Go to DV8 Brutal Nightmare »

Only show reviews for DV8 Brutal Nightmare

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.94Write a Review    Read all 16 reviews

I Love It
 
94% (15 of 16)
I Like It
 
6% (1 of 16)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 16)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 16)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 16)

DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/14/2013 12:17 ( stars)

335 of 339 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Your opponents thought the Nightmare was over, but this new one is BRUTAL!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 65* x 5" x 65*
Balance Hole - N/A

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 grit Siaair, Rough Buff)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
With it all new Class 8 Hybrid Reactive cover I was fully expecting to see all the strength of the original Nightmare with a more skid/snap ball motion.

I drilled the new Brutal Nightmare identical to mu Nightmare so I could see the actual differences in ball motion. With this layout I am expecting to see a big reaction downlane when the ball finds friction with a strong but smooth look in the heads.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
WOW! I have been so impressed with the last few releases from DV8 and the Brutal Nightmare kept that going.

This ball is a beast. You may have to get used to the way it looks going down the lane as DV8 is not shy from using bright colors on their equipment. Once you do you will be very impressed by the ball motion of the Brutal and the way that it compliments the other balls in their line.

Just as advertised and expected the Brutal Nightmare is smoother off my hand then the Nightmare was and the Rough Buff finished Hybrid cover gives you a ton of recovery downlane. I swear I could throw this ball as far right as I wanted it would just popped off the break point. It was super strong down lane without sacrificing the smooth but aggressive motion off my hand and through the mid lane.

All in all another winner from DV8.

Tonight We Bowl!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 01/14/2013 15:27 ( stars)

59 of 65 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
PSA Layout - 65x 5" x 40
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Grit Siaair w/ Rough Buff Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

The original Nightmare was extremely strong and early rolling for me. I was expecting the Brutal Nightmare to get more length with a much stronger backend reaction using the same layout.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

This ball is an absolute train on the backend of the lane! The ball gets through the heads well, makes a pronounced read in the mid lane and took a left turn on the backend. Talk about opening the lane up!

For me, this is the best ball that DV8 has created up to this point. I believe all styles of bowlers will benefit from this ball. Low rev players will love the angle they can create from outside, tweeners will be able to play multiple lines and crankers will be able to move as far left as they need and this thing will rip back. Don't sleep on the Brutal Nightmare... I know the pins won't!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: bannachb 01/18/2013 21:18 ( stars)

36 of 41 people found this review helpful.


 
Brutal Nightmare

DV8 describes the nightmare as a ball that “Finished with a Rough Buff Finish, the Brutal Nightmare skids easily through the front and mid-lane with an extremely quick response to friction on the backend creating a highly continuous motion that pummels the pins. The Brutal Nightmare with its new Class 8 Hybrid Reactive coverstock is the most skid / snap DV8 ball to date and should be used on medium oily to oily lane conditions.”
I have always struggled with asymmetric equipment revving up too quickly and burning up all it’s energy before it gets to the pins. So with the Brutal Nightmare we decided to try something a little different. We drilled it to retain as much energy as physically possible. We decided to go with a 90* x 2.5 x 50* layout. This would allow the Brutal Nightmare to get down the lane, and make a smoother move on the backend thus retaining as much energy as possible.
I LOVE this ball on a house shot. It is strong enough to handle the oil in the middle but it is smooth enough not to overreact if I get in into the dry to quick.
My first night using it was on a house shot and I was pleasantly surprised with the reaction I saw. When I would normally see a the ball rev up and burn up, the Brutal Nightmare floated through the heads and made a strong controlled move on the backed. When I would miss out it still retained energy and made a strong move, and while in the past I would have left a plaque ten, the Brutal had plenty of energy left to carry.
I have also used the Brutal on the Earl Anthony 40’ pattern. The Brutal gave me a great reaction look on this pattern. While others were having trouble with their ball either struggling to handle the volume, or struggling with controlling the breakpoint, the Brutal gave me the best of both worlds. It was strong enough to overcome the upfront volume, but did not go sideways off the friction. And, once again, it still had energy at the pins.
While I drilled the Brutal Nightmare slightly unconventional, it does exactly what I was hoping it would. This layout will allow me to use the Brutal on a multitude of different patterns, when I need easy length but a strong controllable motion.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bannachb


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: j9dalton@gmail.com 02/25/2013 01:19 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I have been bowling with Storm and Roto Grip for last six years, never get 300/800. I gave up and decided to go for DV8 and picked Brutal Nightmare. First week, I bowled 290 and 825 seres. Second week, I bowled 300. All I do is Throw this BEAST and let HIM attack the lane and pins. After two weeks, I decided to throw away all my Storm and Roto Grip bowling balls and purchased Misfit Neon Yellow Pearl and Marauder Madness. I cannot wait to drill those newest balls upcoming this week!

I'm right handed bowler and average 216.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by j9dalton@gmail.com


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: strum67 12/06/2013 16:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    170
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    differs
 
Out of the box, first six games on this ball I bowled ten over my avg every game with endless hook. Ball moves through the front end great and snaps on the back-end. Love this ball. Very smooth then wicked hook, crazy compared to others that I've used before.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: j.stoudenmire@gmail.com 12/03/2013 12:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Dual Angle Layout - 60º x 3.25" x 25º

Surface Prep - 500 grit SIAAIR (ended up removing the polish after a few games)

What I was looking for in this layout:
This layout may seem pretty tame but I through pretty high-rev so I needed to dial it back a bit. It's similar to my layout on my Mutant Cell Pearl, but I wanted this one to maintain good length, but transition a bit earlier.

I also jumped from 14lbs on my MCP, to a 15lbs Brutal Nightmare, to combat my habit of trying to muscle the ball too much.

What I ended up with:
First off, this ball hits like a truck... A absurdly, annoyingly bright, neon-painted truck.

For a while with this ball and layout I was having a lot of trouble finding a consistent line, and the motion of the ball just didn't feel at all predictable or comfortable. After trying all kinds of adjustments on the lane, my hand, etc., my pro-shop guy suggested we try knocking the polish off of the ball. Wow, talk about a world of difference...

The Brutal Nightmare still retained a lot of length, but with the polish gone, it started to transition beautifully coming out of the midlane and would get a bit more of an even arc on the back end. So it really is the best of both worlds for me now: Still plenty of length like a skid/flip ball, but great predictability and margin for error as if it were a symmetric-core ball.

Also, potential buyers should note that this ball is BRIGHT! Like, annoyingly bright (which I love). The pictures of it online make it look a lot darker than it actually is. It's one of those things to where it's so ugly I think it's beautiful :) I get a kick out of the old-timers in our league who tell me it's ugly as hell. I refer to it as the "Unicorn Turd."


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: mwtravlr 10/29/2013 22:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    199
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP     4-1/2, up 3/4
 
This is the 2nd DV8 I've purchased from bowlingball.com (the first one was a DV8 Marauder Mutiny I bought for lighter oil conditions, which also has worked very well in three of the ten houses I bowl in).

It came today and I used it in league tonight. I got it because of the very "soupy" 40' THS lane conditions we've been experiencing this season, and I had 21 strikes with it. As the lanes changed, I just moved further and further left, ending up 8 boards left from where I started. For a "first night" experience, I'm very pleased.

Dustin drilled it with the pin down, in the "big curve" configuration, because I have several balls (mostly Storm) which go long and flip. Early in the series, it didn't have nearly as much movement as I was expecting, but it gave me a very controllable reaction with only two "heavy headpin" splits.

As primarily a "Storm guy" for quite a few years, I've been very surprised and pleased with the two DV8 balls I've purchased.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mwtravlr


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: cspringer.devel@gmail.com 10/15/2013 20:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 11/16 right - 5/16 up
 
PAP -> 4 11/16 Right / 5/16 up
DA Layout -> 46 x 4 1/2 x 22
PSA Layout -> 4 1/2 x 4 x 1 1/2

Review:
One word for this ball...WOW! I've owned several balls from DV8 (HRR, Marauder Madness, Misfit Green/White) and this one is absolutely killer! I started the day just warming up with a control ball down and in to get loose. I knew this ball would be angular from watching the reviews so I moved 5 left and expected to hit light. NOPE! Right through the face! So I move another 3 left and let the ball sail out between the 5 and 7 boards only to watch it come barreling back and smash the pocket! This ball has a great reaction to friction and a very clean motion through the front part of the lane. The only other ball in the DV8 line that I've gotten even close to this kind of reaction with was the Hellraiser Revenge with a DA Layout at 45 x 4 1/2 x 70. Unfortunately, both of my HR's cracked and they discontinued that line. Finally a replacement for what I considered to be the best ball I ever had!

Pros:
Very clean through the heads
Very strong motion down lane on a 40 ft THS
Great entry angle to the pocket

Cons:
When the oil pattern breaks down, this ball gets jumpy when it encounters friction
Highly sensitive to axis tilt/rotation changes i.e. changes in hand position (NOT an entry-level ball)

Overall:

You gotta have one of these! I'm thinking about buying another one so I can put a slightly larger pin buffer in it and use it for when the lanes break down and I need a slightly smoother reaction.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cspringer.devel@gmail.com


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: Raymondb2537 06/25/2013 17:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    171
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I love this ball! I had it drilled pin under last week to get into an earlier roll and it absolutely crushes the pins. This ball is a great compliment to my Hellraiser Revenge.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Raymondb2537


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: mattydukes216 03/30/2013 22:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
The guy at my local pro shop knew I was in the market for a new ball been throwing the nexxxus which I found got a little jumpy on me towards the 3rd game got this ball Thursday subbed that night...this ball is the smoothest ball if ever thrown even if I got to inside or outside this ball was smooth carried from everywhere I highly suggest this is u need something more controllable without losing any power I really highly suggest this

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: Brooksie 03/15/2013 11:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2 x 1 up
 
Very good Ball with a strong backend reaction. You need oil though. It will travel through the heads and midlane easy, but if the back end is dry or a short pattern, you will have trouble controlling the reaction on the backend. Overall though a great ball.

I have it drilled pin up to go long, and on a sport pattern I average about 200 with it. On a THS, The Brutal Nightmare is just too strong on the back end. Averaging about 185 with it, too many solid 10's and stone 9 pins left. No matter what adjustment I make, It still tears through the pins too strong to the left.

Overall a great ball. DV8 has won me over.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brooksie


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: smactavish92@hotmail.com 03/12/2013 12:27 ( stars)


 
I got this ball 2 weeks ago. In the 35 games ive thrown this ball ive averaged a 190 with my highest game being a 229, not too bad seeing i have a 135 league avg, I LOVE THIS BALL!!! Its got a smooth front with a wicked backend and when you hit the pocket the pins go flying.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: wdcjr842001@aol.com 02/19/2013 19:36 ( stars)


 
Lefty
Tweener
Speed 15-17mph
Rev rate 190-200
The Brutal Nightmare is a BEAST on the lanes. Where my other balls fail to grips the friction and wash out, this ball hits the pocket with forces. Pin carry is on point. The length had me scared, but when it turned over, it suprised the heck out of me. This ball should come with a turn signal!! KILLIN' YO!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wdcjr842001@aol.com


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: wdcjr842001@aol.com 02/19/2013 18:54 ( stars)


 
Lefty
Tweener
Speed 15-17mph
Rev rate 190-200
The Brutal Nightmare is a BEAST on the lanes. Where my other balls fail to grips the friction and wash out, this ball hits the pocket with forces. Pin carry is on point. The length had me scared, but when it turned over, it suprised the heck out of me. This ball should come with a turn signal!! KILLIN' YO!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wdcjr842001@aol.com


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: mgarritan 02/16/2013 14:21 ( stars)


 
This ball is unreal if you need length. First game with it threw the first 8....split in the 9th...struck out in the 10th. I'm a 2 hand bowler and struggled at times getting it down the lane but this really helped me with that. I have been a storm man for quite some time but DV8 is winning me over in a hurry. If you are looking for no effort and length, this is for you. 5 stars dv8.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mgarritan


DV8 Brutal Nightmare Reviewed By: mikiemega 02/14/2013 17:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    206
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Just got the ball and it drilled with pin right of ring finger, just a little under. and can not believe what I saw. I now have to learn how to throw this ball. Stood 8 boards left of where I stand when using the Hell Raiser Terror. The ball hits the pocket brutally. Another amazing ball from DV8!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikiemega


Read all 16 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter