Go to Storm IQ Tour Pearl »

Only show reviews for Storm IQ Tour Pearl

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.74Write a Review    Read all 47 reviews

I Love It
 
89% (42 of 47)
I Like It
 
2% (1 of 47)
It's Ok
 
4% (2 of 47)
I Don't Like It
 
2% (1 of 47)
I Hate It
 
2% (1 of 47)

Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 11/20/2012 14:38 ( stars)

1468 of 1506 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
The IQ Tour Pearl features the perfect combination of mid-lane control and backend hook.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 1/2"
PSA Layout - 4 1/2" x 4 1/2" x 2"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
For IQ fans this is the release we have all been waiting for. The IQ Tour Pearl was going to bring a controllable ball motion with an aggressive backend motion to the IQ line. Of course when we all heard it was going to be gold pearl we were even more excited.

I used a very similar layout on this ball as compared to my other IQ's except we went a little stronger with the pin and pin buffer to help keep the ball from going too long and getting behind the pocket. With this small tweak in the layout I expected to see a very smooth motion with an aggressive yet controllable move down lane.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
All the IQ fans will be very happy with this addition. The IQ Tour Pearl does exactly what Storm says it will do and it fits into the line very well.

Off my hand the Pearl was smooth and very controllable. It did not get jumpy when it found any friction early. The transition was the same, just very
predictable and smooth. Downlane was where this ball really shined in my opinion.

The motion off the break point was strong but not too angular. It was just enough to make it back from where ever I wanted but not so sharply that I got hung with tens. Overall I would say this ball would offer a good look when the IQ Tour was getting to early and flat downlane and when you need something to make a stronger move off the break point.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 11/20/2012 13:35 ( stars)

87 of 99 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5 7/8"
PSA Layout - 5 x 5 x 2.5"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box ( 1500 Grit w/ Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
After throwing the IQ Tour Solid, I was super pumped to get my hands on the IQ Tour Pearl! I was expecting amazing predictability and control just like the IQ Tour Solid, but with more length.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Storm did not disappoint! This ball is the perfect compliment to the Solid version. Actually, the IQ Tour Pearl may be one of the easiest to read reactions I've ever seen. It's got good length but it's not like some pearl equipment where it just looks like the ball is skidding and you're not sure if it will ever hook. With this ball you can tell that the ball is reading the lane the whole time, waiting to start hooking in the mid lane and make a very strong finish on the backend. This is such a smooth and predictable backend motion, it makes moving inside so easy.

If you're looking to start an arsenal, there are no better building blocks than the Storm IQ Tour Pearl and Solid!

P.S. The ball looks AWESOME going down the lane!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 12/04/2012 15:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm IQ Tour Pearl
The first thing you will notice is the awesome smell of butterscotch. We all want a ball that we can read the lanes and the IQ Tour Pearl will give you control in the midlane with all the backend you will need. With the combination of low RG and low differential the roll in the front will give you the look you need to hit any oil pattern.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Dmoney13 11/19/2012 14:03 ( stars)

23 of 31 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 5/8" right and 3/4" up
 
The Storm IQ Tour Pearl is a beautiful golden beam of awesomeness! It has the C³™ Centripetal Control Core, wrapped in the R2S Coverstock. This is the smoothest reacting BEAST of a ball ever made. It will be a must have in every arsenal for 2013. The official release date is December 4th, 2012.
I drilled the IQ Tour Pearl with a 4 1/2" X 5 1/4" X 4" layout. This is a medium flare, controlled breakpoint layout with the pin down far enough to get a solid mid-lane read. The R2S Pearl coverstock is clean through the heads, and doesn't overreact in the mid-lane. The C³™ Centripetal Control Core is amazingly smooth, and packs a punch that would make Mike Tyson jealous. This ball exits the pin deck with such force, I am amazed that it doesn't come out the back of the machine. With speed adjustments, I can stand anywhere from the 25 board to the 45 board and not only carry, but crush!
This ball will be great for anyone that doesn't put a ton of revs on the ball, but still wants a strong reaction. It will also be great for anyone that bowls on a medium to heavy oil pattern, but needs the ball to clear the heads clean. Truthfully, I think this ball will be a must have in everyone's arsenal. I expect to see them as abundent as the Virtual Gravity was when it first came out. 5 out of 5 in my book!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dmoney13


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Brianthebowler 07/20/2013 18:50 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I drilled it for length for a low track bowler.

Damn.

I bowled a 300 on THS for my second game in my league today with this ball. It obliterated everything. I'm using it for a ball that I use after my Aura has broken up the lanes, and it is doing beautifully at that.

Overall, I recommend it highly.

It smells great too.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Brianthebowler


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Juanito 05/06/2013 20:48 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
So, here's the deal. I have no particular affinity for any specific manufacturer. I buy balls based on specs and observation. As such, I have no ax to grind with Storm. I just updated my arsenal for the year. My book average is 223. I throw about 16 miles per hour, have medium revs, and a high track.

I purchased the Storm IQ Tour pearl along with a Hammer Taboo Jet Black and a Taboo Deep Purple. I will use this same review for all three balls. My initial thought was that the Jet Black might have predictability issues, like the old Black Widows.

Not so my friends the Jet Black went very long and was super strong on the turn, every time with a real nasty but controllable snap to it. The Jet Black was best on a tweener shot. The Deep purple was equally predictable but I played farther inside with it. Yikes! it rolled up so smooth and was so controllable. I played from a tweener position all the way to a cranker shot. It was all good. It was best on a cranker shot. The IQ Tour pearl was a train wreck and did nothing well.

I had bookend 247's with the two Hammers and a zippy 158, in between, with the Storm IQ Tour. Keep in mind, that with testing new equipment, scoring was not my main concern. My intent was to calibrate the new balls against one another, i.e. what would each do on a stroker, tweener, and cranker shot. However, the scores do speak for themselves as it pertains to how easy the ball is to manage. The ball needs to work for the bowler, not vice-versa.

The main problem I found with the Storm ball was that it was super volatile. It was like a race car on steroids. As soon as it hit friction, (early or late) it made a sharp left turn and never quit running. I literally moved all over the approach trying to find the best route to the pocket. The only way I could get there was to wind up and throw a fast ball. I even backed my fingers way off, to little avail. This ball was so vicious, it makes me wonder how a conventional grip would work .... seriously.

I am not going to give up on it, just yet. Other high average bowlers I know have had good luck with it. I am going to put it on the spinner and take the surface to 4000 abralon, then try it again. If I still have issues, I will polish it and try a third time. If there is any significant improvement in control, I will review it again. If it seems to need a layout change, I will just scrap it. The Hammers work great. Every time I update an arsenal, some balls work and some either don't or are just too much trouble to deal with.

As of now, I am loving the two taboos and am not happy withe the IQ Tour pearl.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Juanito


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: davkarsports 01/17/2013 11:31 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I was absolutely amazed at the strength of this ball! Threw it at a demo recently and immediately made a purchase at the pro shop so I can add it to my arsenal.

The demo ball was drilled with the pin just above and to the right of the ring finger and probably had more than a few games on it. Playing the track line on a relatively fresh THS, this ball was clean and smooth, but the roll it would get into in the backend was VERY strong and very continuous through the pins.

My ball was drilled with the pin about 5/8" above the ring finger. The surface was slightly touched up to remove the OOB polish, but keeping the ball polished. I had to move 5 boards left of the track line to find a place to keep this ball on the right side of the head-pin. For a "low-flare" ball, the IQ Tour Pearl covered more boards than anticipated and keep an incredibly strong roll through the backend and through the pins.

BOTTOM LINE: When the IQ TOUR (My go-to league ball) starts burning up and leaving corner pins, I can switch to this ball, move a little left and expect some big scores well into the night. I see this ball having many uses for league and tournament play...can't wait to take it to Nationals!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: caseyccg 11/30/2012 13:42 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Storm IQ Tour Ball Review by Storm Staffer Casey Murphy
Storm Lucid Ball Review
by Storm Staffer Casey Murphy

Right Handed
Rev Rate: 375-400 Rpm
Ball Speed: 16 mph
PAP: 4 5/8 straight across

Location: Sunshine Lanes
Lane Pattern: Typical House Shot
Layout: 65, 5 ½, 35

I loved the IQ Tour and was excited when I saw the spec sheet. But my jaw HIT THE FLOOR when I saw the spec sheet for IQ Tour Pearl. Gold? And Pearl with the Centripetal Control Core?! I couldn’t wait.

I drilled the IQ Tour Pearl to clear the heads and create angle on the back. I threw it on a house shot and was not disappointed. The coverstock got the ball through the heads and the fast rev’ing low RG core generated plenty of mid lane. It was surprisingly strong overall and I had to play 5 or 6 boards deeper than any other ball in my arsenal. First league set with was 804!

Gold, beautiful, unbelievably strong. The IQ Tour Pearl is a must have.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: r_wilson_23 02/06/2014 13:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 7/8" right 1/2" up
 
My whole bowling team ordered these about a year ago. Drilled it straight up with the thumb offset being that I'm a 2-hander. Out of the box, this ball was a MONSTER. On a 39' THP, I was having to swing this ball 22 out to 5 to keep it right of the head pin. 30 games later, I wish I could get it to move. After 30 games, I went from having a monster of a ball, to a ball I had to throw straight down 10 with a bunch of hand to get it to move. I've had a few Storm/Rotogrip balls over the last few years (VG Nano and Defiant), and I must say, I don't know what they are doing with their coverstocks, but they must be super soft. All they do is absorb oil like crazy. I clean my balls after every set, and it still doesn't help Storm balls out. I've been told you have to resurface them every 20-30 games. Who wants to pay $200+ for a ball you have to resurface every month? Not this guy. Glad I've found some different equipment that doesn't require that and works great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by r_wilson_23


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: dleonhart 02/04/2014 17:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
I already wrote my first impression review. Now time for the after awhile review!!

I averaged 198 over 21 games with this ball. Love it.

Then I had a removable thumb put in and now I am averaging 225 over 9 games. Also I can now throw my fire road consistently since putting in removable thumb.

I also opened my span by 1/8 of an inch and my release is so much better.

This ball rolls so smooth and still has a backend. It is the best ball I have ever thrown. I have now missed a 300 three times in the past three weeks. Threw 8 one time, 9 one time and 7 another.

I threw 6 to finish one game and 9 in the next for 15 total strikes in a row. Awesome ball. I just hope it is not new ball luck!!

I will say it was not the ball that missed the perfect games, it was me. POUT!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dleonhart


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: buddgoode 02/04/2014 00:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I bought this ball to use in the "Track Area" of the lane. I found it to be inconsistent and left many 10 pins and other single pins. I gave up on using this ball for that purpose.

I decided to try something drastic, I sanded the ball at 250 then 300 then wet sanded it to 600 grit. I then tried using this ball in my normal area (being a cranker). It was magnificent! The ball had plenty of hold through the shot and plenty of back-end to finish, it proved reliable all throughout the adjustments of 3 games. I had no problem shooting 670-720 series after changing the surface of this ball.

This ball is an OK ball "as is" for someone who shoots a straight up and in shot and doesn't expect more than 5-10 boards of movement. Definitely not recommended for a "cranker"


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by buddgoode


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: AlleyMaster 02/03/2014 11:24 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
My wife's Storm IQ Tour Pearl was a great ball for the 2 months that it lasted. The ball cracked between the fingers and definitely sounded broken when it hit the pins. Storm refused to replace it. Another 220+ bowler at our center had the very same experience and just threw his in the trash. That's where my wife's is headed also. Shame on you Storm!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: dleonhart 12/27/2013 09:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
I almost bought this ball used two weeks ago. Then my wife got it for me for Christmas!!

I have read every review on here and watched every video between here and YouTube. Everyone says it is smooth and powerful. They are right.

I read someone say it builds up power in the front and stores it and unleashes in the back, that was dead on right.

I had to slow my ball down a little, but then again that made me more accurate. I shot 187, 183, 199, 247, 169. The first two games were me moving all over the place trying different lines. Third, fourth and fifth game were league. First game of league I really felt like the ball was erratic. But I will say I think they oiled the lanes differently that night then normal and I was confused on where to stand.

The second game I slowed down and found my spot.
x 7/ x x x x x x x 9- What an idiot. Solid pocket and left ten pin. Was irritated and just chunked ball at it.

Third game the ball started moving early and I just fought it. I should have changed balls or moved. Since this ball rolls so smooth, I just couldn't in my mind see the move I needed to make. I was mesmerized by the ball.

All night I was afraid to drop it and shatter it like a piece of butterscotch candy.

I have it drilled with pin just above ring finger. All my other balls are drilled pin down middle of fingers. The pro shop person told me that he drilled one pin down and after a month the ball wouldn't act or move the same. So I took his advice to move it up and I like it so far. Those 5 games were at Fire Lake bowling center in Shawnee, Oklahoma. I will be bowling at Shawnee bowl on Monday so we will see how it does there. Both are synthetic lanes but Shawnee has an easier shot that moves ALOT more.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dleonhart


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Another10pin 12/16/2013 16:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I love this ball right out of the box i shot a 751. I had a 250+ 206 and the first 10 getting a 288. The ball goes long and makes a nice predictable reaction off the backend which hits like a truck and carries the 10 pin out quite nicely. I would recommend this ball, if you're seeking a ball that gets down the lane longer but will grip the lane when there is a little heavier oil. This ball also works really good through the breakdown on the lanes with minimal adjustments.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Another10pin


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Hardrocker 12/02/2013 13:42 ( stars)


 
Is it a Mack truck going down the lanes breaking pins? Nope, just the best bowling ball that is made by Storm. Just the right amount of back end and mid-lane roll that allows for easy control and high scores. This ball makes it so easy to do the fine tuning adjustments on the lane.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: JTesta1966 09/08/2013 16:56 ( stars)


 
I came from the Hammer camp to see what all the hub-bub was about Storm equipment. I watched my local ProShop owner roll the Pearl, and noticed how angularly (is that a word) the ball entered the pocket. I know his style and this ball seemed to compliment his style. Enter me, a 3 game a week, 217 average bowler. I talked to my Pro about the Storm equipment, and bought a plugged IQ Tour, which was drilled to act like my old Black Widow which had been my goto ball for the last 10 years, but just didn't want to do anything anymore. I liked how the Tour rolled, and hit nice. A smooth arcing hook, and nice hit. But I was more interested in the Pearl. As now I noticed a lot of my friends were using it. I bought one, had my Pro drill it up. First night using it shot 680. Right out of the box, no practice nothing. Have been using it exclusively through my summer league, and now into my winter league. I don't have quite the axis or revs to make a ball snap like my pro, but this ball hits like bricks. Once locked in, I can throw strike after strike with it, with minimal adjustment. I am very happy with this purchase and have jumped camps to Storm. Next up is the new Byte. Storm has gotten me excited about bowling again!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: brians31 06/29/2013 02:40 ( stars)


 
BAD A$$ BALL

Unbelievable reading potential from this ball. Do not be detoured by the low diff. and symmetrical core because when you loose to this ball you will be sorry. Great backend, however not the strongest, great action even though it doesn't do too much, this ball just seems to know where to go on all patterns, 35' or 52' this ball just knows what to do 75x4x35 and wouldn't change a thing. This ball has great action without overreacting, great backend without loosing inertia, and perfect playability, truly a bowlers gold standard.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brians31


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/13/2013 22:44 ( stars)


 
So far this ball has become one of my favorites. The tour pearls reactivity is a blessing to my style, the quick snap at the end crushing the pocket consistently. Even if it misses the pocket it manages Brooklyn strikes quite well. It was nice to get a stronger ball that is reliable, and the tour pearl fits that description. This has become my go to ball. Plus the butterscotch smell seems to be addicting to people.

Eric Salaices


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/13/2013 22:42 ( stars)


 
This ball is awesome in every way. I am a stroker but when I throw the IQ it reads the lane quickly and snaps into the pocket. So far since I got the ball my average has increased significantly. Even when I throw a bad shot the ball will still grip the lane and come back towards the pocket a lot better than most balls. I love this ball and would recommend it to any bowler.

Eric Abenojar


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/13/2013 22:41 ( stars)


 
The most controllable pearl ball I have ever had. I can easily see why it's a tour favorite! It has great control, great carry, a wonderful smooth transition at the breakpoint, and works well on puzzle shots (medium length medium volume) as well as any type of house condition. It looks great and rolls great! Thanks Storm!

Matt Gender


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/13/2013 22:40 ( stars)


 
Drilled Pin Up, Kicked over middle finger

I got this ball hoping for retaining energy through the midlane while still giving me the control I look for in a ball. Needless to say this fit right in and became my go to ball. Has a very smooth archy movement to it and doesn’t overhook. It’s very easy to control and another great ball by Storm.

Matt Nance


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/13/2013 22:38 ( stars)


 
This ball really reads the lanes well and has a really smooth role. When I bought this ball I was looking for a ball that had a really smooth arc and that I could throw as far right as I wanted but still have confidence that the ball would come back and destroy the pocket. This ball really works great when trying to play the midlane but still gives you a great backend. And it smells great.

Dillon Engel


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: gordonpage@ymail.com 06/12/2013 06:59 ( stars)


 
The ordering process was quick and easy and exactly as described!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: collincurrent 04/28/2013 21:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-3/16 Right x 3/8 Up
 
This was my first time trying a pearl bowling ball, and I have to say I was very impressed.

Pearls are designed to hook later, and my Crossroad was often hooking too early. However, I used a similar layout (layout 2) and tried it out.

From my first time throwing it, I was happy with my purchase. It looked clean and still gave me the reaction I desired.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by collincurrent


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: imagine686868@yahoo.com 04/17/2013 12:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I am 64 years old, X Iron Worker local #10! A good frind of mine, Jason called me up and said get the IQ Tour Pearl, you will bowl your first 300 game with it! I had BP pro shop in Independence Mo drill it, and four days later, I bowled my first 300 game on league at AMF Vivion in Kansas city Mo. Wow was Jason RIGHT ON in regards to this ball! It was my first outing First game 201, then the 300!! I am a medium to fast speed tweeter. What a fricken Great Ball, Thanks Jason for the (right on advice)!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by imagine686868@yahoo.com


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: sporty 04/11/2013 08:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Style    Tweener
 
This is no doubt the best ball I have ever owned last night I shot 277/759 with it. I was the only one on the pair able to get the ball to finish playing a inside line so the oil held up all night 277 was my last game only had to adjust one board all night. Just got the ball was averaging 214 before am sure that will go up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: bigmikecraig 04/09/2013 22:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4
 
Lay Out: 5" from PAP at 65* PAP angle and 30* VAL angle. Dual angle measurement would be 65/5/30. I have a weight hole 5" straight across the grip center.

Ball Surface: I started box finish which is 1500 Reacta-Shine. I have also touched up the surface with a used 2000-abr pad.

Lane Condition Observations: I have thrown this on a couple of different patterns: Our league pattern which is around a 38' shot. I also threw this some on a Kegel Sport Pattern that was 43'. On our league pattern, the OOB finish was kind of snappy off the spot. I left several 9 pins with this. I decided to hit it with the used 2000-abr pad to slow it down in the back a little more. This did well and let me edge closer to the friction line since the ball would stop more in the back of the lane than in box finish. On the 43' pattern, it gave the appearance it might be in play once the heads really went away. We never got enough games in to dramatically alter the front of the lane, so the IQ Tour Solid and the Lucid were much better choices on that condition.

Other Ball Comparisons: I did get to throw it some side by side with my Fire Road, IQ Tour, and Lucid. The Lucid is earlier than all of those as the surface lets it slow down more. The IQ Tour is a little smoother of a look for me than the Lucid and I was 3 and 2 right compared to the Lucid. Where the IQ Tour Pearl shone for me was when I put it head-to-head with the Fire Road. Now this ball was blowing racks and just sawing up pins compared to the slower to medium response of the FR. Head to head with the IQ solid and the pearl was sharper off the spot in the back of the lane but the solid was earlier in the mid lane. There is the primary difference in both balls: one is a smooth surface solid and the other a shined pearl. The IQTP was more skid/snap in box. The look with the IQTP was more closer to the original when I put the 2000-abr on it.

Final Thoughts: I see a lot of IQ Tour Pearls on ball returns in our area. Several of the centers have defined wet/dry house conditions and the IQTP rolls enough in the oil and hooks back sharply if sent right of target. The guys who are really hitting league shots in our area with the IQTP are the ones who have slightly hit their ball with a 4000-abr pad. This lets them get closer to the friction and cuts down on the 9 pins left.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bigmikecraig


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: nibrocmc 04/07/2013 22:02 ( stars)


 
The IQ Pearl Tour - This is the best looking pearl ball on the market and a must have in your bag. I can best compare it to the Storm X-Factor in that it has a very predictable ball roll. My ball is drilled with the pin above both fingers, and the CG kicked out about an inch and a half with a weight hole on my axis. This ball reads the front end of the lane great and has a really strong backend motion. This ball is great for tournaments; it never over reacts, and I always know what it is going to do. I have seen other people throw this ball and have the success I have had with it. Thanks Storm, for the best pearl ball since the X-Factor


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by nibrocmc


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Aimers13 04/03/2013 15:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5-1/4 Over 1/4 Up
 
IQ Tour Pearl Ball Review by Storm/Roto Grip Pro Shop Staffer Rob Aimers.
I drilled my first IQ Tour Pearl on November 19th. I put one of my Benchmark layouts on it. Pin above the ring finger with the CG straight below or in “Old School terminology” stacked on the ring finger. In today’s world that equates to a 5 ¼” Pin to PAP x 4 ¾” PAP to MB x 4” Pin Buffer using the Storm system. If you use Dual Angles it’s 60° x 5 ¼” x 40°.
I bowled one game with it as I always do with a new ball before using it in any competition. That is basically just to make sure it feels good and get an idea about how it rolls. The real test would be the following night in league on the 20th. I proceeded to shoot 258-269-249=776 off the press. Needless to say I already loved it. This was on our THS named Final King Pattern. It’s 42 ft with a total of 19.8 ml.
I participated in a local Thanksgiving Scratch tournament held Sunday the 25th. The tournament is held on a different type of pattern every year. This year it was on the 2012 USBC OC Pattern.
There were 51 entries and I qualified 3rd at +135 for 6 games. Unfortunately I wasn’t the Top qualifier as Jeff Richgels had mentioned in his 11thframe.com blog. However, there were only 3 IQ Tour Pearl’s in the building that day and 2 of them qualified 2nd + 3rd. The ball went through the front part of the lane with no problems at all but started that nice mid lane read so it wasn’t squirty. Even after all that it still had the ability to recover while watching others struggle with over/under.
I backed up my performance from the previous Tuesday with 278-268-205=751. I thought the final test would be Thursday on the Kegel White 2-Roller pattern. I shot 258-248-245=751. Then I was asked to sub in another house on Friday. I managed to go 299-242-237=779 on their THS. It starts out as the Kegel pattern Easy Street with 20 ml. In my eyes that made this ball very versatile or user friendly. Over the course of a week or so, that included 4 league sets and 1 tournament on 4 different patterns, my league average was over 254 and I qualified 3rd and finished 4th. I don’t think I ever had a ball give me that much success that quick on varying shots in 3 different buildings. All I could say is “WOW!”
I then drilled my 2nd IQ Tour Pearl on February 26th. I drilled this 1 with another of my faithful layouts. With the Storm or Pin Buffer system it’s 5 ½” Pin to PAP x 3 3/8” PAP to MB x 5” Pin Buffer. Using Dual Angles it comes out to 40° x 5 ½ x 45°. That puts the Pin up above the bridge of my fingers and the CG is kicked out at 35°. There’s a small hole on my PAP for static reasons only. This layout seems to go through the fronts a little cleaner for me. Where the first layout used starts up more in the mid lane.
I have not even been working on freeing up my arm swing and going straighter for a month yet but I can already see the difference in it. With that in mind I had to consider changing up my layouts to match up better. So I drilled a 3rd IQ Tour Pearl like I would have never imagined before. It is 4 ½” Pin to PAP x 3½” PAP to MB x 3” Pin Buffer. Dual Angles puts it at 35° x 4 ½ x 70°. This puts the Pin under my ring finger and the CG is again kicked out at about 35°. This creates a large amount of thumb and side weight if you can imagine. So I have a very big hole in a P4 position or on what would be the MB. Off the press last Thursday I shot 246-216-268=730 on the White 2-Roller pattern. Last night was my first test on our THS Final King pattern. I ended up with 203-246-245=694 surviving a couple untimely splits along the way. I know this is quite a long review but I wanted to capture the full versatility of this awesome ball. I hope this will be helpful to all who read it. Thank you very much. Rob Aimers


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: bowlingprofessor802 04/03/2013 09:40 ( stars)


 
The iq tour pearls is one of the best balls i have personally drilled and thrown in a long time.Mine is drilled reco at factory it when very long and strong back end i changed the surface when i was bowling on the cheetah and other pba pattern to tame the backend down, i scuffed it with 2000 and wow it changed the ball..very versatile for all speeds and rev rates.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: dewbowler2 03/31/2013 19:12 ( stars)


 
Storm IQ Tour Pearl

Layout:
4? x 4? with 2? pin buffer from VAL
PAP:
4-1/2? -> ?? ^

Conditions:

A. Center A- 38? house pattern*, USBC Nationals patterns both (team and singles and doubles) also Abbey Road, Middle Road and Sunset Strip patterns from Kegel. Kegel Kustodian Lane Walker, AMF HPL lane surface and used the new Kegel Ice lane conditioner.

B. Center B- both 36? and 39? house patterns, newest generation Brunswick Anvil Lane surface (less than 1 year on install) Kegel ION machine, type of oil unknown.

C. Center C- 8 lane wood house with typical wood pattern, large volume in heads and middle, but showed a distinct out of bounds if sent right too early. Characteristics of liking to be play up the boards? aroung 12-13 board or major move to 25 on approach and launching out to 13-15 area at arrows. Silver Bullet lane machine, oil unknown.

Surfaces preps:
1. Factory finish
2. 2000 Abralon
3. 4000 Abralon
4. 2000 Abralon w/ Storm Step One Finishing Compound

For reference I throw high track, 15.75 mph, 350+ rpms, using Turbo Lifts and a Switch Grip thumb insert and I am right handed. My span is 4-1/8? middle finger, 1/4? ring finger with laterals being ? left, 5/8? right with ?? reverse on both fingers, Switch Grip thumb at 0 pitch in any direct on thumb. I use a 45 degree oval at a width of .090.

Results:

1. Factory finish;

This was a good look on both centers house shots (including both house ?B?s long and short patterns. It was very strong on its move in the dry on both lane surfaces. I found it to like the Anvil surface much better. Only issues I seen with the factory surface was when you encountered some carry down or if the lanes had only had the heads reran prior to the next squad.

2. Adjusting to 2000 Abralon;

When making this surface adjustment the first thing I really noticed was how much smoother the Pearl would play. Unlike many pearlized balls I have thrown prior to this, the IQ Pearl really smoothed it?s transition out. I found it to play both house patterns in centers A and B much truer. This look did tend to not roll as well on either Kegel Pattern Abbey Road or Sunset Strip, with minimal success on Middle Road.

3. Adjusting to 4000 Abralon;

I found this 4000 finish to be very user friendly. It made me feel very confident to go to this ball after opening up the lanes first with either the Lucid or Sync. I found it to force me too far right on the fresh and take some of my carry away from me, but once the lanes started to transition, I felt much more comfortable grabbing the IQ Pearl and moving inside. On all three surfaces; Anvil, HPL and wood this ball in 4000 Abralon allowed you to be very relaxed and confident. You have room to miss a little in and it holds nicely, as you can miss wide some as well. For guys with limited ?old man roll? like myself, you will want to not try and hook the lane. You will be sad as the energy is not there if too many boars covered in my rev range. Higher rev players should not see this issue.

4. Adjusting to 2000 w/ Storm Step One Finishing Compound;

To this day, this is the finish I keep on this ball. It does not always match up on the HPL fresh house shots (center A) but on wood or Anvil on low volume patterns, this ball is a God send! Just last week created a nice 794 set with only one error. Length, energy and predictability are what this combination gives you. This ball will only over-react if you literally grab it and pull it at the bottom of the swing. There can be a point where you will get forced too deep and carry may suffer, but I would like to point out this may show more in my game than yours?

Overview;

I feel that the IQ Tour Pearl is possibly one of the best symmetrical block pearls on the market! Forgiving and not overly jumpy, even in box finish, I cannot imagine heading to a tournament without at least one of these in my bag. If you want hitting power and forgiveness, then I high recommend putting an IQ Tour Pearl in your arsenal today!

Please remember, no matter what ball you purchase next, seek an IBPSIA certified professional to help you make your choice and evolve your game to the next level!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dewbowler2


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: seanbaker 03/29/2013 15:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    214
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5inches right 1/2 inch up
 
Roto Grip IQ Tour Pearl
PAP – 5 over and ½ up
Ball Speed: 15-17 mph
Rev Rate 300-350
Right Handed
Layout: 5 x 5 x 2.5
Surface Preparation: OOB (1500 grit with polish)

What I wanted from this Ball: I wanted the same awesome continuation to the pocket as my IQ Tour with more length down the lane.

Result: Exactly what I expected. The ball gave the length I wanted and the same continuation to the pocket as the IQ Tour. I also kept my mid lane reaction and roll, and unlike other pearl cover stocks, this ball didn’t slide and would keep reading the lane the whole way. I found that I could trust this ball to make it back to the pocket and had the forgiveness of a pearl if I went a bit inside.

I tested this ball on our typical house shot which is a non forgiving pattern. 18ft of gutter to gutter oil and buffed another 12ft. Keep in mind, we also have wood lanes. Our typical house shot is pretty tough and over a period of 6 games, an out of bounds forms on the lanes and a dry middle creating over under effect. The first 3 games on a fresh oil pattern, I found this ball to give me exactly what I was looking for. I could soften my speed and still get the length I was looking for and the reliability that the ball was going to keep its continuation to the pocket and hit hard. After 3 games, I moved to my normal house shot line, and played exactly where I normally would play with the IQ Tour. I was amazed at how I could throw the same line and keep the same hitting power as when I start out with the Tour.

This ball is the perfect compliment to the IQ Tour! It performs exactly the same for me as the Tour, but like a pearl should. I was amazed at how the look of the ball would make someone think that it wouldn’t perform strong, but it most definitely did.

Overall opinion: A great looking ball that does exactly as designed to do! The IQ Tour Pearl also has great curve appeal and will definitely be a great selling ball. My advisory staffer has nothing but great reviews to report on this ball.


Sean Baker
Roto Grip/Storm
Pro Shop Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by seanbaker


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: strmbwling300 03/29/2013 10:11 ( stars)


 
LANE CONDITION
Length: 40ft
Volume: Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS
COMMENTS
Likes: When I first drilled the !Q Tour Solid and realized how great of ball it was I knew the pearl would be out soon enough. I have always had great success with Storm Pearls, and this is no different. I drilled this with the same layout as the Tour Solid 4.5 x 3.5. This layout always gives me good length without over reacting on the backend. The Tour Gold has more backend of any ball I have ever thrown. I thought that the T Road Pearl was the ball with the most backend but the Tour Gold really surprised me, even with the lower differential. The Tour Gold starts up a little sooner than the T Road Pearl but does not stop. This ball is a great compliment when the Tour Solid isn't turning the corner.
Dislikes: Can have too much backend at times
For those would are looking for a ball to turn the corner when the backends are tight I would highly recommend this ball


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by strmbwling300


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: lenny_blocher@msn.com 03/28/2013 00:13 ( stars)


 
Great ball and service. Ordered last week and received ball in 3 days (normal free delivery). Had it drilled today.

Plain fingertip drill- Pin just forward and right of ring finger. No balance hole, same basic drill on all my balls.

Tweener style, medium revs and speed 14 - 15 mph.
Average 170 ish.

Today first 3 games OOB- 182, 220, 195 for a 597 set.

The pin carry was great on low hits. Left a few 7 pins (right handed).
Definitely looking forward to league.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: TommyGN 03/25/2013 15:42 ( stars)


 
The IQ tour pearl is a great addition to the master line of bowling balls. The gold pearl R2S cover really stands out on the shelf. This ball is the second ball released with the density changed C3 Centripetal core. The change in densities of the centripetal core lowered the diff to .029 from .050 in 15lb bowling balls. The scent is butterscotch, which we haven’t smelled since the Double Agent.
I drilled my pearl IQ tour with the pin over the ring finger, and the cg only about 5 degrees left of stacked, to produce a touch of midlane, without sacrificing down lane motion. It basically comes out to a 5x5x2.5 drilling for me. I used a very small, shallow hole to keep the ball at ¾ oz side weight, to stay under the USBC max allowed of 1oz. I very moderately touched the cover with a well used 4000 abralon pad; just to give the ball that slightly used cover finish.
The pearl Tour IQ gets through the front of the lane very easy, and produces more backend reaction than the solid tour IQ. I like to use the pearl IQ tour as a step down from my pearl Marvel. If the pearl Marvel starts hooking too early or just stops cornering, because it is slowing down too soon, the IQ tour pearl is a great go to piece. This is the same way I use the Marvel solid and IQ, and step down to the IQ tour solid.
The strong backend reaction I get out of the pearl IQ tour, allows me to stay a little more firm, and throw the ball keeping my angles a bit tighter, when there isn’t a lot of miss area on the lane. The lower flaring core keeps the ball from reacting too quickly later on in the blocks when the fronts start to go, and for me, seems to give me a bit of miss area and recovery from pitch out shots when the patterns are a little harder. Interesting enough, I also can use the IQ tour pearl on house conditions, as long as I keep it in the oil, and don’t get it to the dry too quick. The strong move down lane is enough to slap pins left and right, and make me feel like I have more revs on the ball than I really do. The pearl tour IQ really rolls strong through the pins. Seeing the pearl tour finishing off the deck going through the 9 pin position is not an uncommon occurrence with the pearl tour. This ball really continues down lane.
I have had good success with the pearl IQ tour on Shark, house conditions, USBC White pattern, WTBA Seoul pattern, and Chameleon. The pearl tour IQ really allows me to open up the backend of most any pattern just short of very oily conditions. I can just chase the pattern in, and find a touch of oil up front, and find some dry to throw to, and let the pearl tour IQ come screaming back to the pocket. Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the pearl IQ tour.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TommyGN


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: PJ Haggerty 03/15/2013 14:24 ( stars)


 
Storm IQ Tour Pearl Review

PAP 5 over 1/8 up
400-425 RPM
Ball Weight: 15lbs
Right Handed

A ball that everyone knows you’re throwing! I wish Woody Harrelson would have thrown this in Kingpin, although it rolls a lot better without a rubber hand stuck in it. The IQ Tour Pearl. A ball I had to drill a couple of to figure it out and once I did, it was money! I did realize something when drilling balls with very low differentials. You MUST drill them stronger to get them to flare, preferably with medium/large weight holes.

The first one I drilled was approximately 4 x 4 from my axis without a weight hole, and it didn’t flare at all. I still had faith that this ball would be good, so I drilled a second one 5 ¼ x 4 with approximately a 1” weight hole on my axis. This one is a home run. I took the shine off lightly with a used 2000 pad to smooth the reaction out and this ball goes with me everywhere. I will not be able to use this ball on the ‘fresh’ of most sport/PBA patterns because of the pearl, but when the lanes transition and in games later in long blocks, this ball will definitely get used. With a low RG of 2.49, it will still read the front part of the lane so it doesn’t “blow through the spot” and because of the low differential (.029) it will want to change direction hard. A great ball for lower, medium, and high rev players because they can all benefit from the motion at some point! Thanks Storm for not only a great looking ball, but a great motion as well!

If you have any questions, please email me at PJ.Haggerty@yahoo.com
Check out Stormbowling.com for more information!
#stormnation




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by PJ Haggerty


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: cmsubowler 02/26/2013 21:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Obviously being with Storm I have the chance to throw with the greatest bowling balls on earth. To borrow a line from another campaign, the best bowling balls on earth just got better...... IQ Tour Pearl. Those of you who know me and have spoken with me know my love of the IQ Tour. The Tour Pearl Gold is everything that the IQ Tour may have lacked(if anything) Since shooting the video I have drilled a second one which I will explain a little later but I also have a third one on the way just for safe keeping. The Tour Pearl for me is much straighter through the front part of the lane and far more angular than its predecessor the IQ Tour Solid. I am using my favorite layout in this ball with a slight 5 degree modification to the initial drill angle to help promote a little more length and push through the front. The Tour Gold has tremendous hitting power and goes through the pins with extreme authority. I drilled the second Tour Gold a slight bit weaker with a slightly higher pin and with no weight hole. Still angular this ball allows me to keep my feet further right than the orginal Tour Pearl that I punched up. The original seen in the video forced my feet further left than my IQ Tour Solid both on the fresh and during transition. One the fresh I was 3 and 1 further left and during transitions I can be as far as 8 and 4 further left than the original Tour Solid Just because its a pearl doesn't mean its not strong and trust me, if you wanna cover some boards this ball can do it. Fantastic benchmark ball and it also takes well to surface changes. More surface allows the ball to handle a more substantial amount of oil and smooths out the backend reaction if you feel it is too angular. Find one at a matchmaker even and you will see why everyone is saying "Throw the Gold Ball"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Over200 02/26/2013 18:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I do love my new Storm IQ Tour Pearl ball. I am just getting use to the somewhat more aggressive nature to it than my Storm Frantic ball that I also love. I am an odd duck. I use to bowl some years ago and then quit for many years. At 61 I just started back bowling two to three days a week and today I broke my high game record that I had when in my 20's.

I am expect a 300 soon and this next fall I hope to have over a 200 average, all thanks to my great new Storm bowling balls and my renewed love of the game of bowling.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Fsimersky@aol.com 02/23/2013 09:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    216
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
i am a two handed bowler this ball is amazing i got it drilled and bowled a game with it. it really matches up with my style. First game i threw eight strikes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: ajeaton7 02/07/2013 13:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is WILD!! When this ball sees friction, watch out. Drilled it at a 3-1/2"x5"x3" layout for max hookage... And I got it. She goes long and smooth, then bang! Left turn. It does take some getting used to... With this layout, it can be finicky. Overall, great ball. Ton of potential. Highly Recommended for advanced bowlers!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: holisterxxx@yahoo.com 01/31/2013 04:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    239
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Well, just picked up this ball yesturday morning, had it drilled just like my Marvel Pearl is drilled. Picked it up from the shop the next day. I threw a 300 on my 4th game practicing with this ball. To say the least this ball is a BEAST!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: charlieeee@gmail.com 01/28/2013 18:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Sport Shot Average    110
Ball Speed    Extreme
Style    Stroker
 
Love this ball. Decided to buy this as my first custom ball and I will never touch a house ball again. I usually avg 160 with house balls. The first 3 games I bowled with this were 203, 212, 224. Destroys the pins.
The gold color is a nice touch too. If you like putting the fear of god in children's eyes as this beast just obliterates pins than buy this ball. What are you waiting for?


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: wbscoff2000@yahoo.com 01/05/2013 14:47 ( stars)


 
I really like this ball, I bowled a 622 series the first time I bowled with it. I really like the kick at the end. Thanks for a wonderful ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: Tony Reynaud 12/11/2012 14:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    239
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1 5/8 up
 
Typical Conditions: Mostly House Shots so far
Type of Lane: All Synthetic
Weight of bowling ball: 15
Surface of bowling ball: Factory/Box
What grit was the surface of the ball? 1500
Likes: It is a great compliment to the IQ Tour
Dislikes: None so far


My layout: 65 x 4 1/4" x 2 inch pin buffer
My PAP: 4 3/4" over 1 5/8 up

I firmly believe the IQ Tour ranks up there as one of the best balls ever made. I drilled my IQ Tour Pearl the same exact way as my IQ Tour. Because of the difference in the coverstock, the IQ Tour Pearl gets through the fronts easier then the IQ Tour, it also tends to store more energy and therefore is sharper in the back for me. The IQ Tour Pearl adds a great option for me in my tournament bag. It won’t take long before people realize this ball is a weapon!

This ball really worked great on the transition on my 39-40 foot league pattern. I struggle to get a consistent 3 game reaction because the back ends get tamer as the night goes on. I started my league on 12/4/12 with my IQ Tour and shot 279. The second game the transition kicked in and I lost the angle to the pocket, which affected my carry, and I shot 214. I decided I was tired of fighting the transition, and switched to the IQ Tour Pearl in the 10th frame. The IQ Tour Pearl hooked in the back where the IQ tour didn’t and I shot 300 the last game. I know 300’s are cheap these days, but I didn’t shoot 300 in that house in over a year. I therefore credited the ball for making the difference. 5 days later my partner picked up his IQ Tour Pearl right before our doubles tournament. He came out of the box shooting 800 for the first 3 games.

During the tournament there were already a number of bowlers throwing the IQ Tour Pearl. I can tell you the ball looked great in everyone’s hands. I feel every serious bowler should consider the one two punch of the IQ Tour and the IQ Tour Pearl. You won’t be disappointed!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tony Reynaud


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: SWidmer 11/30/2012 11:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    207
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 7/8 over 3/8 up
 
Storm's Intent:
The IQ Tour Edition quickly became the new standard for benchmark balls in the industry. The C3™ Centripetal Control Core is engineered to yield ample midlane roll while smoothing out the transition. People have loved the unique combination of low RG and low differential as it allows even high rev players to better control the breakpoint.

We added a new highly polished, pearl R2S™ coverstock to this phenomenal core to create a combination that makes this a MUST HAVE ball in everyone’s arsenal. You’ll be able to see the difference as this ball reads the midlane without over-responding to the friction at the end of the oil pattern. Then the real magic happens; it reads the backends with unparalleled consistency through the pocket.

My review:
My layout is 50 degrees X 4 1/8 inches pin to PAP X 2 1/2" pin buffer
My PAP is 5 1/2 inches over and 1/2 inch up

I chose this layout because it's an exact match to an IQ Tour that I have and love the reaction I get from it but most of the time I can't use it because it kicks too hard off the dry. I was hoping to see a smoother a slightly later reaction. What I ended up with was exactly that and I'm very happy with the results.

So far I have thrown the IQ Tour Pearl on a 44' house shot in league and 38' Atlanta sport shot at the NEBA Tournament of Champions and the ball performed very well on both patterns.

The reaction shape is smooth, doesn't overreact when hitting dry, but continues through the pins very well. This reaction was very evident when bowling on the shorter 38' Atlanta pattern.

On Atlanta I started the day farther right but once I got settled in the last 3 games of qualifying I played 14 at the arrows and was getting the ball out to 6 at the break point. Looking around I thought the IQ Tour Pearl gave me a great chance to make a run in match play but unfortunately I ran into a buzz saw and was high loser in the round of 16.

On the 44' house shot I finished the night playing 20 at the arrows and getting the ball out to 8 at the break point. Typically on this house shot I can get into trouble with under/over as the night goes on. The IQ Tour Pearl got better as the night went on, striking more in each successive game and allowed me to create some room to the right at the break point without diving through the face.

Overall this is my new go-to pearl and benchmark ball. I will definitely be trying some other favorite layouts on this ball in the near future. Don't be afraid to try a stronger/earlier rolling layout on this ball, it may be exactly what you're missing in your bag.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by SWidmer


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: grstorm 11/27/2012 18:24 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 x 4 x 2

I drilled my !Q Tour pearl pin above my ring finger with the cg out with a very small hole about 1 ½ inches down from my midline. For a pearl cover it is super smooth and controllable like I have never seen before. The !Q Tour pearl is very predictable and you know when the ball is going to make a move and when you have to move when the lanes transition. The first time I used it at a tournament which was basically a house shot but modified a little bit with a little more oil outside the 10 board. I played up the boards and let the oil take it and once it hit the back ends it does not jump hard it makes a nice smooth roll to the pocket, hits hard and mixes the pin ups as if it was a big asymmetrical weight block ball. I bowled 2 squads and shot back to back 279s on game 1 of each squad and avg a little over 240.

Compared to the !Q Tour solid, which is drilled the same as the pearl, the pearl it gets down lane and can be used more on a burn pattern once the solid tour starts to hook too much or gives you up and down reaction. Depending on the pattern I am about 5 to 6 more boards left (being left handed) with the pearl than the solid which is good because I can play more of my comfort zone and once it dries up even more I can just move right and still be around the pocket and not giving it away too much and having to worry about corner pins. If you love the !Q Tour solid then I recommend you get the !Q Tour pearl! You won’t go wrong!

If you have any questions about the !Q Tour pearl email me at garrett.richardson@pinolebowlerssupply.com

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Pinole Bowler’s Supply
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.facebook.com/pinolebowlerssupply
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Storm IQ Tour Pearl Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 11/25/2012 13:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
The IQ Tour Pearl- the perfect combination of mid-lane control and backend hook.
We added a new highly polished, pearl R2S™ coverstock to this phenomenal core to create a combination that makes this a MUST HAVE ball in everyone’s arsenal.
The IQ Tour Pearl has great Color and shelve appeal. Very noticeable going down the lane.
I drilled the Pearl just like my IQ Tour Solid, 60 x 4.75 x 40. Thanks Steve Kloempken for the layout.
The IQ Pearl is just what I was needing when the regular IQ Tour started to labor a little down lane. This is where the Pearl shines, when the heads start to go, and you need a little more angle on the back end. But still very controllable ball motion due to the lower differential of .029. This ball is good for all type of bowlers. For me it is going to be a great tournament ball. Also very driller friendly and coverstock is very versatile. This ball will be a very big seller for Storm!
PAP 4 up 1 1/4



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Read all 47 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter