Go to Roto Grip Scream Gold/Teal Pearl »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink
Only show reviews for Roto Grip Scream Gold/Teal Pearl

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.58Write a Review    Read all 19 reviews

I Love It
 
63% (12 of 19)
I Like It
 
32% (6 of 19)
It's Ok
 
5% (1 of 19)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 19)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 19)

Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: 4drewsdad 10/16/2012 20:54 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
BEST DRY LANE BALL EVER!!! I have NEVER seen a ball (that was NOT plastic) get down the lane soooo far and still make a great move to the pocket until I bought the SCREAM. Its amazing and the PERFECT game 3 league ball. Best complement to my frantic. My dad was so impressed watching me throw it he bought one and loves it as much as I do. ;) If your looking for length and carry where plastic doesnt reward you enough.....look no further than this ball!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 4drewsdad


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: grstorm 10/09/2012 01:05 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 x 4 x 2 ½

The Scream is drill pin above the middle finger, cg kicked out with no hole. I needed something for when the lanes get really dry and not have to make a drastic move and lose the pocket. It is not a ball that you can stand left throw right when there is a good amount of oil unless you are a high rev bowler or if it’s dry enough. The lanes at my main center have pretty dry outside boards which is around 7 board and out to the 1 board. When I get to the dry weather it is swinging to the dry or going up the boards it does not give me and up and down read. Really consistent read all around. I am able to play in my comfort zone or even go up the boards and the ball does not over react. Nice control motion and when it hits the back end it doesn’t jerk like other pearl balls it is much smoother.

I compared it with my tropical heat hybrid and rising star, and I am able to stand 6 boards left with the Scream compared to the tropical heat and rising star which is great when the lanes get toasted and everything else is hooking too early. I kept the factory finish on it which is 1500 polished. With this new low end line for Roto Grip it gives the Roto Grip fan a great low end ball for dry lanes or if you wanna play straighter for the down and in bowler for a great price.

If you have any questions about the Scream email me at garrett.richardson@pinolebowlerssupply.com

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Pinole Bowler’s Supply
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.facebook.com/pinolebowlerssupply
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: Jim Kane Ocala Florida 01/24/2014 04:16 ( stars)


 
I purchased this ball because I have a high rev rate and wanted the weakest reactive resin ball I could find. There are similar weak reactive resin balls but this one has a box finish of 1500 polish. Knowing that the box finish was 1500 polish I was aware I could use a bowling ball spinner to change the cover to a lower grit like 500 or 1000 and I could go higher to grits like 2000, 3000 or 4000. I saw similar balls had 4000 grit out of the box so they could only be changed to hook earlier. This ball could be roughened or smoothed. My best average was 211 last year and that I obtained by mostly using a Ebonite urethane 50 that ball is a Kmart ball that is 30 years old. I throw that ball up 11 and 12. I wanted the Roto-Grip scream to be a reactive I could throw in that 2nd arrow area so I had Jeff Eden's drill my scream pin under the fingers. It was a disaster at the box finish of 1500 polish still around third arrow for me. It got a deep gash in it so I spun my scream down to 500 grit and tried that it put the scream around the center arrow and I had better balls for boards 20 and 25. I spun my scream 500, 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000 then hit it with polish. With no practice games I used a 4000 polished weakly drilled scream in the ten minute practice prior to league saw I could throw it up eleven it went straight and flipped hard on the end. I shot 733 without using the box finish. My point is the roto grip scream for me with the box finish was not doing what I wanted it to do go up near second arrow and that is what I wanted it to do when it would not go up second arrow I struggled with it's box finish going up third arrow and sometimes the ball with the weak drilling would sail right and miss the head pin. What I learned with this ball is if it hooks too much at 1500 polish you can weaken it if it hooks to little you can strengthen it to 500 or 1000 grit. Balls with box finishes 500 or 1000 grit can't be made much stronger and balls with box finishes 3000 or 4000 can't be made much weaker. The scream's 1500 polish finish is versitile as long as after you buy it you tell your local pro if your scream hooks too little or hooks too much for where you like too aim pay $5 to have the pro fine tune your scream.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: kylekalbus 02/11/2013 22:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
My friend drilled this ball out and he let me throw it in practice. I loved it so much that I threw a 730 series with a ball that wasn't fitted for me. Can't wait to get my own!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: The Gooz 01/15/2013 14:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    207
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 5/8 right 1/8 down
 
I bought this ball because I am a high rev/medium speed player and was hoping for something that I could use to play up the boards. I drilled the ball pin down, cg kicked out at a 30 degree angle to tame down the backend.

What I ended up with was a ball that was INSANE left off the spot when it hits dry. Last night on my local center's house shot I ended up playing 18 at the arrows out to 13-14 at the break point and the ball would skid the whole way down the lanes, SNAP at the end and destroy the pins. My center has a very flooded middle on their house shot and most equipment won't make it back strongly if left in the middle.

I actually love this ball and its versatility. I rated it a 4 because it was not at all what I expected. In my opinion you can't get much better for the price.

Once you learn how the ball rolls it is a must in my opinion.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The Gooz


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/27/2012 20:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Thanks for reading

Rotogrip Scream is here. Great looking ball, great price and fantastic performance. Went with my favorite layout here 65 x 4 3/4 x 65. I was able to use this on all transitions while using the Shout and easily got the ball to the pocket when the lane seemed to go away. The core is modified from the Rising Star Shooting Star and Shatter to allow the ball to conserve energy further down the lane. Add in the pearlized coverstock and you have a long straight ball through the front with a little strong arc on the back part of the lane. The more you rev it up the more it kicks. I have left mine with the Box surface as I will be using it more for when lanes get some extreme breakdown. Rotation is easy to see and when the roll picks up when encountering friction you will recognize it. The ball transistions extremely well into the pocket and shreds racks with ease.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: RonCase823 11/25/2012 21:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    241
Sport Shot Average    217
 
My Axis is 5 5/8 right, ¼ up, my speed is average and I would consider myself with higher revs but more up the back. So not a cranker but not really straight either.

Drilled the pin 5 ½” and the CG 5 ½” from PAP (pin down).

Oil is not its friend. This ball is for less oil, slow speed bowlers or lots of hand. The ball gets great length before its move. It can be used on the driest of conditions or when the heads are gone. My ball rolls too early on dry heads so this is the ball I will go to later in the day. Also I know several people that struggle with low speed and house shots are just too dry for them and now they have an answer without having to go to plastic. Great ball for slow speed or lots of hand.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RonCase823


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 11/25/2012 13:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
The Roto Grip Scream is in the HP-1 line. The scream is a high RG and low differential ball, just what I was looking for the drier lane conditions.
I drilled the Scream 4.75 x 4.5 x 2.75 pin up.
The Scream is very clean through the fronts, and strong arc on back. The scream doesn't have a skid /flip reaction, more of a hard rolly move off the spot.
I go to this ball when the heads dry up and I need some length..
For a entry level ball from RG the Scream is a great ball for the money.
Plus has great shelf appeal.
PAP 4 up 1 1/4



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: YANKEEMAN 11/16/2012 15:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    219
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" right 1/8" up
 
Great dry lane ball. This ball really scoots down the lane, as a matter of fact I had to scuff mine up a little because it will squirt down the lane if it encounters oil. I haven't been on truly dry conditions but it has a lot more pop than plastic spare balls and gives me more length than any of my other equipment.
I drilled my Scream straight up 12:00 5-1/4 x 5 pin over the bridge cg below the bridge and even with my low ball speed I can get it down the lane in the dry. This ball saves a lot of energy and is a must on medium-dry conditions. A good spare ball on a lot of conditions and a good ball for both the novice and the serious bowlers.
Ken Taylor Roto Grip Amateur Staff member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by YANKEEMAN


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: manger.15@wright.edu 11/15/2012 15:47 ( stars)


 
I bowl for wright state university and this ball is great on light/dry oil when something is needed to swing right and come back. To me there seems like there is to much backend but it could just be from the layout I have.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 10/07/2012 01:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
Sssssccccrrrrreeeaaammm is all i heard when i threw this ball i got to use this ball on some really bad dryed up lanes with ease.gets threw the front part of the lane no problem but really has some great backend i saw in my eyes.love the colour bright and awsome to watch go down the lane.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: duncanhank09@gmail.com 09/30/2012 21:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    207
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    unknown
 
I enjoy the reaction of the Scream. It did everything I expected of it. However, there was an incident. By me not applying insurance on the ball, I am not blaming anyone of fault. During the fourth game, the ball returned with a gash approximately 3/16 inches deep and 5/8 inches long/wide jagged. At this time, I\'m having it repaired smoothed out so the chips from it will not grow.

Check the integrity of the material of the coverstock. It might be weak on this part of the ball. I\'m right handed, thus the weak point was not on my track.

Hank Duncan


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by duncanhank09@gmail.com


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 09/04/2012 13:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Scream--- 55x5x60 layout-box condition
Patterns tested on: THS on HPL, SPL, and ½ HPL and ½ wood, and Los Angeles pattern
The SCREAM worked well on the HPL and ½ and ½ surfaces on THS and LA pattern. The ball loves the lighter volume and lighter oil, when heavier oil is found; the ball tends to “give up” near the end of the pattern. This ball is great for lighter oil patterns and for slower ball speed users. The ball likes the first few boards on the house conditions and I was able to point and play or play the channel and was able to strike at will with it. For an entry level ball, this ball is money!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: John Brodersen 09/01/2012 16:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 3 oz, 2.62 top weight, 3 1/2-inch pin.

The Scream, which is a polished pearl, was drilled using the dual angle method. The layout is a 4 inch pin, 60-degree drill angle and a 30-degree VAL angle. An x-hole was placed in the P2.75 location. Using Storm’s layout terminology the layout would be 4 by 5 with a 2 1/8 pin buffer. The cover was left OOB which is 1500 polished. The color scheme of the Scream is bright and eye grabbing

The pattern bowled on was a 41 foot, 24 micro-liter broken down house condition. I had used a Defiant Edge and a Berserk earlier and was playing around 22 with them. With the HP1 Scream, I was able to move my feet 11 right and my target 5 right to get closer to the friction and get to the pocket. The Scream was very clean through the fronts, cleaner than the Shout, on the broken down pattern. The Scream made a much stronger move than the Shout off the friction into the pocket. I would describe the move as a hard arc. The hit and carry was well above my expectations based on my experience with the Roto Grip planet balls. Compared to the Shout the Scream was a little longer and quicker off the break point. The overall all hook was about the same as the Shout, just a different motion.

The new Roto Grip HP1 lineup of the Scream and Shout will provide additional ball choices and motions for those lighter oil or broken down conditions.


John Brodersen
RG amateur staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Scream Green/Pink Reviewed By: kingpinwoods 08/21/2012 10:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4" over and 1/4" up
 
                                                     ROTO GRIP SCREAM

I WAS THROWING THIS BALL ON THE LANE I THREW THE SHOUT ON. IT SURPRISED ME!!!! I WAS THINKING WEAKER THAN THE SHOUT, BUT I SHOULD NOT EVER THINK. I MOVED OVER TO A FRESH LANE WITH THE 39'HOUSE SHOT ON IT AND SQUARED UP AND WAS PLAYING 12 TO 5 WITH A BIG BOOMING MOVE TO THE POCKET. I BOWLED SEVERAL GAMES WITH THE SCREAM AND AS LONG AS I GOT IT TO THE FRICTION DOWN THE LANE,  IT READ AND HOOKED AND HIT LIKE CRAZY. THIS BALL REALLY WENT WAY BEYOND MY EXPECTATIONS. IN THE PAST, PEARL EQUIPMENT AND MY GAME DIDN'T REALLY MATCH UP VERY WELL...TOO MUCH SPEED AND NOT ENOUGH HAND!!! BUT THE LAST FEW PEARLS HAVE REALLY MATCHED UP GOOD AS FAR AS OVERALL ROLL TO HOOK COMBO. GREAT JOB WITH ALL FIVE OF THE NEW BALLS.  


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kingpinwoods


Roto Grip Scream Gold/Teal Pearl Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/05/2014 13:56 ( stars)


 
The 15 lb Scream is a good ball. It hooks perfectly on lighter oil and
is a great late-game ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Roto Grip Scream Gold/Teal Pearl Reviewed By: 1ferd63@gmail.com 10/22/2013 22:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    173
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
PAP    14lb. 5 7/8" X 7/8" up or 13lb 4 5/8" X 1 3/16" up
 
Since I have a good release that allows me to get a good roll on the ball I'm having a good time with this ball on med. lanes.
The pins seem to jump out of the way of the ball Ha. Ha.
Thanks!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 1ferd63@gmail.com


Roto Grip Scream Gold/Teal Pearl Reviewed By: 1ferd63@gmail.com 10/19/2013 02:02 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    173
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
PAP    14lb. 5 7/8" X 7/8" up or 13lb 4 5/8" X 1 3/16" up
 
It goes down the lane like it want to destroy the pins without any mercy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 1ferd63@gmail.com


Roto Grip Scream Gold/Teal Pearl Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 08/12/2013 14:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Scream: Layout: 30 x 3 3/8th x 60… box condition…
Tested on: 41 ft THS with HPL with ICE oil and Beaten Path with ICE oil.
The Scream 2013 was a battle for me at first, I tried to play too straight and too far left for the ball, once I found my comfort zone with it, the ball was awesome… I stood 13 and look at the 4 pin as my target, this ball went straight and then had a nice turn into the pocket, I was waiting for the hard charge thru the head pin, but did not see that what so ever. On the KEGEL pattern and stood even farther left, at 9 and look at 5-7 and just tweeted it for there, once I had carry down, this ball gave up a little on the KEGEL, but never showed any signs of weakness on the THS. This ball will be great for houses that have wood or older HPL or with house patterns that don’t have a lot of volume… Great ball for shorter sport patterns also…


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Read all 19 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter