Go to Storm Sync »

Only show reviews for Storm Sync

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.59Write a Review    Read all 39 reviews

I Love It
 
77% (30 of 39)
I Like It
 
13% (5 of 39)
It's Ok
 
3% (1 of 39)
I Don't Like It
 
8% (3 of 39)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 39)

Storm Sync Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/14/2013 11:47 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
It's never been as easy as it will be with the Storm Sync!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/4"
PSA Layout - 5 1/4" x 4" x 3"
Balance Hole - N/A

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Storm Sync is the new release in Storm's Premier Line. With that in mind I used a pretty simple layout to allow me to see what the all new Sync could do. Storm is saying that the Sync will allow you to fine tune the layout to the desired reaction and work for many different bowler styles and conditions.

With the layout I used I expected to see a really clean motion through the heads with a strong revving motion from the mid-lane on through the backends. Depending on the finish I am sure I could tweak the motion a little but like all of our review videos I am using this out of box.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I got a really strong ball motion from my Sync. I will say with the layout I used and the pattern we bowled on I did not see a lot of change in direction but the ball rolled super strong from front to back.

Off my hand the Sync got into a really heavy roll without reading any friction early. it maintained a really strong motion through the mid lanes and on through the backens just as I wanted. I could tell that with subtle tweaks in my release I could make the ball really turn off the corner downlane or smooth
it out.

I think the Sync will offer a great ball motion for a variety of bowler styles and all though it may not look like the ball motion of the Nano for example, it will not take long for everyone to fall in love with this ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 01/14/2013 15:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5 x 5 x 2.5"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

From what I had been hearing, this ball is supposed to be the closest to the original Virtual Gravity that Storm has released since that ball was in their current line. Needless to say, this ball has some pretty ginormous shoes to fill!

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

The Sync certainly is reminiscent of the original VG with the ability to clear the heads, start making its move in the mid lane and a super heavy roll on the backend. This is a unique reaction shape that made the Virtual Gravity so special. The Sync is the only other ball that I've ever thrown with this sort of reaction.

Those of you who loved the VG will absolutely LOVE the Sync! This ball is going to make some waves on heavy oil conditions. You won't be disappointed with the Sync!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: Riggs 01/27/2013 16:30 ( stars)

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
SYNC review by Storm staffer Jeff Richgels

The SYNC specs are here:
http://www.stormbowling.com/products/balls/sync
A picture of my SYNC is the review in my blog here:

DRILLED Jan. 21, 2013
I loved my first SYNC so much that I drilled two more.
SYNC (strong NANO copy) - 4 3/4 Pin-PAP, x 4 1/2 Pin-PSA, x 3 1/4 pin buffer = pin over ring finger, drilling angle about 75 degrees, PSA to right of thumb. Copies my favorite strong NANO that I used the last 2 games of the 2011 USBC Open Championships team event that we won. It's a ball I still use often on heavy oil.

SYNC (very high pin drilling) - 4 1/2 Pin-PAP, x 5 1/2 Pin-PSA, x 1 1/2 pin buffer = very high pin, PSA down near thumb. This is a control drilling that Hank Boomershine gave me for an ANARCHY for the USBC Open Championships. I loved the roll of that ball but I just could not carry with it.
DRILLED Dec. 13, 2012

ORIGINAL (pin in palm) - 5 1/4 inches Pin-PAP, 4 inches Pin-PSA, x 5 1/8 inches pin buffer with a 1 1/8 weight hole in the PSA 1 3/4 deep.
UPDATE: I now have thrown all three SYNCs on both Sport and house shots and it is proving to be everything I said it was in my original review after small tests on a Sport and a house shot.
It starts up early and is strong, but it's also smooth and continuous.
The cover comes 4,000 Abralon but lane shines quickly. At 4,000, it labored some in heavy oil like the 27.5 mL, 41-foot Team USA Montreal pattern with my moderate rev rate (300-325). I experimented with a rougher surface of 1,500 using the Turbo sandbagger system and it picked up much earlier so it's a very tunable cover.
I think my pin-in-the-palm will end up being best for me with a smoother surface to tame down reaction on patterns like Cheetah and hooking house shots. (I had a pin-in-the-palm FURIOUS that was a favorite of mine on Cheetah for years.)
The NANO copy at 1,500 worked great on a fresh, fairly heavy oil house shot in a tournament, but when the pattern transitioned after a couple of games it started losing energy a little early for my relatively slow speed (17-18 mph).
The very high pin SYNC at 1,500 somewhat surprisingly (considering my experience with that ANARCHY) has been the best performer for me. It got me a 279 game the last game in our league on Team USA Montreal, as I blogged here and it rolled excellent in the house shot tournament when I switched to it after the NANO copy started laboring some.

The one warning I would give people about the SYNC is that if you are a high-rev player you probably don't want to drill it to start up quick. I tried that with a young cranker friend and it "wouldn't hook" for him, although what it actually was doing was losing so much energy so quickly that it would make little movement in the back end. When he used rougher surface, it hooked "less," which is a key indicator. (He is plugging it and will change it to a high-pin drilling.)

I also have decided that the SYNC won't be retiring my trusty favorite NANO or VICTORY ROAD SOLID, since they are oil balls that give me much different motion. The NANO makes a quicker, sharper move at the breakpoint and the VR SOLID gets down the lane more and makes a curvier move on the back-end. But it has retired my LUCID, which has a similar motion without being as continuous through the pins.
Adding the SYNC and the new REIGN OF POWER to the NANO and VR SOLID I think gives me all the different motions I need for oily conditions.
ORIGINAL REVIEW: The one thing I think any bowler would love to have in their lineup is a fresh heavy oil ball that is early, smooth, strong and continuous.
Yes, I know that is a lot to ask of a bowling ball — early tends to quit and not be continuous, and smooth and strong don’t often go together. But a bowler can dream, can't he?
And maybe Storm has answered this bowler's dream with the new SYNC, which Storm recently sent out to a select group of testers that I was privileged enough to be in. They didn't include much information and asked for honest assessments of the ball, which is scheduled to be released to all staff and pro shops in mid-January and the public in early February. (I had to agree to put mine away until mid-January after testing it last week.)
All I know is what is on the box it came in: the cover is NRG solid (the same as the NANO) and the core is something new called G2. The RG is 2.47, just under the NANO's 2.48 and the differential is 0.58, much higher than the NANO's 0.52. The mass bias is 0.28; the LUCID's is 0.17.
The one ball I had that was closest to a fresh heavy oil ball that is early, smooth, strong and continuous was a VIRTUAL GRAVITY with a pin-in-the-palm drilling. The problem with that ball is that it was a little too early and a little too strong to be usable on more than fairly defined conditions. I often had to get too left and it went too early and left more than its share of flat 10s.
When I got my SYNC and it had a fairly short pin, I decided that it was time to give the drilling another shot. I figured if it worked, it would say a lot about the SYNC that a standard strong pin up or down drilling wouldn’t.
I left it the 4,000 Abralon box finish.
My first effort was on a fresh house shot at Ten Pin Alley, a Brunswick synthetics house that opened in 2003. The house shot there is very wet/dry.
With as much restraint as I can muster, I must say that the SYNC’s reaction astounded me – and it takes a lot for a skeptical journalist to say that. After 4 frames to get somewhat loose I reeled off 13 strikes in a row that were all pretty much flush with the last few shots intentionally moving my feet in and opening up my angle from the fairly direct shot up about 12-board that I started with. That just made the ball turn the corner and roar back to the pocket flush.
The SYCN was early, smooth, strong and continuous. I literally had a breakpoint maybe an arrow wide with the same result at the pins. In 20 or so shots I think I struck 18 times with one ring 10 and one flat 10.
I compared it first to my trusty pin-up strong VIRTUAL GRAVITY at 1,000 Abralon by hand with an old pad – the ball I used when we won the 2011 USBC Open Championships team event. That NANO was much more volatile, jumping off the breakpoint to sometimes go through the pins too hard or plaque. It struck but not near as much as the SYNC.
I love that NANO but it's one of those balls that is very touchy for me when it comes to carry. I often find myself seeing a flat 10/solid 9 reaction with it that has me switching to a smoother option.
I also compared the SYNC to a pin-in-the-palm TROPICAL HEAT PURPLE/BLACK at 2,000 Abralon by hand with an old pad. As expected, that ball was much weaker and I had to get my feet more to the right and go very direct to get it flush. I definitely did not have the room I had with the SYNC.
I tried the SYNC again after our Bullseye Masters league last week. We are bowling this round on Team USA Montreal, a fairly playable 41-foot, high volume Sport pattern. By the end of the night we had turned our pair into a wet/dry shot about 15-board.
During that night's league session, that NANO was the clear choice. It bucketed a couple of times in the last game-and-a-half on shots I got in and I also went high at least once. My last 2 games were 214 and 222. The overall reaction was good but the shot was touchy and my carry was mediocre.
The SYNC made the pattern read much less wet/dry. My first shot dove high off the dry, which didn't surprise me due to the difference between pin-in-the-palm and pin-over-fingers drillings. I had to move in 3-and-2 from where I was playing with the NANO. From there, I could get it in the oil and it would still roll up to the pocket and I could swing it and it wouldn’t totally over-react.
I only missed the pocket a couple of times in a dozen to 15 shots. I wasn’t striking like I was on the house shot — there were a couple of flat 10s and a weak 7 — but I definitely had a much better reaction than what I had with the NANO and could have shot some big scores, I believe.
On a scale of 1-5, I'd give it a preliminary 5 – with the caution that this was a tiny sample size and I need to see more of it before making any definitive conclusions. But I have been telling people I know who ask that they should wait to buy a strong ball until the SYNC comes out.
I would put it between the NANO and the LUCID, with the best characteristics of both balls. It's early and strong like the NANO but smoother like the LUCID and more continuous.
I plan to order a couple more when I can and am anticipating retiring my LUCID and perhaps my NANO. I am more excited about this ball than any ball Storm has released since the original VIRTUAL GRAVITY.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Riggs


Storm Sync Reviewed By: Capt K 02/23/2013 00:36 ( stars)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 1/16 x 3/4
 
I got the Storm Sync from a friend who went to a demo, but I usually buy from this website. It was a challenge to get a layout I could use. I am a low Rev “stroker” (about 250 RPM) and throw in the 16 to 19 MPH range. The typical house shot (THS) that I bowl on has a long pattern 43 feet due to all the “crankers” that need lots of oil. I never have enough hook and on some days, I have no hook at all. Using the Storm drilling system a 4 x 4 x 1 was the best match. However, when I laid this out the PIN ended up 3+ inchers above the fingers – so I went with the 4 x 4 x 2 layout (PIN 3/4 inch above fingers). In dual angle terms this equates out to a 38° x 4” x 32° -- to get the PIN below the fingers (early revs) requires a large VAL angle and large angles = late revs – so stuck with the PIN up and small angles. In a house with a short backend and pushdown, large angles do not work for low rev guys.
Right out of the box I could tell the NRG cover was something special. I think NRG should stand for Nano Rugged Grip because it grabs the wood much better than any ball I have thrown to date. The feel of the NRG cover is noticeably different (more friction) I just hope the cover lasts a long time. I have used the ball now 2 days and 22 games. In today’s vernacular my impressions is “OMG” this ball out hooks every ball I have ever used. To get my other bowling balls to “finish” and not “roll-out” I have had to put a lot of surface on them 360 grit (abralon pad) or lower. After the SYNC was drilled I took the surface down to 2,000 grit knowing that I am low rev. The SYNC at 2,000 out hooks some of the top rated balls at 360 grit and lower. The SYNC is amazing. In 2 days of league play I threw a 664 and next day a 683. I even threw a 289 – hit the first 10 – then left the 10 pin (went high). Everyone who knows my usual track was amazed how much this ball hooks and even more impressive is how it hits. The way the pins fly and mix is a thing to behold.
Even though I have small angles for the layout of this ball it clears the mid-lane easily then at the backend the ball turns on the blinker and makes a big left turn into the pocket. Going through the head and mid lane the ball barely looks like it has any revs on it at all (skid), then at the backend it suddenly switches on and that nano-cover does it magic as it grabs the wood – the revs appear and the ball makes the left turn and explodes the rack. I am very impressed with this ball.






Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Capt K


Storm Sync Reviewed By: cummins64 12/09/2013 14:29 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 1/2 over - 1/4 up
 
I have had my Sync for about 5 weeks. I bought it specifically to use on the heavy oiled lanes that I encounter on league nights. My local lanes always put down fresh, new oil 30-45 minutes before leagues, so you can imagine the type of oil that I am talking about. So fresh (and thick) that my LUCID (another Storm ball) was not effective at all, so I researched and bought the Sync. Right out of the box, it worked great. It went down the lane smoothly, made it passed the oil cleanly and bit HARD on the backend. Crushing the pocket and sending pins flying. BUT here is the sad news and alarming part (and why I don't like the ball)-- however Storm makes the coverstock and finish for the Sync (obviously a product secret) the ball is completely susceptible to soaking up oil. And quickly! I mean this ball is an OIL "wick". I've seen this ball go from freshly sanded and dull, to a shiny, slick "marble" that will completely slide passed the pocket in as little as 5 frames on league nights. The most I've ever gone is 6 games before needing a "scuff sanding" - aka two league nights (which is one week for me). Another negative issue is that I am unable to use the ball during practice games because I don't want it to soak up even MORE oil. So I use the ball for 6 league games, and pay my pro shop to sand it each week. Sand and repeat. Sand and repeat. So unless you own a ball spinner and abralon sanding pads -- or REALLY like giving your money to your local pro shop -- I would avoid this ball. It requires a lot of maintenance if you are using it on oily lanes- which is the recommended lane conditions for this ball. So I am selling the Sync (aka...losing money after just 5 weeks) and buying the Hammer First Blood.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cummins64


Storm Sync Reviewed By: davkarsports 01/17/2013 11:23 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Was able to throw this ball at a demo, then was lucky enough to be able to purchase/drill my own.

During the demo, the pin was just above the ring finger and the ball had some games on it so the surface was pretty shiny. I was amazed how clean the ball was through the heads - for as strong a ball as it was billed to be, it stayed in a skid for a long time. I was a bit underwhelmed with the backend response. HOWEVER, once I hit the ball with some 2000-grit abralon, I took it back out on the lane and was ASTOUNDED with the performance. On a THS, I threw 8 consecutive strikes lining up between 13 and 25 board, moving a couple boards left with each shot.

Got mine drilled up with a 1" pin buffer - so the pin is high above my ring finger. This drilling has been great for me with asymmetrical pearl and hybrid. At the OOB surface, the ball was very clean and very responsive. The color scheme of the ball permits you to really read what the ball is doing down the lane.

BOTTOM LINE - this ball will stay home on a typical league night, but I would anticipate it being the 1st ball out of my bag on most sport shot/tournament patterns. Extremely versatile ball - might be best Storm strong solid since the original VG.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Storm Sync Reviewed By: im4pats54 05/04/2013 12:13 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    241
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Layout 60x4 3/4x40. As directed by my Storm rep, I took some Storm #2 polish to it before drilling. It is the Nano on steroids. This ball reads the mids and goes strong at the breakpoint with no rollout. When nothing else works, 5 and 3 right and throw the Sync, hasn’t failed me yet, even on second shift carrydown. This ball definitely needs a little speed to get down the lane. On fresh I found this ball to not angle up enough to carry, but as the night goes on, I switch to this for additional help to carry when other balls won’t.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by im4pats54


Storm Sync Reviewed By: TenJaye 04/01/2013 18:11 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3”
Starting Top Weight: 2.73oz.
Ball Weight: 15lbs. 4oz.

DRILL PATTERN
Dual Angle: 65 / 4.5 / 40
X Hole (if there is one): None


SURFACE PREP
Grit:
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded):

LANE CONDITION
Length: 40ft.

Volume: Medium Heavy
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

BALL REACTION
Storm Sync Review
What else can I say except this ball is an absolute BEAST! As I have seen in various tournaments, this ball is can compliment all different bowler types and styles. For me personally, this is the most hooking asymmetrical ball I have ever had.
This ball just wants to hook right out of the box literally! This straight out of the box finish proved to be just a little too much for me as it ate up the front half of the lane. After hitting the ball with a 4000 pad to get a little shine, gave me an unbelievable strong hooking reaction without being too snappy. It also was very smooth mid lane that continued through the pins. This ball is perfect fresh out of the blocks type ball and is versatile enough to last for a while, that it until the lanes start to burn.

COMMENTS
Likes: Ball Strength and Hitting Power
Dislikes: A little too much ball out of the box
Storm Amateur Staff Member
T.J. Calara – Calgary, Alberta Canada.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TenJaye


Storm Sync Reviewed By: cortneybowler23 02/10/2014 19:10 ( stars)


 
I was looking for a ball for long oil patterns. This ball hooks early and sits in the pocket. I am very satisfied with my purchase of the Storm Sync!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: jcsimao 12/25/2013 23:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I bought this 15lb ball for oily house conditions where there is a lot of carry down oil. I am a high track 17mph stroker that gets underneath the ball with a lot of roll. I thought I had the ball drilled aggressively for early roll with a more aggressive reaction and snap on the back end dry. What I ended up with, a ball that early rolls with a smooth arcing motion through mid to back end. The ball often rolls out losing energy on the back end with horrible pin carry. I play the outside around the 5-7 board and the ball labors to get to the pocket until the second game when it finally soaks up enough oil to burn a track on the lane. The frustrating thing about buying a ball is trying to get a video of your style and ball reaction. The ball looks great if you a tweener or cranker. If I had it to do all over again, I would choose another ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jcsimao


Storm Sync Reviewed By: fordanthony 08/02/2013 22:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I'm a Average Bowler,175-180 avg.When i got this ball it was for the U.S open in Reno.Due to the heavy oil patterns let me tell you how much this ball has helped me,along with the First blood by hammer,my avg is a 212 now and i roll this ball always even on dry lanes my confidence is off the charts once i learned the reaction on the back end. There's not a oil pattern out that i won't throw this ball it has payed for itself I'm bowling in a lot more tournaments around the country whenever i can Haven't shot a 300 in a league yet but it's coming real soon..Trust and Believe

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by fordanthony


Storm Sync Reviewed By: rfe919@aol.com 07/19/2013 21:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I bought this ball at the end of the fall season needing a ball that would hook through any kind of oil. I threw my second 300 after having the ball for a week and had uped my average from low 220s to mid 230s. I had absolutely no complaints, it went long and hooked back every time and crushed the pocket. That lasted about 30-40 games. All of a sudden I couldn't get this to hook 5 boards. I have slowed my speed from mid 16s to 17 mph to low to mid 15 mph. It still doesn't hook. I have already taken it to get resurfaced which did nothing. Never have I had a ball die so quickly. I would highely recommend choosing another ball unless you are willing to purchase a new ball after a couple of months.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: PyroMadical 06/28/2013 18:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
 
The Storm Sync is my Go-to ball on heavy patterns, and I love the way it hooks. It has a really clean look through the heads, and really revs up on the backend. I would recommend this ball to anyone looking for a high-performance ball that doesn't take much to adjust to.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: japonte@southtrustlending.com 06/10/2013 11:17 ( stars)


 
Pretty amazing ball. I already increased my bowling scores by 40 pins instantly....I really didn't think that was even going to be possible...but I'm a believer. The Storm Sinc is an amazing ball and I have only bowled a few games with it. Can't wait until I am really used comfortable with the ball. I foresee my average increasing in the next several weeks by a minimum of 50 pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: Tony Reynaud 06/04/2013 11:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    239
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1 5/8 up
 
COVERSTOCK: NRG™ SOLID REACTIVE
WEIGHT BLOCK: G2™ CORE
LIGHT WEIGHT BLOCK: MODIFIED SHAPE-LOCK™ HDCORE
FACTORY FINISH: 4000-GRIT PAD
BALL COLOR: CRANBERRY/TANGERINE/BLACK
DUROMETER: 73-75 REX D-SCALE
FLARE POTENTIAL: 6” PLUS (HIGH)
FRAGRANCE: ICED CRANBERRY
WEIGHTS: 12-16 LBS.
SKU: TSY


My layout: 55 x 4 "x 2 1/2
My PAP: 4 3/4" over 1 5/8 up

The Sync is the newest ball in the Premier line from Storm. It comes equipped with a very strong asymmetrical core, which creates a very strong ball motion, even for straighter players such as me. The ball rolled a lot the Nano for me but it seems to clear the heads a little easier before starting its powerful roll.

My benchmark ball is the IQ Tour and has been for about a year now. I have run into situations in tournaments when I needed a stronger shape and entry angle into the pocket and the Sync was there to bail me out. I believe it is important to have two solids in your tournament bag, with one having a symmetrical core, and the other having an asymmetrical core. This combination helps me match up to more conditions while traveling from one bowling center to another in tournaments.

I was at a tournament a few days ago {6/2/13} and the tournament leader used a highly polished Syn,c and lead the field by over 50 pins in a 5 game block. That makes the Sync very versatile in terms of playing with the coverstock. That polished ball motion looked so good going down the lane that I am going to try that myself, with my second Sync this week.

In closing I feel Storm has succeeded once again by adding another weapon to my arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tony Reynaud


Storm Sync Reviewed By: jetson22@yahoo.com 05/23/2013 19:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
i thought this ball would hook like crazy but it shocked me how perfect this ball rolls.. i think i have found the ball of my dream!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: jungjordan 05/08/2013 15:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    211
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Ball speed 17mph, 450 RPMs, layout: (45 x 5.5 x 45)

When I ordered the Sync, I had a definite hole in my bag at the high end level. I needed a ball that would give me a look on a fresh puddle. Asymmetric solids have fit my game very nicely in the past so I decided to go with a drilling that I was familiar with for this one. Unfortunately this ball didn’t react as I wanted with the out of the box finish. 4000 from the factory always has less sheen than a 4000 wet-sand on the spinner, so when I reworked it, there was improved length.

Since this core starts up so quickly with my rev rate it allows me to play more square angles to start on fresh pattern with heavy units, which is what I needed. As the lanes transition, and I’m forced to open up my angles, I will generally use something that stores its energy longer.

For high rev, earlier roll type of players, it will fit for fresh, square angles. For bowlers with more axis tilt, or rotation, which pushes another ball too far, the Sync will give them more midlane and continuation. For a lower rev-rate player, this ball can give the extra hook they need to combat heavier conditions.

Jordan Jung

Storm Amateur Staff

Vancouver, BC, Canada.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jungjordan


Storm Sync Reviewed By: collincurrent 04/28/2013 21:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-3/16 Right x 3/8 Up
 
This was my first time trying a very aggressive bowling ball, and I liked how it turned out.

I used a 4x4x3 PSA layout to try to give me the reaction I wanted. I took it out of the pro shop and tried it out...

When it left my hand, I was impressed with the hitting power of this ball. It was definitely more aggressive than anything I have ever used, and I am still getting used to it, but I think it will be for the greater good.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by collincurrent


Storm Sync Reviewed By: DaBALLZ861 04/27/2013 17:06 ( stars)


 
Oh boy, Storm is at it again!
After hearing numerous great reviews on this ball, I bought it and tried it out for myself!

I was looking to max out my reaction. Since I am a high-rev bowler, I wanted a "simple but strong" layout. I placed the pin above my ring finger, hoping for the best.

After testing it out for a bit, I had one thing to say: Wow, this ball is amazing! It was very clean through the front, and snapped just like I expected it to. Whatever Storm did, they did it right. This ball will definitely be in my bag.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DaBALLZ861


Storm Sync Reviewed By: mastermanager1 04/17/2013 06:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    175
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    unknown
 
I got my new Sync and thought this is the bomb. It was, but i don't like it. I think the ball is over rated. It smells good but for me, it loses energy quickly and does not seem to hit nearly as good as my Defiant Soul. I have over a dozen new bowling balls and I was disappointed with this ball. My buddy who bowls two handed loves his Sync. But he also likes the Dark Encounter more just as I do. So, I am getting an Enigma next week because I gave the Sync back to the Pro shop. Don't care for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mastermanager1


Storm Sync Reviewed By: StoRoto2013 04/09/2013 09:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The Storm Sync is a beast! The strong continuation is unbelievable and the power even makes this rev challenged bowler throw messengers! The layout I chose for the Sync is nothing fancy, the pin above ring finger with the mass bias in the strong position. The dual angle coordinates are 55 X4 ¾ X 40. The only issue I have with Sync is that it needs oil in the fronts like any other strong ball. With that being said, the Sync still has good continuation and can open up the lane or give anyone some room to hit the pocket! My axis point is 5 5/8 over and ¾ up, ball speed around 15mph, rev rate is somewhere around 300 and I am right handed.
I threw the Sync on a house pattern first and was completely surprised by how much this ball hooks. My shop is in an AMF center so you know that there is a lot of friction to the right. So I was waiting for the Sync to start checking early and rolling out and hitting weak… THAT DID NOT HAPPEN! Yeah my launch angles got extreme but the Sync just kept finishing as long as I did not just chuck it to the dry. Very pleased, if I was just bowling on house patterns I would give the Sync some shine and everything would be good.
I was able to use the Sync under some flatter patterns and noticed the same thing that strong continuation is unbelievable. The Sync is about 5 boards stronger than my IQ Tour with my feet. The backend there is no comparison the Sync is Continuously Strong! I was able to throw the Sync with success on patterns in the 40 foot range and medium to high volumes of oil. However, because I am throwing the Sync with box surface the Sync needs some oil in the fronts and/or a hand position change to cause some skid when the lanes start to burn up. I would recommend the Sync to anyone looking for a Strong Ball without hesitation!

Dan Schaden Jr
Storm/Roto Grip Staffer


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StoRoto2013


Storm Sync Reviewed By: live2bowlgr8t 04/08/2013 11:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5.5 right * .75in up
 
The Storm Sync is a great addition to their high performance line. For me it fits in really well between my Lucid and Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl. I put a 3 * 6 1/2 * 2 1/2 pin buffer layout on it and gives me a very clean smooth rolling motion. It gets through the front part of the lane and rolls over in the middle portion of the lane, with a very continuos motion. Great ball for all bowlers and a must have for high volume long patterns.

Nick Smith


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: nibrocmc 04/06/2013 23:47 ( stars)


 
I have bowled with this ball mainly on house shots, and on some sport conditions. This ball is really controllable on the more sensitive lane conditions. This is not your typical Storm ball where you get skid and strong flip. This ball is very aggressive, great for oiler conditions. This ball gives you great hook early and very strong backend motion. It allowed me to play deeper in the lane and still finished. I am able to move more right with this ball and create greater entry angle. Where the IQ and Vivid will not recover, this ball will. With an out of the box finish I am able to play deeper in the lane and it still carries great. When the ball is shined, it allows me to move further left and play a much straighter angle and still has a very strong backend motion. I think this is Storm's best ball for the wet conditions. A must have in your bag


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by nibrocmc


Storm Sync Reviewed By: srt4jt@gmail.com 04/02/2013 02:20 ( stars)


 
Verry good investment.well worth it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: dewbowler2 03/31/2013 22:03 ( stars)


 
Storm Sync
Layout:
4” x 4” x 3” (pin ended up inside the ring finger)
PAP:
4-1/2” -> ½” ^
Conditions:
A. Center A- 38’ house pattern*, USBC Nationals patterns both (team and singles and doubles) also Abbey Road, Middle Road and Sunset Strip patterns from Kegel. Kegel Kustodian Lane Walker, AMF HPL lane surface and used the new Kegel Ice lane conditioner.
B. Center B- both 36’ and 39’ house patterns, newest generation Brunswick Anvil Lane surface (less than 1 year on install) Kegel ION machine, type of oil unknown.
C. Center C- 8 lane wood house with typical wood pattern, large volume in heads and middle, but showed a distinct out of bounds if sent right too early. Characteristics of liking to be play up the boards’ aroung 12-13 board or major move to 25 on approach and launching out to 13-15 area at arrows. Silver Bullet lane machine, oil unknown.
Surfaces preps: Factory finish
For reference I throw high track, 15.75 mph, 350+ rpms, using Turbo Lifts and a Switch Grip thumb insert and I am right handed. My span is 4-1/8” middle finger, 1/4” ring finger with laterals being ¼ left, 5/8” right with ¼” reverse on both fingers, Switch Grip thumb at 0 pitch in any direct on thumb. I use a 45 degree oval at a width of .090.
Results:
This has become my new favorite nugget in my arsenal! The motion and recovery of the Sync are amazing. If you like a strong, arching ball look no further. When I first started throwing my Lucid, I thought there was no way Storm could top the reaction and look I got with it.
Then I drilled up my Sync and honestly, it takes the lanes to start to burn before I am forced to put it away. This ball really adapts to your game. It is like it feels when you tug it and lays off till the pocket. It senses that you have missed right and kicks in overdrive to help recover from the outside.

This ball looked good on wood, on HPL and Anvil. It allowed me to play deeper on the Nationals team and singles patterns. It loves house shots with volume in the heads, it doesn’t mind transitions either.
I was a huge fan of the Virtual Gravity, and then the Virtual Gravity Nano, well the Sync is even better!
Oil is needed, don’t think you are going to pull your Sync out (at least not without the proper surface and drilling adjustments) and play the 9:30pm league after two shifts, but I can safely say this ball is a must have for anyone looking for a go to ball.
Overview;
This is quite possibly the next ball of the year candidate! Who doesn’t want a ball that appears to be self-learning, versatile, with a strong motion, ease through the head oil but most importantly shows great continuation through the pins! I strongly suggest Sync in your bag for Nationals this year; it could be the best call of the trip!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dewbowler2


Storm Sync Reviewed By: cmsubowler 03/31/2013 21:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Storm Sync, ok Storm Lovers here it is the answer to the virtual Gravity and VG Nano series. This ball is amazing. Your looking for hook on heavy oil without sacrificing too much angularity at the breakpoint then you have come to the right place. All the power is built in the coverstock and the new core design with this ball. The Sync picks up in the midlane with no problem and maintains its angularity despite the strength of the coverstock. I have used this ball on some extremely heavy and long oil patterns and have seen its best performance on Anvilane Pro surface. This ball is all about reading the end of the pattern and does not require a ton of free hook to the outside. You can see from the video the angularity between the VG Nano and the Sync. There is a lot of buzz about the Sync at the Matchmaker evens and a lot of buzz in the pro shops too. Stir up some talk in your league and score some high scores soon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm Sync Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 03/31/2013 19:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
The Storm Sync is newest Asymmetrical ball from Storm. The Sync is the strongest Asymmetrical ball Storm has ever made. It uses the G2 Core and wrapped with NRG™ Solid Reactive coverstock.
I drilled mine 5 1/4 x 4.5 x 3.25 , pin up. I have bowled with the Sync just on a couple league conditions. The Sync is strong smooth continuous rolling ball.
For me the Sync rolls a little early but reads the midlane real well and has a nice continuous motion on the back. It has a strong roll, not an angular motion on the back. But with this motion, the carry is unbelievable. I started one league night with the front 19 with most the strikes the pins went straight back.
Just a note for heavy handed players, that the Sync can have a tendency to roll too early. So make sure that you not drill the SYNC with strong MB. Keep the MB down.
The SYNC best attribute is the overall hook it has with continuous motion off the spot.
Another great ball from Storm!

PAP 4 up 1 1/4

Brian Watson
Storm/RG Staffer


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Storm Sync Reviewed By: seanbaker 03/29/2013 15:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5inches right 1/2 inch up
 
storm Sync
PAP – 5 over and ½ up
Ball Speed: 15-17 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2
Surface Preparation: OOB (4000 grit Abralon)

What I wanted from this Ball: Clean through the heads while staying strong throughout the mid lane continuing until the ball hit the pocket.

Result: Too much for my speed out of the box, so I polished the ball. After applying polish, the ball did exactly as expected throughout the front portion of the lanes kept a hard continuous roll until it smashed the pocket.

I tested this ball on our typical house shot which is a non forgiving pattern. 18ft of gutter to gutter oil and buffed another 12ft. Keep in mind, we also have wood lanes. Our typical house shot is pretty tough and over a period of 6 games, an out of bounds forms on the lanes and a dry middle creating over under effect. The first 3 games on a fresh oil pattern, I found this ball to work on our house pattern awesome. I was able to carry a sufficient amount of strikes that normally I would leave a corner pin. I never made an adjustment for 3 games and this ball stayed consistent for all three. The next 3 games I decided to actually move right of my normal line of 15-8 and play more direct 12-5. Normally, I would get a bad over under reaction playing here on our house shot. Not with this ball! The fantastic mid lane roll allowed me to actually play the out of bounds and continue crushing the pocket!

I am convinced this ball does exactly as it is designed to do and can be drilled to fit any bowling style. I have highly recommended this ball to several bowlers and drilled 3 for customers including one advisory staffer that uses this ball for his new benchmark ball.

I will make sure and have this ball in my arsenal wherever I go! I will probably start with this ball if the lanes have medium to heavy oil and decide which direction to go from there. I think this ball will give me a good reliable shot to the pocket and great carry.

Overall opinion: Awesome!! This ball is going to yield a lot of honor scores for league and tournament bowlers. This ball will fit any bowlers style and game.


Sean Baker
Roto Grip/Storm
Pro Shop Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by seanbaker


Storm Sync Reviewed By: strmbwling300 03/29/2013 10:20 ( stars)


 
LANE CONDITION
Length: 40 ft
Volume:medium volume
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS
COMMENTS
Likes: I was very excited for this ball to be released and to get my hands on one of these. In the past I have always had trouble with aysmmetricals losing energy downlane. The one exception to the rule for me was the Virtual Gravity Nano. So when this ball was released I wanted to drill it with a layout that I would be able to use more on house patterns. I drilled this ball with a 5.5 by 3.5 drilling. I took the ball and gave it some polish right away. The one thing I really like about this ball is that I do not have trouble with the ball losing energy downlane. Most of the time I have trouble with the ball losing energy. This ball picks up very nice in the midlane and still continues strong on the backend.
Dislikes: With my speed and revrate I do not get to throw this ball as much as I'd like.
I would say this ball is great for those who are looking for midlane control with a Strong backend reaction.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by strmbwling300


Storm Sync Reviewed By: TommyGN 03/25/2013 15:35 ( stars)


 
The Sync is the latest ball from Storm in the premier line. The cover is the same NRG solid reactive found on the Virtual Gravity Nano. The core is called the G2, and has the strongest preferred spin axis of any Storm ball to date. The Sync has a very low RG of 2.47, with a differential of 0.058, and a PSA of 0.028 in 15lb balls.
I drilled the Sync with a 5x3½ x4 ½. This puts the pin below my ring finger, and PSA out on my VAL. I used a large hole; 2” down my VAL form my PAP. I wanted this ball to be usable on house conditions, and be the go to ball from my Marvel and IQ. Also, we tend to see more of the shorter patterns in the East region, and the need for control of the lane more often than not outweighs the need for a lot of board coverage.
For the initial testing, I kept the Sync at the box finish. The 4000 abralon surface is more than enough cover prep to get the ball to change direction and slow down, without burning out for our house condition. I used a Virtual Gravity Nano as the comp ball. The Nano is drilled the same as the Sync, with the only difference being the size of the balance hole (the Nano has a very small hole, while the Sync has a large hole).
The Sync has a slightly earlier break point, but much more defined move than the Nano for me. I would best describe the Nano as being a banana shape with a very hard arch, while the Sync is more of a sharper move, with roll towards the pocket. The Sync is a few boards stronger than the Nano, as far as total boards covered is concerned.
The Sync fits in my arsenal as being the most aggressive reaction, while still maintaining control of the lane. I can cover more boards with weaker balls than the Sync, but those bowling balls seem to see the transition of the lane more than the Sync. For example, I have an identically drilled IQ. The Sync will cover more boards on fresh oil, but as the lane starts to break down, the IQ starts to hook too high, and split, forcing me to make a 3 or 4 board move to keep the ball in the pocket, where as the Sync may leave a 6 pin, and only force me to move only 1 or 2 boards to strike again. This comes in very handy while bowling regionals, and moving pair to pair and seeing big differences in the topography of a center. For me, this is a big advantage of very strong asymmetric weight blocks. The motion characteristic is a little more “built in” to the ball, compared to a symmetrical piece that is looking for friction to help the ball go through the different hook phases of motion. I have had good success with my Sync on the Kegel pattern Boardwalk(high volume at 35 feet), our house condition that is 38 feet, USBC white pattern, 2012 USBC nationals pattern, and also on the 2013 US Open 42 foot pattern. Surprisingly enough, the Sync seems to have a lot of pattern coverage for me, more so than I would’ve expected based on how strong the cover and core is. For my bowling style, and my game, the Sync is a big step forward over the Virtual Gravity Nano. I needed the right environment for the VG Nano to work for me, where as the Sync can adapt better with a slight change of release, or by applying different spin on the ball.
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedules to read my review of the Sync.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TommyGN


Storm Sync Reviewed By: Dmoney13 03/25/2013 11:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 5/8" right and 3/4" up
 
My Sync is laid out 5X4 1/2X3. If you are looking for a heavy oil ball that can read the mid-lane and create angle into the pocket, look no further. The Sync is a TON of bowling ball. It is smoother through the mid-lane than my Nano, but it has a stronger reaction at the end of the oil pattern. Anyone that may have a lower rev rate, but still wants a big on-lane reaction, this ball is a great choice. It is VERY strong, but not in a way that is uncontrollable. With my oil pattern being on the lighter side, my lanes being wood (higher friction), and my rev rate being just under 400, this ball is hard for me to use during league. I love the reaction, but it does need a little oil on the lane to not hook a little too much for me. The ones I have drilled for other people on the other hand, all work great for bowlers lower rev rates than mine. I used mine while practicing for USBC Open Championships, and it worked excellent on the team pattern. When my Reign of Power coverstock (1000 grit) started reading too early, the Sync took over. It will definitely be in my bag for Nationals.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dmoney13


Storm Sync Reviewed By: StormSteve 03/16/2013 22:39 ( stars)


 
Sync
PAP - 4 3/16 over 1/4 up
Ball Speed 17-18 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout 55 x 4 3/4 x 40
Surface Preparation: 4000

What I was looking for: I knew this ball was going to be almost too strong for house shot for me so I did not want it to roll too early. That’s why I drilled it pretty much straight up. I hit it with a 4000 pad right off the bat to shine it a tad. I just wanted it to get down lane with ease and have a pretty sharp but smooth motion on the backend.

What I got: I got exactly what I was looking for. I was amazed at how clean this ball was through the front. It turns the corner very strong and there’s no doubt it has incredible continuation. First game out of the gate I had the front 9 with it then stoned a 9 pin. I pretty much had unlimited room to miss to the right and it would come flying back at the pocket.

The sync is very strong on the backend with this layout and will definitely be my game 1 benchmark ball. It is sharp and strong but not so much to be uncontrollable. It Is still very predictable.
I can’t wait to drill up one of these stronger for nationals and heavier volumes of oil. I think there is just so much that can be done to make it do whatever I want.

The lovely cranberry scent doesn’t hurt.

Steven Fagan
Storm Pro Shop Staff
Lexington, KY


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormSteve


Storm Sync Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 03/15/2013 14:22 ( stars)


 
Storm Sync Review

PAP: 5 over 1/8 up
400-425 RPM
Ball Weight: 15lbs
Right Handed

The Sync. An asymmetrical beast. Every time I bowl league or tournaments now, I see more and more of this ball go down the lane. I have seen guys with a monster rev-rate and guys who love to play straight throw it. The Sync successfully compliments all types of styles. I have only drilled one so far, but I plan on drilling at least one, if not two more. The one I drilled has the pin approximately 5.5” away from my axis with the CG just underneath the bridge of my fingers to create a tall pin. I drilled out a small amount of the mass bias as well. This drill pattern gives me a very strong mid-lane motion with a smooth shape down lane.

I feel like the Sync is really good on all types of patterns as well. The core is big enough to ‘tumble’ on cheetah, smooth out flatter patterns, and even still grab the lane when there is a lot of oil on the lane. This is a ball I will be throwing at Nationals in Reno on the fresh patterns, and it will break down the lane enough for me to gear down to a weaker Lucid, Marvel Pearl, or Reign of Power. Thanks Storm for another home run!

If you have any questions, please email me at PJ.Haggerty@yahoo.com
Check out Stormbowling.com for more information!
#stormnation



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Storm Sync Reviewed By: greenday4537@yahoo.com 03/06/2013 01:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    206
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 x 5/8
 
Wanted to use this ball for a little bit before actually reviewing it. Houston, we have a winner.

When I bought this ball, I was looking for a hyper aggressive ball that wouldn't burn all it's energy before finding the pocket. The Storm Sync reads the midlane nicely before sharply hooking into the pocket. I was worried that it'd be too aggressive, but it reads the oil so well, this wasn't a problem. This is easily now my go-to heavy oil ball. I've even thrown it on light oil (Which I really wouldn't advise) and it still saved some energy going into the pocket, despite me playing a line so ridiculously deep.

Need a heavy oil ball? Look no further.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by greenday4537@yahoo.com


Storm Sync Reviewed By: leea_a13@yahoo.com 03/06/2013 00:11 ( stars)


 
this is a very solid ball. it is very forgiving off your mark and it is smooth into the pocket. i am very new to bowling and this ball has helped with my game exponentially.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Sync Reviewed By: -Storm- 02/21/2013 07:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    177
Sport Shot Average    189
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball will make history. You miss right its gonna hook back and strike, You miss left its gonna push just enough and go brooke. Very angular but controlable nice ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by -Storm-


Storm Sync Reviewed By: SWidmer 02/15/2013 10:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    207
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 7/8 over 3/8 up
 
The Storm Sync combines the proven NRG cover, used on the Nano, Nano Pearl and Vivid, with the G2 core (2nd generation Shape-Lock HD core).

The layout on my Sync is 45 degrees by 5 inches by 2 3/4 inch pin buffer. This provides me a medium reaction (hooks middle to end of pattern on a medium to heavy 41'-43' pattern and provides a smoother reaction when exiting the pattern) while maintaining a continuous motion through the pins.

Out of the box the Sync comes with a 4000 grit abralon finish. The box finish allows the Sync to handle medium to heavy oil patterns while retaining energy and hitting power at the pins. Touching up the surface with a 2000 grit abralon pad turns the Sync into a snow tire, able to handle the heaviest of oil patterns. I have adjusted the cover on most nights depending on the surface and pattern I've bowled on with the Sync and it has maintained the smooth continuation I saw out of the box.

The most noticeable characteristic of the Sync after it's unique strong/smooth/continuous motion is the hitting power and how loud of a noise the pins make when getting run over by the Sync.

You can watch the ball reaction video I made here:


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by SWidmer


Storm Sync Reviewed By: caseyccg 01/30/2013 17:19 ( stars)


 
Storm SYNC Review by Casey Murphy

Orientation: Right Handed
Rev Rate: 400 RPM
Speed: 16-17 MPH
PAP: 4 5/8 straight across

Location: Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern: High Volume THS
Layout: 40, 4 ¾, 70 w/ p1 hole

I was a big fan of the Nano’s and the VIVID and was therefore really looking forward to the SYNC. The core stats from the SYNC were the strongest of any modern Storm asymmetrical. To compliment that I put a low pin layout on the ball with a neutral weight hole. I was not disappointed. On the house pattern I tested it on, the SYNC had no problem with the puddle of oil in the middle. It created a consistent heavy roll that I used to play a much deeper line than I’m used to on that pattern. When I got a few shots right, the core/cover combination blended out the over reaction I tend to see with my other equipment. The SYNC responded off the point in order to get back to the pocket but had no trouble with carry as it has great continuation.

Once again, with the SYNC, Storm has set the new standard in high performance asymmetricals.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm Sync Reviewed By: brockpete@hotmail.com 01/11/2013 11:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
We had a Storm rep bring this ball to a demo and it was the best ball there. I really liked the way this ball handled the lanes. I was throwing on a typical house shot and there were a variety of different layouts and finishes. I throw the ball medium-high speed, high revs.

The first shot I tried was a pretty standard 5x4x3 layout with a factory finish. This layout was very good. It had a decent back end with decent length to it.

The second layout I tried was the same 5x4x3, but with a polished finish. The shot was very long, but had a nice hard, clean back end. It took a little while to get used to this shot, but once I nailed down my spot it destroyed the pocket. I can see how this layout would be very useful in long oil patterns.

The third layout I tried was by far my favorite. It was a 4x4x3 layout with the factory finish. This layout was awesome for the house shot right off the bat. Even though the layout isn't as aggressive as the others, it provided a very smooth, consistent arc throughout the shot and absolutely annihilated the pocket every time. I couldn't miss! I intentionally tried to throw just inside and just outside my spot to see how the ball reacted. Not only was the Synch able to make it back to the pocket in time, but it did so with authority. The margin of error I had with this this ball is quite amazing.

I will be picking this ball up when it comes out next month. It is definitely one of the best balls I've thrown. Well done, Storm, well done.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 39 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter