Go to Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only »

Only show reviews for Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.79Write a Review    Read all 14 reviews

I Love It
 
86% (12 of 14)
I Like It
 
7% (1 of 14)
It's Ok
 
7% (1 of 14)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 14)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 14)

Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/23/2012 12:38 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

The Master line features new technology with strong, dynamic core shapes that are sure to help all bowlers looking to 'master' the sport of bowling.



Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5"
PSA Layout - 5 1/4" x 3 3/4" x 4 1/2"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (4000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I used the same layout I have used on most of my Storm tests lately.
This pin down layout allows me to get inside the track area and open up a little room for myself to the right. It tends to keep the ball pretty smooth in the heads with a strong transition at the break point.

The Modern Marvel offers a dull Hybrid coverstock that allows a stronger overall ball motion without the ball changing directions too early.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This is my favorite ball in this series so far. I felt that Storm finally found a combination the worked well for me in this performance category as well as price point.

The Modern Marvel gave me everything I would want out of a ball that fits in its performance group. Off my hand it rolled really strong but never reacted too early. The Modern Marvel got into a much stronger roll in the middle part of the lane then any other ball we tested that night but it still had plenty of energy for the backends.

I was able to miss in by a 3-4 boards at times and the ball held wonderfully and still hit the pins with authority. As I broke the pattern down just a bit I was able to send this ball right as far as I wanted and it would come off the break point strong. As I said earlier I think this is a perfect ball motion to fit in under the Nano series and any other Premier line balls coming in the future. The Modern Marvel offers a really strong roll without something the hooks too much for slower ball speeds.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 02/07/2012 17:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The new release from Storm Modern Marvel. The new cover is hybrid and with it at 4000 abralon this will give you a strong roll in heavy oil with all the backend you will ever need. The intent was to get ball motion that will fit a variety of bowlers and that is what you will love about the Modern Marvel.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager

ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: Zero S. 03/31/2012 23:29 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    175
Sport Shot Average    181
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Surface Prep: 2000 Abralon

This ball is ultimate! It reads the lane early! It pops in its backend! I will post a full review after having more time with it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Zero S.


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/28/2013 00:03 ( stars)


 
This is my first hybrid coverstock ball. Over the course of the year, it performed relatively well. The ball has a more active coverstock than any of the equipment already in my arsenal. For a low-rev player like me who like to ride the outside boards, this ball seemed to fit right in with my style. Any stroker would be grateful to have this ball in their lineup.

Steve Calabrese


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2013 16:55 ( stars)


 
Drilled pin under fingers for an early, smooth reaction, but it still reacts more like a pearlized ball. I had to have it sanded to 1000 grit to see any amount of reaction on heavier oil (even though I've never needed a ball below 2000), but that seemed to really do the trick. If you're looking for early, smooth, or a curve in your reaction, I would not recommend this ball. If you're looking for something aggressive that can save its energy for the same part of the lane no matter how short or long the oil is, I would really recommend this ball.

Josh Longerbeam


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/14/2013 16:54 ( stars)


 
This ball is amazing. Has lots of power when it catches the lane. I felt that this ball worked best for me on Viper and Cheetah sport patterns. I would definitely recommend this ball.

Tyler Wells


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: f.mcisaac@comcast.net 09/02/2012 07:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
What I Was Looking For In This Ball:
Something that would provide more hook on oil.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball:
Something that would provide great hook on oil.

1st throw down the lane had me bowling over the left gutter, kiss the right gutter, hook back to the pocket late, and carry the ball through to about the 8/9 pin location. My only other ball is a cheap beginner/spares ball (Brunswick T Zone Patriot Blaze). So watching the difference in reaction was... uhm... amazing. To say the least.

Definitely a great ball. Well worth the cost even for a less experienced player - consider how much a few games, gas to drive to the alley, beer, pizza etc come out to.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 03/31/2012 22:45 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3
Ball Weight: 15

DRILL PATTERN
Pin to PAP: 50 x 4 x 75
X Hole (if there is one): hole below midline and just inside VAL

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 375
Ball Speed: 16 Qubica

PAP/Track: 4 up 1 1/4

SURFACE PREP
Grit: 4000
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Storm Step 2

LANE CONDITION
Length: 42

Volume: med-heavy
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS

BALL REACTION
Length: 6
Back End: 7

Overall Hook: 8.5
Midlane Read: 9
Breakpoint Shape: 8

COMMENTS
Likes: The Modern Marvel has great midlane roll and strong arc on the backend. This is a very strong overall ball from Storm. With the Centripetal™ core’s symmetrical shape allows the ball to glide through the heads without over skidding and going through the breakpoint. Very controllable backend motion with great hitting power. The Modern is great compliment to the
Marvel Pearl, as when the pearl goes to long then the Modern is great fit.
I had to apply Storm Step 2 compound to throw it on our THS. But on sport patterns where this ball
rolled the best for me. As the Modern allowed me to stay just to left of the friction and be able to continue
to have the pocket.
Great product from Storm... You have great overall hook from a symmetrical core, wrapped in the R2X Hybrid Reactive coverstock.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: caseyccg 03/30/2012 15:59 ( stars)


 
Storm Modern Marvel Ball Review
by Storm Staffer Casey Murphy

Rev Rate: 400 rpm
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 4 5/8 straight across

Where: Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern: 40 ft, medium volume, 4:1 ratio (close to sport)

Modern Marvel layout (Dual Angle Layout): 70, 5 1/2 , 35

This ball is STRONG. It needs a longer pattern or higher volume to be truly effective. The pattern I threw it on was a relatively medium pattern and the Modern Marvel wanted to read the fronts off my hand. The reaction is very smooth thanks to the lower RG core so I was able to migrate left and not over react off the hook spot. Because the ball is so strong on the medium volume it did tend to labor a little. I think on a heavier volume of oil or with bowlers who are speed dominant the Modern Marvel will perform extremely well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: grstorm 03/04/2012 13:57 ( stars)


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 15-16mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 x 5 x 1
The Modern Marvel I drilled up is pin above my ring finger and cg is a little past my midline palm. I am a big fan of mid to low performance hybrids and this ball does not disappoint me at all. With the cover stock being part solid and part pearl I am able to play different parts of the lane and changing my hand position I can get the ball to come back from different angles. The Modern Marvel is right in between the other 2 marvels; not too early rolling and even like the Marvel solid and does not go as long as the Marvel Pearl. The Modern Marvel is one of those balls when you just need a little variance with your ball reaction between the other 2 marvels. It is smooth down lane but has a little angle on the back end which is able for you to have a little room if you do miss your target.
Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
The Bowler’s Advantage


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: SWidmer 02/21/2012 11:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    207
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 7/8 over 3/8 up
 
Modern Throwback

Likes: Very predictable ball motion, fresh heads/backends

Dislikes: Hard to open up the pocket

Overall I really like Modern Marvel, it gives me a different look than any other ball in my bag. This ball is especially good when keeping the ball in play is important. I don't see this as a ball that will help open up the backend or create pocket area, at least not with the layout I chose. It's great when going up the boards and when you need a predictable ball motion.

I can see the Modern Marvel being a go to ball early on in team event at the Nationals this year.

My layout is 55 degrees x 4/12 inches x 65 degrees.
My PAP is 5 7/8 inches over and 3/8 inches up.

Scott Widmer
Storm Amateur Staff Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by SWidmer


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: topimperialbowler 02/19/2012 20:14 ( stars)


 
I used this ball this past week from a friend in the league who didnt have enough speed on the ball and hated it, he had 3 games on the ball. (In my opinion, the pro shop should have never sold this person a high performance ball anyway). We are both left handed, his finger grips were a little too big and I had to add 6 pieces of tape to shore the thumb up to fit me better, still not a great fit. Beautiful smooth arc to the pocket, started with a 213, a few taps and a 7-10 split to boot. Second game a 290, great pin reaction, not too explosive over the top, just nice reaction!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: trace-197@hotmail.com 02/14/2012 11:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    207
Sport Shot Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Trace Moua,

i love this ball. fresh out of the box..drilled at cherry hill pro shop on dixie hwy..easy arc with a little more backend. second games, i bowled 300..all night 230 and up, wowww..nice ball and very easy to control..love it...



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Modern Marvel 12 Only Reviewed By: bowlduc 02/10/2012 15:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5" Right x 3/4" up
 
This ball I knew was going to be amazing. I have previous owned the other marvels and this one definatly takes the cake. The hybrid coverstock makes this ball more agressive compared to my marvel pearl. The centripetal core in this ball makes the ball hook agressive with a predictable backend. The Master Line just got a great addition, the Modern Marvel.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 14 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter