Go to Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple »

Only show reviews for Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.89Write a Review    Read all 18 reviews

I Love It
 
89% (16 of 18)
I Like It
 
11% (2 of 18)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 18)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 18)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 18)

Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: dugbark 06/24/2012 14:19 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 over 1/4 up
 
Bowler Stats-Ball Speed 15.5 MPH Rev Rate-App 280 Axis of Rotation-30 to 60 degrees Axis Tilt 9 degrees Right Handed PAP-5 over, 1/4" up
The Motiv Ascent Pearl is designed for light oil patterns. The ball is exactly as advertised for me. It pushes through the heads with ease unless all the oil (and I mean all) is gone and even when it finds friction, does not rush to slow down and change direction. When the ball finds friction it makes a continuous move to the pocket that appears to become stronger as it makes it's move. For me it has a late roll like the Recon Pearl but a move to the pocket that is not angular but strong. It does not cover as many boards as any ball in the Motiv line except for the Recon Pearl, but the move is strong enough to produce the needed angle to the pocket to strike even in the dryest conditions. I am able up the boards, or swing it out to the dry when the shot has burned out. This ball gives me a piece of equipment I have confidence in when the heads and mids are burnt. Because of my lower ball speed and rotation, the Recon Pearl was often too weak for me to strike when it was the needed ball. The Ascent Pearl gives me a piece of equipment to get down the lane and strike, enabling me to compete with the high speed/higher rev rate players. I think it will be a great match up for me in long format tournaments or when bowling with the younger (and very talented) players. I used the ball on the broken down house shot in a singles tournament and was able to play 5th arrow (not something I do often) to finish second in a strong event. I can not use the Ascent Pearl before it's time or I have lots of weak hit. The ball carried surprisingly well from that deep and I had area the others I was bowling with did not have in the tournament.
If you use this ball as designed, that is on light oil patterns, or patterns broken down by league or tournament play, it will be a very effective ball. To throw it on a fresh THS will require moving everything right to find the friction early, which many bowlers are not very comfortable with. The Ascent Pearl gives Motiv a piece that I like much better for burnt lanes, and I think we senior strokers and tweeners will all feel that way. The Ascent Pearl is not as strong as the QZ1/QZ2 series but does cover more boards then then the Recon Pearl.
I'm very colorblind but the Neomark Graphic makes the ball very pleasing to the eye and give it good shelf appeal, though I have heard a number of comments about the pink in the ball :-).
Dug Barker
Motiv Staffer
BTM Youth Writer
Ken Bowl Lanes Youth Director
Positive Coaching Alliance Double Goal Coach
BWAA Member
SWBA Member
NCBCA Member
USBC Silver
2003 GLBA Youth Coach of the Year


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dugbark


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: Myost 08/07/2012 19:01 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8
 
Ascent Pearl
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 4
Starting Top Weight: 3.0
Ball Weight: 15.2
DRILL PATTERN
Layout: 85x4x40
BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 320
Ball Speed: 17mph
PAP/Track: 4 7/8 & 1 1/4 up
Rotation: 40 - 60
Tilt: 10
SURFACE PREP
Grit: 2000
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished
LANE CONDITION
Length: 41'
Volume: Medium
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS
BALL REACTION (1 to 10 Scale) 10 highest/most
Length: 9
Back End: 8
Overall Hook: 7
Midlane Read: 5
Breakpoint Shape: 8
COMMENTS
Likes: Fantastic looking piece from MOTIV that just turns heads! The Ascent Pearl with its combination of pink/purple looks truly one of a kind. MOTIV with its release of the new Ascent Pearl & Solid have their first bowling balls in the entry level reactive resin bowling ball field. The Ascent Pearl is definitely for medium to dry lane conditions. Bowlers with 350+ rev range will find this ball to be pretty versatile on many conditions with the ease of how this gets down the lane and plenty of backend pop when it hits friction to play the inside lines. Bowlers who fall in the average to below average rev range will find this ball more useful on medium to dry lane conditions. This is a great piece to play the friction line when your higher end equipment is hooking too much. In particular on THS when the outside area (especially the heads) start to wear down from all the traffic and you find yourself moving in but not creating enough angle to get the 10 pin out then this is your answer as well. You can stay right as the Ascent Pearl will get through the heads with ease and have plenty of hitting power off the backend friction allowing you to keep a better entry angle while your opponents are losing theirs with every move.
Dislikes: None
Mike Yost
MOTIV Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Myost


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: wleto 07/23/2012 00:43 ( stars)


 
INNER CORE: Recon™
COVERSTOCK: MOTIVator-Z™ Solid Reactive
FINISH: 2000 Polished
15# SPECS: RG: 2.59, DIFF: .025
Elevate your game with the new Ascent line! The Pink / Purple Pearl Ascent features the MOTIVator-Z cover from the QZ2 and the proven Recon core. The gorgeous pearl cover provides the ball with length and an angular backend.
The Ascent Pearl is a joy to throw when the fresh breaks down. It allows me to not have to get deep and loop a stronger ball. As a heavy-roller, I tend to have trouble getting the ball through the heads when the lanes breakdown. The Ascent Pearl does a FANTASTIC job through the early part of the lane and really provides a surprising amount of power through the pins. I can stay just inside the friction and get a very controlled and forceful motion off the spot.
**I recently used my Ascent Pearl during a 10 game sweeper. I pulled it out in games 4-10 and averaged 230 playing 15 to 8 while others had to loop the whole lane and fight carry. Just love this ball.**
I highly recommend this ball to any player. When your first choice starts hooking too much, make a smooth transition to the Ascent Pearl and Elevate your Game!!!
William Leto
Motiv Staff Member
www.motivbowling.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wleto


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: zman 07/11/2012 09:15 ( stars)


 
Ascent Pearl-----
Far from Entry Level the Ascent Pearl gives me that look I need late in a set or that short pattern on wood look without the over/under reaction most reactive equipment provides. Its like having a urethane advantage without everyone complaining because your tearing up the lanes with Urethane. In my mind this ball is entry level only in process as you don’t sacrifice striking power or reaction based on that price point. This ball could easily sell for much more and performs like it costs more…Don’t be fooled by the pretty colors because this ball is anything but girly!
Smooth off the friction with the ability to get through the heads is what means the most to me. My ball speed is on the medium side so I really need something to get through the heads. I don’t have the luxury of piping it at 20+ mph so I have to rely on my equipment to do what its intended to do. The ability to get down the lane and retain the energy needed to strike consistently is a true bonus as you usually don’t get that from a ball at this price point. Needless to say I was presently surprised at what this ball brings considering I expected it to be a ball I didn’t get to use much! Yes I was surprised ---OH! and the Chicks Dig it too!
Rick Zakrajsek
Motiv Staff Ohio
GET MOTIVATED!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by zman


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: MotivMike 07/04/2012 22:47 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 3/4, and 3/8 up
 
The Ball: Motiv Ascent Pearl
Surface = 2000 Polished

The Ascent Pearl is a long and strong entry level bowling ball. This ball will give you lots of length with a quick change of direction. The Ascent Pearl is a pleasure to use on broken down patterns and lighter house shots. It glides down the lane ignoring dry patches and bouncing off the friction down lane with an angular breakpoint. The purple and pink pearl is easy on the eyes and gets noticed quick from other bowlers. I was able to use this ball going straight up the lane or I can go in deep and bring it back on the lighter patterns. It does need friction to get it started but the Ascent Pearl is several boards stronger than the RX1 Silver Pearl on the same lane conditions. This balls strength is also one of its weaknesses, with the easy length it can wiggle on carry down, but if that’s an issue in your home center I would also recommend purchasing the Ascent Solid. I’ve also found the Pearl shines on sport patterns later in tournament blocks during the dreaded BURN.

In closing: This Gem makes a fantastic light oil ball as well as an entry level ball for someone looking to hook the ball for the first time.

Michael Mambourg
Motiv Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MotivMike


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: revmaster01 07/03/2012 14:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    231
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 3/4 over x 5/8 up
 
Elevate your game with the new Ascent line! The Pink / Purple Pearl Ascent features the MOTIVator-Z cover from the QZ2 and the proven Recon core. The gorgeous pearl cover provides the ball with length and an angular backend.
INNER CORE: Recon™
COVERSTOCK: MOTIVator-Z™ Reactive
FINISH: 2000 Polished
15# SPECS: RG: 2.59, DIFF: .025
The all new Ascent Pearl wraps a VERY clean MOTIVator-Z Pearlized cover around the proven Recon Core! This ball provides incredible length with a very predictable motion downlane.
For me this ball is an option late in blocks on shorter patterns when surface is just not an option. The best quality of this ball for me is it's ability to get through the fronts without being overly sensative to the friction down lane,which keeps it an option on shorter patterns late because it's not going to over soo all of that friction down lane.
I can also use this if I'm bowling a longer format tournament on a high friction surface. It's a ball down from my QZ2's and allows me to stay in the same area without having to keep chasing it left and giving away the pocket.
In league conditions this ball is a little to weak for me with my ball speed but I have drilled this ball for bowlers with much slower ball speeds and they LOVE it on the THS. It allows them to stay around 2nd arrow and stay in the pocket all night.
I would recommend this ball to bowlers with slower ball or bowlers bowling on a very high frictioned surface. Also for tournament players who bowl longer format tournaments on a variety of conditions and surface. You can never have to many options and this ball certainly fills a void in my bag!
Michael Cousins
Motiv Staff
Vise Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by revmaster01


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: Onefrombills 07/01/2012 23:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
PAP    5 right 1/2 up
 
Ball Specs:
Motiv Ascent Pearl (Reactive OOB 2000 Wet Sand / Power Gel Polish with a Symmetrical Core)
Bowler Specs:
Right Hand. PAP 5 Over 1/2 Up Speed 15 mph
Review:
Elevate your game with the new Ascent line! The Pink / Purple Pearl Ascent features the MOTIVator-Z cover from the QZ2 and the proven Recon core. The gorgeous pearl cover provides the ball with length and an angular backend. I find that on a 2nd shift league I can play the track with the Ascent Solid than later ball down to the Pearl without moving my feet and stay in the same zone that I was playing. I see that the Pearl gives me about 5 feet more than the Ascent Solid
Summary:
A great performance value “Entry Level Ball” with great Hit & Carry
Motiv & Turbo Grips Staff Member Brian Hirsch


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Onefrombills


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: Motiv Girl 06/25/2012 16:37 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Write Review HereMOTIV Ascent Pearl Review______________________
My information: Right-handed,Ball Speed:15mph average.Rev-rate:280 rpm average,Axis rotation:45*,Axis Tilt-15*
Lanes:Anvilanes 12 year old,Pattern:2012 Men\'s U.S.Open pattern 42\' and 42\' house shot
Stats of Ball Used:15lbs. Top weight: 3.1 oz.,Pin:3.0oz.,Drilling: 70*x60*x41/2\" no X-hole
MOTIV Ascent Pearl Information:
Inner Core:Recon,Coverstock:MOTIVator-Z Pearl Reactive,Cover Finish:2000 grit wet/sand and polish.
15lb.RG:2,59,Diff: .025,Color:Purple/Pink/Silver Pearl.
When you think of entry level,you don\'t think about getting so much ball at a entry level price.
The Ascent Pearl uses the proven Recon symmetrical core and the MOTIVator-Z Pearl cover
from the QZ series.
The pearl MOTIVator-Z cover and the high RG and the low differential from the Racon core helps
get the Ascent Pearl down the lane without burning up too much energy.The Ascent Pearl gets
through the heads with ease and conserves all the energy for the angular motion at the backend.
The Ascent Pearl is best suited for med/dry lanes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Motiv Girl


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: TRIP4 06/18/2012 10:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8 1/4 up
 
The Ascent Pearl from MOTIV is another great piece in my arsenal! I drilled mine specifically for shorter oil patterns, and boy, this ball doesn't disappoint! Threw it on two occasions on Cheetah pattern, and with much success. This ball allows me to get straighter with ease, and as it consistently rolled off the pattern, made a strong, continuous motion through the pins with very little adjustment to comensate for breakdown of the pattern.
This ball was even successful on various patterns when the heads break down and the move was inside 4th arrow. Being a tweener, I like to try and stay straighter through the heads, and this ball allowed me to do this with ease, without sacrificing hitting power.
A great plus for anyone's bag looking for length and hitting power, with the looks to boot!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TRIP4


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: TRIP4 06/18/2012 10:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8 1/4 up
 
The MOTIV Ascent Pearl not only has shelf appeal, it packs a punch to rival the big boys! I specifically drilled this ball for shorter/lightervolume patterns, but have been able to use this ball with much success on longer patterns after the front part of the lane has been burned up.
I like how clean this ball is through the front part of the lane, especially on Cheetah pattern and those similar to it, as I can get straighter through the heads, and as this ball comes off the pattern...WOW! Continuous motion off the pattern, and it never stops! Even on some patterns when I was able to move further left, this ball allowed me to stay straighter in the heads, and throw it to a spot down the lane without sacrificing carry. A great add to anyone's arsenal looking for length and pop!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TRIP4


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: BobDaBowler 06/18/2012 02:55 ( stars)


 
Ascent Pearl Review

Ascent Pearl
INNER CORE: Recon™
COVERSTOCK: MOTIVator-Z™ Solid Reactive
FINISH: 2000 Polished
15# SPECS: RG: 2.59, DIFF: .025

Review:
Elevate your game with the new Ascent line! The Pink/Purple Pearl Ascent features the MOTIVator-Z cover from the QZ2 and the proven Recon core. The Ascent pearl cover provides the ball with length and an angular backend.

Finally, MOTIV is introducing our first ever product at the entry level price point. The new Ascent Pearl and Solid are simply amazing. Do not let the term "entry level" fool you, as that is simply referring to the cheaper price point. The All NEW Ascent Line gives you alot of "bang for your buck". I recently drilled both my Ascent Pearl and Ascent Solid.

In this review, I will discuss the pearl. I loved how clean the ball got through the heads and provided great length down the lane, followed by an amazing angular backend reaction once it encountered friction. I took this ball straight of the press and shot a perfect 300 out the box. I bowl on worn AMF HPL as my home center so I often see alot of quick break down or drier lane conditions. This ball allowed me to play straighter angles on the fresh and continue migrating left as they broke down without sacificing pin carry. I personally like to start with the solid and as the break down forces me left and I then like to open the lane up with the pearl. As most MOTIV releases, these balls hit very hard and keep the very low. At this price point, you can NOT find a better product. Bowlers of all levels with be completely satisfied and ready to become MOTIVated after throwing the ALL NEW Ascents. Get MOTIVated!!!!

Bobby Middleton Jr
MOTIV Staff Member
www.motivbowling.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BobDaBowler


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: BobDaBowler 06/18/2012 02:49 ( stars)


 
Ascent Pearl Review
Ascent Pearl
INNER CORE: Recon™
COVERSTOCK: MOTIVator-Z™ Solid Reactive
FINISH: 2000 Polished
15# SPECS: RG: 2.59, DIFF: .025
Review:
Elevate your game with the new Ascent line! The Pink/Purple Pearl Ascent features the MOTIVator-Z cover from the QZ2 and the proven Recon core. The Ascent pearl cover provides the ball with length and an angular backend.
Finally, MOTIV is introducing our first ever product at the entry level price point. The new Ascent Pearl and Solid are simply amazing. Do not let the term "entry level" fool you, as that is simply referring to the cheaper price point. The All NEW Ascent Line gives you alot of "bang for your buck". I recently drilled both my Ascent Pearl and Ascent Solid.
In this review, I will discuss the pearl. I loved how clean the ball got through the heads and provided great length down the lane, followed by an amazing angular backend reaction once it encountered friction. I took this ball straight of the press and shot a perfect 300 out the box. I bowl on worn AMF HPL as my home center so I often see alot of quick break down or drier lane conditions. This ball allowed me to play straighter angles on the fresh and continue migrating left as they broke down without sacificing pin carry. I personally like to start with the solid and as the break down forces me left and I then like to open the lane up with the pearl. As most MOTIV releases, these balls hit very hard and keep the very low. At this price point, you can NOT find a better product. Bowlers of all levels with be completely satisfied and ready to become MOTIVated after throwing the ALL NEW Ascents. Get MOTIVated!!!!
Bobby Middleton Jr
MOTIV Staff Member
www.motivbowling.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by BobDaBowler


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: J How 06/11/2012 22:12 ( stars)


 
Motiv Ascent Pearl
The New Motiv Ascent Pearl is the next best thing in entry level performance. Motiv hits another home run with the new Ascent pearl. This is the first low end ball I have ever thrown that does not quit when it gets to the pins. Not only does this ball look amazing and have great shelf appeal, it also performs on the lanes as well. I love how this ball is predictable shot after shot. This ball will provide you with great length and predictable down lane motion. I drilled this ball to utilize its length and then pop on the back end. I used a 50 x 4.5 x 40 layout. I like to use this ball on lighter volume patterns and when I can play the gutter. This ball plays about 5 boards farther out than I can play with the orange recon. It gets down the lane a farther and still makes it to the pocket. Do not be scared of the entry level tag on this ball, as it will fit in the bag for any level of player.
Justin Howard ~ Motiv Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by J How


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: bowlers design pro shop 06/11/2012 15:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    222
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    5 3/4 1" up
 
Motiv decided to fill there only gap in the product line by creating an entry level ball. We all know other companies entry level balls have a certain purpose. What Motiv created were two, the Ascent Pearl and the Ascent Solid. Both balls have different characteristics, the Pearl is a bit longer and straighter with great down lane motion, the Solid reacts a little earlier and will cover more boards for the bowlers that needs a little more help. This is a ball made for every bowler, the new bowler, and the bowler that is looking for something smooth on burnt up or drier lane conditions, having said that, it's really good on the fresh THS. This ball will not let you down and is a step or two above ANY companies entry level equipment. This is the best of the best at this price point. I am a senior pba member and my ball speed is 15.5 mph, not real slow, not real fast, this ball gets through the heads with ease with a nice smooth backend reaction. A perfect fit in any bowlers arsenal. The best thing about this ball, is our customers love it!
David
Bowlers Design Pro Shop
Member Motiv Staff
Pba Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bowlers design pro shop


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: hfkwill 06/11/2012 14:10 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right, 1/2 up
 
Your climb to the top starts here! The Ascent Pearl features the pearl formulation of the Motivator-Z coverstock (featured in the QZ series) and the proven Recon core. The Ascent Pearl comes out of the box at 2000 wet sand with Power Gel Polish and is ideal for the bowler upgrading from entry-level plastic balls, or the avid bowling looking for a great dry lane ball with great looks!
I have drilled two Ascent Pearls, one with my favorite layout (50 x 5 x 40, hole on P1.5) and the other (50 x 4.75 x 70, big hole on P3). My Ascent Pearl with the pin over the bridge (50 x 5 x 40) has become one of my favorite bowling balls! This ball rolls very close to a QZ2 Blue/Black. It gets through the front part of the lanes very well, without over reacting on the back part of the lane. The second Ascent Pearl, with the pin under my bridge, is great for league, as well as tournaments that put out short oil (cheetah). In fact, I used my Ascent Pearl with the pin under the bridge en route to a local scratch sweeper victory in West Palm Beach, FL.
In comparison to other bowling balls in the MOTIV line, the Ascent Pearl provides a very long and smooth reaction. When placing the pin above the fingers, the reaction is very similar to the QZ2 Blue/Black. In contrast to the Ascent Solid, the Ascent Pearl provides the bowler with more of a skid/snap reaction. The Ascent Pearl has looks to kill for, and has a reaction which will kill the pins!

William Welch
MOTIV Staff Member
10 Back Pro Shops, Manager
Fort Lauderdale, FL


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hfkwill


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: MOTIVmags 06/07/2012 08:35 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 Over x 1/8 Down
 
Ascent Pearl
The Ascent Pearl is one of MOTIV’s first true entry level balls, the other being the also newly released Ascent Solid. Since I tend to be speed dominant, I am typically not one that gets a lot of use from balls designed for lighter conditions. Let me say the Ascents DO NOT hit like entry level balls. Bowlers of all levels will find it beneficial to have an Ascent in their bag.
If you are looking for a ball that can get down the lane with ease on just about any pattern this is an ideal ball. To give you some comparisons the Ascent Pearl is very similar in distance compared to the Blue QZ2, but to me it had more torque and continuation when encountering friction. Compared to the Silver Recon the Pearl Ascent is not quite as long, but had much more torque. Overall, this release will allow me to play straighter more often, but at the same time creating more entry angle than some of MOTIV’s current balls designed for lighter conditions.
I would recommend either Ascent to anyone who is looking to purchase a quality ball at a VERY affordable price. You also have two choices, the Pearl Ascent (Pink/Purple) for those who aren’t looking for a lot of overall hook and the Solid Ascent (Red/Blue) for those who could use a little help getting the ball to cover more boards.
MOTIV Staff Member
Mike Magolan


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MOTIVmags


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: toverbey 06/06/2012 12:21 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    223
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8" right x 7/8" up
 
Lane Condition:
40ft THS on AMF HPL
Medium-Heavy Volume
Layout:
4 3/8” x 3 3/8”
56 x 4 3/8” x 43
Motiv is releasing its first entry-level price point equipment with the Ascent line, but there is nothing entry level about the Ascent Pearl. The combination of the high RG/low Diff Recon core (2.59 RG, .025 Diff) with the MOTIVator Z pearl coverstock (used in the QZ line) allows the ball to easily push down the lane and make a strong backend motion, one not normally seen in an entry-level ball reaction. I laid my Pearl out with the idea of using this ball to its strengths and it has not disappointed. With this core and coverstock working together I have no problems getting the ball to glide through the heads and the midlane. Once the ball gets down to the break point it reads the spot aggressively and makes a very pronounced move towards the pocket. Once going into the pocket the Pearl has no issue getting through the pins, driving through them with incredible energy (thanks in part to the Recon storing energy for such a late move). Once the lanes begin to break down I can start getting left and use this ball to bounce off of the dry and keep a strong, angular motion through the pins even with larger launch angles. Entry level pricing with an advanced reaction, this perfectly describes the Motiv Ascent Pearl.
Trent Overbey
In the Zone Pro Shop
Motiv Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by toverbey


Motiv Ascent Pearl Pink/Purple Reviewed By: Mappa 06/05/2012 18:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    237
Sport Shot Average    212
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/4 over 1" down
 
While the MOTIV Ascent Pearl is priced as an “entry level” performance ball, in my experience it is an essential piece for me when it comes to a broken down house shot or short sport patterns. I drilled mine with an 85* x 5” x 45* layout, which is one of my favorites. I have been using my Ascent Pearl on the 34 foot WTBA “Stockholm” pattern for a sport shot league. This ball was lights out when I need to open up my angles after the oil carries down a bit. (I’ve been using The Ascent Solid for the first 2 games or so). I also used the Ascent Pearl recently in a PBA Regional bowled on the Cheetah pattern. I averaged over 230 during qualifying using this ball for the last 6 games. This ball is extremely clean through the fronts with just the right amount of back end to kick that 10 out.
This ball also shines on a “second shift” house shot. Here is a video of me rolling the Ascent Pearl (and Solid) on a low volume 40 foot house shot:
Also, this ball looks real good going down the lane. I get more comments “Hey, what are you throwing??” than any other ball I’ve thrown. And the low price, well, that’s just a bonus!
--Kevin Gallagher—
PBA Member
MOTIV Staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mappa


Read all 18 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter