Go to Roto Grip Wrecker »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Wrecker

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.89Write a Review    Read all 36 reviews

I Love It
 
89% (32 of 36)
I Like It
 
11% (4 of 36)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 36)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 36)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 36)

Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 12/18/2012 10:07 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Some avoid obstacles. I leave a trail of rubble. The Roto Grip Wrecker.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4"
PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2 3/4"
Balance Hole - on VAL (7/8" x 2")

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was kind of in between with the Shatter release. I could tell it was a good ball but it was never what I needed when I tried to use it.

I went with a stronger layout on the Wrecker to see if I could get it to recover a little more for me down lane and hopefully use it when i was forced right on the lane. I am expecting to see a lot of length with a really strong look down lane and a good strong continuous motion into the pins.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Oh man, I really liked this ball. From the way it looked going down the lane to the ball reaction everything was good with the Wrecker.

It did exactly what I wanted and let me play a little further right and open up that side of the lane. I was able to get this ball down the lane with ease and watch it pick up a really good roll and go left off the point.

All in all I definitely threw more strikes with this ball then any others we tested that night. Compared to the Shatter I saw a much better motion down lane and overall more hook then the Shatter.

I think this will suit all bowler styles well and work on a variety of patterns. I think with the right layout and the right condition you will
love what the Wrecker has to offer.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 12/18/2012 10:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5" x 5" x 2 1/2"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

If you've read any of my other reviews, you know I love hybrids. I like the combination of pearl and solid for its tendency to have good length with a controllable backend reaction. That's exactly what I was wanting from the Wrecker on medium-dry conditions.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

Roto Grip hit the mark on this one. The Wrecker is going to be a short oil destroyer! It's got good length and a smooth backend reaction like I was looking for. I think if you were to take the surface to 2000 with no polish, you would have a great bowling ball for medium oil patterns after the oil carries down. I loved the Shatter as well so now I know that the Neutron core is a real winner. Don't sleep on the Wrecker!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 01/15/2013 16:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Wrecker is the new Hybrid that will give you more control.
Wrecker will give you length with a smooth roll in the backend. Great ball for med-dry lanes we all need this ball for the lanes that break down and there is not enough room the move get your Wrecker out and control the lanes.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: cakiyak@gmail.com 11/04/2013 13:08 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
It seems like most reviewers are bowlers with higher revs. I'm not. I'm a lower rev player who loves this ball. In my opinion, this is the go to ball for drier houses, the late league, or even as a complement when the oil pattern breaks down. As someone who is not a power player, I will struggle with this ball when the lanes are fresh.

This ball has very good length and it hits hard. When the lanes are dry enough for this ball, the carry is excellent. A well placed pocket shot will rarely leave 7 or a 10 (I'm a right hander who usually plays boards 6-10 and typically throws around 15.5-17.5 mph).

I've thrown about 300 games on it, and it still performs well. I'll likely buy another and stock it away for when I can't resurface this one anymore.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: StoRoto2013 04/09/2013 10:41 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 5/8 over 3/4 up
 
The Roto Grip Wrecker works well for me when the lanes are blended and I need a ball to recover. The Wrecker and the Shatter are very similar for me. The only difference is that the Wrecker is about 3 to 4 boards stronger especially in the mid lane. I changed the cover on the Wrecker to 2000 and on a house pattern I had everything hold and push and recovery!
I drilled the Wrecker 45 X 5 ¼ X 75 or basically pin slightly under ring finger with cg kicked out with a balance hole on my VAL. I changed the surface to 2000 and that made this ball a keeper. My lower rev rate (300) and my style more of a tweener and not a lot of axis tilt the polish for me leads to a lot of over/under. The most success that I found with the Wrecker is on the lower volume sports/PBA patterns that have you play to the right and then migrate left like the Viper, Cheetah, and or Kegel patterns that range in the mid to higher 30 foot length. The Wrecker is a medium strength bowling ball that generates length with a powerful backend motion!


Dan Schaden Jr
Storm/Roto Grip Staff
Vise Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StoRoto2013


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: Housequake 04/21/2014 05:15 ( stars)


 
The Wrecker is probably the best ball in the market. The price of the Wrecker and performance makes it an elite bowling ball. You can spend more money on a bowling ball, but if you undecided about your next purchase, you cannot go wrong with the Wrecker.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Housequake


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: james.rozelle@med.navy.mil 01/10/2014 10:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    158
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2
 
Thought I would try a less aggressive ball for when the local house lanes start to dry out. The WRECKER allowed me to make a very small adjustment with my track and still get a hard hit into the pocket. It really surprised me how much longer it is, but I can still come down the 7-10 board, get back to the pocket, and WRECK 'EM...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by james.rozelle@med.navy.mil


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: james.rozelle@med.navy.mil 01/10/2014 10:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    158
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2
 
Thought I would try a less aggressive ball for when the local house lanes start to dry out. The WRECKER allowed me to make a very small adjustment with my track and still get a hard hit into the pocket. It really surprised me how much longer it is, but I can still come down the 7-10 board, get back to the pocket, and WRECK 'EM...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by james.rozelle@med.navy.mil


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: jrdiveman@msn.com 01/07/2014 14:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Sport Shot Average    181
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/4 up
 
I Purchased this ball for my son. He is a high school bowler and bowls in at least three leagues during the bowling season.He is very versatial in his game and can throw both one or two handed. He has several balls in his aresanal Marvel S, IQ tour pearl a Lucid ,Mutant Cell Pearl and a Shooting Star. The house shot he mostly plays is a 41 ft Stonewall pattern. He wanted this ball for a two handed shot,well he was pleasantly surprised! This ball was way stronger than he expected it to be with really angular back end motion at the end of the pattern.Its just a monster in his bag!!! Roto Grip has another winner ,great ball great price!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jrdiveman@msn.com


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: mktaylor4@gmail.com 01/05/2014 09:45 ( stars)


 
Ball took a long time to get here. Had it drilled 5" from pap. Ball does get down the lane and makes a hard move to the pocket. Cant go up the boards with this ball. Not what I was expecting but a very good ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: rubiksbowler 12/31/2013 22:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    196
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/8" over, 5/8" up
 
PAP - 5-1/8" over, 5/8" up
Revrate - ~350rpm
Axis Rotation - ~40º
Axis Tilt - ~15º
Ball Speed - 16-17mph

My first impressions of this ball were along the lines of, 'Wow, that's a lot of hook!' It was fun to watch it hook for awhile, but as time grew on, I found the hook to be a little too much and inconsistent, even on a heavily oiled 42' fresh house shot. To combat the large amount of backend, I decided to scuff the surface lightly with 1500, just to take a bit of the polish off, so that I could tame the ball's reaction a little. That did the trick! The ball started reacting much more smoothly, allowing for several more strikes. However, I still find it a bit condition-specific. It's a great ball, but I won't always carry it in my bag.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by rubiksbowler


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: probowler_alex@yahoo.com 12/29/2013 00:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4.75 over and .75 up
 
I had this ball drilled with the pin 4 inches from my axis and the center of gravity 3 inches from my axis with a weight hole 7/8 of a inch down from my center of gravity.
The wrecker seems to respond to the dry very aggressively. I find that this ball is absolutely unplayable on the outside part of the lane on a house shot. I really like this ball in the middle of the lane swinging it out to the dry. It has a strong aggressive move on the back end that does not leave flat tens. This balls lack of versatility is the only thing holding it back from a 5 - I love it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: deekiki 12/14/2013 00:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    135
Ball Speed    Medium
 
The best ball that I have bought my son. He loves it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: kev313692000@yahoo.com 11/05/2013 11:24 ( stars)


 
love it love it love it service is great

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: eric.wickenheisser@gmail.com 10/12/2013 22:32 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Really tremendous ball. Great reaction. I love the way it looks rolling down the lane. Great addition to my arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: wo1fman2003 09/24/2013 12:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    216
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is great, hit hard. easy to control and has great carry. so far been avg. 237 (702 and 725). if your looking for a med to dry ball can't go wrong for the price. drilled pin up above fingers, wanted the ball to go long with great back end power. good job Roto Grip

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wo1fman2003


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: GaryMatten@comcast.net 08/09/2013 12:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    193
Ball Speed    Medium
 
PAP - 5.25over 0.625up
I just drilled this ball 50x4.375x35

I was expecting the ball to be clean through the front of the lane and react after the end of the pattern. I am amazed at how strong the reaction is for a mid-range symmetrical ball. It really stores the energy before it finds the friction.

I love this ball and will use it after there is some breakdown in the pattern early and I need to get the ball to a target downlane.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GaryMatten@comcast.net


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: docbash 07/05/2013 07:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Stroker
 
I've had the Wrecker for a couple of months, and I love it for late transition. I don't have a huge amount of revs, so with a bit of negative weight in the drilling, I can get it down the lane. It's lower friction, quick response. Retains a lot of power and hits hard when the conditions are right. Love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by docbash


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: stwberlin 06/29/2013 12:28 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4"
PSA Layout - 4" x 4" x 2 3/4"
No Balance Hole

Actual, I wanted to replace my old Nomad with this ball as the preferred choice for short oil and THS. To my surprise the Wrecker is a lot stronger with the given layout.

But, it's anyway very easy to control, because you can see the ball motion very well, due to the polychrome surface pattern.

Clean through the midlane, strong at the breakpoint and hard through the pins. The Wrecker is the ideal ball for THS patterns and short oil.

Put it back in the bag, if you face heavy carry-down. That's not the right condition for this ball.

Easy maintenance and good durability makes it perfect.

Special thanks to Tony Ruocco for finding and showing in video the best layout for this ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by stwberlin


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: adaptive36 06/11/2013 15:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    179
Sport Shot Average    148
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
The first time that I used this ball I had the highest series ever 639.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by adaptive36


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: anthonyvan2012@gmail.com 05/15/2013 23:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    181
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I absolutely love this ball. very good reaction and pin carry. strikes harder than anything ive thrown so far. i highly recommend this ball, in my opinion i think it is a must have in your lineup. another fantastic ball from roto grip

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: im4pats54 05/04/2013 12:14 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    241
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Layout 60x5x40, used on a little bit of everything. I LOVE this ball!! This ball was very skid/ flippy. It is very clean through the fronts and then sideways at the breakpoint. Pin carry was phenomenal, maybe even hits too hard. As a lefty, I leave more 10 pins than sevens. Unlike many balls out there, it gets stronger as they carry down. Every move I make is right and right. For the price, this ball cannot be beat, nothing we have seen hooks as much or carries this good. We sell six to eight of these a week and have not found a bowler yet that couldn’t throw it or put it up once they threw it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by im4pats54


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: nibrocmc 04/07/2013 00:57 ( stars)


 
This is an ideal ball for the league bowler. I have not found a better mid-priced ball on the market. I drilled this ball pin up with the CG swung out about an inch. When my Storm IQ Tour won't make the turn, my Wrecker will with no problem. I bowl a lot of tournaments, and this ball is always in my bag. This ball gives me so much backend that I can play almost anywhere I like, and the carry with this ball is great



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by nibrocmc


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: cmsubowler 03/31/2013 20:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
I was very excited about the Wrecker after having much success with the same core in the Rising Star. I drilled the Wrecker with a layout that promotes good length and good pop on the backend. 80 x 5.25 x 55 This layout allowed me to keep my feet further right on conditions that were lighter and also move in and get the ball around the corner when the lanes started to breakdown. The Wrecker pushes down the lane easily thru the front with a pronounced shift at the breakpoint. First time I threw the ball I was shocked and it almost seemed like the ball hit a wall and bounced left. That same day I was able to move my feet 15 boards left and target around 8 boards left and it still recovered with ease. As you can see in the video, the ball travels downlane with ease (I had just finished throwing three other balls on a similar line with much stronger coverstocks and more surface to the point where I had to start moving in but with the Wrecker I was able to move back to the right and regain the angularity at the breakpoint. If you are looking for a ball that gets down the lane with ease or allows you to play straighter at the beginning of your night, then you have found the right one. Predictability with power is the what you get with this ball. Great Job Roto, you have outdone yourselves once again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: seanbaker 03/29/2013 15:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5inches right 1/2 inch up
 
Roto Grip Wrecker
PAP – 5 over and ½ up
Ball Speed: 15-17 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout: 4 x 4 x 2
Surface Preparation: OOB (1500 grit polished)

What I wanted from this Ball: With its hybrid cover stock, I wanted really good length and a consistent snap to the pocket.

Result: Exactly what I expected. I got fantastic length with a strong snap to the pocket no matter what line I played.

I tested this ball on our typical house shot which is a non forgiving pattern. 18ft of gutter to gutter oil and buffed another 12ft. Keep in mind, we also have wood lanes. Our typical house shot is pretty tough and over a period of 6 games, an out of bounds forms on the lanes and a dry middle creating over under effect. The first 3 games on a fresh oil pattern, The ball had a great reaction. I played my normal line which is 15 out to 8 and destroyed the pins. The next 3 games, I moved in to 17 and tightened my line up only going out to 10 board. This ball amazed me and kept its great continuation through the dryer front portion of our lanes and snapped hard on the end.

I absolutely love this ball and think everyone else will too. I drilled up another one slightly calmer for nights when the pattern seems dryer and my break point inside is quicker. I would recommend this ball highly to anyone on a medium to short oil pattern.


Sean Baker
Roto Grip/Storm
Pro Shop Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by seanbaker


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: L.Hoffman 03/22/2013 22:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Wrecker drilled for Senior LH Stroker. 3 inch pin below ring finger, w/ CG out 1 inch W/ X-hole. Sp.14 mph...I had the Wrecker drilled March 4th before league that night.With 10 mins. warm up, shot 258-258-290-806 out of the box. This house is a little dryer than some, so I had to stand 12 boards right of center & keep hand behind ball, going 12 to 5 with the ball getting down lane with smooth arc to pocket & 10 in the pit..only 2- 7 pins. 3 nights later...diff. house & league w/wider oil pattern, I moved back left 6 boards & 10 to 5 for 300-257-243-800...1st back to back 8's for this 75 yr. old LH Stroker..No need to shine this ball...Its hard to believe a ball in this price range can hit so hard & take out the corners...but, than again its a RG...Larry Hoffman, RG Advisory Staff.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by L.Hoffman


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: StormSteve 03/16/2013 22:40 ( stars)


 
Wrecker
PAP - 4 3/16 over 1/4 up
Ball Speed 17-18 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout 35 x 3.5 x 35
Surface Preparation: OOB

What I was looking for: I absolutely loved the shooting star so I knew that this ball was going to be great. I tend to love somewhat weaker stuff drilled stronger. I drilled it similar to my shooting star with a little longer pin to pap to get it down the lane a little cleaner to really store energy and really take advantage of the hybrid cover.

What I got: I got just what I was looking for. When the lanes have medium oil with some backend when the shooting star or anything else just picks up a little too soon, this ball will get down the lane and create a little more pop on the backend and have a better entry angle.
This ball is great for league and house shot conditions when the deeper parts of the lane are a little squirrely. Perfect for me to be throwing on about 12-13 and out. I seemed to have an incredible amount of recovery room and the pearl/polish gave me a little more hold room that I didn’t have with the shooting star. I was averaging close to 240 for my first 6 sets with it

The blue white color combo is great and very easy to tell how you throw each ball. The reaction is sharp and way stronger than I expected, but still is very easy to predict and read.

If you are looking for bang for your buck, this is one of the best balls out there. Priced at lower mid range but this thing FLIES!

Time to WRECK some pins!

Steven Fagan
Storm Pro Shop Staff
Lexington, KY


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by StormSteve


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: Roto_Roller 03/15/2013 12:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/8 1/2 up
 
Weight: 15 lbs
Pin Length: 2 1/2 “
Drilling: Pin above fingers, stacked
Pattern Length: 40 ft.
Pattern Volume: Medium
Pattern Type: THS

I tested the Wrecker on our 40 ft. house pattern, at box finish (1500 grit polished).

This ball gets through the heads smoothly. It gets down lane, but is no weakling on the backend. This ball makes a strong skid/flip motion to the pocket coming off the pattern, and continues right on through the pins. This has become my favorite piece for the 40’ house pattern. I’m finding that even as the pattern dries up and I need to move in, the Wrecker still does not quit!

I also found it to work well on Kegel middle of the road pattern later in the day, when Defiant Soul became too much.

Carol Teel
Roto Grip Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto_Roller


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: davkarsports 03/08/2013 16:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Had my Wrecker drilled pin-down for an earlier, more controlled roll. On a THS where the heads had been worn, for a medium strength ball (OOB finish), I was surprised how strong this ball rolled on the front of the lane...but even though it was not quite as clean through the front as I was expecting, this ball did a great job setting up on the mid-lane and was very continous on the backend through the pins.

With the heads fairly burned up, I was leaving a number of flat-10's. However, with a little bit of loft, the ball rolled through the pins and showed a high carry percentage.

Overall, I was very pleased with the performance of this ball. Like I said, I was expecting the nice angle on the backend, but was quite surprised by the strength on the front. This will permit me to get a bit deeper inside on the front part of the lane - which for this ball is going to be a VERY good thing on tournament shots.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: jeff_mersch 02/23/2013 09:49 ( stars)


 
Layout is pin under ring finger; cg is shifted out with a balance hole.

I am a left handed tweener with a 325 rev rate.
The shatter is another great value ball from Roto Grip. The performance is fantastic, and for the price it cannot be beaten. The new hybrid coverstock lets the ball clear the front and continues on the backend. I can use this ball on a variety of conditions, including typical house shots. I have also had success using this ball on medium-short patterns.

I have tried this ball at multiple surfaces, and it has shown me that it is very versatile. This ball shines up well to get through the heads and save energy for maximum backend reaction. Even at 1000 grit, it still cleared the heads and continued on the backend.

If you are looking for high performance at a great price point, than look no further.

Jeff Mersch
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
PBA Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff_mersch


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: John Brodersen 01/30/2013 13:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 1 oz, 3.17 top weight, 3.25 -inch pin.

The Wrecker, which is a polished hybrid, was drilled using the dual angle method. The layout is a 4 ½ inch pin, 55-degree drill angle and a 70-degree VAL angle. An x-hole was needed and was placed at the P2.5 location. Using Storm’s layout terminology the layout would be 4 1/2 by 4 1/2 with a 4 1/8 inch pin buffer. The cover was initially left OOB which is 1500 polished.

Let’s start by saying the Wrecker is a great looking ball with a dark blue and white pearl color scheme. The Wrecker was thrown on a fresh 41 foot, 24 micro liter house shot. The Wrecker was super clean through the fronts and when it saw the friction on the backend it hooked quick and a lot. I feel the backend reaction is stronger than the Shatter. The Wrecker was just too strong down lane for this house pattern and I had to put it away. After league I hit it with a 4000 abralon pad by hand and tried it again. This did smooth the reaction some but it was still very clean up front and strong down lane.

If you’re looking for a skid/snap reaction or need some help on the back end of the lane on medium conditions, the new HP2 Wrecker will fit the bill.


John Brodersen
RG amateur staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: The German Shepherd 01/24/2013 19:42 ( stars)


 
I got the Wrecker because I needed a ball that would be able to handle burned up heads. All of my equipment was pretty aggressive and the Wrecker looked like a ball that would \"fill the bill.\" I had it drilled with the pin 6 inches from my PAP as I wanted extra length and a good skid/flip reaction.

The Wrecker delivered what I was looking for. The ball hits very hard and even though I hve it drilled to be break late it is still easy for me to control.

I would highly recommend this ball!

Jay


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The German Shepherd


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: kingpinwoods 01/24/2013 11:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4" over and 1/4" up
 
                                                              WRECKER

I took on a fresh 41' house shot. My game is that I'm a tweener with about 300rpm and 15.5 mph ball speed. When I tried to throw this ball around the 10th board out to the 5th board with my lack of ball speed, the Wrecker went sideways and finished high or through the nose. So I thought about a surface change. I took a 4000 pad and hand sanded the Wrecker to dull it down a little. After sanding it, I played the lanes 10 to 5 and the ball was a little earlier but the backend motion was a lot smoother. So I then moved left to about 13 to 5 and the extra head oil helped me get the extra length I needed with a strong but continuous backend. These latest balls from Roto Grip are going to be great additions to the best ball line on the planet. Great job Utah!!!!
 For me this ball REALLY came to life after the surface change. Never be scared to change the surface of any bowling ball to get a different reaction for your game. 


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kingpinwoods


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 01/09/2013 08:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Wrecker#1: Layout: 45 x 3 3/8 x 50 box condition
Tested on: Earl Anthony pattern, 40ft HPL THS and 41ft THS on ½ HPL and ½ HPL.
This ball tested great on all patterns and I used it in a recent tournament to see how the ball would react to carry down. I followed 3 other left handers. It worked well on the sport pattern for the first 6 games, and after that it started to go a little too long before it would make any kind of mood which would be expected. The hitting power of this car was simply amazing. This ball hit like a freight train with 100 train cars attached. I was able to use it in league without many adjustments with my feet and my target

Wrecker #2: Layout: 60 x 4 x 70 2000ab
Tested on: Tested on: 40ft HPL THS and 41ft THS on ½ HPL and ½ HPL.
Tested this ball hoping to find a true roller ball for when I need to get inside and not a ton of hook. With the layout and the 2000ab, this ball was just what I was looking for. Super roll producer and very calm and tender in the back end, very easy when working a true inside shot or playing 5th or 6th arrow and allowing the ball to stay inside of the track area. It also worked well if I stood on 12 and looked 7-8 on the THS on both lane surfaces with making slight change in my release and make it do a little end over end voodoo roll.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: mikelj 12/27/2012 18:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I tested my Wrecker on my 39-foot house shot. The 1500 polished Hybrid reactive finish worked well for this condition. I pushed the ball to the dry area to gain some friction.

My Disturbed is drilled with the pin above the fingers with the CG in the palm. I wanted to have a ball that would compliment my Shooting Star and have a nice skid flip reaction. This ball produced about 3-5 inches of flare. The ball skidded nicely through the heads as I played just inside the oil line skidding out to the dryer boards. Once the ball encountered some friction, it revved up nicely and made a pronounced move to the pocket. ?As with all Roto Grip balls, it drove through the pin deck.

The Wrecker has a very predictable reaction, and with the 2.55 RG and .042 differential makes it a great addition for the lower rev medium speed league player who needs the extra length from the polished cover when the lanes begin to breakdown.

What I enjoyed the most about this ball is the late breaking skid flip reaction. It produced a nice dramatic hook to the pocket and devastated the pins. What a fun ball to throw.

The Wrecker is a nice go to ball for the league bowler and is good compliment to the Shatter or the Shooting Star. This ball will make a nice addition to anyone’s arsenal.

Mike Johnston
Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Wrecker Reviewed By: mikelj 12/27/2012 18:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I tested my Wrecker on my 39-foot house shot. The 1500 polished Hybrid reactive finish worked well for this condition. I pushed the ball to the dry area to gain some friction.

My Disturbed is drilled with the pin above the fingers with the CG in the palm. I wanted to have a ball that would compliment my Shooting Star and have a nice skid flip reaction. This ball produced about 3-5 inches of flare. The ball skidded nicely through the heads as I played just inside the oil line skidding out to the dryer boards. Once the ball encountered some friction, it revved up nicely and made a pronounced move to the pocket. ?As with all Roto Grip balls, it drove through the pin deck.

The Wrecker has a very predictable reaction, and with the 2.55 RG and .042 differential makes it a great addition for the lower rev medium speed league player who needs the extra length from the polished cover when the lanes begin to breakdown.

What I enjoyed the most about this ball is the late breaking skid flip reaction. It produced a nice dramatic hook to the pocket and devastated the pins. What a fun ball to throw.

The Wrecker is a nice go to ball for the league bowler and is good compliment to the Shatter or the Shooting Star. This ball will make a nice addition to anyone’s arsenal.

Mike Johnston
Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Read all 36 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter