Go to Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL »

Only show reviews for Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.89Write a Review    Read all 9 reviews

I Love It
 
89% (8 of 9)
I Like It
 
11% (1 of 9)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 9)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 9)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 9)

Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/21/2013 12:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
The Meanstreak Beatdown from Brunswick will help you curb stomp the competition!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 2 1/2"
Dual Angle Layout - 75 x 2 1/2" x 40
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500/4000 Grit Siaair)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I decided to drill the new Meanstreak Beatdown up with the intention of getting a really strong read in the middle part of the lane with good continuation down lane.

I placed the pin 2 1/2" from my PAP to assist with getting the ball into a strong roll a bit earlier then normal. Layouts like this may be more a specialty layout for people but I thought we should see it on one of the new Brunswick balls and this one made the most sense. The solid version of the Nexxxus cover should react very well with an earlier motion and I should still get plenty of movement down lane.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
It has been a long time since I punched something up like this and I was very pleased with the motion I got.

Off my hand the Beatdown was clean through the heads. It was a little smoother then I thought it would be but it worked out just fine. This ball seriously went to work in the middle part of the lane. It really got into a strong roll and read the pattern very well, this was what I was looking for with this layout. As it got to the backend of the lane it had great continuation and never showed any signs of burning up or rolling out.

I was able to open up the lane a bit with this ball compared to the other 2 guys and I think the ball motion paired with this layout really created a great look for a typical house shot pattern. I think this ball compliments the previous Meanstreak balls very well and helps Brunswick complete a really strong upper mid-performance ball line.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlingball.com Reviews by Tony Ruocco


Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 06/21/2013 14:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 1 7/8"
Dual Angle Layout - 80 x 1 7/8" x 55

Surface Preparation - Out of Box ( 500/4000 Grit Siaair)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

I'm a huge fan of the Meanstreak and Meanstreak Brawler. The only time I get in trouble is if these two push a bit too long or aren't quite as smooth as I like on the backend. I wanted the Meanstreak Beatdown to be earlier rolling with an extremely even rolling reaction.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

This is one of my favorite reactions I've seen in a while! The Beatdown is VERY smooth and is quite a strong ball. It was amazing for me on our fresh house pattern and I had tons of area. I feel like I could stay with this ball all night by just making adjustments to the left. This ball had no trouble turning the corner. I also was able to throw the ball on a shot with carrydown and this ball made it so easy! The Meanstreak Beatdown is a monster!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 08/22/2013 15:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown the new release in the Meanstreak line. The cover is matte finish will give you strong reaction with good length on medium/heavy lane conditions.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: Spencer Watts 05/30/2014 13:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5.75, .125 down
 
What a shame that Brunswick would discontinue this ball! (I sort of have my suspicions why a ball company would do something like that.) At any rate, like the Ringer Platinum Pearl, this was a ball that I had my eye on for a while and I was not disappointed with my buying decision. I had this ball drilled pin strong without any weight hole. It's been 20 years since I've seen a ball finish through the pins like I saw with the Beatdown -- it reminds me of the first reactive ball I ever used, and which I still have.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Spencer Watts


Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: GreatWhite 08/20/2013 10:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 over, 5/8 up
 
The Meanstreak Beatdown rolls great! I have one with the pin above the bridge, as well as one with a pin under. I see a little more length and a lot stronger motion off the friction than my Maxxed Out, which is drilled the same. This ball rolled very well on the 52' "badger" pattern, with plenty of motion and carry. Also, lately in league I have been starting out with my pin up Beatdown. This ball opens up the lanes a ton and will make it back to the pocket from almost anywhere. This ball is a must have on any medium to heavy/long conditions. It is another clean, predictable motion created by Brunswick.

Barry McKee
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are soley those of the writer and not the Brunswick Corporation.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GreatWhite


Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 08/08/2013 12:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4x 3/4 up
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3
Starting Top Weight: 2.7 oz
Ball Weight: 15 lbs 3 oz
DRILL PATTERN
Ball: 65 x 5 x 70
X Hole (if there is one): small how low down VAL around 2'' toward the thumb
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 375 rpms
Ball Speed:17.5 mph
PAP/Track: 4 3/4 over 3/4 up
SURFACE PREP
Grit: Box Rough Buff
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Matte
LANE CONDITIONS
Lengths of patterns: 41 foot house shot, 52 foot sport, 41 foot sport, 40 foot sport
Volumes: moderate to heavy
Type: house and sport
BALL REACTION
Length: Clean through the heads with a strong smooth read of the midlane
Back End: strong arc
Overall Hook: moderately strong
Midlane Read: strong
Breakpoint Shape: smooth arc
COMMENTS
Likes: Smooth roll and easy recovery from a ball that reads the middle of the lane.
Dislikes: none
The Meanstreak Brawler has been my go to ball and one of my all time favorites. I throw it whenever I can. There are times, however, when the Brawler is just not strong enough to match up to the lane conditions and my Aura series balls are just too strong off of the friction. The new Meanstreak Beatdown answers the call in these situations and provides an earlier read with more overall hook. The Beatdown is about 5 and 3 stronger than a similarly drilled Brawler while reading the middle part of the lane several feet earlier. The Beatdown is also several board stronger than the C System Maxxed out with a stronger move off of the friction and more backend recovery. That backend move is what continues to separate this (and recent releases) from those Brunswick balls of the past. As I moved left with it and the house condition I was bowling on broke down, the Beatdown would continue to recover unlike some balls I have rolled in the past. The added recovery accompanying the smooth move will allow me to stay with this ball for a much longer time than other pieces with this reaction shape. The Beatdown not only allows you to have more backend recovery and more hook in the oil when you need it, but It also smooths out ball reaction on wet/dry lane conditions. Our house shot tends to make ball reactions look very flippy on the fresh. The Meanstreak Beatdown was just smooth, strong, and continuous. As the lanes dried out I moved an arrow left, rotated my hand around the side of the ball more, and continued to strike! If you are looking for a smooth powerful ball to smooth out wet/dry conditions or just a ball with reliable backend recovery on slicker conditions the Meanstreak Beatdown is a wonderful choice!
_________________________
Chris Garrett
Upstate Pro Shop
Greenville, SC
864-248-4737
Upstateproshop@charter.net
PBA Member
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: brunswick802 08/05/2013 23:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205-210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8" right
 

Bowler's Stats:
Right Handed
Speed: 18.5mph
Rev rate: 450rpm
Axis Tilt: 8*
Axis Rotation: 30* to 60*

Layout:
50* by 5" by 50*

Purpose: To give me an steady and strong reaction through the midlane and backend on heavier volume patterns.

On the lanes: I've thrown this ball on my lighter volume 36' house shot, a longer and heavy volume house shot for a tournament, and WTBA Los Angeles. On my home house shot, the Beatdown was almost too much ball even on the fresh. With the 4000 grit surface, the Beatdown required me to back my hand out of it at the release in order to keep it right of the headpin, even from 4th arrow. Although it wasn't the ideal ball for the condition, I got to see just how versatile this ball is with release changes. The ball continued to finish strong through the pins, seemingly regardless of my release. I could take more hand out of it and still watch the Beatdown crush the pocket and split the 8-9. I could play 2nd arrow with more speed and my hand ripping straight up the back of the ball and rip out 10 pins all day. Like I said, it wouldn't be my go-to ball on the pattern, but it's pretty awesome when "Plan E" still looks amazing through the pins. Now recently I bowled in a tournament on a longer and heavy volume house shot. Despite looking around and seeing several others leaving 2-10 combinations, I reached for the Beatdown and got the midlane read that others couldn't easily find early on. I started out playing 3rd arrow out to 5-6-7 and just slowly crept in as needed. The Beatdown read the last couple feet of the pattern and gave a strong recovery off of the breakpoint. At the pins, it's like the ball just continually pushed all 10 pins straight off the back of the pindeck; as if the ball just sucked the pins back with it. Although the pins really fly at this particular center, it didn't matter because the ball just flushed up perfectly for textbook strikes all the time. The midlane read it gave me early on in the tournament let me hit the ground running instead of having to make up pins later on as the pattern broke down more. Scoring big early got me into the cut line and definitely freed up my armswing. On WTBA Los Angeles, I had a similar look with the Beatdown as I did with my Aura Mystic. I could throw it over 3rd arrow, bank it off the lip at 36', and just let it run the pocket over. On this pattern, the only difference between the Beatdown and the Aura Mystic was the length of the hook spot at the gutter. The Beatdown was a much more even and arcing shape at the gutter in comparison to the Aura Mystic.

In comparison to the original Meanstreak (with the same layout), the Beatdown is easily 8-9 boards stronger for me with a ton more midlane read. Compared to the Meanstreak Brawler (slightly weaker layout), the Beatdown is about 4-5 boards stronger with still more of a arcing motion and it still starts up earlier. The closest comparison in the Brunswick line would be the Aura Paranormal. My Beatdown is a 2 board move right with my feet from my strike line for the Aura Paranormal. Their motion starts at about the same length downlane but the Beatdown checks up just a hair harder.

What I really think makes this ball special is the control of the midlane is provides that is so crucial on tough patterns. Upon seeing the motion of the ball in just my first couple of shots, I immediately thought this Beatdown could be making the flight with me to Reno next year and will be in my bag for all sport pattern tournaments. If it looked good on a 36' sport pattern, I can only imagine how much control I'll have of patterns in the 39-44' range.

Summary: The Beatdown is firmly planted in my arsenal for longer/heavier conditions, especially sport patterns. The 4000 grit cover reads the midlane like no other and the medium RG core saves energy for where it matters. That midlane control makes it essential for fresh sport patterns and house patterns on the heavier side. If you feel the need for a stronger ball that will actually read the midlane without hooking too early, the Beatdown is a must!

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brunswick802


Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: baer300 07/28/2013 12:22 ( stars)


 


I have had my balls a few weeks now and have thrown them on various patterns.

Mine are drilled 50x5x70 with a low hole and 70x5x40.

The Meanstreak Beatdown is the newest release in the Meanstreak line. It utilizes a solid version of the f(P+S). The Nexxxus had a pearl version of this cover.

The MB gives adequate length through the fronts and medium response off the friction. This ball will be my benchmark ball. The pin down gets me through the fronts and gives me a nice move downlane without over reacting. I have used this ball on shorter patterns and longer patterns. It also fits in between those as well.

The pin up ball gives me a little more "pop" off the spot. It by no means flips, but it makes a very nice move. This ball will probably get some shine added to quicken the response to friction some.

In overall strength I can compare this to the Paranormal Aura. It is not quite as strong but is close. The Mystic Aura and the MB can be used hand in hand. It is about an arrow more than the Brawler. The Brawler also has a slightly higher response to friction.

Brunswick continues to provide bowlers with multiple shapes and hook potential in every line.


Adam Baer
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Brunswick Meanstreak Beatdown MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: Cripper 07/06/2013 14:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    224
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/4" over x 3/4" up
 
I have this ball drilled with my favorite layout, 45 x 5 x 75 with my PAP being 4(1/4)" over and (3/4)" up, and the ball is great. I threw it OOB and I didn't care for how clean it was. Yes I said clean. It didn't do what I thought a solid should do so I put 1500 on it and the ball just came to life. It doesn't see the dry hard if I leak it right and it still has a good recovery when I get it inside a pinch. I threw it on the OC team pattern and the ball gave me a look that no one else had. I also threw it against the Brawler and original Meanstreak, all drilled the same, and the Beatdown is a perfect fit. If my Brawler goes too long I can just go to the Beatdown and stay in the same spot. I've got about 15 games on it and I'm very impressed with the reaction and ball motion. Hoping with a little lane shine it'll be even better.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cripper


Read all 9 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter