Go to Hammer Taboo Jet Black »

Only show reviews for Hammer Taboo Jet Black

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.93Write a Review    Read all 15 reviews

I Love It
 
93% (14 of 15)
I Like It
 
7% (1 of 15)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 15)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 15)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 15)

Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/24/2012 13:43 ( stars)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

You asked for us to get Hammer videos back and the Taboo Jet Black was a great way to get back on board.


Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 6"
Dual Angle Layout - 70* x 6" x 25*
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500/1000/2000 Grit Abralon, Powerhouse Factory Finish Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Taboo Jet Black uses a core from the Widow series with a polished GTR III Solid coverstock.

I decided to use the layout from my original Black Widow that I still use today and see what this ball could do. This layout for me allows the ball to get down lane with ease and make a left on the backends. In my original
Black Widow I used the ball at 4000 grit Abralon so I am expecting the polished coverstock to create more direction change downlane then that ball with a stronger overall ball motion.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I am very glad that we were able to test this ball. I really missed the ball motion signature that Hammer creates on their high performance balls. The Taboo Jet Black was no exception and rolled just as I predicted.

The Taboo Jet Black cleared the heads smoother then any other ball we tested that night. The way the ball set up in the middle part of the lane reminded me of Hammer products that we have tested in the past. It was a smooth easy transition through the mid lane and man did have plenty left for the backend.

Off the break point the Taboo Jet Black put on a turn signal and went left. It was by far one of the more angular motions I ahve seen from Hammer in quite a while. The angle I was able to create down lane was sick. The ball came off the break point so hard I felt like I could just keep throwing it further and further right and it would recover.

All in all a very good "welcome back" ball test from Hammer and we are excited to see whats to come.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: Juanito 05/06/2013 20:49 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
So, here's the deal. I have no particular affinity for any specific manufacturer. I buy balls based on specs and observation. As such, I have no ax to grind with Storm. I just updated my arsenal for the year. My book average is 223. I throw about 16 miles per hour, have medium revs, and a high track.

I purchased the Storm IQ Tour pearl along with a Hammer Taboo Jet Black and a Taboo Deep Purple. I will use this same review for all three balls. My initial thought was that the Jet Black might have predictability issues, like the old Black Widows.

Not so my friends the Jet Black went very long and was super strong on the turn, every time with a real nasty but controllable snap to it. The Jet Black was best on a tweener shot. The Deep purple was equally predictable but I played farther inside with it. Yikes! it rolled up so smooth and was so controllable. I played from a tweener position all the way to a cranker shot. It was all good. It was best on a cranker shot. The IQ Tour pearl was a train wreck and did nothing well.

I had bookend 247's with the two Hammers and a zippy 158, in between, with the Storm IQ Tour. Keep in mind, that with testing new equipment, scoring was not my main concern. My intent was to calibrate the new balls against one another, i.e. what would each do on a stroker, tweener, and cranker shot. However, the scores do speak for themselves as it pertains to how easy the ball is to manage. The ball needs to work for the bowler, not vice-versa.

The main problem I found with the Storm ball was that it was super volatile. It was like a race car on steroids. As soon as it hit friction, (early or late) it made a sharp left turn and never quit running. I literally moved all over the approach trying to find the best route to the pocket. The only way I could get there was to wind up and throw a fast ball. I even backed my fingers way off, to little avail. This ball was so vicious, it makes me wonder how a conventional grip would work .... seriously.

I am not going to give up on it, just yet. Other high average bowlers I know have had good luck with it. I am going to put it on the spinner and take the surface to 4000 abralon, then try it again. If I still have issues, I will polish it and try a third time. If there is any significant improvement in control, I will review it again. If it seems to need a layout change, I will just scrap it. The Hammers work great. Every time I update an arsenal, some balls work and some either don't or are just too much trouble to deal with.

As of now, I am loving the two taboos and am not happy withe the IQ Tour pearl.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Juanito


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: NJV361 12/13/2012 12:29 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I just bought the Taboo Jet Black last week after seeing what it does down lane and the pin reaction. I was throwing a Track 715T which I purchased used from the pro shop at my lanes. The Track worked great for me last year I even shot my first 300 with it but this year the oil mixture the house is this year Is not getting me the same results so I made the switch to the Taboo Jet Black after talking to numerous people who own it and the pro at the lanes and what a ball my first Hammer product and I am impressed! Even if I am off a little it shreds the pins.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: mctaylor37@gmail.com 05/26/2014 23:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    188
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I never thought that purchasing a ball from online would be so easy. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. It came back in plenty of time for me to practice before league starts back up. Highly recommend bowlingball.com.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: vic smyth 02/27/2014 11:50 ( stars)


 
I was able to purchase this ball as a demo for really cheap. When I tried the ball I knew it was similar to my Hyroad, it even has an identical layout, pin over ring finger, cg halfway between centerline and PAP (4x1/2up), they both have about 1/2oz finger, side and top weight, balance hole on the PAP. I was told that the Taboo should have a stronger back end because of its asymmetric core. So far, it's cleaner than my Hyroad since the Hyroad can be a bit jumpy on the backend and more sensitive to speed. But the Hyroad hits every bit as hard. When the lanes (THS) are sloppy with burn and carry down or they oil the heads only without stripping the slop on the backend, I am equally lost with both balls and go to weaker equipment (Pearl Breeze or polished 900 Global Hook), as both Hyroad and Taboo will lose energy. I may try to play with the surface and/or motion holes, otherwise there is no point in putting identical balls in my bag. If I had to choose between the two, the Hyroad would win out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by vic smyth


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: tommayer215 10/20/2013 19:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
all there is to say about this ball is wow !!! the hook on this ball is amazing by far i bowled with it the first 3 games were a 280 259 and a 287 i love it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: cant shoot 300 making spares 05/09/2013 10:28 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball hoping I would get some action on the backend and it delivered!!! Had the ball drilled, threw a practice game (212). The 1st week I threw it in League play I shot 667...I am a 174 average bowler. I did not double in the 10th fame of any game but I did throw 33 clean frames in 3 games!!! (216-232-218)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: Zatorski 12/11/2012 20:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200-210
Sport Shot Average    197-205
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 

This Ball Is Crazy In The Back End And Hits Like A Tank, I Have A Cranker Style And With This Ball I Can Play 35 Over 14 Get It Out To The Gutter And Still Come Back Not Leaving A Split. Even Though I Love Storm Hammer Is For Sure Competing With Them


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: goldencr@live.com 11/06/2012 17:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    181
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4-0
 
Needed to bring the ball to a high gloss shine.
Now its my highest scoring ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: jlimbeck852@gmail.com 08/01/2012 00:57 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    218
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/4 over 1/8 up
 
This ball is fantastic!!... I had my pro shop guy drill it for a burnt pattern, and I'm glad I did!... This ball is insane, it comes back so smooth and strong. This ball works on brand new heavy patterns like Dead Man's Curve, but also has enough length and backend to get through a burnt easy street pattern. I've had it for about 3 months now and it took my average up from 194 to a 207, definitely worth the money!!!... I only use Hammer bowling balls, idk it works best for my roll and this is my go-to ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jlimbeck852@gmail.com


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: j-rod-300 07/10/2012 10:44 ( stars)


 
All around great bowling ball! Out of the box the ball goes long and has a ton in the backend, something you are not use to seeing in the Hammer line! You could take the surface down and even the ball motion out even more and use the controlable ball motion on a shorter pattern. You should defintly go to your nearest pro shop and get one to see for your self!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by j-rod-300


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: dsrad85 07/09/2012 13:06 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is an absolute monster once it hit the pins! I don't know what made me fall in love with this ball, but it carries everything in the pin deck. I bought it at 16lbs (technically 15lbs, 14oz), but the Taboo Black hits and scatters the pins so much, I'm afraid it's illegal! HA HA! Anyway, I have the pin on top of my fingers and gives that great downlane length motion with a strong backend finish! I played deep in the lane from 25 - 28 to about 12 - 15 and still recovers greatly. I'm am now an official HAMMERHEAD! It only took me one frame to adjust out the box, but no problems after that. 279, 289, 269! Nothing less than 240! I roll between 12.5 to 14 mph, and still so powerful! Nothing HITS LIKE A HAMMER!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: mwilliams43 07/06/2012 10:11 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This is my first Hammer ball (with Ebonite as the owners). This ball is very forgiving, goes long and has great back end. It is a perfect all around ball for your typical house shot. I felt in recent years that the Mission 2.0 was one of the most versatile balls around. This ball has more consistent back end. A good purchase for your bag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mwilliams43


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: kdy 04/16/2012 03:31 ( stars)


 
Iv'e been league bowling for three years and got this ball two weeks ago. I throw pretty hard with medium/light revs. The Taboo Jet Black continue very far and hooks well at the end. When i miss the speed and throw way too hard, it manages to turn abruptly anyway and hit the front pin.. which i find quite amazing! My previous ball was the Infinite Theory and this ball suits me much better. Used to have a 165 average, but with the Taboo iv'e so far bowled a 195 average.

Bowling Hand Right Handed
Ball Speed Fast
League Average 170


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Hammer Taboo Jet Black Reviewed By: Cripper 02/18/2012 11:03 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    224
Sport Shot Average    198
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/4" over x 3/4" up
 
This is by far the strongest and most versatile ball I own. I can use it on the fresh or the burn. I have a 70 x 5(3/4) x 70 layout in it. This puts the pin right below my middle finger. Ball is so clean through the mid lane and it just pops really hard on the back end. I really like the solid black cover because it is really easy to see what the ball is doing. I am very impressed with what this ball can do.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cripper


Read all 15 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter