Go to Motiv Raptor Talon »

Only show reviews for Motiv Raptor Talon

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.38Write a Review    Read all 8 reviews

I Love It
 
62% (5 of 8)
I Like It
 
25% (2 of 8)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 8)
I Don't Like It
 
12% (1 of 8)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 8)

Motiv Raptor Talon Reviewed By: J How 01/10/2013 19:37 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Motiv Raptor Talon

Free Hook is here! The biggest ball in the Motiv arsenal is a must have. The ball that will allow you to play deeper than anyone else on the lanes…the new Raptor Talon. This ball loves oil. I have personal never seen a ball that can read and react in oil like this one. This ball has tons of hook, but very controlled hook in an arcing motion. I drilled two of these and so far have had a lot of success, especially on high volume patterns. The first one I drilled was 80x5.5x50 and the second one is 70x3.5x45. The 1st one really gets through the heads very clean and then makes a big controlled move to the pocket, without being “jumpy” even when the ball hits the dry boards. The 2nd one is very strong and hooks early for me. I love that on heavy volume I can play straight and get the ball to hook when others can’t, and also when they transition I can get left of everyone else. On the other hand, this ball does not like the dry. But is Mr. reliable when you need to trust something to get back to the pocket.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by J How


Motiv Raptor Talon Reviewed By: MOTIVmags 12/19/2012 14:51 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 Over x 1/8 Down
 
*Raptor Talon 3 3/4 X 55 X 65*
MOTIV's current goal is to release bowling balls that will be able to
provide bowlers with an arsenal of equipment to combat all conditions.
**

*Description: *The Raptor Talon is the third Raptor being added to the
high-performance range. The Raptor Talon uses the same Predator core as the previous two Raptors, but with the all new Fusion Solid Reactive coverstock.*

*Reaction:
*The addition of the Raptor Talon has filled MOTIV's slot for a very early revving heavy oil ball. The Raptor Talon is best suited when everything else is too clean in the front or middle part of the lane.
It allows you to keep a ton of ball in your hand yet maintain control throughout the entire lane. At the box finish (2000 grit sanded) I found the ball to be most effective for the intentions of the ball. Adding polish made the Raptor Talon similar in length to the original Raptor (4000 Grit Sanded), yet the Raptor Talon maintained a higher hook potential because of the strength in the front and middle part of the lane. I didn't experiment with adding more surface to the Raptor Talon as the box surface started the ball plenty soon!

*Comparisons:
*The Raptor Talon is obviously MOTIV's biggest hooking ball.
However, even though you may currently think you don't need more hook, the Raptor Talon brings much more than just hook. It brings a lot of power and a lot of control. In my video you will see that the original Raptor is played a few boards right at the arrows and has a more defined backend motion. The Venom Strike is even further right at the arrows, although not as continuous as the Raptor Talon. I think it should also be noted that those who really like there Thrash, the Raptor Talon will be the Thrash's BIG BROTHER.**

*Summary:
*The Raptor Talon is not going to be a ball for me that will see
a lot of league action, but will be the first ball I choose to put in the bag for tournaments. I can see the Raptor Talon seeing a lot of time on tougher patterns and looking forward to throwing it on some heavier conditions when most are struggling to get the lane to open up.

*YouTube Video: **
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wM-NB1MoTjM&;feature=youtu.be*
* *
*MOTIV Staff Member - Mike Magolan*


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MOTIVmags


Motiv Raptor Talon Reviewed By: goaway65 03/23/2014 21:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The layout on my raptor in pin under ring cg 45 degrees down and right of the pin, pap is 4" x 3/4 up speed typically around 16mph. I will start by saying this ball is a nice addition to my arsenal to give a different look from what I have in my bag. With that said I am not a huge fan of the ball reaction. I feel it is over-rated as a heavy oil ball but is a very useable ball in the right conditions.

I would describe my game as a down and in bowler, typically around the 2nd arrow. I will give this ball that under a house shot this ball will be too much and you need to add speed to keep it online. If I move inside to find higher volume this ball ends up not finishing, I have to throw out to the drier area for it to make a move to the pocket. The move this ball makes is gradual and arcing which of course lends itself to be a control piece than a hook monster. Slower speed bowlers imo will likely have problems keeping this ball online and maybe that may help in heavier fresh oil?

On a positive note like the P7 this ball will carry a lot of strikes that come up light. The carry just ends of being mysteriously good. The ball never really quits it just doesn't also cover all the boards to hit flush compared to other heavy oil balls on the same pattern (ie DV8 HRR)

Pros: Control piece, good carry
Cons: Depending on your style and line of preference not a heavy oil ball


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by goaway65


Motiv Raptor Talon Reviewed By: 2012camaro 04/13/2013 13:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    192
Sport Shot Average    172
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Haven't used it that much yet practiced with it haven't had the oily conditions that this ball would be good for in practice shot a 252 193 and 223 with it seem to work well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2012camaro


Motiv Raptor Talon Reviewed By: Mr.TakeIt 03/08/2013 02:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    160
Sport Shot Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Unlike this guy below I thought the same thing about the Motiv Raptor Talon when I first purchase. I average a 160 average in a bowling league and was bowling on heavy oil (also a two finger ball that holds it to the side), so i went shopping for a heavy oil ball and decided to try the Raptor Talon, first game with it out the box was 120 second game 100 third game 133. Saying this ball didnt have the that much hook either until i moved my fingers normal to the ball instead of sideways and was bowling with my palm on the finger hole. Well the long story told before this, this ball comes back from anywhere on the lane I a high hook thrower wouldnt trade this ball for nothing, would like to see the ELITE RED Alien and the Motiv ball go heads up and see which one wins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Motiv Raptor Talon Reviewed By: rfrench1953@hotmail.com 02/25/2013 20:15 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
bought this ball in Dec 2012, thrown 40-50 games on it, I'm a 15-16mph, lf hand, full roller and this ball does not react as advertised. I've tried it on 38' to 42', turnpike conditions-- slides through like plastic, 2 others in this area have tried it, one is senior tour member and the other bowls thumbless with hi revs, we all agree this ball is not for us.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Motiv Raptor Talon Reviewed By: r0me0_fm@yahoo.com 01/25/2013 20:57 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
 
I typically buy the aggressive bowling balls out there in the market like TR2 and Motiv Cruel and Big Curve by Lane#1 or Insane Levrage by Morich but I love this bowling ball it creates lots of traction when it's oily and too much traction when the lane is slowly breaking down. For my I asked Dustin S. to have this bowling ball drill an early hook, maximum hook. Because my knowledge in bowling is that I can control revs and speed. I've been practicing to play deep inside line, middle line to outside line. So basically I've been mastering Stroker, Tweener and Cranker Styles with three different lines in the pocket. I don't use any wrist support other than a tennis wrist support (incase I injure my wrist... not those pro release type of wrist support or cobra products)

But using this bowling ball, I recommended for people who knows how to control there bowling ball. Because this isn't recommended for people who cannot control ball's hooking ability or for drier lanes and have slow to medium ball speed... I can still play this bowling ball if I change the hooking ability from a cranker to a stroker in drier lane conditions by increasing ball speed etc.. And still use the broken wrist method by Fred Borden and Parker Bohn the 3rd to throw spares in drier conditions.
But I recommend this for heavy to medium oil conditions. The reason why I love this bowling ball and the drilling method that Dustin S. gave me is that I'm able to play different shots at the bowling alley which helps me to adapt and adjust easier with my style. I would not use this type of bowling ball for my thumbless bowling for my left hander because it might be too aggressive because my thumbless one hander is slow to medium ball speed which requires a pearlized bowling ball in order to control reaction instead of sanded coverstock.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by r0me0_fm@yahoo.com


Motiv Raptor Talon Reviewed By: heartxplant@me.com 12/22/2012 14:44 ( stars)


 
This is the strongest finishing balls I have ever used. I have it drilled to be aggressive early. Even after losing inertia, the ball does NOT quit. Fewer 10 pins, more splits if you come heavy on the head pin. If you like to play the gutter cap and loft, this ball will make any one-handed bowler look like Jason Belmonte on dry lanes...what a goof!
Otherwise, if you want a ball that bites on the most difficult sport shots...then this is the ball for you!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by heartxplant@me.com


Read all 8 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter