Go to Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) »

Only show reviews for Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S)

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.95Write a Review    Read all 22 reviews

I Love It
 
95% (21 of 22)
I Like It
 
5% (1 of 22)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 22)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 22)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 22)

Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 07/19/2012 11:51 ( stars)

41 of 42 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 
The Brunswick Nexxxus f(P+S) offers the strongest backend reaction ever seen in a Brunswick ball!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4 3/4"
Dual Angle Layout - 45* x 4 3/4" x 35*
Balance Hole - on PAP

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff Finish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
With the introduction of Brunswick's new Projection and Snap additive we were expecting to see a very strong ball motion downlane with a smooth consistent look through the heads.

The layout we used is fairly simple with the pin in a strong position and the mass bias located in a strong position as well. I expected to see a ball motion that may be a little different for Brunswick offering more movement downlane as opposed to a stronger mid lane move.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This was my favorite Nexus series ball so far. I think the ball motion combined with a great looking ball really bring this release together for Brunswick and I think once you throw it you will agree.

The addition of the Snap additive finally gave me the look I really wanted from this series. I felt as if this ball finally opened up the door for Brunswick getting a strong skid/snap ball motion into their higher performance ball line.

Off my hand the Nexxxus rolled super smooth and really gave me the ability to clear the heads with ease. I saw this ball pick up a little sooner then I expected downlane but the overall motion it offered was welcomed. We tested a couple of other Brunswick and DV8 balls at the same time and this was definitely in my top two for the night.

With the new look from the Nexxxus, I think you find a great compliment ball to any of the previous Nexus balls.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 07/19/2012 14:06 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    6 3/16 x 1/2 down
 
Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 5"
Dual Angle Layout - 50 x 5 x 40"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was looking for a ball with good length and a very strong backend. Brunswick said that this is the strongest backend reaction they've ever created. This is what I was hoping to see to pair with the Nexxus.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Brunswick didn't lie, this ball is VERY strong on the backend! For me, the ball wasn't very angular though which I really like. It reminded me of a hybrid coverstock, which is my favorite. If you stay behind the ball it is very smooth and if you get around the side of it, it will fly on the backend. This will make the Nexxxus extremely versatile and great on tough conditions.

In my mind, this is the best Nexus series ball to this point. I can see Rash and Loschetter really doing some damage on tour with this bad boy this year!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: mckbowler 08/22/2012 08:40 ( stars)

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.


 
Brunswick Bowling Ball Review

My Information

A. Name: Richard D. VanScoyk
B. Average: 227 (House Shot)
C. Honor Scores: 15 – 300’s, 9 – 800’s
D. Ball Speed: 17.5 – 18.0 mph
E. Revolution Rate: 325 rpm

General Ball Information

F. Name of Bowling Ball: Nexxxus F(P+S)
G. Weight of Bowling Ball: 15 lbs
H. Layout of bowling Ball: pin up
I. How many games do I have on this ball? About 40
J. Favorite Surface on this bowling ball: out of box
K. Description of ball motion: smooth and lengthy with skid and a nice flip action down lane
L. Overall Hook (1 none – 10 lots): 8.5
M. Versatility (1worst - 10best): 8
N. Overall Rate (1worst - 10best): 8.5
O. Why do I recommend buying this bowling ball? This ball seems to be, with 40 games on it, the best ball I have currently. I like the skid-flip action, which means to me that the ball saves all of its power for the pins and I receive lots of strikes.

Special Information

P. How does this ball compare to another ball? I feel that the ball is a 3-2 move left on a house shot compared to the Nexxus F(P+R).
Q. What are the strengths of this bowling ball? Skid-flip action, does not hook early
R. What are the weaknesses of this bowling ball? Too strong for drier lanes, I leave many corner pins during transition because of my entry angle.
S. Oil Patterns used on: House Shot
T. How does this ball react on house patterns? Long skid motion, then strong hook on backend
U. How does this ball react during transition? I lose carry during transition and I must make correct moves to knock down all ten pins.
V. When do I find myself using this ball? Always, this is my new favorite ball. Also, I use it on medium to heavy oiled house shots.
W. Additional Comments: This ball is great for me, and I believe it will be great for you as well. I have one 300 with this ball already. Nice job Brunswick, this ball is great.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mckbowler


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: playersnoopy 07/14/2012 15:26 ( stars)

18 of 21 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    191
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Ok I just started bowling again in a league 4 weeks ago after about 15 years. I just got this ball Thursday, drilled and bowled in my league on Friday. My league average is only 164, still breaking in the ball but first use yesterday was great, bowled above my average, this ball has some ridiculous pin action. I only throw 13-15 mph, slight hook with this ball as I'm still learning to throw properly and not go over the ball like back in the day, and even when I miss big time I manage to get 8 or 9 all due to the pin action.

When I do manage to get some good revs into the ball down the lane it does have some amazing hook and angle of attack. One of my buddies watching noted he thought I missed wide and the ball recovered way down the lane and just went straight for the pocket.

This is my first high end professional ball, just wanted to see how much the ball would help my game... definitely not dissappointed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by playersnoopy


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: brunswick802 07/27/2012 22:30 ( stars)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205-210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8" right
 
Brunswick Nexxxus f(P+S) aka Triple X
Bowler Stats:
Right handed
PAP: 4 ¾” right
Speed: 18-18.5 mph
Rev Rate: 450 rpm
Axis rotation: 20-45 degrees
Axis Tilt: 15 degrees

Layout:
40* by 5” by 45*


Purpose:
This ball is supposed to have the sharpest breakpoint of anything on the market while still covering a lot of boards. I drilled this ball with a favorite layout that I use for all of my asymmetric equipment so that I could really see what this ball can do and how it stands up to the Nexxus f(P+R) and other equipment in my bag. I wanted this ball to be the go-to ball for playing inside on medium to heavy conditions.

Observations:
OH MY GOD….. This ball is unreal. I wish I could rate this ball a 7 out of 5... The Nexxxus f(P+S) gives me more recovery than any ball I have ever thrown, hands down. On a fresh house shot, this ball should be illegal. It literally would have taken more skill to not hit the pocket. I could stand left, throw right and it watch it wheel back from everywhere. If I missed right, it checked up hard and made its way back to the pocket with a vengeance. If I tugged it inside, the polished cover would scoot through the hold and snap out 10s hard. There are several amazing things I found with this ball. First, although it was on a house shot, this ball gave me more miss room than anything I think I’ve ever owned. Secondly, this ball finishes incredibly strong through the pins. Even when I was playing really far in and/or tugged in inside a bit, the Nexxxus would still go hard through the rack and would still finish behind the 8 pin for me. A ball that lets you really get this far inside, while still maintaining incredible carry to snap out 10s and finish hard through the pins, is really a gem to find. Thirdly, when I really got in and slow hooked the lane, the ball still went through the pins like I was throwing it 18-18.5mph. This much retention of carry percentage is rare to find in my opinion. On Scorpion, the Nexxxus allowed me to stand further left, and throw further right than anything else (even my fresh Maxxxed-outs and the Double X Nexxus couldn’t loop the ball that much). On fresh Scorpion, I could play 4th arrow out to a break point of 6-7 with the Triple X, where as with the Double X, I could make a small parallel move inside to keep the ball in the heart of the pattern. As the Scorpion pattern broke down, the Triple X started looking even better. I could also really hit up the back of the ball and play up 5-6 with relative ease. I finished the night playing 5th arrow out to 9-10 at the breakpoint and was still leaving 9 pins from the insane entry angle being created. On medium length and medium volume patterns, you will see the Triple X hook about the same total amount as the Double X while definitely having more backend. When you get to heavier volumes of oil, this is when you are going to see more of the difference between the Triple X and Double X. On heavy oil, I have the Double X being generally a 3 board move inside with my feet and a board inside with my eyes in comparison to the new Triple X. Regardless, you will see the Double X being smoother overall than the Triple X. This isn’t to say that the Double X is smooth, because it isn’t, I’m just talking about it comparison to the Triple X. Although the ball excels with a decent amount of head oil, I found it very easy to change hand positions and float the ball through the fronts when needed. However, with the amount of recovery this ball has, it’s better adjustment to just jump inside because you can trust that this ball is coming back.

Final thoughts:
In my honest opinion, the Nexxxus f(P+S) is the ultimate league bowling ball. No other ball on the market is going to let you move in and take this much advantage of the pattern. Similarly, I see this being a great ball for me when medium to heavy sport conditions breakdown and have some defined friction to throw at, especially when I can start moving inside. This ball is going to be in my bag for a long time. It gives me a look I’ve never had before and gives me the confidence that when I throw this ball to the right, nothing can stop it from making its way back to the pocket! I honestly think this ball will win the “Ball of the year” title from various magazines and websites, although the new Maxxed-out give it a run for its money also! If you still think Brunswick doesn’t have a ball with any backend, I suggest you get with the times and give the Nexxxus a go. It’s truly a magnificent addition to my bag, and I believe it will be to yours as well.

Thanks for reading. Good luck and good bowling!

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brunswick802


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: Upstateproshop-Chris 07/27/2012 21:53 ( stars)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8x 3/4 up
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 4.250
Starting Top Weight: 3.0 oz
Ball Weight: 15 lbs 4 oz
DRILL PATTERN
Ball: 78 x 4 7/8 x 35
X Hole (if there is one): No Hole
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 375 rpms
Ball Speed:17.5 mph
PAP/Track: 4 3/4 over 3/4 up
SURFACE PREP
Grit: Box
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Tried multiple surfaces currently at straight 4000 siaair pad
LANE CONDITION
Lengths of patterns: 41, 42, and 44
Volumes: higher side of moderate to lower
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): house along with The 2012 US Open and the Shark.
BALL REACTION
Length: Fairly long, reads late in the midlane
Back End: Strongest most angular from Brunswick on patterns with any kind of length
Overall Hook: Strong, stand left throw right
Midlane Read: Late
Breakpoint Shape: Angular
COMMENTS
Likes: Ability to open the lane and overall versatility from a ball of this type
Dislikes: Needs a little more oil than your standard big backend ball
Brunswick was looking for a gamechanger with the release of the new Nexxxus and they have it!!!! Typically pearl polished type of bowling balls provide bowlers with lots of length and recovery down lane but only do so on transitions and or drier lane conditions. This ball redefines what that kind of pearl ball is capable as it gives a strong backend motion on fresher lane conditions. The Nexxxus fits in between the the Nexus Solid and the Nexus Pearl respectively. It is 2 and 1 straighter than the solid and 4 and 2 stronger than the pearl on the 41 foot house condition I tested it on. The ball was just flat out impressive on our sports league when it came time for Shark and the US Open patterns. I was able to shoot 600+ on both patterns and as long as I continued to chase the breakpoint in and down the lane the ball kept coming back and taking em down. Pearl balls with a smoother, shinier surface also typically are not very versatile for most bowlers. They usually are just reserved for that stand left throw right occasion. This ball has a versatility to it that I have never had or witnessed in a longer stronger pearl ball. If I change rotations it is like having two completely different bowling balls. With less axis rotation it will roll and set into the pocket, but if I change and go around the ball at the release it will boomerang as much as I want it to. It also will take many different spots in the bag with surface changes. At 1500 Siaair it will hook early on a pattern with more volume and with shine it will play on a shorter thinner pattern after breakdown. The Nexus technology has completely redefined what a long and strong ball will do. It is like having 3 balls in one. If you can vary your surfaces with this ball your options are endless. Long and strong has been redefined as long, strong, and extremely versatile. The new king of the pearls has arrived: the Nexxxus!!!! If you haven't had a good look at Brunswick lately do your bowling scores a favor and check out the performance and versatility of the new technology.
Chris Garrett
Upstate Pro Shop
Greenville, SC 864-248-4737
Upstateproshop@charter.net
PBA Member
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Regional Staff
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Upstateproshop-Chris


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: tedTobraloni 09/13/2012 14:11 ( stars)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Outstanding bowling ball, I really could not be more pleased with the overall performance of the ball. I waited until I had at least 100 games because I used to love my Columbia Encounter but that only lasted 60 games before dying.

My Nexxxus rolls very strong through the front part and makes a great recovery on the backend. If I miss right it does not over hook like two of my other balls. This ball has added 12 pins to my score. Great ball.

The service at bowlingball.com is really top notch. Also, free shipping and prompt service. Ordered mine on Tuesday am and it was at my office on Thursday.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: pouliceIIOO 09/12/2012 08:12 ( stars)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball was much more than I had hoped for. Drilled it with the most aggressive layout and that is what I got - aggression. The ball looks great going down the lane, was most impressed with the carry. Left a lot fewer ten pins than normal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by pouliceIIOO


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: bwlrdude 06/17/2013 09:55 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    140
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I'm really happy with this ball. I personally think that this is the best ball that brunswick has made so far. I've been bowling for 3 years and I have this ball and a brunswick slingshot. It's very smooth rolling and it hooks really hard at the end and gets a lot of pin carry. I'm a left handed power tweener and this ball works with my style very nicely. I'm not saying it doesn't work for righties too though. I've only had this ball for about a month and already my average has gone up from 125 to 139. My pin carry is'nt usually the highest since my bowling balls are 12 pounds each and I only throw it at about 13 miles per hour. But with this ball, I'm getting a much higher pin carry.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bwlrdude


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: thomasC 09/11/2012 08:10 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball is exactly what I have been looking for. Strong roll, without that over under reaction, nice smooth finish with exceptional carry.

First night out shot a 688, I average 185.

Fast free shipping and great service from bowlingball.com.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: baer300 08/30/2012 20:25 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 


The Triple X Nexxxus is the newest addition to the Nexus line. Each addition to this line introduces improved length and backend motion. This release pushes the envelope even further. The cover is pearl and finished at with a Rough Buff finish.

I drilled 2 of these. First one is drilled with my favorite layout 70x5x40 no hole. This layout helps promote the length with a pretty angular backend. This can be used on house shots and broken down sport patterns after the lanes have developed a hook spot. When compared to the Nexus F(P) Pearl the Nexxxus is easily 5 and 2 stronger.

The second one is drilled 65x5x80 no hole. This layout will get the ball to react to the friction a little slower. This means the ball will be smoother when getting to the back end. I will use this on all types of patterns when they are fresh and a little tighter down lane. I can also continue to use this ball as the lanes break down and I start to move in. With a little more axis rotation the ball feeds right and responds quicker to the friction.

This ball is every bit as strong as the Nexxus F(P+R) just responds quicker to the friction. What amazes me about this ball is the ability to start a block with this ball and finish the block with this ball.

If your looking for a Pearl cover that has a ton of hook this will be the ball for you. Just put your favorite layout on this and strike away.





Adam Baer
Brunswick Regional Staff
Vise Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by baer300


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: jeff kelley 07/14/2012 16:50 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5.25 by 7/8 up
 
I drilled this ball pin down at 60 degrees,this ball is going to be a very nice addition to my arsenal.It gets threw the front of the lane very easily and delivers a strong entry angle into the pocket

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff kelley


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: christo_rice@yahoo.com 12/01/2012 13:59 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    219
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
I purchased the triple x thinking it would be my most aggressive ball in my arsenal or maybe just being a nice compliment to my IQ and Frantic. I was in a way dissapointed in seeing how it is now that strong, which is in part my drilling. If you are a collegiate bowler; i strongly reccomend this ball. On house shots th ball does not come back strong for me, with the large amounts and units of oil. While on the other hand, i find it very versatile in all of my college tournaments. I bowl for Lindenwood University and i have used it on shots from 46 feet to 36 feet and done well on them all. It has room for recovery if you miss out, even on sport shots. Along with that, if you pull it in, the ball will slide and still have the continuation to kick out the ten pin.

Overall i would rate this ball a 5, at first i was not sure but it is growing on me and has become one of my most favorite balls i have every purchased. I strongly reccomend this ball to anyone who is more advanced in bowling, rather then someone that is new. This ball is great none the less. Go get one you will not regret it!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by christo_rice@yahoo.com


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: DaBoss300 11/25/2012 13:28 ( stars)


 
I drilled two NeXXXus balls:
#1 - Pin Up - 4 x 65
#2 - Pin Up - 5 1/8 x 75

This might be the most usable ball in the Nexus line. This ball clears the front part of the lane better than the Nexus and NeXXus balls. However as all the other Nexus balls the NeXXXus provides a great mid-lane roll. On the backend of the of the lane the NeXXXus provides the most angle of all the NeXXXus balls. Comparing the two NeXXXus balls that I drilled I get a very similar reaction, but the ball with the longer pin provides the most skid through the front part of the lane with the most angular reaction on the backend.

I drilled the first NeXXXus like my Nexus(p). While the NeXXXus is better used for heavier oiled lanes and provides a stronger backend reaction which allows it to be used more on lanes with carry down.

Strengths – Usability of this ball. The NeXXXus has been the most useable ball of the NeXXXus line. The rough bough finish gives the ball the ability to clear the front part of the lane which conserves enough energy for the ball to make a very strong and angular reaction down lane. The new core design allows the ball to pick up nicely in the midlane, which is what makes the ball have a controllable angular reaction.

Weakness - Occassionly this ball was a little to strong overall. This is where the other great balls come into play.


Jason Jones
Pin Action Pro Shop
Bloomington, IL
Brunswick Staff

The opinions expressed are soley those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by DaBoss300


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: laserboypa 10/08/2012 12:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
BALL SPECS

Pin Length: 4" & 3"
Ball Weight: 16 lbs

DRILL PATTERN

Dual Angle Layout # 1: 70 x 5 1/2" x 40
Dual Angle Layout # 2: 60 x 5 x 75
X Hole (if there is one): None

BOWLER STYLE

Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker
Ball Speed: 16.50 mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track

SURFACE PREP

Grit: Box
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished

LANE CONDITION

Length: multiple
Volume: multiple
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): multiple

BALL REACTION

Length: 8 /10
Back End: 9 /10
Overall Hook: 8 / 10
Midlane Read: 7 / 10
Breakpoint Shape: 9 /10 (Angular)

COMMENTS

Likes: Strong Pearl ball that is very angular

Dislikes: Non

Ball # 1, Pin up: This ball is very strong off the spot and is at at least 3 boards stronger than the Nexxus F(P+R) downlane. I can use this ball when I need a stronger downlane reaction with defined friction.

Ball # 2, Pin down: This ball is a little smoother reacting than my pin up ball, and I use when the other one is hooking too much down lane. I can use this ball to play deeper lines while still having the strong backend reaction.

This is my open up the lane, come back from anywhere, and shred the rack ball! Even though is has the arrowhead core which is a little weaker than the rotor core, this ball is more continuous down lane than the Nexxus F(P+R). It can handle medium and heavier oil conditions. With my higher rev rate, I can still control this ball and keep it from over reacting. The Nexxxus f(P+S) is clean through the front part of the lane and doesn't hook early. If you are looking for a strong backend reacting pearlized ball, this one won't disappoint.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: geering 10/02/2012 20:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 7/8" x 3/4" up
 
My Axis 4 7/8" x 3/4" up
Dual Angle Layout - 45* x 5" x 70*
No balance hole.

Surface Prep (4000)
What I Was Looking For In This Ball:
I have been very excited about this release from Brunswick. I have been missing ball in my bag that i could get left and open up the lane with the confidence to know that the ball was going to supply the length that I needed as well as the ability to get around the corner and respond to the friction at the end of the pattern.

The layout that I chose is one of my favorites that allows the ball to be clean through the front of the lane and still have the ability to really cover some boards downlane while still being controllable.


The Nexxxus for me is clean through the front part of the lane with a hard arc that gets back around the corner when thrown from any angle through the front. This ball for me is about 5-7ft longer than the original solid Nexus but is about the same total hook. I find this ball to be about 3-4 earlier than my Maxxed out and about 4-2 stronger as well.

The Nexxxus provides a new shape on the lane that Brunswick has been missing as of late. The Nexxxus gives me the confidence I need when I need to get in and take advantage of the friction downlane. I know I am not losing pins to the field with this ball in my hand as the lanes begin to open up and the scoring pace increases.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by geering


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: playersnoopy 09/30/2012 13:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    191
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Ok... I posted a review of this ball almost 3 months ago and thought I'd just follow up.

So like I said this is my first season in a league since 1996 x.X I started the league with an older ball from back then and my average was in the 160s. I switched to the NeXXXus and after the full season my average is now 175 (would be higher if my early games wasn't factored in). Past 8 weeks straight my average has gone up. Actually started bowling couple 600 series. A lot more consistent in my higher scores.

I see about 2 people in my league that has this ball now and can't believe the recovery it has when you mess up.

Needless to say... I'm a believer in this ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by playersnoopy


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: Doug Morton 09/21/2012 11:43 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5-1/8 RT 1/2 UP
 
DRILL PATTERN
Pin to PAP: 4-1/2
Drill Angle: 60
Val Angle: 30
X Hole (if there is one): P2
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 400
Ball Speed: 18
PAP/Track: 5-1/8 RT, 1/2 UP
SURFACE PREP
Grit: Box
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Matte (Rough Buff)
LANE CONDITION
Length: 41'
Volume: Medium-Heavy
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): USBC White Pattern
COMMENTS
For the Nexxxus (P+S), I decided to go with my favorite layout for an asymmetrical ball. I have used this layout on each Rotor-cored Nexus ball with success, but had not tried it on the Arrowhead core. I've enjoyed both solids to the point where they are always in my bag and I sometimes have trouble deciding which one to throw. So needless to say, I am always excited about another Nexus release.

To be honest, I was not a huge fan of the original Nexus Pearl. To put it simply, we just didn't match up...it happens. So while I was excited for the Nexxxus (P+S) I was skeptical of another Nexus utilizing the Arrowhead core and pearl cover. Luckily, this ball matches up much better for me and gives me that strong angular motion I expected from the original Nexus Pearl.
On the 41' USBC White Pattern, I have the Nexxxus (P+S) hook potential just slightly weaker than the original Nexus Solid, but obviously, the pearl additive and Arrowhead core allow the ball to get a little further downlane before making that strong angular move I've come to expect with the Nexus series. That angularity is slightly more pronounced than than what I saw with the Nexus(p+f) and Nexxus(p+r).

I carry this ball along side a C-System Maxxed Out and fine them to be a good combination when deciding how to play a pattern. Sometimes you need the strong continuous motion of a symmetrical ball, and sometimes you need a ball that really gets kicked down lane. In the latter case, the Nexxxus(p+s) fits the bill. While I've only had the opportunity to throw this ball on league conditions, I am looking forward to throwing it on other patterns that really take advantage of it's quick response time.
Doug Morton
Brunswick Regional Staff Member
Xclusive Pro Shop - Anchorage, AK
The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Doug Morton


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: GreatWhite 08/24/2012 13:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 over, 5/8 up
 
The Nexxxus gets down the lane and reacts harder off of the friction than any Brunswick ball I've thrown. The xxx hits the pocket and digs hard as it pushes through the pins. This is a great ball on house shots with a decent amount of oil, as well as heavier sport patterns. This ball is already my favorite to pull out of my bag to start the day. I just have to be smart enough to put it away when it becomes too much ball!

Barry McKee
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are alley those of the writer and not.the Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GreatWhite


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: GreatWhite 08/24/2012 10:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 over, 5/8 up
 
The Nexxxus gets down the lane and reacts harder off of the friction than any Brunswick ball I've thrown. The xxx hits the pocket and digs hard as it pushes through the pins. This is a great ball on house shots with a decent amount of oil, as well as heavier sport patterns. This ball is already my favorite to pull out of my bag to start the day. I just have to be smart enough to put it away when it becomes too much ball!

Barry McKee
Brunswick Advisory Staff
The opinions expressed are alley those of the writer and not.the Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by GreatWhite


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: ExtremeBaller 08/18/2012 01:48 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    238
Sport Shot Average    218
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I won't be verbose...strongest ball currently on the market. First game with this ball was 246. Purchase it immediately.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Brunswick Nexxxus f(P S) Reviewed By: kingofsqueeze 08/07/2012 12:41 ( stars)


 
Nexxxus f(P+F)

I went with a negative pin placement on my first XXX, and it is one of the heaviest rolling balls I have ever thrown. I used a 2 - 3 in pin, pin about 3/4\\\" outside of middle finger and MB at 30 degrees. This ball has worked really well on both the cheetah and viper patterns. It is great on the THS with heavy oil.

My second XXX was drilled with pin below fingers and MB at 45 degrees with weight hole. Ball rolls more than my Nexxus solid. Great on Shark and Scorpion patterns. But, I need to polish it for the THS because it hooks way too much.

I am a stroker/cranker with 375+ revs

David Tullos
Spring, Tx.
Regional Staff Member


“The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation”.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 22 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter