Go to Roto Grip Deranged »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Deranged

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.88Write a Review    Read all 25 reviews

I Love It
 
88% (22 of 25)
I Like It
 
12% (3 of 25)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 25)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 25)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 25)

Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 08/29/2013 09:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5 x 5 x 2.5"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

The Disturbed and Berserk are two of my favorite releases from the last year. There are times where they do tend to hook up to early, so I was excited for a pearl version. The pearl coverstock on the Deranged hopefully would give me more length for when the lanes start to break down.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

The Deranged is the perfect compliment to the other bowling balls in this line! This ball has very good length with a smooth but strong backend reaction. The Deranged is a very versatile ball that will perform well when you need length on a demanding oil pattern.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 08/13/2013 17:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Deranged has arrived with a 191.7 on the perfect scale. The symmetrical core with the reactive pearl cover the length is smooth and the move in the backend is strong.
We had a matchmaker event and the overall ball that was used The Roto Grip Deranged. If you need length on medium conditions with backend get Deranged.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 08/12/2013 14:50 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Deranged: Layout: 40 x 3 ½ x 65 at box condition…
Tested on: 41 ft THS with HPL with ICE oil and Beaten Path with ICE oil.
The Deranged worked really well on the THS and by standing 20 and looking at 3-5 down lane, it roll great thru the oil and saved a ton of energy down lane when hitting the pocket, when the THS was fresh, I left a bunch 9 pins and then once a little carryover down occurred, it was a strike fest for me. On the KEGEL pattern, the ball carried down lane a little farther then I wanted to, but for testing reason, I did not change the cover, I stood about the same place @ 20-21 and look in around 7-10 area, put a p3 hole in the ball at that point and the movement was much better, went back to the THS and still had the same carry as I did before….


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: im4pats54 12/10/2013 17:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    241
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Drilled identical to Disturbed using VLS 4 x 4 1/8 x 2 1/2. This ball picks up about 6 ft earlier and carries much better. On a fresh house shot and later on carry down this ball tends to want to jump off the spot. It is a lot more continuous and more predictable for me as a lefty with higher ball speed and average to above average revs. Definitely a ball to build your bag around and a wonderful compliment to the Wrecker.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by im4pats54


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/29/2013 13:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
The RotoGrip Deranged was a piece that I personally was looking forward to. I ran across a few instances where I wanted a ball
that pushed downlane a bit further than the original Disturbed but still had the same predictable roll and hitting power. Well I
guess they nailed it because the Deranged gives you increased length downlane, more angle on the backend and just that little extra pop through the pin deck. As you can see in the video the overall board coverage is very similiar with a slight veration in midlane motion and backend motion. The Disturbed starts just a pinch sooner and is smoother off the transition while the Deranged travels further down the lane with ease and its increased backend motion allows the ball to recover stronger even with a little miss into the oil or toward the outside part of the lane.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: Storm4ever 11/19/2013 16:13 ( stars)


 
Benjamin Goede (Storm/Rotogrip Amateur Staffer)
Ball Weight: 14LBS
PAP: 4 inches over X 1/2 up
Layout: Pin above bridge, CG swung out 3/4 inch, NO hole

With the HUGE success of how good the Disturbed has been, I think most Staffers would agree that this ball was highly anticipated. A pearl version of maybe the most versatile Rotogrip ball of all time? Yes Please!!! This ball is very clean through the fronts, reads the midlane, and has a strong continuous move off of the dry. At box finish it is almost too strong off of the spot. I first through this ball on our house shot. I bowl and have a proshop at what has to be one of the highest scoring houses in the country so for the most part any ball will work here. I noticed when I got the ball out too soon it wanted to “jack” off the dry so hard it was uncontrollable and then when I moved into the oil a little more it didn’t want to make the corner. I took a fresh 2000 pad to it to knock the polish off it a bit and what a difference it made. It is now the perfect compliment to the Disturbed. It rolls very similar to it but gets down the lane 2-3 feet longer. I have since polished it back up for drier lane conditions and it has yet to over or under react. Needless to say, once the Asylum comes out it may be the best mid range line to ever come out!! Another winner from Rotogrip.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Storm4ever


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 11/17/2013 23:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
Hmm the deranged, first off great looking ball, colours are very eye catching, love the logo in purple. Now lets talk about the ball reaction, Well I will say that when the lanes break down and force me to move in its with no doubt that this ball gives me

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: seanbaker 11/17/2013 18:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5inches right 1/2 inch up
 
Rotogrip Deranged
PAP-5 over and ½ up
Ball Speed: 15-17mph
Rev Rate: 300-500
Right Handed
Layout: 5x5x2.5
Surface Preparation: OTB

What I wanted from this ball: I wanted a pearl version of my Disturbed.

Result: Exactly what I expected from this ball. A pearl version of my Disturbed that allows me to attack dryer lane conditions with force.

Compared to the Disturbed, This ball for me does exactly what I wanted it to do. The cover is strong enough to give me the extreme backend reaction I wanted while the symmetrical core allows to get the ball down the lanes with ease.

I tested this ball on our home wood lanes with our house pattern. Our house pattern is a pretty tough shot with dryer heads in the middle portion of the lane creating a huge early backend reaction for most and a massive out of bounds from the first arrow out. There is a small hold area around the 8 board but you cant miss inside or out.

The first set of 3 games on a freshly oiled pair, I played a much deeper shot than usual on our house condition. I stayed around 15 and sent the ball out to 10 where normally I would not be able to play so tight with my disturbed and most other equipment. Not this ball! The Deranged allowed me to play tighter and came roaring back to the pocket with full force and had a strong continuation throughout the pins. The next set of three games, I had to actually move right since our house pattern pushes down somewhat and creates a larger over under reaction. Without thinking much, I simply made a five board move to the right with my feet and moved my mark to the 10 board and continued to swing out to five. The Deranged continued to come through for me once again by giving me great front end length and a strong reaction. I continued to move right and left over the course of the next 10 games and found that this ball is exactly what I was looking for when my Disturbed started hooking up way too early.

To sum this ball up, I am extremely satisfied with the reaction this ball gives me on dryer lane conditions. The Deranged keeps length through the heads and revs up to create a strong backend reaction.

Pro Shop Reaction: A great selling ball with a great look and price. My customers are very satisfied with this ball! Several customers have already shot large 700 series in our house and continue to love this ball.

Recommendations: I would definitely recommend this ball to anyone wanting a strong backend reaction but great length through the heads..

Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Sean Baker
Bowl Like a Pro Shop
Paducah, Ky 42001




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by seanbaker


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: TommyGN 11/15/2013 13:29 ( stars)


 
I am happy to write my first review of a Roto Grip ball, the Deranged. The Deranged is the pearl version of the Disturbed and is in the HP3 line of balls. The Deranged uses the same core as the Disturbed, the middle roll 70, but has a pearl cover called 61MH. The Deranged has an RG of 2.50 and a differential of .043 in 15lb balls. The colors are neon green and pearl white, sure to catch the attention of bowlers eyes while rolling down the lane.
I drilled my Deranged with pin over ring and cg on my grip line. The comparison ball will be my Disturbed with same pin position, with the difference being that the cg is a little left of my grip line on the Disturbed. The Deranged glides to the break point much easier than what the Disturbed does and is less overall motion than the Disturbed. The 1500 grit polished cover saves plenty of energy for the backend of the lane. I have also tried using some surface on the Deranged with successful ball reaction, although the cover does seem to lane shine quickly, so it is best just staying with the polished finish for me. I like the Deranged the best when moving in on the lane, and opening up the pattern. I really like the way the Deranged continues through the backend of the lane when I do get deep. It doesn’t “flip” per say, but continues to hook which gives me a reaction unlike anything else currently in the bag. This core design is a winner for sure as I have had great results with the Deranged and the previously released Disturbed.
The Deranged is a great ball to get in deep on the lane and just wheel it. Throw it to the dry, and watch the Deranged roll back to the pocket. If you need a bowling ball that really clears the front of the lane, and has a lot of “hook” in the backend, then try a Deranged. If you already have a Disturbed, and find that you aren’t encountering enough oil to use it as much as you would like, than the Deranged is the way to go. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Roto Grip Deranged.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TommyGN


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: jeff_mersch 11/14/2013 12:33 ( stars)


 
I have actually drilled two different deranges one with pin above ring stacked no hole, and one with pin in the palm weight hole down. One I drilled with the intention of being a house shot ball mostly, and the other one I drilled for short/medium flatter patterns.

I am a left handed tweener with a rev rate of 325.

First off, I did love my Disturbed, so a pearl version definitely was exciting to get into my hands. The ball has classic pearl motion, little later than disturbed for when the fronts go, but same power through the pins. The deranged is the perfect complement to the disturbed. I did win a 5 game sweeper on the PBA chameleon pattern with the pin the palm deranged, it gave me the best look out of everything in my bag. I have also been using my pin above the ring deranged in league most nights, I have it at 2000 grit.

Jeff Mersch
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
PBA Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff_mersch


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: kingpinwoods 11/13/2013 20:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4" over and 1/4" up
 
Deranged

The Roto Grip DERANGED is the Pearl version of the very popular and successful DISTURBED, which should be enough said. The Deranged has the same smooth roll through the fronts but has a lot stronger backend reaction due to the pearl cover stock. I was excited when I heard that this ball was coming out. I used my Wrecker on several patterns but due to my lower revs with above average ball speed it would squirt a little for me. But now with the Deranged being stronger than the Wrecker PROBLEM SOLVED!!!!!!
I've used mine on several lane conditions from house shots to some of the heavier sport patterns. On the house shots it did not disappoint at all. Compared to my Wrecker, (which I love) the Deranged was almost 10 boards stronger. On the sport patterns I could open the lane up more than I would of ever thought I could. This ball really retains a lot of energy for for the backend part of the lane, with a continuous movement through the pins. On the slicker patterns, the Disturbed to start, then once they break down the Deranged.
What a great two ball combo!!! Between these two you'll not see many conditions you can't handle. I can see this ball is a must for any league or tournament bowler.
Great job Roto Grip...



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kingpinwoods


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: mikelj 11/12/2013 09:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The Deranged is a great compliment to the Disturbed. My Deranged was drilled with the pin up above the fingers and a dual thumbhole layout (45 X 3 1/2X 30).

The Deranged goes 1-2 feet longer for me and has a more dynamic reaction to the pocket. With the 1500 polished pearl finish, once this ball gets a sniff of friction it wants to begin to hook. I like to use this ball on the 39’ house shot. I am able to swing the ball out to 4 or 5 and bring it back strongly to the pocket.

With my medium ball speed and low rev rate I find this ball perfectly suited for my game. I especially love the versatility of the offering. Recently I used this ball on the 35 foot PBA pattern on wood. When the heads began to burn out, it was nice to be able to switch to the Deranged, move 3-5 boards to the left and watch the ball clear through the heads and finish strong from the extreme outside angle.

Having both the Deranged and the Disturbed in your bag will provide you with the range of equipment you will need to compete successfully on most house or tournament conditions and may be the best two ball combination on the market today.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 10/25/2013 01:23 ( stars)


 
Roto Grip Deranged Ball Review

Have you ever caught a ball going down the lane out of the corner of your eye? It might have been the new Roto Grip Deranged. This is a ball that will be used on a variety of different lane conditions. Having drilled two of them two different ways, I can tell you this ball is very versatile.

The first one I drilled had a very quick response time. When it saw friction, it changed direction too hard too quick, and when it saw some oil, it had a hard time reading the body of the lane. I took the shine off with a used 1000 pad and it made a huge difference. It not only read the body of the lane a lot sooner, but it also didn’t change direction as hard when it saw friction making the reaction much better.

When the lanes are tough and the stronger, asymmetrical balls are too strong, the Deranged is a perfect fit. The straighter players will love it because of how clean it can be when shiny and the high rev guys will love it when the lanes break down and need more length with a forward motion down lane.

If you run out of lane or are seeing your asymmetrical balls hook too much, drill a Deranged to give you more length and a powerful motion down lane!

#RotoGrip #OwnIt #StormNation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: bigmikecraig 10/14/2013 19:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4
 
Lay Out: 4.75\" from PAP at 65* PAP angle and 35* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 65/4.75/35. The pin ended up about 1/2\" above my ring finger with the CG very slightly swung out from the ring finger. The 65* angle put the MB just very right of my thumb. I have no weight hole.

Surface: I am box finish which is 1500 Reacta-Shine.

Purpose: I wanted to drill up this up to try to give my Disturbed with the same layout a compliment to ball down to when the Disturbed is too much.

Lane Condition Observations: I have thrown this on a couple of different patterns: PBA X Chameleon, modified Chameleon ran to 45\', and 2 different volume/length house shots on Pro Anvilane. The Deranged was only out of it\'s element on the 45\' shot; It just didn\'t have the teeth to make any real kind of move off the spot on this pattern. I got the impression I could knock it down to something like 500 or 1000 and probably get it to read more, but that is what the solid Disturbed is for. On the house shots, it was very responsive off the friction. I usually was swinging it across the heads more on the medium volume house shot. The second place where I bowl has more volume so I had to keep it online more, but it still was very reactive on the back end of the lane.

Response to Friction: The Deranged in box condition is a quick response ball. This one will let you go away from the headpin and give you plenty of recovery. It also lets me pick up my speed, move towards the friction more, and still has enough giddy-up to play the high hard one shot.

Other Ball Comparisons: I threw it with my Rumble, Lucid, Shout, and Lights Out. Compared to my Rumble, the Deranged is much more responsive down lane off the spot and can be somewhat jerky. The Deranged makes a good strong move off friction and is a higher response ball. My Lucid is still 4000 box and it gets up in the back end a little more quicker than the Deranged. I actually have balled down to the Deranged when the Lucid is too early or quickly getting unpredictable. The Shout gets thru the fronts better but much slower off the spot. The new duller Shout 2013 gets slightly further down lane then the Deranged, but again very slow response to the friction. My Lights Out pushes the same, but much slower off the spot than the Deranged. The Deranged just has that little extra pop at the spot compared to the Lights Out.

Final Thoughts: The Deranged does exactly what Roto Grip advertised: It gives you a ball down option from the Disturbed with a little more pop at the break point. Put one in your bag at close to the same layout specs and you should have a good one-two punch in your bag.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bigmikecraig


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: Riggs 10/01/2013 21:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
DERANGED review by Storm staffer Jeff Richgels
DRILLED August 2013

The Roto Grip DERANGED is the Pearl version of the very popular and successful DISTURBED, which I first was able to drill in June at the PBA Senior U.S. Open and USBC Senior Masters. As soon as I used the DISTURBED — and it was my main ball those two very successful weeks — I knew it would be an all-time favorite of mine.
One of my thoughts then was how great a pearl version of the DISTURBED would be. So you can imagine how excited I was to get the DERANGED.
And it has been exactly what I hoped for … and also become a favorite of mine.
I drilled my DERANGED the same as my DISTURBED, with the pin under my ring finger and the CG kicked right of my thumb with a 60- to 75-degree drilling angle. The numbers are 4 1/2 pin to PAP, 5 1/8 “mass bias” (it’s a symmetrical) to PAP, and 4 1/2 pin buffer.
Basically, the DERANGED has the same ball motion as the DISTURBED but with much more of a skid and hard move motion due to the pearl vs. solid coverstock — and because I kept it box shiny vs. the 1,500 to 2,500 Turbo Sandbagger I usually keep on my DISTURBED.
I have used the DERANGED on everything from Sport patterns to house shots, with lengths as short as Cheetah and as long as Shark, and it is a great ball for opening up the lane and getting that strong return. It labors on extremely heavy oil (that’s for the DISTURBED) and won’t get down the lane on a super light or burned out condition. It also sometimes struggles on extreme wet/dry conditions, where I go with a ball with surface or a smoother rolling shiny ball. But it works on fresh oil that isn’t extremely heavy and is great when the lanes transition and you need to get away from a heavier surface ball — like the DISTURBED.
The bottom line is that the DERANGED is a perfect step down from the DISTURBED.
The core is right in my sweet spot: not like a strong asymmetrical where I sometimes feel like I have to do everything I can to keep it from starting too quickly, but stronger than a weak core where I have to guard against throwing it through the breakpoint. It’s one of those cores where I feel like I can manipulate my release to get corresponding changes to motion — a strong assym overpowers those manipulations and a weak core ball won’t respond.
I’d put the DERANGED in the skid/flip category, but is smoother and more controllable than a lot of skid/flip balls because it seems to pick up earlier.
I’d describe the DERANGED as close to the IQ TOUR PEARL, but not quite as rolly with a little more skid/flip to it. Past balls it reminds me of include the Storm VERTIGO, VIRTUAL ENERGY and PARADIGM.
I would say the DERANGED should be a great house shot ball for most players, although I still think there is nothing better on a house shot than the IQ TOUR PEARL. If your IQ TOUR PEARL is a bit too rolly and strong, the DERANGED might be the perfect next ball.
But the DERANGED also has been excellent on tough patterns for me, just like the DISTURBED was at the senior majors in June. The oil volume and transition of the pattern determine when to use which one.
I think a bowler looking for just a 2-ball arsenal would be in great shape with a DISTURBED and a DERANGED.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Riggs


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: RonCase823 09/25/2013 23:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    241
Sport Shot Average    217
 
My Axis is 4 7/8 right, ¼ up, my speed is average and I would consider myself with higher revs but more up the back. So not a cranker but not really straight either.

Put pin 1” above middle finger and CG in center of grip.

Was looking for a ball to use when the heads dry up and now I’ve found one. This ball goes right over burnt heads as if they were freshly oiled and that helps retain its energy for the back ends. I can stay in the track by going to this ball if my others start to hook too soon or if I want to move out into the dryer boards and go straight up. This ball helps in later games or if you just like to play away from the oil such as closer to the gutter on house shots.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RonCase823


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: joe299 09/25/2013 12:46 ( stars)


 
Rotogrip outdid themselves with this ball. It is long, and aggressive, without being overly aggressive. I have averaged about 180 or so in the last couple of years. The first time I took this ball out on the lanes I shot 696. I love the overall ball motion, and the length. This is a great ball to have in your arsenal, and I would recommend it to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: John Brodersen 09/23/2013 12:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 3 oz, 3.32 top weight, and 3.5 -inch pin.

Using the dual angle method, the Deranged was drilled with a 4 1/4 inch pin distance, 75 degree drill angle and a 30 degree VAL angle. Using Storm’s drilling methodology the layout is 4 1/4 pin X 5 3/4 PSA X 2 inch pin buffer. An X-hole was not needed. The surface was left OOB which is 1500 polished. Based on my Disturbed layout, I increased the drill angle, shortened the pin distance and decreased the VAL angle. From a layout perspective I was looking to compliment the pearl cover stock to get more length and a stronger move down lane.

My initial outing with the Deranged was on the USBC White # 2 pattern. When I rolled it during practice it was a little over/under due to the pattern and the polished pearl cover stock. I decided to start the evening with a similarly drilled but duller Disturbed. The Deranged came back out of the bag at the end of the second game of a four game block when the Disturbed started to burn too early. As advertised and as expected the Deranged glided easily through the front part of the lane and allowed me to open up the backend. I ended up moving back to the right slightly with both my feet and target and felt like I had a lot of area especially on the back end of the lane. I would describe the motion of the Deranged as a hard arc; almost skid/flip depending on rev rate and amount of axis rotation. The Deranged also retains a lot of energy for the backend of the lane as I had some messengers even with my slower ball speed.

The Deranged, as designed and as others have stated, is a wonderful compliment to the Disturbed. It provides additional length and a quicker move off the friction down lane than the Disturbed.


John Brodersen
RG amateur staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: StormSteve 08/31/2013 18:04 ( stars)


 
Deranged
PAP - 4 3/16 over 1/4 up
Ball Speed 17-18 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout 57 x 1.625 x 39
Surface Preparation: OOB

What I was looking for: I knew with the disturbed core that this ball was going to want to roll heavy. So I wanted to make the best out of both key components of this ball. I wanted it to get down the lane real clean and have a sharp backend but utilize the core to make it real controllable and continuous at the same time.

What I got: I got exactly what I was trying to do. The pearl coverstock and the little bit weaker layout allow this ball to glide through the front part of the lane. Once it sees friction it makes a very crisp move but it still has that heavy DISTURBED roll to it.

This ball rolls great for me on my very Wet/Dry house shot. As long as I keep the speed up this ball evens the pattern out like a dream. Doesn’t recover too early and still pops in the heavy oil in the middle. If you liked the Wrecker, think of this like the Wreckers Big Daddy. Very similar motion for me, very forgiving.

It is also a great ball for those medium length sport patterns that are around 39’

It also helps that this ball just looks cool, I love the Green/White and the purple lettering. Very aesthetically pleasing.

Steven Fagan
Storm Pro Shop Staff
Lexington, KY


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormSteve


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 08/28/2013 22:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 

The Roto Grip Deranged is the Pearl version of the very popular and successful Disturbed. I drilled the Deranged 4.5 x 3.5 x 3.5, the pin ended up in my middle finger.
My PAP is 4 up 1 1/4. The deranged is very good compliment to disturbed, clean through fronts and strong arcing motion at the breakpoint. This ball has similar ball motion to the Storm Gold IQ Tour Pearl, but it is stronger off of the spot and harder off the friction. I have used it on league patterns, and Kegel's Mexico City. On the sport pattern I was very impressed how it handle the larger volume of oil with the factory surface. Still had plenty of hitting power at the back. The Deranged also has great looking colors for good shelve appeal.
Another great ball from Roto Grip!




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: YANKEEMAN 08/28/2013 15:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    219
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" right 1/8" up
 
I drilled my Deranged 4 x 3-1/4 (45 x 4 x 25)with a 1" weight hole 4" to the right of center grip. I kept it at 1500 grit box finish and keep it highly polished.
I previously had a 14 lb Disturbed last December but the 14 lb experiment did not work out good. I was, however, impressed with the way the Disturbed rolled and revved up. The only problem with this was the Disturbed became less efficient when the head oil dissipated. I've seen a few polished Disturbeds which solved the problem some.
The new Deranged corrected the flaw also, and added more energy and snap to a very good ball. Very clean through the heads and a little longer through the midlane than its predescessor. The second half of the ride is even better, more angular and energy efficient on the back. This baby makes the pins fly.
Very useful on THS's and perfect for medium and slightly lighter oil patterns. This ball can turn the corner.
P.S.- I'm back up to 15 lbs and I got a new Disturbed too. It's going to be a good year.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by YANKEEMAN


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: Roto_Roller 08/27/2013 11:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/8 1/2 up
 
Weight: 14 lbs.
Pin Length: 3”
Drilling: Pin above fingers, CG kicked right
Pattern Length: 40 ft.
Pattern Volume: Light/Medium
Pattern Type: THS
Right handed

I tested the DERANGED on our 40 ft. THS, at box finish of 1500 grit polished.

This ball is a great complement to the DISTURBED, as it gets further down lane, but makes a stronger move to the pocket coming off the pattern. When the DISTURBED starts making it’s move too early, i go to the DERANGED for the little extra length and more angular move to the pocket. This is a very hard hitting ball. I had no trouble getting the corners out when using this ball.

I also used this ball on the senior womens US open pattern in Columbus OH. It gave me just the right entry angle to carry, later in the day, as the pattern started to break down.

This ball is a must have! Add a star if you are a fan of the DISTURBED.

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto_Roller


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: pbaramos 08/27/2013 11:11 ( stars)


 
The New Roto Grip Deranged is a pearl version of the recently released Disturbed. the 61MH Pearl cover makes one sweet combo to the Middle Roll 70 core. My deranged is super clean through the front, just like any Utah ball on the market, and allows me to open up the lane when my disturbed is a lil too much. Your disturbed and deranged make a great 1-2 punch for a solid benchmark ball, and a follow up ball for friction. I layed my deranged out with a 45x4x45 drilling which is the same way my disturbed is drilled. I recommend this ball on all conditions, short to long. You will not be let down!

Erik Ramos
Storm/Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pbaramos


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: daniel.schaden@beconet.com 08/15/2013 08:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The Deranged from Roto Grip is a very readable pearl. I can tell that the Deranged is the pearl version of the Disturbed! The ball motion is smooth and continuous like the disturbed except with more length. The layout that I used was 75 X 6 X 75 or pin under the middle finger. The layout itself will help the ball get down the lane but readable backend motion was a bonus. My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up with moderate ball speed (15mph to 16mph) and a low rev rate (around 300).

I used the Deranged at the US Open. The US Open was slightly on the dryer side and the Deranged allowed me to play farther to the right and project it up the lane. The smooth yet strong and controllable motion was a bonus on the over rating backend. If you are looking for a pearl bowling ball that will provide decent length but a readable break point this ball is for you. The Deranged is a quality bowling ball that will find its way into my bag when I know I will be bowling on something tough.

The Deranged also made an appearance on a house pattern and it was nice to throw the ball and not worry about the ball over reacting. I owned the pocket and the Deranged gave me enough room to score. The pearl cover provides decent length and recovery down the lane. The core adds enough power to get through the oil when I missed in. I compared it to the Shatter and there was no comparison the Deranged was about an arrow stronger and more readable than the Shatter. However, when I had to move left and throw it to the right the Shatter was a better choice. Overall, I liked the Deranged because of its strong ball motion and readability!

In my opinion if you liked the Disturbed and looking for a bowling ball to compliment it the Deranged is a good choice! The ball motion is very similar but with more length and slightly more backend motion.



Dan Schaden Jr
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Vise Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by daniel.schaden@beconet.com


Roto Grip Deranged Reviewed By: ODriscoll 08/14/2013 21:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    211
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Deranged

The Deranged follows the great control of the Disturbed by changing the coverstock to a 1500 polish pearl reactive. This provides a great compliment to the original disturbed core. What really nice is with the earlier roll design core the ball still moves like it’s predecessor. However with the pearl cover it’s gets down the lane very nicely.

A great go to ball when there’s not enough oil to get balls with surface down the lane but you need better control on the back ends.


Kelly O’Driscoll
Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ODriscoll


Read all 25 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter