Go to DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only »

Only show reviews for DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.93Write a Review    Read all 14 reviews

I Love It
 
93% (13 of 14)
I Like It
 
7% (1 of 14)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 14)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 14)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 14)

DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 07/19/2012 11:40 ( stars)

735 of 746 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

Trust us, the pins have never been more scared in their lives.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 3/4"
Dual Angle Layout - 50* x 4 3/4" x 40*
Balance Hole - on PAP

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was super excited to see a factory polish Hell Raiser. To me that meant that DV8 was going to offer a more aggressive look on the backend while maintaining a smooth motion off your hand. In the past the Hell raiser and Hell Raiser Revenge provided unmatched hook and versatility on medium to heavier oil patterns.

I kept the layout pretty simple with the pin in a safe area and a strong mass bias location. This layout should offer a good look through the heads with an explosive motion off the break point.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Seems like everyt ime we throw the newest thing we say it is a great ball and the bestwe have seen. As soon as I finished throwing this ball the first words out of my mouth were, this could be the best ball this year.

It combined everything we loved from DV8 so far. In my opinion it gave me the look of the Too Reckless off my hand with all the hook of the Hell Raiser and
Hell Raiser Revenge. Possibly the best overall ball motion I have seen in years.

Off my hand the Terror was smooth and consistent, never reading any friction early and always giving me the same look through the heads and mid lane. As
you can see from our video off the point the Terror was awesome. It had a solid, strong motion without over reacting and it seemed to carry everything.

I honestly think that DV8 has set the bar very high with the latest release to the Hell Raiser series. For most typical league shots this ball will allow
bowlers to play in the higher scoring parts of the lane compared to the previous releases while still providing a strong overall ball motion.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 07/19/2012 14:08 ( stars)

21 of 26 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 50 x 5 x 40"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
With the success of the Hell Raiser Revenge and it's super strong, early rolling reaction, I was expecting something with more length and killer backend. It's what we've all been asking for...

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
and DV8 didn't disappoint! This ball has GREAT length and an unbelievably strong backend reaction. This is exactly what I expected and was hoping for! Sometimes with strong pearls that have asymmetric cores you can get a ball that is difficult to read at times. Not the case at all with the HRT. This ball was very angular but still controllable at the same time. This is what makes me think that this ball is a real winner.

It's scary to say this after how great the HRR was, but I think DV8 has created their best ball to date. The HRT is really going to turn some heads and put up some high scores. You will want this in your bag!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: whats it to you 07/14/2012 22:32 ( stars)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


 
i have this ball drilled pin over my ring finger. this ball is absolutely amazing. the backend is absolutely sick. it should come with a turn signal! shot 300 my second game with it! first three games were 219, 300 , and a 279 for a very nice 798. had to play deep because of the massive backend. you will love this ball. i know i do

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by whats it to you


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: Rackwrecker 07/26/2012 19:02 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


 
I drilled my Terror identical to my Revenge and in my opinion the Terror gets down the lane an extra 3-5 feet and still has a very strong, angular motion on the back end. I like the backend motion even on extremely deep angles as the ball still has the continual motion through the pins. I think it complements the Revenge really well if you need more length and with strong backend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Rackwrecker


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: jeff kelley 07/14/2012 16:40 ( stars)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5.25 by 7/8 up
 
drilled ball pin up 45 degree,this ball hooks and hooks.Definitely a ball for some of the longer oil patterns

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff kelley


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: brandannovak 09/11/2012 23:58 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    216
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is my favorite ball of all time! The last ball I bought before this one was a Storm Frantic, which is still a fantastic ball, but I moved from 20 board to 35 board and kept the same target, which is the first arrow. The backend is ridiculously amazing, and it's no ordinary ball. Most backend balls simply break a little at the end, but this ball comes back all the way and is simply an amazing ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: TylerWhitson 05/04/2013 01:31 ( stars)


 
Started bowling eight months ago when my high school started a team, fell in love with the sport. Started throwing a hook instead of straight balling it about a month ago and after adjusting over the course of several games my average shot up to about 155. After adjusting to this ball my average has gone up another 15 and continues to rise every game. Really love how much I can open up the lane with this ball, I can always count on hitting pins because unless you set it in the gutter you can't get it far enough right for it to drop in. Talk about a hook.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: andydevito 04/04/2013 02:02 ( stars)


 
Love this ball. Doesn't have the freakishly strong back end that was advertised by dv8 and mike machuga, but that has turned out to be a good thing. Don't get me wrong this ball definitely hooks! It just has turned out to be a much more playable ball than I was expecting. With a high rev rate I was expecting to only be able to use this on the real slick patterns but it has become my benchmark ball, even on medium oil and if I play deep enough it is even great on medium-dry oil. Also the length is great. Really gets down the lane for me and has a real nice finish into the pocket and tends to knock down all ten.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: flexinjames@hotmail.com 02/06/2013 12:53 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    219
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
This is my first DV8 ball. It's an incredibile ball. I'm not all that keen on ball technology, so I won't get too technical. I'm a cranker that throws a medium speed. I often have trouble getting a ball to get through the heads clean and still have enough backend to kick out the 10 pin. This ball just sails through the heads and saves all it's energy for the backend, but yet is not jumpy. I haven't left any soft tens with hit, just a few ringers. I have it drilled pin down so it doesn't hook too late. I love it. I will certainly invest in more DV8 equipment in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: laserboypa 10/08/2012 12:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
BALL SPECS

Pin Length: 3.5"
Ball Weight: 16 lbs

DRILL PATTERN

Dual Angle: 60 x 4.5" x 40
X Hole (if there is one): P3

BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker
Ball Speed: 16.50 mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track

SURFACE PREP

Grit: Box
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished

LANE CONDITION

Length: Multiple
Volume: Multiple
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS and Sport

BALL REACTION

Length: 7 / 10
Back End: 8 / 10
Overall Hook: 7 / 10
Midlane Read: 6 / 10
Breakpoint Shape: 8 / 10 (Angular)

COMMENTS

Likes: The stronger reaction through the pins with a predictable motion

Dislikes: None

The Hell Raiser Terror is another great addition to the DV8 line. I really like the stronger backend reaction this ball has than the original Hell Raiser. The Terror has more continuation through the pins and gets down the lane farther before picking up than the Revenge. Its like a combination of the 2 balls with a cleaner motion through the front part of the lane. I have had success using the Terror on house shots and on kegel patterns. This ball can handle heavier oil conditions as well as medium oil conditions. I really like the strong arc type of roll without over reaction that this ball provides. If you are looking for a stronger pearlized ball that will allow you to open up the lane, then drill a Terror and you won't be disappointed. #TonightWeBowl


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: 4drewsdad 08/28/2012 13:08 ( stars)


 
I admit I was anticipating basically the BEST ball ever known to man. Thought it would have CRAZY snap like a David Beckham goal. What I got.....a nice smooth controllable motion. Don't get me wrong, I still really like this ball. It carries FANTASTIC!!! I was expecting a path like the Storm Frantic that has LOADS of backend motion. So, while its not exactly what I was looking for. It will still be in my bag, probably my main league ball. As for tournoments...I will shop for something else ;)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by 4drewsdad


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: Edwright 08/14/2012 09:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
Sport Shot Average    184
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Got my new Terror last night. Shot 185 146 290. 3rd game moved 10 boards left with my feet and 2 boards with my ball. This ball opened up a whole new line for me. This was my 1st sanctioned 11 in a row.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Edwright


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: dallasbarrett 08/03/2012 02:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I wanted a ball that wouldn't read the lane too earlier and would give me the backend that I have been looking for the longer oil patterns. It rips through the pins with an aggressive backend like I have never seen before. I love the ball and glad I chose it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Hell Raiser Terror 16 Only Reviewed By: Dave1952 08/02/2012 17:30 ( stars)


 
I bowl 2 leagues a week.
Average 219
Bowl speed 15-16
Tweener

I just got this ball Monday and had it drilled for my Tuesday night league. Out of the box 235-236-253. Missed 2 ten pins my fault of course. This ball roars to the pocket and the pins are destroyed. I haven't said that I loved a ball in along time but that changes with this one.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dave1952


Read all 14 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter