Go to Brunswick Aura Paranormal »

Only show reviews for Brunswick Aura Paranormal

Customer Reviews          Average: 5Write a Review    Read all 12 reviews

I Love It
 
100% (12 of 12)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 12)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 12)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 12)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 12)

Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/16/2013 14:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Get ready for a reaction like you've never seen. The Brunswick Aura Paranormal bowling ball will defy everything you know about ball motion!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 65* x 5" x 65*
Balance Hole - N/A

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500, 2000 grit Siaair)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was a huge fan of the original Aura. As a matter of fact I ended up drilling another one after our test for my own use in leagues and love both of them.
The Aura Paranormal was to offer a stronger overall ball motion then the Aura with just as much hitting power as the original.

I used the exact same layout as my test Aura to see the differences between the two. I am expected this layout to pick up a strong roll in the middle part of the lane with a strong continuous motion instead of the sharp break point of the Aura.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
For me the Paranormal offered a much different look then my Aura.

It was much smoother overall with no big move in any one part of the lane. Off my hand the ball was rolling really strong. It is tough to pick up int he video because of the ball color but the ball is in a really strong early roll and that motion continues into the middle part of the lane. As it transitions into the backend the ball picks up a stronger motion and comes off the spot pretty strong.

All in all I had the Aura Paranormal less then my Aura due to the angles I was able to achieve with my Aura. The Paranormal will offer a great compliment tot he Aura and give you another great look from Brunswick.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 01/16/2013 14:22 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 65 x 5" x 45

Surface Preparation - Out of Box ( 500, 2000 Grit Siaair Micro Pad)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

I loved the Aura. I was expecting a stronger, earlier rolling reaction due to the coverstock finish.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

This ball is the perfect compliment to the original Aura. It had an earlier rolling, smoother reaction which is great for heavier conditions or the start of league when the Aura pushes a bit too far. The Aura Paranormal is super easy to read and that makes adjustments extremely simple. Sometimes the Aura could get in trouble with carrydown and the Paranormal is great at combatting this.

I would highly recommend the Aura Paranormal to anyone looking for a very strong, easy to control ball to be the first one out of their bag!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: mdsnook 02/14/2013 10:50 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I got this to use early in league to compete against the fresh. Mission accomplished. Pulled out the old ball in game 2 and had to change nothing. I had been starting farther right than I am comfortable with and moving left all night and having to be precise in my speed often playing slower than desired. Now i can post up and live where I am comfortable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mdsnook


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: brunswick802 02/02/2013 22:34 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205-210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8" right
 
Bowler’s Stats:
Right handed
18.5 mph
450 rpm
7 degree tilt
35-45 degree rotation

Layout:
45 by 4.5” by 55
No hole
OOB Surface

Purpose:
For me the original Aura is amazing on almost any condition with medium volume and medium to longer lengths. Although it still provided a good reaction on the heavy/long conditions, I wanted the Aura Paranormal to be able to just motor through the soup. Thus, the layout for the Paranormal is slightly stronger than my original.

On the lanes:
I’ve thrown the Aura Paranormal on both my fresh medium volume 39” house shot and 41” WTBA Montreal. Lanes are Brunswick Pro-Anvils.

On the house shot, I admittedly didn’t plan on even throwing this ball at all. Its cover is 2000 grit, I have low tilt, and the pattern is only about 20mL total oil. I thought there was no way this ball would get far enough downlane to look like a good option. Playing around in practice, I picked it up and took a big step left. My very first shot with this ball crossed the arrows at 23, leaked further right than planned out to 5, flipped up and absolutely ran over the 8 pin. Even though I now know otherwise, it’s hard to get away from the preconception that a dull ball can’t get downlane and flip. I never thought I’d say that a dull ball offers an equally good reaction in this house as weaker equipment does. I stayed with the Paranormal Aura until the middle of the 3rd game when I finally had to ball down. On this house shot, the Paranormal Aura is 4 boards stronger for me than the original Aura. All of this comes from the strong Optimum-Hook cover reading the lane a touch sooner and stronger than the Optimum-Flip cover of the original. Even with the dull cover, it has no problem recovering back from shots missed right of target.

On WTBA Montreal (41’, 27.55mL), I knew this ball would get plenty of action. I was bowling a small local sweeper and was confident going in that the Paranormal Aura would give me a look that no one else could match. I started the 4 game qualifying crossing 19 at the arrows and targeting 9 at 41’. During practice I threw the original Aura for comparison and found it to require a 6 board move right with my feet to use the same breakpoint. Based on this and the THS comparison, regardless of condition, the Paranormal Aura is at least 3-4 boards stronger than the original on medium volume patterns and at most 5-6 boards stronger than the original on the very heavy patterns. During the 4 games of qualifying, I only had to move 5 boards in with my feet and move my breakpoint in 1 board. Since people were throwing heavily sanded balls to combat the lack of frictions, the ease of getting the ball downlane became more important throughout the night. Nonetheless, for the last 2 games of the finals, it became too burnt and I jumped right 5 boards with my feet, pulled out the original Aura, kept my breakpoint target at 10, and went on to win the sweeper. The way the Aura Paranormal dug through the end of the pattern gave me a ton of confidence with my ball roll despite some user error occurring that night.

Overall:
The Aura Paranormal is a terrific compliment to the original Aura. It’s almost just as clean down lane despite having a 2000 grit cover and flips more than I have ever seen a dull ball flip. What this does for my game is to allow me to get the ball further downlane and flip without sacrificing the predictability of the spot that can sometimes come with polished equipment. For speed and rev matched players, you will see the most versatility out of this ball. Heavy handed players will still see plenty of push downlane before flipping up to the pocket. Those with less revs or higher speed who play further outside get the benefit of the strong cover and core doing all the work for you in checking up and sending pins flying while the push through the fronts doesn’t trap you into having to move in more than what you’re comfortable with. I’ve had plenty of success with the original Aura and I can’t wait to rival that success with the Aura Paranormal. This ball will be a staple in the strong end of my arsenal and I see no reason that it shouldn’t be in yours. It’s almost Valentine’s Day so show your game a little love and treat yourself to the Aura Paranormal.

Good luck and good bowling!

Jared Wolf
Jonesboro, AR
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brunswick802


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: CottonBook64 06/27/2013 14:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
 
My Brunswick Aura Paranormal is currently the strongest ball in my bag, tied with my Lucid. This ball offers great hook on challenging oil patterns. It has a strong continuous ball motion, evening out the hook over the entire lane. This ball is also useful on fresh oil patterns.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by CottonBook64


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: astroskg 04/25/2013 16:38 ( stars)


 
Great ball , i carry a 218 average in three leagues am 55 years old and a tweener ,15# ball since i got this ball and had it drilled i have shot 5 700 plus series and a 687 , 5@ 279 games and a pair on the same night, love this ball it hits like a freight train, i realize that has allot to do with the way it is drilled but boy is this ball great, plan on ordering another before they "new and improve it" , thank you X-Treme Angle Creations pro shop in Santa Fe, New Mexico as always you do a fantastic job.

now with all that said would i buy another, yes most likely in the next couple weeks,
will set one up factory 2000, and the other maybe polish with 4000, can't praise this ball enough

would i recommend this ball to a friend , No it mine all mine no one can have one

its my edge to keep the young guys on there toes

signed

"The OLD Dude"


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by astroskg


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: mikiemega 04/11/2013 13:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    206
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Had ball drilled 30 minutes before league, pin over the ring finger. Could not believe my eyes!!! The ball just ripped thru the pocket with a vengeance. Went 268, 258, 245 for 771 and , what was most important, didn't move a board all night. What an amazing ball!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikiemega


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: DaBoss300 03/17/2013 21:34 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The first work out of my mouth when I threw this ball was WOW! Continuing on with Brunswick’s latest success, the Aura Paranormal gets through the heads the cleanest I’ve ever seen for a ball that hooks this much! The ultra low RG core, get’s this ball to pick up in the mid-lane. Once the ball see’s the friction on the backend there is no holding back. The Aura Paranormal conserves enough energy to continue through the pins in a unbelievable fashion.

I compared this ball to my Nexus (P+F). The Nexus (P+F) was my go to ball on longer/heavier patterns. I’ll gladly be putting the Nexus (P+F) away and replacing it with the Aura Paranormal. The Aura Paranormal allowed me to move deeper and opens my angles up even more than the Nexus (P+F).

If you're looking for a ball to work on heavier/longer oil patterns get yourself a Aura Paranormal.

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.

Jason Jones
Brunswick Staff
Bloomington, IL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DaBoss300


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: GreatWhite 02/08/2013 16:47 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 over, 5/8 up
 
This ball hooks! I have been able to throw the Paranormal Aura on my local house pattern, as well as in a practice session on cheetah. On cheetah I was able to easily stand 6 left of where I was playing with my Aura, and anywhere from 6 to 10 boards left with my feet on my local house pattern. The Paranormal allows me to get into the puddle and really open up the lane like no other ball in the Brunswick line up. This is a great ball to keep in your bag for heavier/longer conditions, it allows me to stay closer to my comfort zone and not have to straighten my line up too much. The Paranormal eats through the oil, turns hard when it hits the friction, and hits like a truck as it drives through the pins. Get to your local pro shop and order one today!

Barry McKee
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not the Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GreatWhite


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: baer300 01/27/2013 21:09 ( stars)


 


The Paranormal Aura is the newest addition the the Pro Performance line. The PA is a solid and is very strong. It is the strongest ball to date.
I have to admit, i was a little skeptical of this realease. I have never had a ball that was really strong that was clean and had great continuation through the pins. Well, this is a first.

My first one is drilled 65x5x80 with a hole 2.5" down on the VAL. I can use this ball in multiple ways. I can go straighter and I can hook it. I can chase the oil left as far as I want or until I run out of lane. This ball just continues to keep coming. I can get farther left and throw it farther right than any ball I have ever thrown. When compared to a 45x4.75x70 Aura, it is about 5 boards more hook, just as clean and about 1ft sooner.

My second one is drilled 45x4.5x45 no hole. I wanted this one for the longer and heavier patterns. This ball will be great for this. I will be able to use this on the fresh and then as it breaksdown I can chase the oil left. I really can't compare this to any other ball. This is the first time I drilled a ball like this that was this strong of a ball. What I can tell you that it is surprisingly clean through the fronts.

I am amazed at how much this ball hooks with continuation through the pins. If you need a new heavy oil ball or your house shot is tighter this is the ball for you.



Adam Baer
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: baer300 01/27/2013 21:08 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 


The Meanstreak Brawler is the newest addition to the High Performance line. This ball utilizes the Adaptive Chemistry coverstock. The MB uses a a Hybrid version of the cover found in the original Nexus. The cover is f P+F. I am slightly rev dominant and found the original to be a little smooth when playing deep. The MB is not the same way.

My first one is drilled 60x5x80 with a hole 2" down on the VAL. This layout allows me to play straighter during the fresh. I can still chase the oil line left without loosing hit. I can only go so far though before I have to change balls. I could avoid changing balls by simply getting around the ball more but the Ringer is usually a better option. When compared to a Meanstreak drilled 30x4.5x70 with hole on PAP, the Brawler is still smoother and about 2ft earlier with about 2 boards more hook.

My second one is drilled 30x6x40 with a hole on my PAP. As with my pin down I can start with this ball and chase the oil left. The difference is that with the pin up, I can use this one longer. I can usually finish a block with this unless I run out of lane. Compared to a Meanstreak drilled 55x5x35 hole on PAP, they are very similar with hook potential. The Brawler is earlier and smoother. Not much though.

The Meanstreak Brawler is another great benchmark type ball. If you loved the Versa Max like everyone else does, the Brawler will be cleaner a little sooner but more continuation.



Adam Baer
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Brunswick Aura Paranormal Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 01/25/2013 23:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4x 3/4 up
 
ALL SPECS
Ball 1:
Pin Length: 3"
Starting Top Weight: 3 oz
Ball Weight: 15 lbs 3 oz
DRILL PATTERN
Ball: 80 x 5 1/4 x 75
X Hole (if there is one): No Hole
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 375 rpms
Ball Speed:17.5 mph
PAP/Track: 4 3/4 over 3/4 up
SURFACE PREP
Grit: High Gloss
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished
LANE CONDITIONS
Lengths of patterns: 41 foot house shot and broken down shark pattern
Volumes: moderate
Type: house
BALL REACTION
Length: Clean through the heads, the midlane, and the backend
Back End: Strong arc
Overall Hook: little on the fresh but a good bit on the breakdown
Midlane Read: very little
Breakpoint Shape: skid/flip
COMMENTS
Likes: Hook and ability to cover boards without quitting
Dislikes: none
The Aura Paranormal is the strongest ball I have thrown to date. Not only is it the strongest piece, it continues to redefine ball motion in the Brunswick line. The Aura was previously Brunswick's strongest ball down lane in oilier lane conditions. This release hooks earlier than the Aura while retaining nearly the same move at the end of the pattern. This ball is CONTINUOUS! Once it begins its transitional move it doesn't quit. It is not designed for use on average house conditions. This ball was clean through the heads but still had too much hook for our house shot. I had to put it away after a few frames as I ran out of lane. Fifth arrow is simply too far left on the fresh and the new Meanstreak Brawler and Meanstreak are better options for me. The Paranormal didn't quit but it definitely over hooked. On the fresh Shark pattern the ball was perfect and gave me several more boards of recovery than the Aura. It also allowed me to be firmer and throw the ball with more confidence knowing that the recovery would be there and the ball would carry if it went light mixer. This will be my go to ball when volumes are higher. I look forward to drilling a stronger one to see if I can open them up even more on oilier condition. If you need help hooking the ball on oilier conditions or you are just looking for a board covering machine The Aura Paranormal is the ball for the job.
_________________________
Chris Garrett
Upstate Pro Shop
Greenville, SC

PBA Member
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Read all 12 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter