Go to Storm Lucid »

Only show reviews for Storm Lucid

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.98Write a Review    Read all 43 reviews

I Love It
 
98% (42 of 43)
I Like It
 
2% (1 of 43)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 43)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 43)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 43)

Storm Lucid Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/13/2012 10:41 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
Controlling your ball reaction and knowing how to strike on heavy oil has never been easier than it will be with the Storm Lucid!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5" x 4" x 2 1/2"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The introduction of the Lucid was an exciting one for me. Storm is using their new ERG coverstock on this ball, getting the cover closer to a pure reactive resin shell. This should allow a later break point with a stronger motion off that spot.

Compared to the last few releases in the Premier series with the NRG additive, this should be a welcomed ball motion for all bowlers on a variety of conditions. We decided to leave this matte pearl ball out of box. In my world if I was bowling league with this I would throw some polish on there to get a more angular move downlane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I really enjoyed the look of the Lucid from start to finish. The new ERG did exactly what Storm said it would do. It offered a smoother look getting down lane and a later break point then the previous release, the Vivid. Off the spot the Lucid was very strong and gave me quite a bit of miss to the right.

Like any reactive cover you still had to find the friction to really see it go off the break point but even when I would get inside of the pattern a little the Lucid still rolled great and recovered quite nicely.

As we expect from Storm the ball looks amazing and hits like a truck. I think the addition of the Lucid to the Premier series will be a perfect combination with all of the other winning balls from Storm so far this season.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 09/13/2012 12:56 ( stars)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5 x 5 x 2.75"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

I love Storm pearl bowling balls. They always seem to work great for me. I was expecting more length then my Vivid with a much stronger backend reaction. I expected a ball that I could switch to once the Vivid starts to hook too early.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

Wow, honestly this might be one of the most versatile bowling balls I've ever thrown. With the out of box finish, this ball had good length and provided a strong, even rolling reaction. This is exactly the type of reaction I want from the first ball out of my bag. I was able to play several different parts of the lane and the ball reacted well in each instance. I was able to swing the ball out and it would recover and if I kept it inside, it held through the oil. This is one of those bowling balls I like to call a "house shot killer".

The other reason this ball is so versatile is because, if you add polish to the coverstock, you've got a totally different ball! Add polish and you'll add length and the Lucid will have a strong, sharp backend reaction. I will most definitely have 2 Lucids in my bag, one matte finish and one polished. This ball is a 1-2 punch all by itself!!

With the layout I chose I saw a bit too much length for my liking. When I drill another one, I will be sure to use a stronger layout. This isn't due to anything other than me choosing too weak of a layout. I also think that changing the surface to 4000 matte like the Critical Theory would be amazing on this ball. All in all, the Edge is going to be another big hit for Roto Grip. Learn from my mistake and drill the ball with a layout that plays to the strengths of the ball. Drill it strong and watch it fly!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 09/19/2012 19:53 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Storm Lucid will be released OCT 2 and this is what we have been waiting for. The Lucid I drilled was a 4x4x2 and wow did I get a new ball for medium-heavy patterns. I also wet sanded with 4000 abralon pad to give it a smooth reaction in the backend. Storm has another ball of the year order your new ball for the rest of the season LUCID.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: mikejtx2002@yahoo.com 11/03/2012 13:46 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    181
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I just got the Lucid and i love it. I've seen a couple people throw it in travel league and loved how it reacted so i decided to give it a try and my first three games with it were 214,237,247=699 series and i have a 181 league average. I would strongly recommend this ball to anyone who loves high performance balls that are very controlable. I've thrown a few different balls, but this is the best by a long shot. Storm got it right with this one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: gmurphy10 10/06/2012 17:11 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
For the last couple of years I've been rolling the original Taboo. (I just can't afford to buy bowling balls that often.) Yesterday I received a message from the pro shop guy telling me about the Lucid. I was really skeptical I could handle it since I'm a down and in bowler. He assured me that the ball was really controllable and that I would love it. Boy was he right. I spent 3 games just watching it hook from anywhere on the lane. I was shocked that I could make a ball do that. My first serious game was a 277. (No lift in the 9th) This morning I went back and managed to get a lane with 42ft of fresh oil. Warmed up a game and then shot 238, 279, 257. 774. My second highest set ever. Opened with the front 6 in the first game. The front 8 in the second. And closed with the last 7 in the third.

The ball is simply phenomenal. One of the best I have ever had. Storm may have take a Hammer guy from Hammer with this one.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: JRB106 03/31/2014 22:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This review is for a 15lb Storm Lucid, pin above the ring finger (right handed bowler).

My first quality bowling ball was a Track Xception, which I had used for about 7 years before purchasing the Storm Lucid. With the Xception, I was used to a lot of skid with a hard snapping backend. The lucid delivers a little more in the midlane, but I find it to be slightly more forgiving than my Xception, as a result. The ball still snaps and, on a flush pocket shot, hits like a freight train.

Early on using the ball I was leaving a lot of 10 pins, and it seems to leave some bigger messes (i.e. 4, 6, 7, 10) on light or head heavy hits, but I this has calmed considerably and I attribute it mostly to my adjusting to the line of the ball. Since I've figured it out, I've bowled my 3 career high games... 243, 244, 248, in the span of the last 3 weeks, and the 243 was perfect going into the 8th when I left a weebler wobbler 10 pin and lost my focus!!

This is definitely a fantastic bowling ball, and like I said, on a flush shot the thing hits like a truck. I've found success playing both an extreme sweeping hook, as well as a straighter midlane shot, and the ball is forgiving for both.

The ball can get a little aggressive on drier lanes, and that's typically the only time I struggle with it. I'd recommend having a lighter oil ball in your arsenal, or some good polish to give the Lucid a little extra length. Otherwise, the Lucid is an exceptionally good bowling ball and is very versatile.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by JRB106


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: tommyboyjr23 03/04/2014 10:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    184
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
All I really can say is wow... I bought this ball a few weeks back at a discount store un-drilled for an unbelievable price. I have read up on the reviews and wanted to get a higher performance ball to see exactly what it would do. I am in no way disappointed. I wanted the ball to have a lot of hook on it. I am not a professional and don't understand pin position that well but the pin is to the right of my ring finger by about an inch and the there is a balance hole placed on the ball. LOL I know I'm horrible at explaining this but I'm not really up to speed on that stuff. This ball reacts great mid lane and then just explodes past the oil. Great carry thru the pins. When the lanes start to break down a little I have to switch it up a little but still strong reaction. Overall best bowling ball I have every owned and am extremely happy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tommyboyjr23


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: buddgoode 02/14/2014 22:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I am a cranker who likes to play the deep shot to stay away from most other bowlers on league night. I carry a 225 average and I have always bowled like this.

The Lucid, with its original factory finish just seemed to fall short for my style of bowling. Our center usually has more oily conditions (pattern lengths from 41-45 feet). I throw across about 15-18 board and let the ball reach between 5-8 board at its break-point. The ball has a hard time getting through the heavy oil mid-lane and by the time it reaches its break point it comes in about 1 board to the left of the 3 pin. I went back to my Virtual Gravity (as it has no trouble getting through heavy oil) while i toyed with the Lucid to find a finish that worked.

I bought a 500, 1000, 2000 grit abralon sanding disk and tried all 3 finishes (after stepping up to the finish from 180-360 grit). None of these abralon finishes gave me enough grip to get through the mid-lane. I finally took a shot and tried sanding it with traditional 600 grit sand paper (again stepping up with traditional paper from 180-360-500). My first series I bowled with this finish was 279,245,216 for a 740 series.

I now love my Storm Lucid. It holds through the mid-lane oil and has an explosive backend reaction and the pins just disappear when it hits them.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by buddgoode


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: buddgoode 02/04/2014 00:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This is a great ball. Factory finish of 4000 grit polished wasn't the best choice. I much prefer this ball with the coverstock finished with a 800 or 1000 grit Abralon solid finish. The pearl finish really seems to skid through the midlane and has a poor back-end reaction. Sanded this ball holds the midlane even if you pull or tug on the ball a bit and had an explosive finish, it carries single pins very well especially that dreaded 10 pin.

Great ball but recommend changing the coverstock to a med to light sanded finish


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by buddgoode


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: tony.jensen@comcast.net 01/03/2014 20:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    160
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I got the Lucid, and words cannot adequately describe just how versatile and predictable this ball is on the lane. The carry is absolutely unreal, and it just seems to tackle the pocket in a way that makes slow-mo replays a joy to behold. The pins just seem to disappear with a thud so thick that you feel it.

It also smells amazing.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: cummins64 11/06/2013 11:50 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 1/2 over - 1/4 up
 
If the Lucid is drilled out properly, it can be one of the most powerful balls you can get. If you regularly bowl on dry lanes, and throw a hook, this is not the ball for you. You will not be able to keep it on the lane unless you have a 19-20mph throw. But if you are using it on fresh oil (or moderate oil) then you will enjoy this ball. It will setup nicely through the oil and then break hard into the pocket and with aggressive power. People can hear this ball throughout the lanes. It really creates a lot of pin carry. The pins are there -- and then they are not. I have the Storm Sync, Lucid, Polar Ice, and the Super Natural -- and I am very satified and pleased with the Lucid and its power.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cummins64


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: mpatchus@comporium.net 09/25/2013 13:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    212
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
As delivered: 16.3 lb, 3oz top

Drilled 3½" x 5" x 3" with 1" dia, 3 3/4" x 1/4" up balance hole to bring into legal specs.

Normal house shot: medium to heavy oil

Positives:
Ball makes a very strong turn into the pins.
Hits very hard. Light hits spray the pins.

negatives:
Not as much margin for error as I was anticipating.

First two series were 675 & 693.

Highly recommend if you have medium to heavy oil conditions. No way this ball could be used on dry to medium lanes.

Style: Stroker
Ball Speed: Fast (17 mph)
Rev: Average
Average: 210


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Jrmac 09/16/2013 04:22 ( stars)


 
This is my first ball I have ever owned.I love it.It is very easy to use.Even for me new to the sport.I am in a league and within 2 weeks I have greatly improved my average.If you want a great ball this is one for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: jccfwc@netzero.com 07/01/2013 16:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    201
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    not set
 
I really like this ball. It's very predictable, even on medium dry lanes. I also throw a Wrecker and a Lights Out and on certain patterns I definitely get better results out of this ball. Storm did a great job with this one and it looks fantastic going down the lane.

I'm not going to try to give a long review of this ball but if you don't have one, and you love bowling, you are really missing out. I have a Columbia 300 Encounter, Ebonite Mission X and Warning Sign, Brunswick NEXXUS and NEXXXUS (Which I really love as the role is similar to the Lucid), a DV8 HHR, a Hammer Brick and the two balls previously mentioned. The Lucid stays in my bag almost always. It has the most consistent role of any ball I own (along with the NEXXXUS) which I've given to my son because I like the Lucid better. It's a better looking ball, LOL.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jccfwc@netzero.com


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: DJC 06/30/2013 09:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I was late to the party because I was not happy with the last few Storm releases. I have owned this ball for 2 months and all I can say is numbers do not lie. It is the best rolling ball I have ever owned. This ball gets through the heads very easy and makes a very predictable strong left turn. Now for the numbers. For the first time in my bowling life I was in "The Zone" 268,276,289,256. The 3 and 4 game sets are the best I have ever put together (833/1089).In 2 months I have thrown more 250+ games than I have over the last year. This ball works great on fresh oil and is versatile enough to move inside when the pattern gets burnt on the outside. A must have ball for anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DJC


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2013 16:54 ( stars)


 
A surprisingly controlled ball with no sharp turn at the breakpoint. I ended up also drilling it pin down and it had great cutting power on medium volume and medium to long-length shots. I'm also going to try the Storm demo layout on another Lucid, just to see what else it can do! A great ball, I was very surprised by its controllable nature

Matt Gender


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2013 16:53 ( stars)


 
I love my Storm Lucid. I have it drilled pin up with the pin over the finger in between my grips with the CG in the center of my span. With this drilling, the ball provides a well defined but controllable back-end reaction. This is one of my favorite balls from Storm because it gives me the same type of reaction no matter the condition.

Clinton Andrews


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Patgall30 05/17/2013 14:15 ( stars)


 
This ball packs a PUNCH. I couldn't believe how much it hooked. I played DEEPER than I've ever played and BURIED the hole. Seriously a ball you should have in your arsenal. I've used Storm products my whole bowling career and NOTHING has "WOWED" me like this. The ball moves with urgency & predictability and makes the pins echo. Great ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Patgall30


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: dewbowler2 03/31/2013 20:39 ( stars)


 
Storm Lucid Pearl
Layout:
pin down 55 degree with cg kicked right
PAP:
4-1/2” -> ½” ^
Conditions:
A. Center A- 38’ house pattern*, USBC Nationals patterns both (team and singles and doubles) also Abbey Road, Middle Road and Sunset Strip patterns from Kegel. Kegel Kustodian Lane Walker, AMF HPL lane surface and used the new Kegel Ice lane conditioner.
B. Center B- both 36’ and 39’ house patterns, newest generation Brunswick Anvil Lane surface (less than 1 year on install) Kegel ION machine, type of oil unknown.
C. Center C- 8 lane wood house with typical wood pattern, large volume in heads and middle, but showed a distinct out of bounds if sent right too early. Characteristics of liking to be play up the boards’ aroung 12-13 board or major move to 25 on approach and launching out to 13-15 area at arrows. Silver Bullet lane machine, oil unknown.
Surfaces preps:
1. Factory finish
2. 2000 Abralon
3. 2000 Abralon w/ Storm Step One Finishing Compound
4. 500 Abralon straight to 3000 Abralon
For reference I throw high track, 15.75 mph, 350+ rpms, using Turbo Lifts and a Switch Grip thumb insert and I am right handed. My span is 4-1/8” middle finger, 1/4” ring finger with laterals being ¼ left, 5/8” right with ¼” reverse on both fingers, Switch Grip thumb at 0 pitch in any direct on thumb. I use a 45 degree oval at a width of .090.
Results:
1. Factory finish;
I used this ball fresh off the press in the Qubica/AMF regional at Lincoln, NE. Sun Valley Lanes. This ball gave me a great look on the fresh Viper pattern, but as the lanes transitioned I had to put it away. Very strong pearl, I repeat, very strong! I was amazed at the recovery power and energy of this ball. If you enjoy covering boards this gem is what you need! Strong move on the backend, very angular is not a good enough term.
2. Adjusting to 2000 Abralon;
Taking this ball to 2000 tamed it some, making it read much earlier and creating a little more hold. I had the most success with this cover management on House ‘A’ and House ‘C’ lanes on their house shots.
3. 2000 Abralon w/ Storm Step One Finishing Compound;
This may have been my worse look on the Kegel patterns. My ball roll did not match this surface prep well on any of the house patterns. By increasing my side roll I did notice a much angular move, but my ball speed did not match up well and I created my own over/under at release. I believe a slower speed with fewer revs or more speed with a higher rev rate would have enjoyed this look and reaction.
4. 500 Abralon straight to 3000 Abralon;
This is a finish fellow staff member Rob Gotchall passed on to me, and I felt very excited from the first moment I used it! This low grit to high grit finish allows the ball to burn some early energy but still retain a big punch at the pocket. On the shorter, low volume patterns I found this ball was just a little too much. Add some volume though and this ball is super! I use it almost weekly now, whether first out of my bag or in transition from my Sync or Reign of Power, but you got to love a strong pearlized ball that does not over react! I have found it to play pretty sound on all of the Kegel patterns.
Overview;
If you want possibly the best pearl ball ever made, you have to consider the Lucid! Length, backend and continuation are exactly what you get. The coverstock is very user friendly, so don’t be afraid to tweak it to your needs!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dewbowler2


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: 1st300 03/30/2013 13:32 ( stars)


 
I love this ball. My average is 178 but not anymore with the lucid. Just shot my first 300 last night with this kick ass ball. when this ball hits the pocket the pins just explode and it just keeps on driving WOW. 700 series. You can just hear the diff from other balls when they throw strikes, not as load as my lucid and I'm not kidding. This ball is the bomb, if you don't get it you will be sorry...

Yes as you can see my username is 1st300.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Philliefan75 03/13/2013 01:30 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    177
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Wow! This ball is amazing! You can miss by a board or two and this ball will be right there in the sweet spot! I am still working on my release point, as I am getting back into bowling again, but there is no better ball to have. I have notice that if you put ball within a board or two of the correct arrow, you will have a money shot! The reaction on this ball is unbelievable! Take my word for it, this ball will not disappoint you!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Philliefan75


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: -Storm- 03/12/2013 21:09 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    177
Sport Shot Average    189
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is GREAT! It has a SUPER STRONG back end even in heavy oil. Since its pearl it pushes down the lane even on medium oil lanes. This ball is versitile.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by -Storm-


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: bbarthol@hotmail.com 01/28/2013 13:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    185
Ball Speed    Fast
 
I got the Lucid when it became available and I love it. I also own a Marvel Pearl and after some practice to figure out the line I decided to give it a try in my league. I have now thrown 12 league games with it and have exceeded 210 - 7 times and my league average is 183 !! I find the ball to be very controllable and love the way it drives through the pocket.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bbarthol@hotmail.com


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: ztcox12@gmail.com 01/12/2013 18:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
Rev rate: 480
speed: 17mph

Best ball ever made.. I shot a 766 with it today! i can always count on this ball to come back and destroy the pocket..


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ztcox12@gmail.com


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: 2 hands carry more 01/10/2013 20:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
oh gosh!!! i do not know how to describe this ball! i threw the NANO, the VIVID, the critical theory and a lot of really aggressive balls, from the lucid specs, it is supposed to be weaker than the NANO solid in core and cover, and it is supposed to have weaker cover than the vivid, but this ball is a monster! best carry, hooks more than the NANO or any other ball in the market, get it and get it fast. storm have never produced a better premier line ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 2 hands carry more


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: GreatTony24 01/02/2013 16:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    202
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
League average bowler of 202, and have not shot under a 650 set yet with the ball. Also, 7 days after getting this ball i shot an 811 set 266, 246, 299 with it making hat my highest set ever and game ever with the 299. Until that point i couldnt get past a 279 and just love this ball. All bowlers should have this ball in thier arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Grub Worm 12/30/2012 14:49 ( stars)


 
Love this ball. Storm has really hit the jackpot with this one. It hits hard and rolls through the head great

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: BorgCollective 12/06/2012 21:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    199
Sport Shot Average    159
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is perfect for when my vivid starts too hook too much. It goes
longer and hits hard. Its perfect for sport oil.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: caseyccg 11/30/2012 13:43 ( stars)


 
Storm Lucid Ball Review by Storm Staffer Casey Murphy
Storm Lucid Ball Review
by Storm Staffer Casey Murphy

Right Handed
Rev Rate: 375-400 Rpm
Ball Speed: 16 mph
PAP: 4 5/8 straight across

Location: Sunshine Lanes
Lane Pattern: Typical House Shot
Layout: 40, 6, 40

When I saw the design specs for the Lucid I was very excited. The MAD core on a cleaner cover than the VIVID promised a more versatile ball overall. I drill it like I do a lot of my upper end asymmetricals with a strong but smooth layout. What I got in return was a much cleaner reaction than I thought and a very smooth movement on the back.

I threw the Lucid on a medium volume house pattern. I got a great reaction off the fresh with lots of recovery and continuation through the pins. I played around and varied my speed after awhile of throwing strikes. When I was slower I could move in and still maintain carry. If I moved right and threw much harder I was able to get the length and defined mid lane I needed to play that line with that speed. Overall a great high performance ball with lots of options on when and where to use it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: cocoapuffing 11/29/2012 14:53 ( stars)


 
This ball is a game changer. Really nice late curve I love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/27/2012 18:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hello all and thanks for reading.
Storm Lucid. Fantastic ball in every bowlers arsenal. This is the follow up to the Vivid. New coverstock for this one makes all the difference in the world. This ball is drilled 70 x 5 x 50 for me and the motion is incredible. This ball gets through the front part of the lane easily and saves its energy for the midlane and for the pins. Even though the box surface is 4000 abralon it gets through the front part easily and also takes great to adding polish. I have used this ball on scorpion, Shark, and Viper patterns with much success as well as the local house shots. The Lucid has amazing hitting power and is incredibly versatile with the ability to cover more boards or less boards depending on where you like to play and what surface you are using. It is one of the first balls out of my bag during league and will without a doubt be a staple for ball reaction for Storm for quite some time.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 11/25/2012 13:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
The Lucid uses the new ERG™ coverstock utilizes similar technology from our NRG™ coverstock but without the Nano additive. Evolution Reactive Genesis, ERG for short, is closer to a pure reactive which creates a later break point, putting more emphasis on the backend.
I drilled my Lucid 65 x 5.25 x 65 with the thought in mind to use this ball for medium lane conditions and for league. This is a very strong pearl. With the new cover I've noticed the ball does retain more energy than some of the past Asymmetrical Storm pearls. So this ball and drilling allowed me to open up the lane, and create good angle to carry. I also noticed how the Lucid keeps the pins low and the 6 pin kicks out the 10 with ease.
If you liked the Vivid, then the Lucid would give you more length and kick at the back without sacrificing the mid-lane roll.
I have received a lot of good feedback from bowlers that have thrown this ball, from strokers, tweeners and crankers. Very versatile ball from Storm.
PAP 4 up 1 1/4



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Thrasice 11/13/2012 23:21 ( stars)


 
I'm normally about a 165 to 170 average bowler. I had the ball drilled somewhat aggressively at 4x4x3. I am a tweener that shoots a sweeping hook. The first time I bowled with this the ball, it was fairly aggressive; I didn't do very well, but it hit like a truck. I would miss the pocket by one or two pins, and it would still get eight and nine pins, amazing carry. I normally roll a frantic with a similar drilled pattern, and the frantic hits hard, but this Lucid has much better carry, as it stores more of the energy and keeps the pins lower than my frantic. Anyone that knows the frantic understands that it has hard flip on the back end. I added some speed on my ball and magically the Lucid started hitting the pocket, and it just destroyed the pins. This was only the second time I really bowled with it. I scored a 190, 223, and a 244. I also was able to play multiple parts of the lane, from medium oil to heavy it will roll through it and flip on the back end, especially with longer patterns like 42 and 44 ft. The lanes I was bowling on were fairly dry, and I was still able to mange to make it hit the pocket consistently. The biggest difference I found in the Lucid vs. the frantic are you have a bigger margin of error with the Lucid and still strike. The frantic will come back hard if you miss right, but many times you will leave a 7 or 10 pin because too much energy was used up coming back. The Lucid is definitely a great ball, it has great hitting power, is very forgiving when you miss left or right of your mark. It can be hard to manage if you can't control your ball speed, so if you are looking for a hard hitting ball that can handle multiple oil conditions Than take a look at this Lucid.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Xcessive_Hook 11/09/2012 15:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right by 1/2 up
 
Layout: 50* 4 3/4" 20*
Surface: OOB

Seeing how well my other Lucid performed on medium patterns (50* 5" 65*), it was a no brainer to acquire a second one for longer patterns. Once again, I was not disappointed.

Compared to my weaker Lucid, my feet and target were identical, but my breakpoint was five boards further right and really allowed me to get in and open up the lane Where my pin down lucid had a arc motion to the pocket, the pin up had a much more defined angular reaction.

Compared to the Critical theory with the same pin high layout, the CT was 3 boards stronger midlane, but the lucid made up for that in the back part of the lane. For those who love sanded high end pearls, look no further than the Lucid.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Xcessive_Hook


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: bootwo2000 10/27/2012 14:55 ( stars)


 
Lucid = Amazing. Nough said.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bootwo2000


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: heartxplant@me.com 10/11/2012 15:04 ( stars)


 
Storm Lucid is a great ball. One of my strongest and smells just like Fruit Loops! I'm a 220 ave. Power Tweener RH, I bowl 30 games a week, and from a 4 ball bag, I usually reach for this first...and stay with it. Rather than change balls, I keep moving left, then move my mark right

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by heartxplant@me.com


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Tony Reynaud 10/10/2012 18:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    239
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1 5/8 up
 
Lane Conditions: Many
Typical Conditions: Variety of Shots: House, Sport Shots
Type of Lane: All Synthetic
Weight of bowling ball: 15
Surface of bowling ball: Factory/Box
What grit was the surface of the ball? 4000
Likes: Strongest ball in my bag
Dislikes: None so far
My layout: 55 x 4 3/4" x 2”
My PAP: 4 3/4" over 1 5/8 up
The Lucid is the newest ball from Storm that I feel will make a great addition to anyone’s bag. As soon as I threw my first shot with the ball I knew it was a very aggressive ball. I threw a few shots that at 58 feet I thought I would leave a weak 10 pin, but somehow the ball finished flush and carried. This is not a normal reaction for me as I throw the ball pretty straight.
I think one of the things that sets Storm apart from other ball companies is you can actually build a great arsenal of balls that will you give many different looks. If you can learn how to use this versatility you should be able to be more competitive more often on different conditions.
Anybody that knows anything about me knows my benchmark ball is the IQ Tour and this will not change for a very long time. The IQ Tours works wonders for me on most conditions. I have however run into a few conditions where I needed something stronger and the Lucid was there to answer the call. I bowled a sweeper on the pattern Earl Anthony. I started with the IQ Tour but needed something stronger in games 4 and 5. The Lucid came to the rescue while I was struggling, which helped me finish strong and to take 2nd place.
The Lucid is shining naturally for me as I get more games on it. This natural shine is actually making the ball react even better for me. The Lucid hits the pins really hard and keeps them very low.
Bottom line if you are looking for a top of the line, best in class aggressive bowling ball that will fit into the number 1 slot in your bag, you won’t go wrong with the Lucid. My tournament bag right now consists of the Lucid, IQ Tour, Nano, Fringe, Victory Road
Solid, and a spare ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Tony Reynaud


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: grstorm 10/09/2012 01:02 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 1/4 x 3 1/4 x 1 1/2

The Lucid is probably the STRONGEST pearl ball I have ever thrown. This is a pearl version of the Vivid without the nano technology in the cover stock. I have the pin high above the fingers with the PSA (Preferred Spin Axis) a little over 2 ½ inches away from thumb with reacta shine polish over the factory 4000 finish. With this layout, which is a fairly weaker drilling and the balls strength out of the box it gives me the strength of the balls potential without losing the balls strength by using too strong of a layout. I get through the fronts clean, read the mid lane strong and watching the ball rev up towards the pocket is amazing.

You can see all 3 phases of what a ball does; skid, hook, roll and it is defined clear as day. I have never seen a ball rev up that fast and hit the pocket as hard as it does with any other Storm or Roto Grip ball. Everyone that saw me roll it for the first time said the same; just couldn’t believe how strong it is and how hard it hits. I compared this with my Storm Anarchy and Roto Grip Critical Theory which are both pearls and the Lucid was stronger by 5 boards with the Anarchy and 4 to 5 boards with the Critical Theory.

I used it in league for the first time on one of the kegel challenge series patterns and shot 289 with a 754 series for 3 and 966 for 4. This is going to be a big seller for sure!

If you have any questions about the Lucid email me at garrett.richardson@pinolebowlerssupply.com

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Pinole Bowler’s Supply
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.facebook.com/pinolebowlerssupply
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: davkarsports 10/05/2012 11:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
The Storm Lucid can be a very versatile ball. With the OOB matte finish, it starts earliers than the Anarchy and can work through heavy oil. With polish, the Lucid gets through the heads clean and stores energy well - but it more controlled (less angular) than the Anarchy in the backend, and in my opinion hits better. One of the things I really noticed was how the pins stay low to carry more of those corner pins.

I am looking forward to having this for my 1st or 2nd ball out of the bag for longer/higher volume patterns. Haven't tried this ball in league yet, but I expect it to be more controlled yet stronger than other high performance Storm balls.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Eye of The Storm 09/27/2012 02:13 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
I'm loving my new Lucid right now!!! It really lived up to the hype, threw a 200 plus game right out of the box. It destroys the pins, and I only left one 10 pin out of three games. Strong backend, easy to control and is forgiving if you're off with your shot. It's a must have in my opinion. Great ball Storm, keep up the good work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Eye of The Storm


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: SWidmer 09/25/2012 10:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    207
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 7/8 over 3/8 up
 
The Lucid uses the M.A.D. (Maximum Accelerating Disc) core, the same core used in the Vivid.

The new ERG™ coverstock utilizes similar technology from the NRG™ coverstock (used in the Virtual Gravity Nano and Virtual Gravity Nano Pearl) but without the Nano additive. Evolution Reactive Genesis, ERG for short, is closer to a pure reactive which creates a later break point, putting more emphasis on the backend.

Storm also states that bowler\'s will see up to a 10% increase in entry angle from the new cover.

When I first read about the Lucid I was immediately excited to see what the ball would do and if it would live up to the hype. As a medium rev player (~370 RPM) I can always use a ball or two in my bag that will help me create more entry angle from deeper on the lane.

After spending a couple of weeks rolling the Lucid I’m definitely of the opinion that it’s worth all the hype and then some.

Out of the box the cover is matte finish 4000 abralon which provides great midlane control while maintaining the down lane reaction and hitting power. Adding polish allows the ball to glide through beat up heads with increased entry angle without becoming “squirty”. The surface prior to polishing will be an important factor in matching the ball to your game or desired reaction.

I liked the strong roll of the Vivid but the smooth backend reaction made it difficult for me to throw it on anything but fresh backends. The Lucid retains the strong roll the Vivid had but with much more down lane reaction.

Watch the Lucid compared to the Vivid at the 2:30 mark of this video. The ball hits the lane 2 boards left of the Vivid and comes back to flush the pocket from 3-4 boards farther right at the breakpoint. Same layout on both balls, the ERG cover makes all the difference here.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_BpJ5JU8fk&feature=plcp

My Lucid layout is 60 degrees by 4 7/8 inches (pin to PAP) by 2 inches (pin buffer)

The Lucid is a ball that will clearly make a difference in your arsenal, it’s that good and that different.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by SWidmer


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: YeahTrip4 09/17/2012 18:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    240
Sport Shot Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 7/8 over, 1/4 up
 
PAP: 5 7/8 over ¼ up
Speed: 18 MPH
Average rev rate: 400
Current league average: 242
Layout: 50 x 5” x 70 extra hole on axis (25/32 bit, 2 ½” deep)
Intent:
My intent for this ball was to have something that would allow me to open up the lane on medium oil or breakdown conditions. I was looking for a something that had good length with a strong and angular backend reaction.
Result:
The reaction I got from it was a nice clean skid through the front, a strong mid-lane roll, and an aggressive angular movement in the back. This ball rolls through the pins HARD! Although it was definitely more mid-laney than I expected, the LUCID saves a lot of energy for the pins. I will definitely drill the next one with a longer pin to PAP.
What this ball pairs well with:
This ball will match up best with every type of style on medium to heavy oil conditions. Definitely the pearl asymmetric you want in your bag. This ball will obviously pair well with the VIVID, but also the IQ and MODERN MARVEL. When this ball becomes too strong, you might want to go to a FIRE ROAD or another pearl symmetric.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by YeahTrip4


Storm Lucid Reviewed By: Xcessive_Hook 09/17/2012 17:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right by 1/2 up
 
Layout: 50* 5" 65*
Surface: modified 4000 (adjusted from factory)

Continuous, continuous, continuous. I was overly excited to see that the cover was not the NRG, as I occasionally encountered issues with the Nano and Vivid. I was also excited to see it follow the Critical Theory and came sanded. On a heavy 42' house shot I could play relatively up the boards with an early, yet smooth and continuous arc while still retaining enough energy to face up in the pocket well. 20-10-5.

As I migrated left, the Lucid performed even better. The backend was stronger and more pronounced, but still didn't have that hockey stick motion like I get with the Critical theory. Perhaps the most predictable high end asymmetric I've thrown in a very long time.

Lastly, for those that find it important, Storm did a wonderful job with the color scheme. You can easily see the skid-hook-roll phase.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Xcessive_Hook


Read all 43 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter