Go to Roto Grip Defiant Edge »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Defiant Edge

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.75Write a Review    Read all 32 reviews

I Love It
 
75% (24 of 32)
I Like It
 
25% (8 of 32)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 32)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 32)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 32)

Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 06/22/2012 07:46 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

Get a clear cut lead on your competition with the Roto Grip Defiant Edge bowling ball!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 6"
PSA Layout - 6" x 4 1/8" x 3"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Defiant Edge is Roto Grips answer to a pearlized Defiant. The ball motion was going to be pretty straight forward in that we expected to see really good length with a strong angular movement down lane. I used a further pin to PAP to create a little more skid and kept the mass in a strong position to create a angular move off the point.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Everyone will really like this ball. It has been a while since we have seen a pearlized High Performance ball from Roto Grip. The last really good one I can remember was the Mutant Cell Pearl and this reminds me of that but better.

It takes all the aspects of the Defiant and allowed me to move further right and get more skid snap, opening up the backends and getting through the pins really strong. Even on the fresh oil the Defiant Edge offered a really strong look and great pin carry.

Roto Grip has a great line-up coming this season led, in my opinion by the Defiant Edge.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Dustin S 06/18/2012 15:15 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/2 x 1/2 down
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(6 3/16" over 1/2" down) - 7 1/8"
PSA Layout - 7 1/8 x 4 3/8 x 3"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (1500 Grit Polished)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:

I absolutely loved the Defiant. I was expecting the Defiant Edge to be the perfect compliment for when the Defiant starts to read too early. I was hoping to see a strong backend reaction with the amazing carry the Paragon core is known for.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:

I saw exactly what I expected to see. When a company like Roto Grip gets into a groove, it's easy to predict what a ball will do because everything they make is great. They know what works and their design team is the best in the business. This will be a great compliment to the Defiant.

With the layout I chose I saw a bit too much length for my liking. When I drill another one, I will be sure to use a stronger layout. This isn't due to anything other than me choosing too weak of a layout. I also think that changing the surface to 4000 matte like the Critical Theory would be amazing on this ball. All in all, the Edge is going to be another big hit for Roto Grip. Learn from my mistake and drill the ball with a layout that plays to the strengths of the ball. Drill it strong and watch it fly!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 07/28/2012 07:58 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Defiant Edge #1 serial#12REGE30J051 layout: 50x4x35
Ball was drilled to be used on house patterns that use HPL and SPL and be a benchmark ball to replace my Infinite Theory. Tested on 2 house patterns with HPL and SPL surfaces, and also on Autobahn and Winding Road on the HPL surface.
Found that on the house pattern, I had to look about 2-3 inches further down the lane, but was still able to play the same lines to the pocket. Did also notice on the sport patterns, I needed to look much further down lane so it would not over react. The overall performance was stronger than the Infinite I have with the same layout and sharper angle into the pocket then any hybrid pearl and reactive pearl I ever had.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: TEK95 01/14/2013 12:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Sport Shot Average    170
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I love this ball. The Defiant Edge is perfect for medium and heavy oil conditions. I needed a ball that was good in those conditions. I have an Ebonite THE ONE and an Ebonite Mission X, and don;t get me wrong I like those balls too. But they just weren't getting the job done on some oil conditions when I went to big tournaments. Now that I have this ball it has helped me tremendously and I will buy more Roto Grip products in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/27/2012 18:21 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Defiant Edge, there was no doubt I was going to like this ball. I drilled three Defiants and still use them to this day and this is the best Defiant edge that I have drilled out of 2. This one is drilled 60 x 4 x 40 which keeps the pin up and helps push the ball downlane while still maintaining a good midlane roll. With the pearlized cover there was no question that the reaction would be angular and that is the truth. This ball can be used box surface or I would recommend no more than a 4000 abralon surface. Even a little scuffed the ball easily gets through the heads and travels to the midlane where it wants to roll heavy and turn the corner hard. The video is actually difficult to see but compared to a regular Defiant, the Defiant edge gets down the lane about 2 feet further and then turns the corner hard. From the vantage point I had you could tell with no problem but either way you see it, the pins had no chance with the hitting power that this core and ball create. Great piece RG. The King Stays on top once again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: TreeMarie55 11/17/2012 00:54 ( stars)


 
I love the Defiant Edge. I use it for almost every sport shot I have competed on since getting the ball. I really like how smoothly the ball goes down the lane and hooks into the pocket. It is my go to ball for just about anything and I feel completely comfortable and confident when I use it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: yngwie55 11/17/2012 00:45 ( stars)


 
Good action on the back end. Works well on longer patterns. Rolls well off my hand. Pretty good ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: Logieebear 11/16/2012 23:56 ( stars)


 
Great ball, great work

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: ElizabethK 11/16/2012 19:02 ( stars)


 
This bowling ball seems to work on just aboiut any oil pattern that you can put down.
I love this ball. I have thrown it on sport conditions with low volume oil and sport conditions with quite high volumes of oil.
It seems to work on both extremes the great backend it has does tend to get snappy when the oil begins to break down.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: cmalloy88 11/16/2012 18:11 ( stars)


 
Good ball for late in the day on a sport shot! Nice smooth reaction in the pocket and drives through the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: krh38 11/15/2012 13:08 ( stars)


 
Havent had it to long but I like the ball so far. It has worked well out on the lanes for college bowling and league. I have been able to use it on fresh but playing an inside line. Looks good on short and medium patterns.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: Bit4Bit 11/14/2012 12:28 ( stars)


 
The Defiant Edge is a great ball for dryer oil patterns like house shots or a shot like the Cheetah. It is very tame and predictable making it a good ball for dryer sport shots as well. However if your on any oil at all don't expect it to come back. The ball should be used on 41 foot or shorter shots with medium or light oil. It also is much better for people with a ball speed around 16 or 17 versus 18 and up in my opinion.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: kelsey.walker 11/14/2012 10:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Medium
 
This ball is very smooth and comes off my hand nicely. Really enjoy throwing this ball. :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: mikelj 11/11/2012 05:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The Defiant Edge with its peralized coverstock is a nice companion ball to the Defiant. I like this ball for the 39-foot house pattern I play on in league. I find with the pearl cover this ball goes 2-3 feet long through the heads then make a stronger more dramatic angle to the pocket. Having this extra continuous hooking power and motion on the back end allows me to play 4-5 boards deeper and open up the area. The Defiant Edge still had a nice predictable motion down the lane. In league play I am averaging 216 with this ball. The 1500 polished finish gives me the skid flip motion that I like on a house shot..
To achieve this reaction, I had my ball drilled with the pin below the fingers with the mass bias in the strong position. I added a weight hole as well.
As the night goes on and the Defiant begins to become more aggressive, I can move in and go deeper or switch to the Shooting Star.
For a speed dominate low rev player, this is a nice one to have in your arsenal and another great ball from Roto Grip and.

Mike Johnston
Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: mikelj 11/11/2012 04:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
The Defiant Edge with its peralized coverstock is a nice companion ball to the Defiant. I like this ball for the 39-foot house pattern I play on in league. I find with the pearl cover this ball goes 2-3 feet long through the heads then make a stronger more dramatic angle to the pocket. Having this extra continuous hooking power and motion on the back end allows me to play 4-5 boards deeper and open up the area. The Defiant Edge still had a nice predictable motion down the lane. In league play I am averaging 216 with this ball. The 1500 polished finish gives me the skid flip motion that I like on a house shot..
To achieve this reaction, I had my ball drilled with the pin below the fingers with the mass bias in the strong position. I added a weight hole as well.
As the night goes on and the Defiant begins to become more aggressive, I can move in and go deeper or switch to the Shooting Star.
For a speed dominate low rev player, this is a nice one to have in your arsenal and another great ball from Roto Grip and.

Mike Johnston
Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: L.Hoffman 11/09/2012 15:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Ball layout is 3 inch pin below ring finger & CG out 1 inch W/X hole.As a Senior LH Stroker, I found the Edge a very smooth rolling ball with the same Paragon Core as the Defiant Solid.The solid has a earlier stronger break point.But, with the Edge and the same layout, I can play 15 to the 6-8 area on a house shot and the pearl surface is a smooth roll to the pocket...The hitting power for such a smooth roll is fantastic...After a 300-790 with my Shatter in Oct. The following week I could'nt carry the corner's etc. W/ the Shatter & finally in the 8th frame of 2nd game I went to the Defient Edge & finished with 17 Strikes & another 300..I've been told that Older Lefties are known to be a little slow in making ball changes..Larry Hoffman, RG Staff

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by L.Hoffman


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: L.Hoffman 11/09/2012 15:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Ball layout is 3 inch pin below ring finger & CG out 1 inch W/X hole. As a
Senior LH Stroker, I found the Edge a very smooth rolling ball with the same
Paragon Core as the Defiant Solid.The solid has a earlier stronger break
point.But, with the Edge and the same layout, I can play 15 to the 6-8 area on a
house shot and the pearl surface is a smooth roll to the pocket...The hitting
power for such a smooth roll is fantastic...After a 300-790 with my Shatter in
Oct. The following week I could'nt carry the corner's etc. W/ the Shatter &
finally in the 8th frame of 2nd game I went to the Defient Edge & finished with
17 Strikes & another 300..I've been told that Older Lefties are known to be a
little slow in making ball changes..Larry Hoffman, RG Staff.






Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by L.Hoffman


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: RotoGripSkitt159 10/07/2012 00:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    3 1/2
 
Defiant Edge for me allows me to really get inside on the pattern and open it up had no problem getting threw the heads and just pure backend off the spot doesent matter how much oil carry down there is this ball will get threw it no problem trust me. letting all you bowlers know now dont wait go out and drill one you wont be dissapointed

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RotoGripSkitt159


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: ODriscoll 09/14/2012 19:41 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    211
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Left Side Report:

Defiant Edge

I found the Defiant Edge to be a similar comparison to the old Pearl Cell. The same one that Wes Malott owned the tour back in 2009,

This ball is just stronger and more predictable. I look for the opportunity to use this one when I’m trying to expose a pattern. It just seems to magnify your look. Most will recommend this for more oil but from the left side I really like in on medium to shorter patterns.

Kelly O’Driscoll
Roto Grip Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ODriscoll


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 09/13/2012 23:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
Defiant Edge 55 x 5.25 x 60
The Defiant Edge is the Pearl Version of the original Defiant. The Edge does what it was intended to do, cleaner through the fronts and more reaction on the backend.
So when you start to see the Defiant start to labor or flat 10 down lane, don’t hesitant going to the Defiant Edge. I’ve bowled with the Edge in our Kegel Summer league and I was very impressed as I was able to use the Edge on most of the patterns, which is pretty good for an asymmetrical ball. I normally can’t use a strong Asymmetrical ball as they don’t make up with my roll and axis tilt. The Edge gave me what I was missing , a strong rolling pearl with control. A very good 1-2 punch from Roto Grip.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 09/13/2012 23:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
Defiant Edge 55 x 5.25 x 60
The Defiant Edge is the Pearl Version of the original Defiant. The Edge does what it was intended to do, cleaner through the fronts and more reaction on the backend.
So when you start to see the Defiant start to labor or flat 10 down lane, don’t hesitant going to the Defiant Edge. I’ve bowled with the Edge in our Kegel Summer league and I was very impressed as I was able to use the Edge on most of the patterns, which is pretty good for an asymmetrical ball. I normally can’t use a strong Asymmetrical ball as they don’t make up with my roll and axis tilt. The Edge gave me what I was missing , a strong rolling pearl with control. A very good 1-2 punch from Roto Grip.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 09/13/2012 23:55 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
Defiant Edge 55 x 5.25 x 60
The Defiant Edge is the Pearl Version of the original Defiant. The Edge does what it was intended to do, cleaner through the fronts and more reaction on the backend.
So when you start to see the Defiant start to labor or flat 10 down lane, don’t hesitant going to the Defiant Edge. I’ve bowled with the Edge in our Kegel Summer league and I was very impressed as I was able to use the Edge on most of the patterns, which is pretty good for an asymmetrical ball. I normally can’t use a strong Asymmetrical ball as they don’t make up with my roll and axis tilt. The Edge gave me what I was missing , a strong rolling pearl with control. A very good 1-2 punch from Roto Grip.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: John Brodersen 08/31/2012 13:56 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 0 oz, 3.31top weight, and 2 3/4-inch pin.

Using the dual angle method, the Defiant Edge was drilled with a 5 inch pin distance, 60 degree drill angle and a 30 degree VAL angle. Using Storm’s drilling methodology the layout is 5 X 4 3/4 X 2 3/8 pin buffer. An X-hole was not needed. The surface was left OOB which is 1500 polished.

The HP4 line Defiant Edge has the new Paragon core but with a little higher RG. It also has a polished pearl cover stock with a color scheme that resembles the pearl Cell. These changes are what make the Defiant Edge different from the original Defiant solid. I threw the Defiant Edge on a broken down 41 foot, 24 micro-liter house shot and had to start my targeting in around 22 to find some oil. When compared with a similarly drilled Defiant solid, the Defiant Edge was cleaner through the fronts and mid-lane (more skid and length) and had a stronger but very readable move off the friction on the backend. (The Defiant solid was reading too early and hitting flat.) The Defiant Edge also had great continuation through the pins. Hit and carry was very, very good considering where I was playing on the lane.

The Defiant Edge will be a great go to ball when your Defiant solid or other aggressive solid (Theory, Cell) is burning up and hitting flat.

John Brodersen
RG amateur staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: YANKEEMAN 08/14/2012 14:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    219
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" right 1/8" up
 
I drilled my Defiant Edge 4" pin to PAP,4"PSA to PAP and 1" pin buffer to VAL, it has a balance hole 5" from the centerline. THe ball and drill are exactly as predicted, easy through the heads, strong midlane and strong backend. Very clean, very consistant,strong but smooth. Allows me to inch deeper into the oil, avoid splits and keep on striking. A great looking ball,lets you see how its rolling with its colorful shell. Also easier to maintain than the original Defiant, more of a polished pearl ball than a particle ball, I just keep it polished and its ready to go. My newest benchmark ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by YANKEEMAN


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: jeff_mersch 08/09/2012 14:47 ( stars)


 
Layout is pin above ring 4 7/8” from PAP with a balance hole.
I am a left handed tweener with a 325 rev rate.
This ball is the next great high performance ball from Roto Grip. This ball is designed to complement the original Defiant. The pearl cover stock gives the ball a clean roll through the front part of the lane. This ball is very continuous on the backend. It really does not stop. It goes through the pins with ease. I have used this ball on everything from house patterns to various length sport patterns.

I have tried this ball at multiple surfaces, and it has shown me that it is very versatile. This ball shines up well to get through the heads and save energy for maximum backend reaction. Even at 1000 grit, it still cleared the heads and continued on the backend.

If you love the original defiant, than this ball will be the perfect complement so that you can conquer any lane conditions thrown at you.

Jeff Mersch
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
PBA Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff_mersch


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: tbguenther 08/03/2012 03:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
After falling in love with the Defiant, I realized it was just to aggressive for our local house. Solution: the Defiant Edge.

During leagues, I bowl between 160-195 (depending on the night).
Drilled to match my Defiant; Game 1 with my Edge I shot a 263, Game 2 was a 220, and Game 3 was a 253.

Perfectly clean though the heads, as you'd expect from a pearl, and all the back-end power and reaction of the original Defiant.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tbguenther


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: grstorm 07/29/2012 17:56 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 x 4 ½ x 2

The Defiant Edge is drilled pin above fingers and Preferred Spin Axis (mass bias) about 1 inch away from the thumb. The Defiant Edge has a similar roll to the original Defiant meaning real controllable and a lot of different kind of style of bowlers can use it. When you are using the Defiant for 1 or 2 games and you start seeing the Defiant not finishing you can go to the Defiant Edge and gets through the heads much cleaner and has a strong back end motion. It doesn’t have that sharp back end angle that you see in a lot of other pearl cover stocks, it is a little smoother which gives me more control during transition. I went to Las Vegas for a megabucks tournament and the pattern was a 36 foot pattern with a big volume of oil in the heads and the Defiant Edge gave me the best look when usually strong balls tend to be too much down lane when this ball kept me in play and was not flying off the back ends like other balls in its category usually does. I was able play in my comfort zone from the start and just ball down from there. If you have a Defiant you will like the Defiant Edge.

If you have any questions about the Defiant Edge email me at garrett.richardson@pinolebowlerssupply.com

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
Pinole Bowler’s Supply
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com




Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 07/28/2012 08:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Defiant Edge #2 serail#12REGE30C045 layout: 50x5x60
Ball was drilled to be used as a backup to the Edge#1 as if that ball would be too strong in the back end, I could simply switch to this one, without changing my starting point and break point on the lanes.
I loved this ball on fresh house patterns with HPL and SPL surfaces, rolled better and did not have to adjust my eyes on the lane too much. Also loved it on Winding Road, moved left of center, around 13-14, and looked down the lane to about 45ft and play left of the track area on HPL… This ball went bananas with the carry when I did this. The more length down the lane I got, the better it would carry. After using both Edges, I think this will be the benchmark ball for me, then if I needed stronger, I would use the 50x4x35 EDGE and if I need weaker I would step down to my Critical Theory or my new Defiant.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: CodyF 07/25/2012 22:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Sport Shot Average    209
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This is such a great ball. The backend is simply amazing and hits like no other ball I've ever had. Can't wait to get the Berserk so I can have a 1-2 punch.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by CodyF


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: wccs23 07/14/2012 15:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    170
Sport Shot Average    140
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2
 
I was looking for a ball that didn't start hooking mid lane and have a good backend and got more than i expected.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wccs23


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: DrF 12/08/2012 04:02 ( stars)


 
I drilled mine with the pin 5 inches from the PAP, 2 1/4 inches from the VAL (vertical axis line) and the MB 4 ½ inches from the PAP. Compared to my other balls this ball goes long, with a really sharp arc if there is such a thing. When I’m looking more backend motion from the start of when my Defiant becomes too much ball, I go Storm all the way. Great ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Edge Reviewed By: Ahold9 12/07/2012 17:23 ( stars)


 
Length:this ball is some kind of special I would have to give it the smart ball label....i filed it pin down basically because I was having some trouble on the fresh and the wet dry ...initially I left it at its original cover had no problem clearing the fronts the back end traction was strong yet controllable.as the lanes break down I could move left and maintain that hard arch down lane (normally I would have to just switch balls sure to the ball rolling out) I also used this ball on a paris patern a week later had to break the surface down to 2000 but got great results.......if you are looking for a bowling ball for tournament play this is a great One its strong
Versatile with alot of hitting power......this may very will be the ball that raises eye brows and make people take a serious look ...


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 32 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter