radical Torrid Affair Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 08/21/2013 17:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Radical Torrid Affair has a Symmetric core with a 183 on the perfect scale. Great ball for house shots during normal league or tournaments.
Torrid Affair is great for medium oil the motion in the backend is strong.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Radical Torrid Affair Reviewed By: Dwins 04/02/2014 02:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 3/8 over 11/16 up
 
Layout: 50x5.25x65
X-hole needed, placed on P3.5

I'd consider the Torrid Affair to be a "go to" ball. Very nice, even reaction on the lighter/medium house/sport shots. Struggles a little bit on the heavier house/sport shots, but comes in handy when the shot breaks down after a couple games (I could see this ball being great during singles at the USBC Open). If it seems to roll a little longer than you want/expected, just make a small surface adjustment with a 2000-4000 siaair pad. It will make the ball roll a touch earlier and still have that great, predictable reaction. Another great ball from Radical, and you can't beat the price that these are going for, they're pretty much just giving it to you!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dwins


Radical Torrid Affair Reviewed By: Dwins 04/02/2014 02:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 3/8 over 11/16 up
 
Layout: 50x5.25x65
X-hole needed, placed on P3.5

I'd consider the Torrid Affair to be a "go to" ball. Very nice, even reaction on the lighter/medium house/sport shots. Struggles a little bit on the heavier house/sport shots, but comes in handy when the shot breaks down after a couple games (I could see this ball being great during singles at the USBC Open). Another great ball from Radical, and you can't beat the price that these are going for, they're pretty much just giving it to you!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dwins


Radical Torrid Affair Reviewed By: RadicalJim 03/31/2014 23:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    231
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 and 1/4 up
 
Torrid Affair drilled 75 x 3 1/2 x 20
I drilled this to have a longer yet sharper back end reaction of the Torrid Elite. The ball actually "Revs" up in the mid and hits the pins with a ton of energy. This ball can be adjusted and adapted to many bowling styles and given its price point is a lot of ball and an easy benchmark piece.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RadicalJim


Radical Torrid Affair Reviewed By: Ferrinator 01/08/2014 17:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/2 over 1/2 up
 
This is quite possibly one of the best value balls in the market. Many of you may remember how good the Ultimate Inferno was...well this ball is like an Ultimate Inferno on steroids. The ball clears the fronts easily (especially for a solid), reads the midlane, and continues in the backend going through the pins like a Mack Truck!!! At this price point, it just doesn't get any better! The layout on mine is 65 x 5.25 x 45

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ferrinator


Radical Torrid Affair Reviewed By: skipnatty 11/04/2013 15:28 ( stars)


 
DRILL PATTERN
Pin to PAP: 4.25"
LAYOUT: 50 x 4.25" x 70
X Hole (if there is one): double thumb weight hole
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 300
Ball Speed: 17-18 mph
PAP/Track: 5.25" over, .75" up
SURFACE PREP
Grit: 1000 grit abralon wet sand
LANE CONDITION
Length: 43'
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Extreme OVER-UNDER THS
BALL REACTION
Length: 120/200
Back End: 170/200
Overall Hook: 150/200
Breakpoint Shape: smooth, midlane continuous
COMMENTS
Likes: The Torrid Affair is a great step up from the Torrid Elite. This ball is definitely a good 5-6 boards stronger than the Elite, and provides a more angular, enhanced move down lane increasing carry percentage when your Elite just isn't making the right shape.
Bowling primarily on wet-dry house shots this season in league, I've had to take this ball down to 1000 grit in order to get through the soup in the middle. This ball gives me the best of both worlds because I can ship it to the dry quick and it's not so responsive that it runs through the nose, but it's also responsive enough that if i miss into the oil, the ball still makes the corner and hits light and swishes the pins around like twigs. Great strength into and through the pins. A must have ball for someone who needs a mid-price ball with a LOT of hook for the price.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by skipnatty


Radical Torrid Affair Reviewed By: wonderbread2 11/02/2013 20:01 ( stars)


 
I put the pin right on the bridge for this ball< not recommended> but I did it because I had another ball drilled the ssame way.. and o my god what a great rolling ball . This is the hardest hitting mid price ball ive ever thrown. It is also one of the overall hardest hitting balls ive thrown.you will not be disappointed with the torrid affair . this is my first ball out of my bag and I can use it to find out what ball to throw..i usually stay with it at least for the first 2 games befor moving in or shelling down. More good news sanding the stock not a problem for this ball ,it still has a good reaction in the back after I sanded it to 2000 from factory finish.

go ahead click on add this to cart...........nowwwwwwww



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wonderbread2


Read all 8 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter