Go to Roto Grip Rumble »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Rumble

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.69Write a Review    Read all 26 reviews

I Love It
 
69% (18 of 26)
I Like It
 
31% (8 of 26)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 26)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 26)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 26)

Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 08/20/2013 14:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Rumble will give you length through the heads but strong motion in the midlane and backend.
The Rumble is for medium lane conditions without losing the strong roll in the front and a smooth roll in the backend.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 08/12/2013 14:54 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Rumble: Layout: 50 x 4 x 45 (my favorite layout) … box condition…
Tested on: 41 ft THS with HPL with ICE oil and Beaten Path with ICE oil.
The Rumble proved to be a little longer in length and more of a roller in the backend. On the THS I moved into 27 and looked at 15-18 and allowed the ball to break around 7-9 area and the ball did not hook early or roll out like balls I had prior like the Bersek and Riot. I found this ball very forgiving when missing left on both the THS and KEGEL pattern. On the KEGEL pattern, I actually stood at 30 and played 17-20 and used the 12-13 area as a break point… This ball held up even when carry down became a factor with the other bowlers that were practicing with me. This will be a great benchmark ball for lower speed player and for bowlers that like that very predictable roll and hook.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: davkarsports 01/14/2014 12:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is another one from Roto Grip where the ball plays stronger than the specs. Mine is drilled with the pin up and kicked right of the ring finger. Playing on shorter tournament patterns (Viper, Cheetah, Wolf) as well as on THS after the fresh burns up, the Rumble gets down the lane and FLIPS HARD.

If you're a tournament bowler or you're looking for a ball that will get down the lane without sacrificing power on drier conditions, the Rumble is a good ball to have in your bag.

Dave Han
PBA Regional Member
Storm/Roto Fan


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: im4pats54 12/10/2013 16:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    241
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Simply the best ball on the market in that price point. This ball reads the mids and makes a strong continuous move to the pocket. Don’t let it fool you..Out of the box it seems a little weak, but the more you throw it, the more it seems to want to hook. Great ball for the person wanting to buy 1 ball and have it last. One ball every style of bowler needs to check out.

“Lets get ready to rumble”


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by im4pats54


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/29/2013 14:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Tough not to like this new core and cover combo. Are you a high rev player that needs more control and push throughout the whole lane? More of a tweener or stroker that is looking for a predictable not too overly reactive motion? This is without a doubt a great choice. The new late roll core allows you to drill this ball agressive and it will not burn up too early even with the out of box surface. We drilled this ball with a very basic layout with the hopes of trying the "Motion Hole" and boy did it work great with and without. The Rumble was predictable throughout the entire lane and maintained this with the "Motion Hole" and other surface changes as well. Shown it has the Out of Box surface and as you can see it still handles the heavier volumes in the middle of the lane but the late roll core doesn't allow it to blow up or roll out. The continuation for this ball is maintained no matter what. I have been able to use this ball on all short and middle patterns and for me has worked best on wood lanes or high friction lane surfaces.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: jeff_mersch 11/18/2013 09:15 ( stars)


 
Layout is pin under ring finger 4” from my pap; cg is shifted out with a balance hole.

I am a left handed tweener with a 325 rev rate.

Having the combination of solid coverstock and symmetrical weigh block has always been one of my favorite ball motions. The rumble definitely continues this trend for me. It clears the front and still has enough energy to get through the pins. I have also taken the surface down to as low as 500 grit, and the coverstock can definitely handle it. I can use the ball on house shot conditions or tournament play.

For the price point, can’t beat the value.

Jeff Mersch
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
PBA Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff_mersch


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 11/17/2013 22:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
Rumble is what this ball does it rumbles the lanes and the pins.My rumble allows me to control the lanes on thows slicker lanes. Im able to controld the fronts and mids with this ball still giving me the backend i need to carry. Rumble all the way baby

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 11/17/2013 22:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
Rumble is what this ball does it rumbles the lanes and the pins.My rumble allows me to control the lanes on thows slicker lanes. Im able to controld the fronts and mids with this ball still giving me the backend i need to carry. Rumble all the way baby

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 11/17/2013 21:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
The RG Rumble is the latest symmetrical in the HP2 Line. I used the Storm VLS system and the drilling came out to be 4 5/8 x 3 1/4 3 1/4. My pap is 4 up 1 1/4.
The Rumble is a very smooth and controllable ball. Its a ball reaction that will allow you to play straighter through fronts and predictable move off of the spot. It has a medium to slower response to the friction. Similar reaction to the RG Riot, but I think it is a hair stronger than the Riot. The Rumble will be a good fit for medium house shots. Probably would steer away for the real dry conditions or really tight conditions, but there are other balls for those patterns. I think the Rumble is good for when the lane conditions can spotty or tricky as it will help smooth out the reaction.

Another great ball from Roto Grip King of Them All.

Brian Watson
Storm/RG
Amateur Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: seanbaker 11/17/2013 16:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5inches right 1/2 inch up
 
Rotogrip Rumble
PAP-5 over and ½ up
Ball Speed: 15-17mph
Rev Rate: 300-500
Right Handed
Layout: Basic pin up with ½ side weight
Surface Preparation: OTB

What I wanted from this ball: Late roll with a strong continuation to the pocket
Result: Exactly what I wanted.

Being a huge fan of the wrecker, I wanted this ball to stronger with a more violent backend reaction. This is exactly what I got from this ball. I didn’t alter the surface at all and went with a strong drill pattern for me. I did not put a weight hole in this ball, but did put about ½ ounce side weight to help it move.

I tested this ball on our home wood lanes with our house pattern. Our house pattern is a tough shot with dry heads in the middle portion of the lanes from 10-10 and a huge early backend and a hold area from 10-5 with a massive out of bounds 5 and out.

I bowled 3 games keeping this ball around the 10 board and scored great. I managed to get great length and a hard continuing backend reaction towards the pocket. The carry was awesome and this ball carried both light and heavy pocket hits for me. The second set of games, I moved deeper inside playing around the 15 board and swinging the ball out to 8 board. Keep in mind that our house patter has an out of bounds past the 5 board. The rumble did exactly as I expected it to do. I was able to get great length throughout the dry portion of our lanes and still get a great snap to the pocket. I did hang some corner pins, but that is expected with our pattern due to the massive backend in the middle portions of our lanes. I was able to get this ball a bit wide and still have recovery to the pocket as well.

Compared to the wrecker, this ball is much more controllable and forgiving.

Pro shop reaction: I cannot keep this ball in stock. As soon as I put one on display, it sells within two to three days! This ball has a fantastic look as well. All of my rumble customers agree that this ball is much stronger than they expected.

Recommendations: I would recommend this ball for any bowler ranging from beginner to advanced bowlers. The rumble would be a great benchmark ball to start out with.

Storm-Roto Grip Staff
Sean Baker
Bowl Like a Pro Shop
Paducah, Ky 42001


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by seanbaker


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: TommyGN 11/15/2013 13:36 ( stars)


 
The Roto Grip Rumble is a solid covered ball in the HP2 line and is the follow up to the Shatter and Wrecker bowling balls. The Rumble has a different core shape called Late Roll 51. This produces less flare than the Neutron core, and an overall more controllable reaction. The Rumble has the 55M cover and comes from factory with a 2000 abralon finish and is orange and black. The Rumble has an RG of 2.55 and a differential of .030 in 15lb balls.
The Rumble is much more controllable than the Wrecker. It allows me to play straighter angles through the front of the lane (with some volume up front), and just smoothes out the backend reaction. There are times when you need this kind of reaction, especially when the lane is playing a little tricky, and you just want to control the pocket and leave makeable spares when you miss. The Rumble is a ball that would be good for the “bench mark” tag, as it is predicable and continuous. The Rumble is also a good step down from the Disturbed, when you still need surface on your ball and don’t want a lot of change of direction in the back part of the lane.
There are plenty of bowling balls on the market that cover lots of boards and make for high risk high reward bowling. The Rumble is a ball to throw when you just want to score and keep your angles in front of you. It’s not flashy, and it doesn’t hook the entire lane, and that is a great thing. It reminds me of what urethane rolls like when used on the proper volume of oil for a urethane ball.
The Rumble will be a great ball for just about every bowler, as long as he or she uses it in the right capacity. The high rev bowlers will get better control of the pocket as well as bowlers that have a lot of axis of rotation. Straighties will like the fact that you can go up the boards with it, and not get it to over react on the drier boards and see some “freeze” at the pocket. I’m considered a tweener, and I like the fact that I can play closer to the straighties line, and take advantage of entry angle with the Rumble. If I need to hook the lane, then I would go to a different ball, as my release strength wouldn’t afford me a very high carry percentage from inside.
The Rumble will find a home on most medium conditions, steering clear of the really dry and really oily lanes. There are lots of other balls on the market that will work for those conditions. The Rumble is just a good solid performer and gets the job done, to be plain and simple. Thank you for reading my review of the Roto Grip Rumble.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TommyGN


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: Ldawn318 11/15/2013 01:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" over and 3/4" up
 
Weight: 15 lbs.
Pin Length: 3\"-4”
Drilling: 69 x 5 1/4 x 30 with no hole
Pattern Length: 41 ft.
Pattern Volume: Medium
Pattern Type: THS
Right Handed

Lets talk Rumble. The Rumble is a very rolly ball for its price point. By tradition, the HP2 line gives me a better skid/snap reaction. However, I was proven wrong when I drilled this ball. The surface of this ball allows it to grab early and the low differential gives us the controlled motion down lane. So with that being said, if you are currently using a Disturbed and having a problem with the ball over reacting and reading the pattern too early, you should be able to step down to a Rumble and move a couple boards left and start turning the big wheel. Also, if you are throwing some Storm equipment such as a Reign of Power or an IQ Tour Solid, the Rumble will also be a great step down from these two balls as well.

LD Dawn
Roto Grip Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ldawn318


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: kingpinwoods 11/13/2013 20:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4" over and 1/4" up
 
Rumble

Sleeper...WOW, I was extremely surprised, this ball is now the first ball out of my bag on house shots. I use to take the Disturbed out first, but since drilling my Rumbles it's now the first ball out. The Disturbed on some house shots was to strong, but the Rumble is AWESOME.
I used the Rumble (box finish) on a house shot playing up the boards, crossing 10th board out to the 5th board with the ball floating through the fronts with a continuous strong arc on the backend. The Rumble really drives through the pins. I could use the Rumble all day, the house shot never got to dry for me. As long as I had some oil in the fronts I could keep moving left and the Rumble stayed in play.
I used it on some sport patterns, I struggled with it on the heavier patterns, but the lighter sport patterns it looked like a champ... I really like it on the lighter patterns.
This ball would be a great fit for most every league bowlers on most house shots. On the lighter sport patterns it would be a great addition to most every bowler.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kingpinwoods


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: mikelj 11/12/2013 09:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I tested the Rumble both a house shot and on PBA conditions. This ball proved to be very predictable under both conditions.

My Rumbled is drilled with the pin above the fingers keeping the box finish. This ball was clean through the front end and produced about 4 inches of flare. The ball rolled strong off my hand and in the mid-lane the ball began it roll early and made a solid, smooth move to the pocket. ?

The Rumble has a very predictable reaction, which is ideal for the league player. As the lanes transition, I could simply move left, play a little deeper and continue to use this ball.

What I enjoyed the most about this ball is the predictability of the cover. It produced a nice steady hook to the pocket. I was getting 4-5 inches of flair and bouncing the ball off the dry all night.

The Rumble will make a nice addition to anyone’s arsenal.
?


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: grstorm 11/11/2013 00:02 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 4 ½ x 4 ½ x 3 ½

The Rumble is a great edition to the Roto Grip mid to low performance line up. With the solid cover stock and the new Late Roll 51 weight block it is the smoothest reaction ball in the HP2 line up. The Rumble has the pin drilled into the ring finger with the cg in and no hole. I am able to play straight up the boards which I usually cannot do with a solid but with it being a weaker (but still strong) solid than all the other solid balls I have it is very versatile, predictable and a smooth back end motion. Once the lanes open up and the outside line is starting to dry up and the Rumble starts to jump I am able to move more right to my A game and does not over read but keeps a good line until it gets to the back end and makes a smooth turn with a lot of power for a mid to low end solid. The Rumble is a great ball for someone who wants something smooth but not super strong at a lower price.

If you have any questions about the Rumble email me at garrett.richardson@pinolebowlerssupply.com

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Pinole Bowler’s Supply
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.facebook.com/pinolebowlerssupply
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: grstorm 11/10/2013 23:30 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 4 ½ x 4 ½ x 3 ½

The Rumble is a great edition to the Roto Grip mid to low performance line up. With the solid cover stock and the new Late Roll 51 weight block it is the smoothest reaction ball in the HP2 line up. The Rumble has the pin drilled into the ring finger with the cg in and no hole. I am able to play straight up the boards which I usually cannot do with a solid but with it being a weaker (but still strong) solid than all the other solid balls I have it is very versatile, predictable and a smooth back end motion. Once the lanes open up and the outside line is starting to dry up and the Rumble starts to jump I am able to move more right to my A game and does not over read but keeps a good line until it gets to the back end and makes a smooth turn with a lot of power for a mid to low end solid. The Rumble is a great ball for someone who wants something smooth but not super strong at a lower price.

If you have any questions about the !Q Tour pearl email me at garrett.richardson@pinolebowlerssupply.com

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Pinole Bowler’s Supply
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.facebook.com/pinolebowlerssupply
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: bigmikecraig 10/14/2013 20:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4
 
Lay Out: 4.5" from PAP at 60* PAP angle and 32* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 60/4.5/32. The pin ended up about 1.5" above my ring finger with the CG slightly swung out from the ring finger. The 60* angle put the RG about an inch right of my thumb. I also have a weight hole 5" straight across the center line.

Surface: I am box finish which is 2000 abralon.

Purpose: I wanted to drill up this up to try to fill a benchmark type reaction my arsenal is badly missing.

Lane Condition Observations: I have thrown this on a couple of different patterns: PBA X Chameleon, modified Chameleon ran to 45', and 2 different volume/length house shots on Pro Anvilane. The Rumble was only out of it's element on the 45' shot; It just didn't have the teeth or motor to make any real kind of move off the spot on this pattern. On the house shots, it was smooth off the friction almost like I could keep it closer or in the friction more than my stronger balls like the Marvel-S, Lucid, and Disturbed.

Response to Friction: The Rumble in box condition is a medium to slower response ball. This one reeks of control and gives the impression even shined up some, it will stay in control.

Other Ball Comparisions: I threw it with my Deranged, Lucid, Shout, and Lights Out. Compared to my Deranged, the Rumble is smoother off the spot and not as jerky. The Deranged makes a good strong move off friction and is a higher response ball. My Lucid is still 4000 box and it gets up in the backend stronger than the Rumble. Again another quicker response ball. The Shout gets thru the fronts better event the new duller Shout 2013 gets a lot further downlane then the Rumble. My Lights Out is close reaction wise, but it has to start in the oil first. If I get the Lights Out in the friction too early it checks faster while the Rumble just slows down.

Final Thoughts: If your looking for something that reminds you of the Riot from a couple of years ago, then get a Rumble or two in your bag. A real nice step up from the HP1 line of balls also as it reads earlier and more predictably than the newer Shout 2013 which has the same 2000 surface on it. To use as a true benchmark though, you might need something with a little stronger core/cover combo like a IQ Tour or a solid-based hybrid like the newer Reign On.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bigmikecraig


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: RonCase823 09/25/2013 23:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    241
Sport Shot Average    217
 
My Axis is 4 7/8 right, ¼ up, my speed is average and I would consider myself with higher revs but more up the back. So not a cranker but not really straight either.

Drill pin 4” from PAP and CG 4 ½” from PAP.

I was looking for a strong, even, heavy roll with this and with my release that’s what I got. I’ve used it on heavy oil patterns that I played straight through the fronts and it rolls great. It starts turning well at mid lane and keeps on going. The ball has a lot more back end reaction than I expected. I’ve put it as low as 1000 grit on this ball and love it on oil, even the PBA 50’ pattern. For oil this is probably my favorite ball. I’ve even had success on wet house patterns. For an even, predictable roll this ball is great.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RonCase823


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: John Brodersen 09/24/2013 13:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
The layout selection used was based on the Storm VLS system and suggestions made by Mr. Steve Kloempken of Storm. My thanks to Mr. Kloempken for his suggestions, time and knowledge.

Ball specs – 15 lbs 2 oz, 2.75top weight, and 3.5-inch pin.

The Rumble was drilled with a low RG layout as follows; using Dual Angle terminology - 2 inch pin distance, 60 degree drill angle and a 40 degree VAL angle. Using Storm’s drilling methodology the layout is 2 X 5.5 X .75 pin buffer. An X-hole was needed and placed in the P2.5 location. The surface was left OOB which is 2000 dull.

The Rumble is the latest symmetrical, solid in the HP2 line. I initially threw the Rumble on the USBC White #2 pattern. What surprised me the most was the length down the lane the Rumble provided. With the cover at 2000 I was expecting an earlier read. The chosen layout combined with a .030 differential and mild cover provided a smooth and predictable motion on the back end. The flare rings were fairly tight. I would rate hit and carry as above average. The Rumble is definitely more of control ball when compared to the big backend of the Wrecker (hybrid) and Shatter (pearl) in the HP2 line.

With the selected layout, the Rumble will allow me to play with more closed angles and closer to the friction on fresh medium and perhaps fresh medium-light conditions. Unless you have a lot hand the Rumble will need to see some friction to get it going.


John Brodersen
RG amateur staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: daniel.schaden@beconet.com 09/23/2013 11:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The Roto Grip Rumble is HP-2 line along with the Shatter and the Wrecker. The Rumble is a Solid cover stock that complements the Shatter which is a pearl cover stock and Wrecker which is a Hybrid cover stock. The Rumble does not have the skid flip motion of the Shatter or the Wrecker but it does have decent length and a very continuous backend motion.

The Layout that I used for the Rumble is 45 X 5 ½ X 45 with an X hole 7 inches from the center of my grip or the Pin Above the fingers with a 7 inch hole. My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up, rev rate around 300, ball speed around 15MPH and I am right handed.

For my review I threw the Rumble and the Shatter and compared the differences. Both balls have similar layouts (Pin over the fingers with an x hole) and I kept them at box finish so with the Rumble being at 2000 and dull and the Shatter at 1500 and Polished there was a noticeable difference in length. The Rumble rolled earlier and more continuous were as the Shatter was a more Skid Flip ball motion. On the Typical House Pattern were I was throwing the two balls, I was farther left with my feet and my target line was also a little farther left with the Rumble compared to the Shatter. The reason is the Rumble at box surface needs some oil in the front part of the lane in order to store energy for the best results. I decided to polish the Rumble and see what would happen. The polished Rumble did skid more through the front part of the lane and more energy for the break point. However, the continuous ball motion was still there compared to the Skid Flipping ball motion of the Shatter.

I also used the Rumble on various tournament conditions and was surprised by the versatility. The Rumble is a solid ball that gives you enough length and backend motion to use when the pattern is “tricky” or transitioning. My best results have been later in the block (games 3 to 4) especially on medium length patterns with medium volume. What I have noticed is that for me it is a good in between ball. When the Disturbed or IQ solid is too much ball but a pearl cover is too jumpy… That is where the Rumble fits for me. The Rumble provides that consistent but strong ball motion.

The Rumble will always be in my bag when I going to a tournament.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by daniel.schaden@beconet.com


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: StormSteve 08/31/2013 18:03 ( stars)


 
Rumble
PAP - 4 3/16 over 1/4 up
Ball Speed 17-18 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout 39 x 1.625 x 39
Surface Preparation: OOB

What I was looking for: I was looking for something to replace one of my all time favorite balls the shooting star.

What I got: Wow this fills its Blue/White big brother’s Shoes. Hooks every bit as much if not more than the wrecker. It does so in a little bit earlier and smoother motion.

I got exactly what I wanted. I regret not stocking up on a bunch of Shooting Stars with how well it matched up with me. Now they pretty much recreated it, but even BETTER! The little bit lower differential core means it is even MORE controllable.

This ball is incredibly versatile and can be thrown on literally almost any pattern. Hooks enough in oil and is still controllable when there isn’t much.

Somebody give me a case of these. This ball hooks a lot for the price range and is just great I can’t wait for my fall leagues to start with this ball.

Steven Fagan
Storm Pro Shop Staff
Lexington, KY


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormSteve


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: gutterline 08/30/2013 10:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Right Handed
Ball weight: 14
Rev Rate: 378
Ball Speed: 18.2
Axis Tilt: 6.67
Axis Rotation: 45*
PAP: 3 7/8 horizontal, 1 ¼ up
Layout: 2 x 5 pin to pap

After reading up on this one, I decided it would be my new control ball for short patterns and really beaten up shots.

Out of the box, I took it to 4000 Abralon and polished with Storm Xtra Shine. I really want it to get through the heads…

I took this to a tournament where they were putting out Cheetah and assumed this ball could be an early option. With the volume they put out, it was not a first-out-of-the-bag option.

During the practice session, using multiple balls, I found that after the shot was getting worn down, the Rumble rolled quite well out where the pattern is supposed to be played. I was able to set the ball around 6-7 and send it out to anywhere from 1-3 and it was quite controllable and made a nice recovery. With the polish it made it through the heads and was not too sharp at the end of the pattern. After the practice session, I assumed that by game 4 or 5, I would be using this ball.

When the actual tournament started the next day, the pattern started off a bit tighter than the day before. Cycling through my equipment as necessary, I didn’t use the Rumble until game 6 and was only able to use it for about one game. When I was able to use it, I was quite impressed how well it handled the beat up outsides and carry down from the urethanes we had been following. The Rumble actually allowed me to open up the lane a bit more that I would have expected. I really didn’t want to put it down for game 7, but it was covering too many boards and moving left on a beat up Cheetah wasn’t going to help my game.

All in all, with my layout, the ball was quite clean and very smooth. The Rumble carried very well and I am looking forward to using it on a variety of patterns.

A very nice addition to my tournament arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gutterline


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: pbaramos 08/27/2013 11:25 ( stars)


 
The new Roto Grip Rumble is a great addition to the already highly talented line that roto grip has to offer. The 55M soild reactive coverstock wrapped around the late roll 51 core adds another awesome option to the HP2 line. I layed mine out with a 40x3 7/8x75 (Axis: 3 3/4 over, 7/8 up) which gave me a nice predictable motion through the heads, with a smooth arc down lane. This piece is a PERFECT compliment to its fairly angular brothers (Wrecker and Shatter). When the wrecker and shatter are too hard off the spot down lane, and youre looking for a similar motion without the sharp angle change, drill yourself a rumble. Are you ready to rumble?

Erik Ramos
Storm/Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pbaramos


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: Roto_Roller 08/27/2013 10:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/8 1/2 up
 
Weight: 14 lbs.
Pin Length: 3 1/2 “
Drilling: Pin above ring finger, CG in palm
Pattern Length: 40 ft.
Pattern Volume: Light/Medium
Pattern Type: THS

I tested the RUMBLE on 40 ft. THS, at 2000 grit abralon box finish.

I was surprised at how well this ball got through the heads. It’s very smooth down lane and makes a nice even, although strong, turn to the pocket. It has a very strong even motion overall. Very hard hitting, continuing right through the pin deck. This ball is a great complement to the WRECKER. I have been starting with the RUMBLE, and when the heads start to burn and I need more length, I can pull out the WRECKER. I find the RUMBLE and the WRECKER make a good One Two punch for me on our house pattern.

A great addition to any arsenal!

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto_Roller


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: Roto_Roller 08/27/2013 10:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/8 1/2 up
 
Weight: 14 lbs.
Pin Length: 3 1/2 “
Drilling: Pin above ring finger, CG in palm
Pattern Length: 40 ft.
Pattern Volume: Light/Medium
Pattern Type: THS

I tested the RUMBLE on 40 ft. THS, at 2000 grit abralon box finish.

I was surprised at how well this ball got through the heads. It’s very smooth down lane and makes a nice even, although strong, turn to the pocket. It has a very strong even motion overall. Very hard hitting, continuing right through the pin deck. This ball is a great complement to the WRECKER. I have been starting with the RUMBLE, and when the heads start to burn and I need more length, I can pull out the WRECKER. I find the RUMBLE and the WRECKER make a good One Two punch for me on our house pattern.

A great addition to any arsenal!

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto_Roller


Roto Grip Rumble Reviewed By: YANKEEMAN 08/19/2013 20:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    219
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" right 1/8" up
 
This is my control ball. I use it when I have difficulty contrlling the 1-3 pocket with my benchmark balls. I drilled it 6 x 5-1/2 with the pin over the bridge and the cg slightly left of the middle of my grip. The 2000 grit factory finish minimizes squirt through the heads but gives me a controlled roll going into the midlane. The demo type layout gives me medium midlane and a smooth archy backend I want on competitive and difficult patterns.On a 42' THS I can slide 24, hit 12 at the arrows and go out as far as 8. The ball makes a strong move to the hole and keeps the pins low on the deck. Its my go-to ball in emergencies.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by YANKEEMAN


Read all 26 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter