Go to Storm Vivid »

Only show reviews for Storm Vivid

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.66Write a Review    Read all 29 reviews

I Love It
 
83% (24 of 29)
I Like It
 
7% (2 of 29)
It's Ok
 
3% (1 of 29)
I Don't Like It
 
7% (2 of 29)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 29)

Storm Vivid Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 02/03/2012 15:27 ( stars)

615 of 619 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge


The best ball motion just got a little more Vivid.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/4"
Dual Angle Layout - 5 1/4" x 3 3/4" x 4"
Balance Hole - On VAL from center of grip through cg

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
Well we knew the Vivid had a lot to live up to since the balls that came before it were the Virtual Gravity Nano and Nano Pearl.
We went with my typical layout on Storm test balls that should allow me to get the ball downlane easily and see plenty of motion of my break point.

The Vivid is said to fit in between the Virtual Gravity Nano (solid) and Pearl version, offering a smoother motion with plenty of reaction down lane. This layout should suit this ball perfectly and allow me to play from a deeper angle and have plenty of recovery off the back portion of the lane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
From the moment the Vivid hit the lane I knew I was going to like it. It looked really good right off my hand going down the lane.

In the heads the ball was as smooth as any other Premier line ball from Storm recently. I feel like it was a little smoother in the heads then the original Nano was. That smooth but strong motion continued into the middle part of the lane as the ball started to transition and see some friction on the lane.

The vivid was very solid off my break point and always made it back. There were a few shots that I leaked a little right and really gave up on it but it
came back strong off the break point and carried the pins with ease.

Storm had a lot on their plate when it came to backing up the Nano releases and I think for Storm fans they will appreciate the subtle differences and really like the overall motion the Vivid brings to the line.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 03/05/2012 17:09 ( stars)

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The new Storm Vivid is here and wow is this the ball for oil. We have a demo Vivid drill pin over the fingers with the mass just right of the thumb. The customers that roll the Vivid love the roll in the front and it never stops the backend is strong. Storm has another ball that will helps all of us bowlers roll that perfect game.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: Mike@Bowlingball.com 02/03/2012 15:26 ( stars)

104 of 113 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" Right -1/8" Up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 6"
PSA Layout - 6" x 4 3/8" x 2 5/8"

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (2000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
This layout has quickly become a benchmark layout for me on the demo videos. It provides good length with a nice strong backend motion. Being that this ball is from Storm, I knew it would get clean through the heads with strong recovery down lane. This is just expected from the ball being in the same line as the Nano and Nano Pearl.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This ball is a little earlier than the Nano with the same explosive reaction off the spot down lane.

This ball allowed me to play a variety of angles during the testing. It reacts very, very well to changes in hand position. The more I came around the side of the ball, the stronger it was off the spot. Changing to more up the back, it had a heavier mid lane roll and didn't overreact. All in all this ball is another winner from a winning manufacturer.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mike@Bowlingball.com


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: jhopkins1023@yahoo.com 03/03/2012 15:40 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    188
Sport Shot Average    150
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I love this ball. Today I bowled with it in league for the first time and my first game was a 232, and I average 180's. People said it was going to be like a mix between the Virtual Gravity Nano and the Nano Pearl.. but in my opinion it was nothing like either of them. I have been looking for a ball to do something like this since I started bowling. Just today I have recommended this ball to half of my friends. It is better than I ever expected it to be like. It looks great, and preforms great. Its easy to find a mark with this ball because on the inside of the lane it will ride through the oil to the end.. and on the outside it will read the lane fast and start to react fast.. there are a wide range of marks you can throw with this ball.. I definitively recommend this ball to anyone who loves Storm balls, by far the best storm ball out right now

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jhopkins1023@yahoo.com


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: wccs23 06/07/2012 01:49 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    170
Sport Shot Average    140
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 1/2
 
I love the ball it seems to be a much better ball than my hell raiser revenge.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wccs23


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: jgbrees1976@yahoo.com 04/16/2012 18:43 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
This is "the best" bowling ball I have ever owned! And I have owned quite a few if you know what I mean. Since I bought this ball I have been averaging 228 with it. It rolls beautifully and knocks down the pins viciously! I have been bowling for going on 25 years and have never seen anything roll like this ball rolls. It glides through the lane so smoothly hits so hard I throw pins across the lane like its being thrown out of someones hand.

I love it!!!!!
JB


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: grstorm 04/11/2012 02:55 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 ½ x 3 x 1
I drilled the Vivid with the pin up really high above my ring finger. Drilling the Vivid in a weaker state and keeping it strong was a total surprise! I could not believe how strong the Vivid is. It has the Virtual Gravity Nano cover but with a new weight block. I have not seen a ball that goes through the pins with so much power and keeps driving through the pin deck like it does. This is probably the earliest reading ball I have seen from storm. I have rolled it on many different sport patterns and the Vivid made it look like a house shot. It for sure likes oil. It is not a ball that goes down long with a strong snappy backend. This ball is really smooth and controllable. It for sure fits in between the 2 nanos. If u want something smooth for oil this is the ball for you.
I have a video on youtube and a picture of my ball and the layout on facebook. If you have any questions about the Vivid email me at grichardson7716@aol.com.
Garrett Richardson
Storm/Roto Grip Amateur Staff
Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
The Bowler’s Advantage
www.facebook.com/grstorm
www.stormbowling.com
www.rotogrip.com
www.viseinserts.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: Jim C. 03/25/2012 17:50 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8
 
This ball hits like a cannon! I have thrown Storm bowling balls my whole life and the quality just keeps getting better and better. But don't be fooled...if you can't keep up your ball speed, the Vivid is not for you. OUT OF THE BOX...with the following drilling pattern: PAP 5 1/8" RIGHT 1/8" UP-----PIN TO PAP 5 1/4"-----PSA LAYOUT 5 1/4"x3 3/4"x4" with balance hole.
Series was 731. Games were: 279,268,184. (the last game I did not keep my ball speed up.) Still, averaging 243.7 out of the box makes the Storm Vivid a great investment for the right bowler.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jim C.


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: AverageJoe 03/17/2012 11:09 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Just got my Vivid Drilled up before league last night. Shot 248 257 215 for 720 set. Had to start 4 1/2 boards left than normal. Ball got through heads real clean and exploded to pins. Even the ball I pushed way to right came back and put 10 in the pit. Another great ball from Storm.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by AverageJoe


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: tour 177 03/13/2012 17:37 ( stars)

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
Overall reaction: over rated, doesn't carry well
Hooking ability: good
Skid: Ball rolls too early even with polish
Look: A little blah
Smell: Nice

This bowling ball is just ok. For the money and the fact that I could buy anything at this price I wish I would have.

My pro shop charged me 259.00 with inserts and drilling. I found bowlingball.com AFTER I bought this ball. (bowlingball.com already has my latest hand specs, they are drilling my next ball) with them it would have cost me 188.00 for the exact same thing.

The vivid does not roll any different than my Nano for me, it is actually worse with carrying all the pins. A little disappointed.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: timl66 03/09/2012 11:32 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
I really like my new vivid. I just don't love it. If I didn't get the mail $20 rebate,which I hope I get, I would have ordered the Revenge by DV8. My friend got the Revenge and it really does hook more than mine :( I still throw plenty of strikes with might, just feel like I wish I would like the Revenge. Not a huge fan of the color there was too much blue in mine. Lost that pop look.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: cuatdx@aol.com 02/12/2014 15:38 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    158
 
I bought the Vivid because I wanted to have a ball of my own. I have alway bowled with my buddy's hand me downs. My average with the 20+ year old Hammer hand me down was a 158. It took me a little bit of adjusting to the Vivid (about 2 weeks) but once I adjusted I started hitting 180 on a regular basis and even bowled a 630 series last night. If you are just starting out and looking for a good ball that won't break the budget I recommend the Vivid.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: sudoCrushMS 08/08/2013 14:36 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4.5R x 1/8U
 
I can't get this ball to roll consistently, on shot it will get down lane and flip and the next shot it will check and die. It's ok if theres a bunch of oil in the heads and midlane, but the back ends need to be crisp or it just dies. This ball has been a pocket 8-10 machine when playing on anything longer than 40'. It did perform pretty well when I hit it with a 360 pad and play further right and straighter (worked really well on WTBA Sydney). I will keep it as an oil mop (something it's VERY good at), and for the off chance I bowl on another high volume short pattern. Otherwise it's totally worthless...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by sudoCrushMS


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: UF Bowling 06/06/2013 12:24 ( stars)


 
I wanted a ball for heavy oil patterns, and the vivid delivered. This balls by far more aggressive than any other ball I’ve thrown, and is still taking some getting used to. But it encourages me to try playing the inside more (around the 20 board) to get the nice arc reactivity. So far it delivers in that department, and I look forward to throwing it in next season’s tournaments. Plus the color scheme looks awesome.

Eric Salaices


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by UF Bowling


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: Westmont36 01/22/2013 17:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    203
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    3 1/2 x 1 up
 
Great ball. Had to slow down my roll just a bit to get the excellent bite on the back end. Just bowled one week with this ball and it was amazing. Shot a 224, 180 (not the balls fault, I couldn't get a spare to save my life) and a 236. Raised my league avg 3 pins even with the bad game. Take out that game and I was about 30 pins over average!! I recommend this to anyone needing a great ball for house lanes with med-heavy oil!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: cmsubowler 11/27/2012 16:51 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    195
 
Hey guys, thanks for reading.

What can I say bad about the Storm Vivid. NRG Coverstock makes a major comeback with this addition. I drilled it up with a 70 x 5.5 x 50 layout. No matter what this is a strong ball and takes to many surface adjustments well. We threw this ball on the Shark pattern and we were able to get a smooth reaction back from around 10. This ball is so smooth and predictable on any pattern and cuts through the toughest of oil patterns. This ball does not overreact on any condition including some torn up house patterns. Hitting power is second to none. So if you are looking for a predictable ball reaction that can handle a good amount of oil well you have found the right one.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cmsubowler


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: matt.uller@gmail.com 09/11/2012 18:47 ( stars)


 
This particular ball I purchased with a 4in pin and 3.19oz of top weight. I laid the ball out with a pin down configuration with the pin about midway between the fingers/thumb and placed the cg/mb kicked out right with a 45 degree angle.

The motion wasn't exactly what I was expecting...but it turned out wonderfully. :-) I was expecting more of a read in the heads, but the ball sails cleanly through the heads before beginning to strongly read the midlane. The result is a very smooth arcing ball that somehow saves enough energy to carry through the pin deck. This motion makes this ball versatile enough for the vast majority of oil patterns from about 35' through 45'...carry seems to improve as long as you stay in the oil and don't let this ball read the friction too early.

All in all, it is smooth arcing and easy to control ball that has found a frequently used slot in my arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by matt.uller@gmail.com


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: ZFollmer 06/12/2012 15:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    209
Sport Shot Average    177
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I wasn't sure what to expect when i purchased this ball. The Vivid is by far my favorite ball I have ever owned! If you are looking for a high reactive ball, this ball is for you!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: Xcessive_Hook 06/05/2012 18:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    233
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right by 1/2 up
 
Layout: 60* 4" 30*

Because of previous premier balls like the Invasion and to a certain degree the Nano Solid, I was concerned with the ball burning up in the friction and only be able to use it on PBA patterns. Testing it on a 40' THS I was not surprised to see the typical stand left, throw right and watch it bounce off the friction on the fresh. But as the the lane broke down, I saw the energy retain and not roll out like I saw in the Invasion and Nano Solid. I was pleased to see that not only I could finish a set in league with it, but I didn't have to play over the gutter to find oil.

Bowling on the San Marino (40') and Mexico City (46') patterns, I was able to really square up and not give the pocket away without fear of it overreacting like I'm used to when I play a tight line. The vivid is a solid release. Heavy midlane roll, typical of heavy oil asymetric balls, but increasing the rg makes it turn the corner harder without burning out. Well done!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Xcessive_Hook


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: masteredq1 06/02/2012 09:45 ( stars)


 
It took me a while to get used to the ball, my age is 73. However, the end result is that it is a great ball. My avg. before the Vivid was about 194 and now its in the low 200's. pin is above the finger holes, 15 lb ball, right out of the box. last Wed. shot 694. high in the senior league. I do have honor scores from past years, and I feel another coming with the Vivid.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: frogjam4@gmail.com 04/15/2012 15:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
 
This ball is simply amazing. I drilled the Vivid with the same layout as my Defiant with the pin in middle center above my fingers. This ball has a lot more movement then the Defiant (which is also a superb ball). Out of the box i shot a 734 series (240, 257, 237). The ball carries so well and once you are dialed in this ball is very predictable and feels good off the hand. One of my favorite balls to date. Get one and see what see what I am talking about!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by frogjam4@gmail.com


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: davkarsports 04/05/2012 14:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
The Storm Vivid has the same cover as the Virtual Gravity Nano, but has a slightly weaker core...and the result is a better ball!

My Vivid is drilled with the pin just left of the ring finger...I am amazed by the ability of this ball to get clean through the heads. If there is sufficient oil in the mid-lane, the Vivid revs up and comes off the spot with amazing power.

I am unable to use this ball in league - which is fine by me - but what I have seen with this ball in tournament play so far has me sold! First ball out of my bag at tournaments...


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: caseyccg 03/30/2012 15:56 ( stars)


 
Storm Vivid Ball Review
by Storm Staffer Casey Murphy

Rev Rate: 400 rpm
Ball Speed: 17 mph
PAP: 4 5/8 straight across

Where: Enterprise Park Lanes, Springfield MO
Pattern: 40 ft, medium volume, 4:1 ratio (close to sport)

Vivid layout (Dual Angle Layout): 50, 5 1/2 , 35

With a little higher RG than most of Storm’s or Roto’s asymetricals I was a little apprehensive about how the new M.A.D. core would matchup with the strength of the Nano’s NRG Solid Reactive coverstock. I drilled the Vivid similar to the first Nano I drilled last year which I was very successful with. I bowled on a very tough “house” pattern at my home center. The Vivid was extremely strong out of the box. So much so that I wasn’t able to throw it effectively until it had soaked up a little oil which didn’t take long btw. Once the cover tamed down a little bit I’m a big fan of the result. The new M.A.D. core clears the fronts very cleanly and leaves a lot of reaction for the backend. One trait my Nano had was it rev’d up very quickly with the lower RG and tended to stop after it hit the end of the oil pattern. The Vivid continues more off the spot. More energy, more recovery. I find I can play further right if I want because I can get the ball through the friction easier. It’s a very versatile ball and a must have for tournament bowlers.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by caseyccg


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: tpdonnelly2003@yahoo.com 03/29/2012 13:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    200
 
I recently purchased the Vivid. Out of the box 676 series with a high game of 243. It took a few minor adjustments for carry on the 10 pin and the 9 pin. Once those were made it just blasted the pocket. That is also assuming there is oil. This ball loves the oil. After those minor adjustments I didn't have to move for the remainder of all 3 games. Which is quite unusual in the house I bowl in. You could miss outside just a bit and it still made it back to the pocket. I would recommend this to anyone looking to purchase a new ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: SWidmer 03/26/2012 22:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    207
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 7/8 over 3/8 up
 
My layout: 60 degrees by 4 7/8 with 2\" buffer

Before I threw a shot with the Vivid I thought it would be an immediate replacement to my Nano. After bowling with the Vivid for a month now on avariety of shots I am sure it\'s not a replacement at all. It\'s a great go-to ball when squaring up with my Nano results in too much backend reaction. The Vivid smooths out the reaction without sacrificing any hitting power whatsoever.

This ball feels much stronger overall than the Nano. The Vivid reads the lane sooner and does not cover as many boards on the backend of the lane as the Nano will. This is mostly due to the 2000 abralon finish of the Vivid versus the 4000 abralon finish of the Nano.

I have used the Vivid on the 2012 Nationals shot at the end of our PBA
Experience league (on Brunswick Pro Anvilane) in addition to a few
practice sessions on the same surface getting ready for our Nationals
trip this year. Each time I\'ve bowled the Vivid provided a very good
look early on. I expect the Vivid to provide a great one-two punch with my Modern Marvel on the fresh this year.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by SWidmer


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: mheald311 03/16/2012 11:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    176
Sport Shot Average    176
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
i have more control then ever before.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: peterutlecht 03/12/2012 07:29 ( stars)


 
The vivid is a very good bowling ball. It hooks nicely and really carrys a lot of pins. I found that it rolls best when you keep it clean. Overall a very nice bowling ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by peterutlecht


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: kendarby 03/11/2012 07:26 ( stars)


 
I got this ball looking to replace my Storm Hybrid and my Mission. Both of these balls roll different so I really was only looking to replace one. Somehow the VIvid works very well replacing both. On medium lanes it holds up well and snaps at the back end like the Hybrid. On oil it hooks 6 more boards than the Mission. Because of this ball my average has gone up by 4 pins in just three weeks. Great job bowlingball.com thanks for the free shipping and no packaging fees like most other bowling websites.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Storm Vivid Reviewed By: HunterJJ 03/11/2012 07:23 ( stars)


 
Very impressed with both the bowling ball and the customer service. Would definitely order again.

The ball is very strong on the back end. It is a monster when it comes to hooking.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by HunterJJ


Read all 29 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter