Go to DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL »

Only show reviews for DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue
Only show reviews for DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only
Only show reviews for DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.92Write a Review    Read all 49 reviews

I Love It
 
92% (45 of 49)
I Like It
 
8% (4 of 49)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 49)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 49)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 49)

DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/05/2011 09:34 ( stars)

91 of 91 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Separate yourself from the crowd with DV8's Misfit.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/4"
Dual Angle Layout - 45* x 5 1/4" x 65*
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" P3

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Misfit series is supposed to bring a stronger ball motion to the entry level performance group for DV8. Along with its higher performance core the Misfit offers a smoother motion through the lanes with plenty of power to spare.

With two Misfits being offered in two different awesome color combinations we went a little weaker with the Orange/Blue Misfit compared to our Magenta/Yellow. This was to see how different we could make the balls look with subtle changes in the layout.

We expect to see a much smoother ball motion out of the Orange/Blue then the Magenta/Yellow and look forward to seeing a more controllable motion all around from this test. Given that DV8 has kept a stronger core we do expect to still see plenty of power overall but rolled up into something that can handle drier conditions then the Reckless and Hell Raiser.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This ball rolls really really good. For everyone who thinks they have to have the highest performance ball on the market to throw strikes, watch the video.

Do not let the price or performance category fool with with the Misfit. This ball means business and can hang with any other at this price point or even a few above it. The Class 1 Reactive coverstock with high polish finish does allow the Misfit to easily get down lane before reading friction but once it gets there watch out, it goes left and hits like a freight train.

This ball test went exactly as I expected. My Orange/Blue Misfit was still a tank and rolled awesome even with the weaker layout. I honestly think that I could handle a complete night of league with a couple of Misfits drilled differently. The difference in ball motion from my Magenta/Yellow to my Orange/Blue was night and day and I did not even tweak the coverstocks.

This layout provided a really strong continuous motion from start to finish without ever really getting uncontrollable. I would use this ball middle of the second game out on a normal house shot because I think my carry would go through the roof compared to everyone trying to get further and further left as the night progresses. All in all the entire DV8 line was very impressive and the Misfit series is a must try for any skill level bowler.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 08/31/2011 13:35 ( stars)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Dual Angel Layout - 40° x 4" x 40°
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" deep (approx. 4" right of thumb)

Surface Prep - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish)

Welcome to the world of DV8 bowling. The Misfit is a bowling ball you are sure to remember. It comes in a couple of wild colors including (Magenta/Yellow and Blue/Orange). The Blue and Orange on remind of the the University of Florida colors.

The Misfit bowling balls are fantastic polished bowling balls meant for drier lane conditions. They allow you to play a tighter line easier than you can with the higher performance bowling balls.

Again, using the word performance can be bad. Just because this isn't labeled a pro performance, doesn't make it worse than the DV8 Hell Raiser. They just roll differently and this one doesn't hook as much, but it still hooks!

If you are a beginner, you need to find equipment that you are comfortable with. And a great analogy is that of golf. Your not gonna use a driver, on the putting green, and you shouldn't be using a putter off the tee. You use the right equipment for the job. In bowling we equate the pro performance line to the driver. However, we don't call the driver a pro performance golf club. And we don't call the sand wedge an entry level golf club.

However, I digress and I hope my point was made. The DV8 Misfit Bowling Balls are phenomenal. They roll great and deserve a spot in your arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/24/2011 12:33 ( stars)


 
The DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue has high Rg/ medium differential core under Class 1 Reactive coverstock. This ball is very clean through the front and mid lane before making a continuous motion on the back end. This ball is great for light oil volumes. This ball will fit into every person's arsenal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: aleone@bbtel.com 09/22/2011 10:30 ( stars)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I have had my Misfit for over a week now and just love it. All the other balls I own are Pro Performance and this little guy packs a puck that equals all of them (Siege, Evil, Wicked, Storm Nano). Over the years I have owned anything from Brunswick, Ebonite, Columbia, Hammer and just recently Storm. Everyone around me has to stop and take notice of the motion, action and the power punch the Misfit has. I just ordered Reckless and Hell Raiser. Those three plus a plastic ball for that pesky little 10 pin will be all I carry with me anymore. Way to go DV8!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: jpg2588 06/07/2013 22:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    125
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
Bowled a lot when I was younger, and then quit and then about 5 years later I started back bowling and picked up this ball and I improved dramatically!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: tornadobob354@aol.com 07/25/2012 11:15 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    167
Sport Shot Average    167
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Very satisfied with purchase will have the ball drilled for my winter league.Fat service,great price plan on purchasing more items soon for the fall league season.Great prices on many items.Thanks much R.Pezzullo.Highly Recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: TeaPot68 05/30/2012 12:10 ( stars)


 
This really is what DV8 says, DamnGoodBowling. This is a damn good ball. I walked into my pro shop wanting to get a ball that I could control on the backends when everything began to breakdown. I didn't want anything to strong on the backend as I already had balls in the arsenal for that. I wanted something that I could still play in the oil and have a continuous back end motion. When my buddy in the pro shop told me he thought this would be a great ball I was very leary. I never had good luck with Brunswick, so I hadn't used their equipment in quite a while. He assured me that Brunswick had made significant changes and that DV8 was a different style. So I trusted him and bought the ball.

Best decision I had ever made. This is one of the strongest continuous motions I have ever seen from a mid performance ball and my scores reflected that this is what I was looking for. Watch out for DV8 to get pretty big over the next couple of years if they continue producing like this.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Cosmic_L 04/11/2012 12:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is a ball that is designed to be used on dry or medium to dry lanes without sacrificing pin carry. the Misfit is a very versatile ball that is very controllable, yet, has a lot of hitting power.

I use my Misfit on the driest of lanes, drilling it pin up to maximize length, forgiveness and conservativeness. Using my favourite release, with a lot of axis of rotation and less axis tilt, I can throw the ball from the 28th board to the middle arrow on the 20th board in order to strike. When using a different release to reduce axis of rotation, I can throw the ball from the 20th board to the second arrow on the 10th board to strike, this shows the extreme conservativeness of this ball.

This ball does not have a very angular roll, but a very clean one, it doesn't 'waffle' like most bowling balls do. This saves axis of rotation and the power is the strongest among all medium-dry lane balls I have thrown, it is common to see messengers when I use this ball even with my slower ball speed.

The only thing is if I have to bowl leagues on dry lanes(I mean those that are really really dry)I have to adjust the 500 siaair pad to 2000 siaair pad to increase comfort when using it(I personally don't throw the ball from the inside part of the lane much).

After all, this is another great ball manufactured by Brunswick and DV8, it is very powerful, very versatile and has a great forgiveness. I would recommend this ball to any bowlers who are lack of comfort when playing on dry lanes or broken down lanes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cosmic_L


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Cosmic_L 04/11/2012 12:22 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is a ball that is designed to be used on dry or medium to dry lanes without sacrificing pin carry. the Misfit is a very versatile ball that is very controllable, yet, has a lot of hitting power.

I use my Misfit on the driest of lanes, drilling it pin up to maximize length, forgiveness and conservativeness. Using my favourite release, with a lot of axis of rotation and less axis tilt, I can throw the ball from the 28th board to the middle arrow on the 20th board in order to strike. When using a different release to reduce axis of rotation, I can throw the ball from the 20th board to the second arrow on the 10th board to strike, this shows the extreme conservativeness of this ball.

This ball does not have a very angular roll, but a very clean one, it doesn't 'waffle' like most bowling balls do. This saves axis of rotation and the power is the strongest among all medium-dry lane balls I have thrown, it is common to see messengers when I use this ball even with my slower ball speed.

The only thing is if I have to bowl leagues on dry lanes(I mean those that are really really dry)I have to adjust the 500 siaair pad to 2000 siaair pad to increase comfort when using it(I personally don't throw the ball from the inside part of the lane much).

After all, this is another great ball manufactured by Brunswick and DV8, it is very powerful, very versatile and has a great forgiveness. I would recommend this ball to any bowlers who are lack of comfort when playing on dry lanes or broken down lanes.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Cosmic_L


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: dwbenn@gmail.com 04/03/2012 21:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Beginner
 
This is my first ball, and am I absolutely love it. Good solid hitting ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: irishbear 03/24/2012 09:24 ( stars)


 
I bought this ball to back up my hellraiser when the lanes dry up and it works perfect for that!The misfit reacts just like my hellraiser when the oil has dried up and I don't even need to adjust I play the same line.The misfit carries great through in the back end never stops and hits hard.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by irishbear


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: mrlauteren@gmail.com 03/19/2012 11:49 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I bought this ball to backup my hell raiser, so far its been a create secondary ball. Just watch out of of who drills your ball because you will loose performance out of it. Great ball for house shots and sport shots on the line. (just have to know how to through and get more rev out of it on a sport shot) So far I average 206 with this as my secondary primary ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: bannachb 02/27/2012 21:36 ( stars)


 
DRILL PATTERN
70*x3”x45*
X Hole: P1

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 525 – 550 RPM
Ball Speed: 20 MPH at Release
PAP/Track: 5 ¼ x ¾ Up
Axis Rotation: 65*
Axis Tilt: 12*

SURFACE PREP
Grit: 500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polish

LANE CONDITION
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS and USBC Blue 2

BALL REACTION
Length: Medium Length
Back End: I would describe it as “Controlled Angle”
Overall Hook: Medium
Midlane Read: Great
Breakpoint Shape: “Controlled Angle”

The Misfit is so much more than an entry level ball. While it is listed as the entry level ball for the DV8 brand, this ball performs better than many mid-range balls I have thrown from other companies. The ball packs an abundance of performance. The Misfit line is so versatile, and allows for many different drill patterns and surfaces. I drilled this Misfit up to read the midlane well, and make a controlled move to the pocket. I got the exact midlane read that I wanted, but the reaction was slightly different. The motion this ball makes is something to be seen. I would describe it as controlled, but I would also describe it as angular. I have never thrown a ball before that makes such an angular move, yet I still feel like I have complete control of the reaction. Also for being an “entry level” ball the strength of this ball is a surprise.

Likes: The strength and control of the ball, while still being angular.

Dislikes: None!

Bryan Bannach
DV8 Regional Staff Member

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bannachb


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: mwilliams43 02/09/2012 07:58 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I switched to 15lbs this year. After being out of bowling for 10 years, I got back into it for the 10-11 season. Finshed well at 218, throwing 16lbs. Toward the end of the season, I started having problems with my wrist and arm, decided to drop to 15lb. So glad I did.

Updated my equipment. One of the updates was the DV8 Misfit. I normally bowl second shift, so this ball fits my style perfect. My timing has been an issue this year, and my average drop shows that. I have had this ball for a month, throwing minimal games with it. Decided to give it a full shot last week. Shot 300. Ended with a mid 7 and threw another 700 with it, subbing for a friend, a few days later.

This ball is great for me on medium to dry lanes. Drier lanes, I can open up my shot more. The ball gets through the heads, and has great back end reaction, but not too much that it is unpredictable. Compared to the Hell Raiser, this ball hooks about 5 boards less for me. I would recommend this ball to anyone, as a compliment to your more agressive balls.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mwilliams43


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: brettruder@gmail.com 02/06/2012 16:26 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
 
What a great ball, beautiful finish and excellent action for the price.. Would definitely recommend this ball for a intermediate level bowler looking performance for the right price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brettruder@gmail.com


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: bfreitas2000@yahoo.com 01/19/2012 15:49 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    170
Sport Shot Average    165
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
My expectations when purchasing this ball were little. My satisfaction with it is tremendous. This ball goes clean through the oil perfectly, reads the friction and turns hard left. I thought I had purchased an entry level ball but that was only the price! This ball out hits, carries more pins and hooks more than others ball I've purchased at twice the price! The DV8 brand isn't marketed towards my age group (43) and that's too bad for the rest of the veterans in my leagues. I am thoroughly pleased with my DV8 equipment and will tell anyone willing to listen. Even when I increased my ball speed (by 5mph), it still hooked hard and hit the pocket like it was shot from a rocket launcher. With my all new DV8 line up I can, for the first time, enter the state tournament confident that I have a chance to win!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bfreitas2000@yahoo.com


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: River Lanes Pro Shop 11/17/2011 14:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    210
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 over 1/2 up
 
The DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue has high Rg/ medium differential core under Class 1 Reactive coverstock. This combination gives you a ball that is clean through the heads, with a strong continuous motion on the back end. This is a great entry level ball, while still having a place in any arsenal, for drier lane conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by River Lanes Pro Shop


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: esstk@yahoo.com 11/07/2011 11:11 ( stars)


 
I decided to buy this ball because I demo'd it .I was a little concerned because the ball was the lower end of the DV8 balls and might not work. The Reckless didn't work for me and the HellRaiser hooked less possibly because the lanes were medium oil. The first ball I threw was a strike, good sign.I ended up throwing a 203 and a 202 the first time out. The ball moved angular at the end and hit very hard . I was very impressed how hard it hit and the amount of pins went down even when I missed my mark. The only minor complaint is that I would have liked to have had less orange a more blue on the ball. Not much for orange.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by esstk@yahoo.com


DV8 Misfit Orange/Blue Reviewed By: Nikoss 10/07/2011 18:08 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 left - 1 up
 
What a nice ball!

Left handed, stroker
Pap: 5 1/16 left, 3/16 down
Dual angle layout: 65° x 4’’ 3/8 x 65°, P3 hole

Just tried it on a broken down THS and it rolled really nicely.
The lanes are only re oiled twice a week at my local bowling center, but as I am a lefty, I found a thin pel of oil to play.

With this layout, the first ball I own that was drilled knowing my PAP (thank you Tony,John and Bowlingball.com for the advices) goes long but not too much, engages its reaction just before entering the backend and smooothly, but strongly comes back and hits hard, with a really good carry.

I played 8 games with it tonight, and as the pel of oil was very thin, I had to move a bit through the game. I usually start playing on the second arrow, and I ended playing on the fourth.
But I had little carry problems during the last three games and I scored less, as making adjustements isn't something easy to me yet.

I am glad I made the perfect choice for my usual conditions.

The Misfit will now be the first ball out of my bag.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Nikoss


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 09/05/2011 09:24 ( stars)

88 of 93 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/8 right 1/8 up
 

Click to Enlarge
Separate yourself from the crowd with DV8's Misfit.

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 4"
Dual Angle Layout - 40* x 4" x 45*
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" P2

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
The Misfit series is supposed to bring a stronger ball motion to the entry level performance group for DV8. Along with its higher performance core the Misfit offers a smoother motion through the lanes with plenty of power to spare.

With two Misfits being offered in two different awesome color combinations we went a little stronger all around with the Magenta/Yellow Misfit and later we can compare the Orange/Blue one to it for layout differences.

We expect to see a really smooth motion in the heads and mid-lane with a strong but controllable motion off the breakpoint. Given that DV8 has kept a stronger core we do expect to still see plenty of movement overall but rolled up into something that can handle drier conditions then the Reckless and Hell Raiser.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
Holy smokes batman what a good ball reaction.

Do not let the price or performance category fool with with the Misfit. This ball means business and can hang with any other at this price point or even a few above it. The Class 1 Reactive coverstock with high polish finish does allow the Misfit to easily get down lane before reading friction but once it gets there watch out, it goes left and hits like a freight train.

I was expecting the length part of this ball test and I expected to see moderate movement on the backend but I was pleasantly surprised to see how much movement I was able to create if I wanted to with this ball. I think this will be a great choice for versatility on lighter volume conditions
and I can say from my next ball test that slight variations in the layout will change ball motion but still give you what you are looking for.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by John Congdon 08/31/2011 13:35 ( stars)

23 of 28 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
PAP    4 1/2 over, 0 up
 

Click to Enlarge
Pin to PAP(4 1/2" over 0" up) - 4"
Dual Angel Layout - 40° x 4" x 40°
Balance Hole - 1" x 3" deep (approx. 4" right of thumb)

Surface Prep - Out of Box (500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish)

Welcome to the world of DV8 bowling. The Misfit is a bowling ball you are sure to remember. It comes in a couple of wild colors including (Magenta/Yellow and Blue/Orange). The Blue and Orange on remind of the the University of Florida colors.

The Misfit bowling balls are fantastic polished bowling balls meant for drier lane conditions. They allow you to play a tighter line easier than you can with the higher performance bowling balls.

Again, using the word performance can be bad. Just because this isn't labeled a pro performance, doesn't make it worse than the DV8 Hell Raiser. They just roll differently and this one doesn't hook as much, but it still hooks!

If you are a beginner, you need to find equipment that you are comfortable with. And a great analogy is that of golf. Your not gonna use a driver, on the putting green, and you shouldn't be using a putter off the tee. You use the right equipment for the job. In bowling we equate the pro performance line to the driver. However, we don't call the driver a pro performance golf club. And we don't call the sand wedge an entry level golf club.

However, I digress and I hope my point was made. The DV8 Misfit Bowling Balls are phenomenal. They roll great and deserve a spot in your arsenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop 10/19/2011 14:19 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
The DV8 Misfit has high Rg/ medium differential core under Class 1 Reactive coverstock. This ball is very clean through the front and mid lane before making a predictable continuous motion on the back end. This ball is great for light oil volumes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Kenny Lawson @ Aloma Bowl Pro Shop


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 09/22/2011 16:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The new series from DV8 will fill all your needs they have Two Misfits that will give length and backend. DV8 has a warranty two years from the date of purchase. If you want a ball that your friends will notice get a new DV8 Misfit.
Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: RB2 11/17/2011 20:50 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    192
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 3/4 x 1/2 up
 
I bought this ball for medium to medium-dry conditions.Iwanted a solid reactive ball that had lenght and continuation at the back-end.Sometimes pearl balls can be snappy or Iwould sometimes get over-under.This is the first solid-reactive ball that gave the lenght Ineeded and the continuation at the back-end witout having to make an adjustment every other frame.If you do have to make an adjustment it comes back and plenty of recovery if you miss right. The carry is fantastic.This may be thier entry level ball but, it plays like a high performance one.Didn't mind getting the free towel either! FANTASTIC piece of equipment at a bargain price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by RB2


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: HaOsLsE 02/09/2013 15:44 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    215
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
Men's league loves my new ball.

I didn't realize it was so pink from the name Magenta/Yellow. There is quite a bit of pink...and of course my men's league nagged me. We now nicknamed my ball "Pinky".

Anyways...they can call it whatever they want...this ball hit surprisingly hard. With the my league having 5 man teams...the lanes dry up pretty quick. This ball still has enough go get down the lane...and VERY strong on the back end still. I still laugh on how hard the pins fly and bounce around with this ball. This ball actually has more messengers than my hell raiser. I've killed a couple 10s thinking they were gonna stand.

This ball has plenty of hook and pocket crushing power...and you cannot beat it at this price. There are entry balls that cost more.

Buy it.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Jinggirl 09/23/2012 00:12 ( stars)


 
I have a love-hate relationship with this ball. It is very absorbent like a sponge, so needs to be soaked at least once in very hot water for 15 minutes (maybe even 2-3x) on a weekly basis to make sure it does not absorb too much oil and die/not hook at all (i play at least 12 games a week). Scotch-brite and proshop resurfacing also helps when it seems not to hook as much. Also needs to be wrapped in a light colored towel since it absorbs dark colored dyes and tends to stain - my ball is already stained and looks like a camoflage ball from the dark colored seesaw I had kept it in in my bowling bag. Seems pretty high maintenance...

Having said all that, this ball is fantastic once you find your line. Excellent for medium lanes and league conditions, with unbelievable pin action - the pins keep falling! This ball is perfect for multi-pin spares and once you get your adjustments on the lane right, it is a good ball for every kind of spare as well. I have gotten my highest scores at league with this ball, and improved my average by approximately 40 pins. Recommended with the cautions given above, so you can keep your ball looking good and performing well.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Jinggirl


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Sparewhiffer 04/24/2012 17:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I asked my 'Pro Shop Guy' for a ball to use when the lanes are dry, or the condition becomes destroyed. He gave me a Misfit.

It was a good choice. It hooks and it hits hard.

It's as 'good' as my more expensive balls, it just doesn't hook as much as my Pursuit or Frantic, and it doesn't read as early as my Mission or Omen.

If I don't 'love' a ball, i get rid of it right away...I'll be keeping this one.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sparewhiffer


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: Sparewhiffer 04/17/2012 09:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Love it? Not so sure about that...it's not a 'huge monster' that splashes pins all over the place all by itself, nor does it plow through oil, or turn left 4/5s of the way down the lane, but for what I bought it for, it does a great job. I'll give it a 'love' because it's price is so low, and it looks really, really cool.

I'm a 220 bowler, with medium speed and low(ish) revs compared to most bowlers in my range. I use the Misfit when:
a) the lanes are dry and my 'big' balls simply hook too much or burn out before they get to the pins.
b) the conditions have broken down or are just real tough, and I don't want the ball to over-react when it smells oil, or gets near a dry board
c) the 'line' is 'outside' 10, and I can't get a 'bigger' ball all the way down the lane, playing the right side of the lane.

This is not a weak ball. This ball does hook. This ball does hit hard...real hard.

I really don't know why it's not as expensive as a lot of other balls. It's just as good...it's just different. In fact, on a lot of lane conditions, it's better than the $200 balls because it helps me shoot higher scores on lane conditions in which the more expensive balls are simply too strong for the conditions I'm facing.
plus...it does look really, really cool.
:)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Sparewhiffer


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: ccasey@linerlaw.com 11/28/2011 10:43 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    150
Style    Stroker
 
It just arrived - haven't had a chance to use it yet ... as soon as I do - I will write another review

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: cranker437 11/23/2011 14:24 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    187
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
DV8 has put out a very solid line of bowling balls. The misfit is a pearl ball in which i use for medium oil lanes. it has a strong back end and is very universal on the lanes. playing the inside with a small back end fire into the pins or playing the outside and snapping it back in. it POUNDS the pocket!! i could not be happier with the ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cranker437


DV8 Misfit Magenta/Yellow 16 Only Reviewed By: mouse1675@nycap.rr.com 09/28/2011 12:21 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Intermediate (I hook the ball a little)
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Stroker
 
This is a great ball at an even better price point! This ball can MOVE!! I have a slow ball speed and I still get great carry and pin reaction with this ball! I love the line and look forward to new releases! Thank you DV8!! Tonight We Bowl!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 01/27/2012 16:59 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
The DV8 Misfit Green/White is here and this one looks awesome rolling down the lane I swear it gets bigger. The strong continuous backend will make one of your favorite new balls for most lane conditions.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: maslak10@hotmail.com 02/19/2012 01:25 ( stars)

20 of 21 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Told u I would come back and I did. WOW! I still love it! This ball is more than awsome looks. I got this ball drilled to go longer and snap hard and it does just that. Almost more than my Theory that I just bought(which is drilled for max). About 5 boards less. They need to go ahead and more this ball to the advanced preformance category.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by maslak10@hotmail.com


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: schneidey318 02/02/2012 00:37 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    232
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This ball is great, definately worth the money I paid for it. I needed something for medium to light oil patterns and for when the lanes begin to breakdown and the Misfit was better than I was expecting. The only thing I had to change was the surface from 500 polish to 2000 polish but nonetheless, if youre looking for something weak with an angular backend, this is it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: bannachb 02/27/2012 21:34 ( stars)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


 
DRILL PATTERN
60*x3 ½” x 30*

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 525 – 550 RPM
Ball Speed: 20 MPH at Release
PAP/Track: 5 ¼ x ¾ Up
Axis Rotation: 65*
Axis Tilt: 12*

SURFACE PREP
Grit: 500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polish

LANE CONDITION
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): THS and USBC Blue 2

BALL REACTION
Length: Great Length
Back End: Very Strong
Overall Hook: Medium hook
Midlane Read: Reads the Midlane well.
Breakpoint Shape: Very Angular

The Misfit is so much more than an entry level ball. While it is listed as the entry level ball for the DV8 brand, this ball performs better than many mid-range balls I have thrown from other companies. The ball packs an abundance of performance. My strongest drilled Misfit is quickly becoming my favorite ball. When this ball starts to make its move, it does not quit. I can play from the deepest angles on the lane and the ball rolls through the 8 pin every single time. Being a high speed player I usually have a hard time getting a ball to go this far down the lane and still make the strong angular move this ball makes. It is amazing how this ball goes through the pins. On a fresh THS this ball has slightly too much push, but when the shot breaks down this ball has no problems. I can see this ball being my go to ball on some lower volume, longer sport patterns.

Likes: The ball motion through the pins that this ball creates. And the amazing Lime Green and White color!

Dislikes: NONE!

Bryan Bannach
DV8 Regional Staff Member

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bannachb


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: Pogz 08/14/2012 16:05 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Sport Shot Average    170
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
This ball is AMAZING. For an Entry level ball this thing FLIES. I drilled it pin up and it stores so much energy for the backend and hits like a Mac Truck, & I can also keep my hand up the back of the ball (To play straighter) and it doesn't lose drive or carry. Not to mention, it looks pretty cool going down the lane, All in all a great ball

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: SouthpawSmash 04/02/2012 07:16 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
If you are looking for a medium oil ball, don't look any further! This ball is easily the best ball i have ever throw. A simple hooking ball with glorious colors but scorecards do not lie. I can throw 250-260 all night long. I drilled mine up 75x4&3/4x35. I am a cranker with 205 average.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: bubba3414513@yahoo.com 02/20/2012 22:03 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    180-185
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    4.5 over .5 up
 
great ball...hits hard and gets through the oil with ease even though it supposed to be the entry level ball. A+++

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: Dayton.D 02/14/2012 15:37 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
I drilled the ball with 60 x 5" x 30 the ball goes about 45 feet and lines up in the pocket perfect. I could think of a better ball to have in my bag when I go for tournaments. This ball its a must have ball for every bowler. Im a 210 Average bowler, Right handed, Cranker

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: t.heidt 02/02/2012 10:57 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
This DV8 ball is a strong ball and keeps getting stonger it has a very smooth roll and recovers very strong off the break point and doesnt stop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: bo2016 04/30/2013 20:19 ( stars)


 
This bowling ball is AMAZING!! I got it last Saturday and it was awesome. So I decided to take it to league with me this Monday night and we was having a shoot out and I won on my two lanes and my first score was 198 my second was around 160 but I gotten loose some then my last game it was a 177. I love this ball and i'm still just getting use to it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: cspringer.devel@gmail.com 04/07/2013 12:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    217
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 11/16 right - 5/16 up
 
I bought this ball because of the reasonable price-to-performance ratio offered by this piece of equipment. That combined with my positive experience with other DV8 equipment made me curious. I needed a weaker ball in my bag for the burnt-up THS at my home house and this ball seemed to fit the bill. I was amazed at the continuation through the pins from this ball! My first night with it I threw an award score 11 in a row 290...and I was convinced I made the right decision. Not only was this ball continuous through the pins, I had a TON of room to miss and still carry. I could tug the ball 3-4 boards inside and it would hold. I could miss outside by 2-3 board and it would recover! Simply amazing for the price!

As a reference, the following are my stats:

PAP: 5 3/4 right - 1 up
Rev Rate: 290-320
Tilt: 7 degrees
Rotation: 45-60 degrees
Speed: 18.5 off hand
Dual Angle Layout: 40 x 3.5 x 60 (Control Layout for Dry THS)

OOB stats for ball:
1.9 oz. top-weight
4-6 in. pin distance

You can check out my video for this layout here:
http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=plcp&v=O_sG9Mu0Tz0

Nice job again DV8 with such a fair-priced, high performance product


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by cspringer.devel@gmail.com


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: dexter321 02/01/2013 20:24 ( stars)


 
Wow just got this ball today. Needed a less aggressive ball but still wanted some power. Just blew me away. It has power and is able to hook at the same time if drilled for hook. Glad I decied d to go with this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: tlcobb1124 09/20/2012 20:39 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    138
Ball Speed    Medium
 
I just got this ball today and I LOVE it!!!!...my first game i shot a 168!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by tlcobb1124


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: catty2 06/27/2012 11:49 ( stars)


 
Great ball! Everything it was supposed to be. Used a l4 lb ball last night and shot a 205,234, 280 out of the box. scores got better as lanes dried out.I am 74 with a 173 avg. Drilled it with a big flip! Hard to believe this is an 80 dollar ball. Highly rocommended!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: jeff kelley 06/23/2012 22:02 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5.25 by 7/8 up
 
I have this ball drilled pin up with cg out about 1/2 inch.Ball glides thru heads with a nice angular motion on backend.Have ball polished to 2000 abralon pad.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff kelley


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: bigbenner 06/18/2012 21:48 ( stars)


 
I just bought the dv8 misfit green and white and use it straight out of the box drilled to go long and normal backend bowl a 210 210 and 277 for a 697 highest ever best ball i ever had hits the pocket hard great for medium oil just get it to the outside and watch that beast come back in and crush the pocket if u dont have a dv8 misfit green and white this ball is the truth

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: maslak10@hotmail.com 02/18/2012 01:17 ( stars)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Just came in the mail earlier finally!!! Did ship from Cali to Jacksonville though 5 days. Man the color on this thing is awsome! get a 5 just for that. Gettin it drilled tomorrow and I will write another review.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by maslak10@hotmail.com


DV8 Misfit Green/White MEGA DEAL Reviewed By: twohandedcrank 02/05/2012 15:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
This ball is fantastic. It has a great response to friction. Easily strikes on house and short patterns. Very smoothe and has unbelievable carry for a mid performance ball. Dont let the price fool you, this thing hits!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by twohandedcrank


Read all 49 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter