Go to Roto Grip Totally Defiant »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Totally Defiant

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.8Write a Review    Read all 30 reviews

I Love It
 
83% (25 of 30)
I Like It
 
13% (4 of 30)
It's Ok
 
3% (1 of 30)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 30)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 30)

Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 08/29/2013 09:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5 x 5 x 2.5"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

I was super excited for another pearl option with the Paragon core. The pearl coverstock hopefully would give me more length and angularity for when the Defiant Soul hooks a bit too early or with not enough angle.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

The Totally Defiant might have the strongest skid/flip reaction of any ball I've ever thrown. This ball has great length with a mind-boggling left hand turn at the end of the pattern. This ball will allow you to move inside and still be able to create enough angle to carry the corner pins.

Roto Grip has hit another home run in the Defiant series with the Totally Defiant!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 08/17/2013 14:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Totally Defiant the new release in the Defiant series.
The ball motion is length with a move in the backend that will cover as many boards you will ever need.
Strongest pearl made this will be your new bench mark ball for your arsenal.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: seanbaker 11/17/2013 22:42 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5inches right 1/2 inch up
 
Rotogrip Totally Defiant
PAP-5 over and ½ up
Ball Speed: 15-17mph
Rev Rate: 300-500
Right Handed
Layout: 4x4x2
Surface Preparation: OTB

What I wanted from this ball: I wanted more length than my Defiant Soul, But still the hitting power of the Defiant balls.

Result: Exactly what I expected from this ball. A pearl version of my Defiant Soul with a mean skip flip reaction.

Compared to the Defiant Soul, this ball allows me to move left and swing the ball out and have the confidence that it will come back. The cover is strong enough to give me the extreme skid flip backend reaction I wanted and great carry of the corner pins.

I tested this ball on our home wood lanes with our house pattern. Our house pattern is a pretty tough shot with dryer heads in the middle portion of the lane creating a huge early backend reaction for most and a massive out of bounds from the first arrow out. There is a small hold area around the 8 board but you cant miss inside or out.

The first set of 3 games on a freshly oiled pair, I was able to stay deep inside and swing the Totally Defiant out to the five board and maintain a skid flip reaction back to the pocket. The carry was pretty awesome. This ball allowed me to play a much deeper shot than usual on our house condition. I moved right of center and played 15 and sent the ball out to 5 and threw much harder and was able to continue hitting the pocket, but I left back row pins due to the drive through the pocket and the sharp angle coming off of our dry boards. I moved back left and played 20 again and was able to start carrying much better over the next 5-6 games. I definitely cannot use this ball when the lanes are dry or really hooking, but I am truly glad to have it when I have front end lane oil and want to cover a lot of boards.

To sum this ball up, I am extremely satisfied with the reaction this ball gives me when I have enough oil to get it through the front portion of the lanes. Once again, I would definitely use this ball for oilier conditions when I want definite backend hook.

Pro Shop Reaction: A pretty good selling ball so far. A few of my better bowlers have purchased this ball and love it. The Totally Defiant also has a great look and gets a lot of compliments on the color scheme.

Recommendations: I would definitely recommend this ball to anyone wanting a strong backend reaction or wanting to cover a lot of boards. I would also recommend this ball or someone who may not get a lot on the ball but still wants a strong ball reaction.

Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Sean Baker
Bowl Like a Pro Shop
Paducah, Ky 42001




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by seanbaker


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 08/12/2013 14:13 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Totally Defiant : Layout: 40 x 4 ½ x 55 at box condition…
Tested on: 41 ft THS with HPL with ICE oil and Beaten Path with ICE oil.
The Totally did really well for me for the house shot, standing at 22 and looking at 6-8, the ball have excellent distance and even getting to the friction and thru the backend of the lane the cover did not overreact like a “typical” pearl cover for me… I am used to seeing longer and move angle with the pearl covers… On the KEGEL pattern, I was able to move left on the approach and keep the ball inside of the track area and play pretty straight with it looking at 12-14… What I love the most about this ball is the overall performance on both patterns, for me it’s hard to find a ball and layout combo that I can use on sport patterns and THS without changing the surface. I look forward in having this ball as my benchmark ball for the fall of 2013.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: kyleaz03 03/06/2014 17:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
When I added the Totally Defiant to my collection a month ago I wasn't sure where it was going to fit in with my other gear. At the time the 4 balls in my bag were a Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl, a Hammer First Blood, a DV8 Endless Nightmare, and a IQ Tour Pearl. With an Aura, a weaker drilled and smoother surfaced Nano Pearl, and a Meanstreak sitting in the closet at home. With the addition of the Totally Defiant I've moved the DV8 Endless Nightmare to the trunk on tournament days, and I don't even bring it to the lanes on league nights. The Totally Defiant has replaced my strong layout Nano Pearl as the first ball out of my bag. The versatility I get from the Totally Defiant is mind-blowing. I've used it and racked up high scores on a variety of lane conditions, from playing it standing on 20 rolling down the 6 board on a flooded 42ft shot that had practically zero friction outside of 6 to playing on a burned out 39 ft tournament shot late in the day standing on 35 rolling over 15 board. On my home centers' 38ft THS I've found that standing on 25 rolling over 8 is the best starting point for my style. I've shot 5 279's in the month since I got the TD, shot 10 250 + games (games with 10 x's and 2 spares) and 3 700+ series.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kyleaz03


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: Rob_bowl2much 02/24/2014 21:22 ( stars)


 
I don\\\'t know if I can say any more about this ball than already mentioned, however I absolutely love it. It\\\'s versatility is unsurpassed by anything else I\\\'ve ever thrown. On heavy oil play further right, straight up and down, it has superior forward roll and gets down the lane - on medium oil which is common in most leagues you can move further left and play up around 10 board - when the lanes start to break down, move left and play the middle-this ball is AMAZING and has eliminated a ball in my arsenal due to it\\\'s versatility. A MUST HAVE ball for league and tournament bowlers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: im4pats54 12/10/2013 17:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    241
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Strongest and most hooking of any ball in the Defiant line. This ball shows less length than the original but goes longer than Soul on THS. On a fresh pattern, it definitely reads what it sees but as they carry down, it seems to be a little soft at the breakpoint. You can get to the pocket but will have problems getting the corners out. It is a great ball to start the night and the colors get people wondering what you are throwing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by im4pats54


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/29/2013 13:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
I can't say enough good about the Totally Defiant. I really enjoyed the Defiant Edge when it was released but found that it was still a pinch early and smooth when I needed a little more backend reaction. The totally defiant accomplishes this with ease. Rotogrip's decision to not use the "MicroBite" technology in the coverstock helped achieve this but certainly does not eliminate hitting power or hook potential. The Totally Defiant pushes through the fronts easily even when they start to break down and carries energy toward the back part of the lane and through the pins. The comparison you see in the video shows that the Totally Defiant pushes my feet and target a bit further inside than the Defiant Edge and without a doubt a sharper backup motion. There is no doubt the hitting power is there and with the excess backend motion this ball will throw pins around the deck. Great job Roto!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: Storm4ever 11/19/2013 16:18 ( stars)


 
Benjamin Goede (Storm/Rotogrip Amateur Staffer)
Ball Weight: 14LBS
PAP: 4 inches over X 1/2 up
Layout: Pin below bridge, mass bias down/to right of the thumb (2 inch), small balance hole 5 over and 3 down

This is my vote for ball of the year!!! This ball has it all. The shelf appeal is eye catching and is the first ball people notice when they walk into the shop. Its strength and versatility is unmatched in the Rotogrip line. In my opinion, this is the strongest ball Rotogrip has made to date. The continuation is unreal and the pins stay so low. I have been able to drill this ball for all types of bowlers. It is worth every penny and I believe it will increase your carry percentage and raise your average immediately! Im finding this ball will work on most all medium to medium-heavy oil patterns. Everyone needs a totally defiant in there bag today!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Storm4ever


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: Storm4ever 11/19/2013 16:10 ( stars)


 
Benjamin Goede (Storm/Rotogrip Amateur Staffer)
Ball Weight: 14LBS
PAP: 4 inches over X 1/2 up
Layout: Pin below bridge, mass bias down/to right of the thumb (2 inch), small balance hole 5 over and 3 down

This is my vote for ball of the year!!! This ball has it all. The shelf appeal is eye catching and is the first ball people notice when they walk into the shop. Its strength and versatility is unmatched in the Rotogrip line. In my opinion, this is the strongest ball Rotogrip has made to date. The continuation is unreal and the pins stay so low. I have been able to drill this ball for all types of bowlers. It is worth every penny and I believe it will increase your carry percentage and raise your average immediately! Im finding this ball will work on most all medium to medium-heavy oil patterns. Everyone needs a totally defiant in there bag today!



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Storm4ever


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 11/18/2013 01:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
what can I say about the totally defiant, hmm first off the ball itself is good looking. As for the name it isn't bad either. For the reaction wise this ball has some really good backend reaction, for sure it has more then the defiant edge. nice and clean threw the front part of the lanes and quite sharp in the backend. great ball for when your looking for the extra flip at the end of the lane. Recommended condition, medium

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: daniel.schaden@beconet.com 11/15/2013 09:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The Totally Defiant is the pearl version in the HP4 Line for Roto Grip. When compared to the Defiant Soul which is also in the HP4 line the Totally Defiant goes longer and has more backend motion. The reason behind this is in their coverstocks. The Defiant Soul has a Hybrid coverstock whereas the Totally Defiant has a pearl coverstock. The pearl coverstock enables the Totally Defiant to conserve more energy through the front and mid lane which lends to more backend motion. The Paragon weight block allows the Totally Defiant to still be strong and have a continuous motion. That means that the Totally Defiant combines the best of both world’s length and consistency.
The layout that I used for the Totally Defiant is 50 X 4 X 45 that is for the Dual Angle drillers or basically Pin above and slightly to right of the right finger and the extra hole is on the midline at 1 inch pass my PAP. My PAP is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up and I am right handed. My Rev rate is around 300 and my ball speed is around 15 mph.
I used the Totally Defiant on several different patterns and found out that the Totally Defiant is a very versatile bowling ball. When I used it on a Typical House Pattern, I had some issues early because of the over/under. That is typical for me and pearlized coverstocks. However, when the pattern started to carry down or become less wet/dry this bowling ball is awesome. The Totally Defiant is a strong ball that’s provides good length. I used the Totally Defiant on several Sport Patterns and found more success on the medium volume and medium lengths (37ft – 41ft). I compared the Totally Defiant against the Defiant Soul on an AMF version of the Viper Pattern (37ft). The Defiant Soul wanted to start up sooner than the Totally Defiant. The Totally Defiant had more backend reaction than the Defiant Soul. The Totally Defiant over reacted when I first started whereas the Defiant Soul was controllable and never gave away the pocket. When the pattern started to breakdown and I had to move left the Totally Defiant was perfect. The length and backend motion became an asset instead of a liability. When I was using the Defiant Soul I was 5 boards farther right with my feet but my breakpoint was left and sooner than the Totally Defiant. The reason for this is the backend reaction of the Totally Defiant!
I normally do not like asymmetrical bowling balls, the Totally Defiant changed my mind!
Dan Schaden Jr
Storm / Roto Grip Staff
Vise Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by daniel.schaden@beconet.com


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: mred2u 11/14/2013 20:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/2 1/4 up
 
Drilled my totally defiant 3 1/2 by 6 1/4 with a 2" pin buffer. This layout is the same as I have in a defiant soul. The totally defiant is a great ball to go to when the soul starts to burn up too early. It goes longer and makes a strong move on the back end. Don't be fooled this is still a strong ball I can't use it in my league due to it hooking too much

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mred2u


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: jeff_mersch 11/14/2013 14:06 ( stars)


 
First off I would like to say that in the past I have had mixed results with asymmetrical cores in bowling balls. Symmetrical cores are usually the first balls out of my bag in league/tournaments, but the Totally Defiant definitely proves me wrong. It is not your typical rolling asymmetrical core ball, it is like a pearl symmetrical ball on steroids. The backend is fantastic, and weak 7 pins are a thing of the past.

I used this ball in the UBA classic tournament Labor Day Tourney where the conditions are typically pretty tight, but the totally defiant gave me enough ball motion to strike. It was awesome, and I enjoyed my top 10 handicap/ top 5 scratch finish.

Jeff Mersch
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
PBA Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff_mersch


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: kingpinwoods 11/13/2013 20:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4" over and 1/4" up
 
Totally Defiant

Well where do I start with this one??? This has to be the MOST IMPRESSIVE PEARL BALL I HAVE EVER THROWN!!!!
I first took my Defiant Edge out and got lined up on a fresh 39' house shot. I was crossing 12th board and went out to 7th board with an impressive backend motion. Then it's show time, I took the Totally Defiant out and played the same line with trip 4, trip 4 and stone 9. I moved in to 15th board and went out to 7th board and went flush, flush, flush, ect. I was striking at will. I could tug it in and it would set up and go high flush. I'd miss out to second or third board and the ball would recover like it was a magnet and the 1-3 was made out of steel.
I've used it on most any of all lane conditions from heavy house shots to some of the heavier sport patterns.
House shots it will strike for days.
Sport patterns it's super smooth doesn't start early, but it has a extremely strong and continuous movement to the pocket.
Only time I've seen it struggle is lighter oil patterns. For a pearl cover stock ball, the Totally Defiant rolls good as long as you have a little oil in the fronts this ball will keep you in play...



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kingpinwoods


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: mikelj 11/12/2013 10:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I had my ball drilled with the pin up above the fingers (20 X 4 ½ X 30). This provides me with a little more length than the Defiant Soul yet still produced a strong midlane roll and a very effective continuous, backend! One noticeable difference with this ball is the way it takes out the corner pins. Some of my in-between hits that would normally result in a weak 10 pin are being tripped off. With the added length, I didn’t have to switch ball as often as the heads began to burn out. I found this ball to be very effective in my PBA Experience league as well as under a typically house shot.

The 74MH coverstock gives me the look and the down lane reaction I am looking for. With this cover I don’t have to worry about the lanes getting burned up. This ball enabled me to stand just a bit left of between 20-25 and stay in the track. The reaction was controlled with a smooth back-end motion. This ball gets through the head and maintains its power all night long. What a great addition to my arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: grstorm 11/10/2013 23:30 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 x 4 x 2

The Totally Defiant is drilled pin above the ring finger cg out and preferred spin axis (mass bias) is 2 inches away from the thumb. I must say I knew it would be a skid-flip kind of ball but it performs way more than I ever expected with the paragon and the pure pearl cover stock without the micro bite technology.

With the pure pearl cover compared to the pearl micro bite cover from the defiant edge I get more down lane recovery and a cleaner push in the heads. I am able to stand more right than I could with the Defiant edge, watch the ball rev up and once it hits the dry it would make a strong sharp right turn to the pocket. Even on the longer and higher volume patterns like the PBA shark I can stand left and it makes a small turn down lane to the pocket but more than I ever had with a strong pearl ball on a long pattern like the shark. With other pearls on the shark I am not usually able to see a motion on the back end but with the Totally Defiant I am able to get a read and see the movement to the pocket

I used it for the first time at a tournament called the triangle where you bowl at 3 different houses, 3 games at each center in 1 day! First bowling center with synthetic lanes I used it game 2 and 3 when I needed something that got down lane with a strong back end because the reaction was so define if you did not have something strong that would get to the pocket down lane and not something that started early you were not gonna have a good set. The next time I used the ball at the triangle was at the last bowling center with fairly new synthetic lanes the last game. I was still in the hunt to cash and needed a big game. I brought it out to give me recovery when my other stuff wasn't getting to the pocket to my liking. The Totally Defiant gave me the read I needed which was long and strong and shot 278 to make cash by 8 pins. For the Roto Grip fans out there here is a great skid-flip strong pearl for your arsenal!

If you have any questions about the Totally Defiant email me at garrett.richardson@pinolebowlerssupply.com

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Pinole Bowler’s Supply
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.facebook.com/pinolebowlerssupply
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 10/30/2013 13:45 ( stars)


 
Roto Grip Totally Defiant Ball Review

The Totally Defiant is one of my favorites. An asymmetrical beast. A ball that makes the guys with low rev rates shred racks. Need to replace the strongest ball in your bag? Drill a Totally Defiant.

My favorite layout on this ball is pretty simple. Pin above my bridge with the mass approximately an inch to the right of my thumb. For me, this is right around 5 x 4.5 x 70, no hole. The Roto Grip balls typically give me a more forward shape compared to Storm balls. The response times are usually a hair slower than Storm balls too.

This ball is GREAT on a house pattern. The lower rev guys can stay farther right and can usually get at least a game and a half out of it before they might go to a Deranged, Rumble, or a Hyroad Pearl. The high rev players can continue to move in, chase the hold, and continue to throw it to the hook spot down lane.

Having a pearl cover with the monster Defiant core, this ball provides length, strength, and lots of pop down lane. For any lane condition with a good amount of oil on the lane, this ball is a perfect fit. Honestly, if the lanes are hooking a lot or are burnt up, I would recommend a Rumble, Lights Out, Deranged, or a Hyroad Pearl. This ball is that strong.

If you have any questions, feel free to email me at PJ.Haggerty@yahoo.com

Go #OwnIt with #RotoGrip and #StormNation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: gutterline 10/30/2013 10:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Right Handed
Ball weight: 14
Rev Rate: 378
Ball Speed: 18.2
Axis Tilt: 6.67
Axis Rotation: 45*
PAP: 3 7/8 horizontal, 1 up
Layout: 5 x 3 1/8 x 3 7/8

My plan for this ball was to have a high-end ball for burned up patterns, when everything wants to check up early. Not the best idea I’ve ever had…

I’ve used this ball on a couple of THS and a 39’, 3:1 sport pattern.

The first night out of the bag was on older HPL synthetics on a late-shift league. This league tends to give me problems as the lanes break down and the ‘major’ transition occurs. At the beginning of league, I was standing about 25-28, rolling at about 13-15 at the arrows with my normal cupped wrist position. I had a great look as long as I got the ball out of the oil by 30 ft. If I tugged the ball inside or it didn’t make it out early enough, it would skate through the breakpoint or finish in the hole for a flat 10. As the lanes broke down, I continued to move deeper, but the look got nasty fairly quickly. Instead of making a ball change, I changed my wrist position to flat, making sure the ball was resting on the ball of my index finger. I was able to move a little right and keep my look about the same. I continued to have the problem with missing inside, but as long as I used the friction to the right of puddle, the ball rolled quite well.

My second league with this one was in a different house on HPL synthetics with a fresh THS. I didn’t start with the Totally Defiant, but my first ball choice was just ringing 10s, so around frame 5 in the first game, I pulled the trigger on the Totally Defiant. Right out of the bag, I was standing 27, rolling 14 with a swing. The room right this ball created was absolutely amazing! If the trajectory was off and I missed right, it came screaming back, if I tugged it, it held and crushed. Started game 2 with front 10 and a flat 10 for 289. The amount of room this ball gave me on a fresh house pattern was crazy. As the third game started, I had to chase the shot left and begin hitting some burn. As it was checking up early, or leaving a half 10, I had to make a ball change.

Using this one on the 39’ sport pattern was quite unsuccessful. I was really hoping for more length, but the ball just didn’t want to get down the lane. I believe this is more due to the layout than the ball itself. The layout made the ball more of a banana than skid/flip.

All of that said, this ball has a place in my bag. It rolls quite well on various levels of the THS, but I’m still looking for a tourney pattern that it will hit as well as the THS. My only complaint is that I missed the layout, which has created duds in the past, but with the Totally Defiant I still have a ball that will be quite useful.

I may have to drill another one of these just to try a more angular layout. I believe this ball wants to make the left turn, so why limit it to the banana shape?


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by gutterline


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: Riggs 10/01/2013 21:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
TOTALLY DEFIANT review by Storm staffer Jeff Richgels
Drilled August 2013

The Roto Grip TOTALLY DEFIANT is the pearl version on the DEFIANT SOUL, an asymmetrical and one of Roto’s most popular offerings.
I drilled a DEFIANT SOUL at the Senior U.S. Open and Senior Masters in Las Vegas and have not gotten much use of it. It’s a very strong drilling and it’s simply too much for most conditions with my moderate speed and middling revs. That's more a knock on me than the ball!
When I got my TOTALLY DEFIANT I decided to try a quirky drilling I had some great success with in a MARVEL – pin in my ring finger with CG and MB kicked slightly left. The drilling angle is maybe 105 degrees. The numbers work out to 4 3/8 pin to PAP, 7 1/8 RG mass bias marker to PAP, and 3 7/8 pin buffer.
That drilling has allowed me to play straighter with a strong ball than more standard drillings allow, and it’s one of those that when it works it’s fantastic and when it doesn’t it’s obvious not to use it.
So far that has been exactly how the TOTALLY DEFIANT has been for me — when it works, it’s great; when it doesn’t, there’s no question about it. (That's actually how it is for pretty much all asymmetricals for me — the core is so strong it's difficult to tweak my release to tweak the reaction as the ball's power rules its reaction.)
The most notable case of that was a PBA50 Regional on Chameleon where the lanes were hooking a lot, but weak balls skidded too much and were hard to control. The TOTALLY DEFIANT let me stand just a bit left of the middle of the lane and throw it to the track, where it hooked but in a controlled manner with a smooth back-end motion.
As a shiny pearl, it gets through the fronts well. But as an asymm it is strong in the mid-lane, with a quick and powerful change of direction. I imagine with a strong drilling, it would make an even stronger move and be more continuous in the back-end than mine with the quirky drilling.
As a shiny pearl, it does little for me on heavy, fresh oil. That’s where I use balls with surface! (I have not hit the surface of the TOTALLY DEFIANT because I typically prefer hybrids or solids with surface.) It also isn’t much use on a super burned out or very light pattern, which you would expect with a strong asymm — even a shiny pearl.
The TOTALLY DEFIANT makes me think of an asymm version of the Storm FRANTIC or a less early version of the Storm SYNC.
If you’re a fan of the DEFIANT SOUL, the TOTALLY DEFIANT should be a great companion ball. And it should be a solid choice for anyone who bowls on any conditions beyond light oil.
But because it's a powerful asymm, I don't think it will be the most versatile ball in anyone's bag. I'd pick something like the DISTURBED or DERANGED for that.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Riggs


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: RonCase823 09/25/2013 23:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    241
Sport Shot Average    217
 
My Axis is 4 7/8 right, ¼ up, my speed is average and I would consider myself with higher revs but more up the back. So not a cranker but not really straight either.

This ball I drilled with the pin above the ring finger and the MB strong without any hole.

The ball gets through the front of the lane very smooth and easy then when it turns “look out”. It is very angular and sharp on the back end which helps when I have to move inside, deep on a pattern and need it to snap around the corner. The way this one is drilled I left it shiney so playing straight through the front of the lane isn’t my first choice because then it may go too long and be too angular at the pocket. If I give it a little surface that will fix that problem. For those who want skid flip this is it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RonCase823


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: John Brodersen 09/24/2013 12:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
The layout selection used was based on the Storm VLS system and suggestions made by Mr. Steve Kloempken of Storm. My thanks to Mr. Kloempken for his suggestions, time and knowledge.

Ball specs – 15 lbs 4 oz, 2.69top weight, and 3 5/8 -inch pin.

The Totally Defiant was drilled with a low RG layout as follows; using Dual Angle terminology - 2.5 inch pin distance, 60 degree drill angle and a 40 degree VAL angle. Using Storm’s VLS methodology the layout is 2.5 X 6 X 1.5 pin buffer. An X-hole was needed and placed in the P2 location. The surface was left OOB which is 1500 polished.

The HP4 line Totally Defiant is asymmetrical, has a pearl cover stock and an eye catching color scheme. The Totally Defiant was thrown on a fresh USBC White #2 pattern along with the Defiant Edge with a high RG layout (60 degree drill X 5 inch pin X 30 degree VAL). The pearl cover stock allowed the quick revving Totally Defiant to provide about two additional feet of length than the Defiant Edge but the Edge had a more angular breakpoint shape. Don’t get me wrong here. The Totally Defiant still had plenty of hook, recovery and hit on the backend but with the low RG layout the down lane motion was smoother. This is what I was trying to achieve. A Totally Defiant with its pearl cover, drilled with a high RG layout (longer pin and smaller VAL angle – dual angle system, longer pin and smaller pin buffer – Storm VLS) would be just as clean but more angular down lane than what I experienced and probably stronger than the Defiant EDGE.

With the selected layout, the Totally Defiant will allow me to play with more closed angles and closer to the friction on fresh medium to medium/heavy conditions.


John Brodersen
RG amateur staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: StormSteve 08/31/2013 18:02 ( stars)


 
Totally Defiant
PAP - 4 3/16 over 1/4 up
Ball Speed 17-18 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout 80 x 2.25 x 20
Surface Preparation: OOB

What I was looking for: I have never had very much luck with Asym cores, I wanted to try something completely different. I wanted the ball to get really far down the lane and turn the corner violently but not hook a whole lot. With balls this strong I wanted to drill it weak just so I can throw it on league patterns.

What I got: I finally have an asymmetric ball that matches very well with me. I literally have 5 boards of room with this ball on my house shot. Completely ignores the heads and just does its magic on the backend. Very crisp, but smooth enough to be predictable with this Low RG type layout.

At first this ball still wanted to flare a little too much for me so it would kind of roll out in the dry but I could play really deep with it. I am more of a track area bowler so I put a weight hole up and it rolls incredible ever since.

I can still play multiple areas with this ball. I can still go deep and throw it out, or I can pump it up the boards. It will get down the lane and the there’s no stopping it on the back end. It hits pins hard at high angles. Some dreaded 9 pins to be left.

I have yet to throw it on any type of sport shot but I can’t wait to throw this in league.

Steven Fagan
Storm Pro Shop Staff
Lexington, KY


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormSteve


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 08/28/2013 22:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 

The Roto Grip Totally Defiant is in the HP-4 Line. The Totally Defiant is the pearl version on the Defiant Soul. Which is a very popular and successful ball. I drilled mine at 5 x 4 x 3, pin above. My PAP is 4 up 1 1/4. This ball gets through the fronts real clean as expected with the pearl cover, but still has good midlane roll and good continuation through the pins. When the Soul starts to labor a little downlane I can switch to the Totally Defiant and stay in the same part of the lane. The carry was really good from many different angles. This ball may be the strongest ball motion downlane that we have in our Asymmetrical line today. If you liked the Critical Theory, then you will love the Totally Defiant as it is stronger and creates more angle at your breakpoint.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: Ldawn318 08/28/2013 02:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" over and 3/4" up
 
Weight: 15 lbs.
Pin Length: 4”
Drilling: 65 x 5 7/8\\\\\\\" x 45 with a hole down
Pattern Length: 41 ft.
Pattern Volume: Medium
Pattern Type: THS
Right Handed
Wow, the Totally Defiant is totally awesome. This ball speaks for itself, the Paragon core wrapped with a pure pearl cover is a great addition to the HP4 line. Many of you might think this ball will be similar to the Defiant Edge; well scratch that thought from your brain. The Defiant Edge was an all around smooth rolling ball, but the new Totally Defiant is cleaner through the fronts and more angular down lane. This ball really gives me the opportunity to stand left and wheel it when the track area begins to burn up in the front part of the lane.

LD Dawn
Roto Grip Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ldawn318


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: Roto_Roller 08/27/2013 11:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/8 1/2 up
 
Weight: 14 lbs.
Pin Length: 3”
Drilling: Pin above fingers, stacked
Pattern Length: 40 ft.
Pattern Volume: Medium
Pattern Type: THS
Right Handed

I tested the TOTALLY DEFIANT on a 40 ft. house pattern, at 1500 grit polished, which is the box finish. I also used it on US open senior womens pattern in Columbus, OH.

This ball gets through the heads very smooth, with a very strong angular motion when it comes off the pattern. I found, on the house pattern, I had to move in further, but did not lose carry. This ball does not quit! It gives me more length than the DEFIANT, and the DEFIANT EDGE, with a much more angular move to the pocket. I find I leave fewer corner pins due to the stronger entry angle.

On the senior US open womens pattern, the TOTALLY DEFIANT read the pattern nicely on the fresh, even with the pearl cover stock. This ball gives me a similar look to the old Cell Pearl, which was my favorite ball at the time!

The TOTALLY DEFIANT is a great addition to your arsenal. It is very versatile as it can be used on THS and sport patterns alike.

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto_Roller


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: Roto_Roller 08/27/2013 11:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/8 1/2 up
 
Weight: 14 lbs.
Pin Length: 3”
Drilling: Pin above fingers, stacked
Pattern Length: 40 ft.
Pattern Volume: Medium
Pattern Type: THS
Right Handed

I tested the TOTALLY DEFIANT on a 40 ft. house pattern, at 1500 grit polished, which is the box finish. I also used it on US open senior womens pattern in Columbus, OH.

This ball gets through the heads very smooth, with a very strong angular motion when it comes off the pattern. I found, on the house pattern, I had to move in further, but did not lose carry. This ball does not quit! It gives me more length than the DEFIANT, and the DEFIANT EDGE, with a much more angular move to the pocket. I find I leave fewer corner pins due to the stronger entry angle.

On the senior US open womens pattern, the TOTALLY DEFIANT read the pattern nicely on the fresh, even with the pearl cover stock. This ball gives me a similar look to the old Cell Pearl, which was my favorite ball at the time!

The TOTALLY DEFIANT is a great addition to your arsenal. It is very versatile as it can be used on THS and sport patterns alike.

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Memb


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto_Roller


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: pbaramos 08/27/2013 10:57 ( stars)


 
The New Roto Grip Totally Defiant is a great compliment to the HP4 line for Roto. This ball gives you a lot cleaner look through the front part of the lane then the previous released Defiant Edge. Without the Micro Bite in the cover, it wont read the lane as early as the defiant, or defiant edge. You can expect a very smooth motion similar to the new storm release (Byte), but a lil stronger through the midlane. I layed mine out weak as usual when it comes to asym balls. 65x5x30 (Axis: 3 3/4 over, 7/8 up) was the end result, and I wasn't let down. It feels great to have a nice predictable asym ball in my bag to compliment the rest of its relatives :) Thanks Team Utah yet again!

Erik Ramos
Storm/Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pbaramos


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: YANKEEMAN 08/16/2013 14:02 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    219
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" right 1/8" up
 
I had my Totally Defiant drilled 5x3 with a medium sized weight hole 3" right of the thumb hole. The ball had a 3-1/2 inch pin and came with a 1500 grit polished factory finish which I left untouched.
On a 42' THS, I slid 27, put the ball down around 22 and hit 15 at the arrows (most of the time-lol). The ball would go out to 8-9 and snap back to the pocket. I had area left and right, the ball would recover if it was wide right but what I really like is if I missed in a board or 2 it would hold but it would carry the half 10 or weak hit.
The ball is very clean through the heads but not squirty, the 1500 grit pearl is a nice combination. The midlane reaction was very consistant and strong. I not only struck a lot but the strikes looked the same. Its also angular, and has that good snap that made the previous Defiants so popular. This angularity and snap make the Totally Defiant the strongest ball in my bag.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by YANKEEMAN


Roto Grip Totally Defiant Reviewed By: ODriscoll 08/14/2013 21:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    211
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Totally Defiant

Roto Grip has improved which each new version of the Defiant. The Defiant Soul has become an extremely versatile ball in my arsenal. With the release of the Totally Defiant, you’ll find a stronger pearl reactive than any of the others which means more back end.

I found more skid snap reaction. On the WTBA Athens pattern I was able to stand in exactly the same spot as the Soul to get to the pocket. The Soul read a little earlier than the Totally Defiant. However the T.D really broke loose on the back end.

A great addition when the heads are dry and you need more motion on the back.

Kelly O’Driscoll
Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ODriscoll


Read all 30 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter