Go to 900 Global Train »

Only show reviews for 900 Global Train

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.92Write a Review    Read all 13 reviews

I Love It
 
92% (12 of 13)
I Like It
 
8% (1 of 13)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 13)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 13)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 13)

900 Global Train Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 01/06/2012 16:59 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge

The “Train” features the S76 cover and NEAT-E finish collaborated with a unique new core
design that allow for unprecedented on lane performance.


Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/8"
Dual Angle Layout - 50* x 5 1/8" x 65*
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (E=performance of 1500 grit)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
With a high performance cover and a symmetrical weight block we were expecting the Train to live up to the hype we had heard before drilling the ball. This layout is a pretty simple one and one that I use on a number of different symmetrical core ball tests.

I expected to see a good amount of clearance through the heads with a really strong mid lane roll and an angular backend motion.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
I was surprisingly pleased with the overall ball motion the Train offered. I was able to get it through the heads easily and never really saw any signs of an early motion. As the ball transitioned into the midlane it really picked up and started to shine for me.

The motion from the arrows to the pin deck was awesome. It revved up strong and stored plenty of energy to make an aggressive motion on the backends.
From start to finish I really liked this ball and thought it offered a different look to 900 Globals current line up, giving the bowler
a strong symmetrical core ball in a high performance category.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


900 Global Train Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 02/10/2012 17:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
900 Global Train is exactly what they say it will do . The “Combustion Core will give a smooth roll in heavy oil with a controlled move in the back. Also a sweet offer for a Train Jersey that will be your new favorite bowling shirt.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


900 Global Train Reviewed By: couleurlove 05/02/2013 18:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Sport Shot Average    184
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This is one of the best balls I own. Right out of the box, I shot 800. It has a great look and smooth roll-out finish. Versatile for many styles of bowling on various lane conditions. For those down and in bowlers, it's great for medium to oily conditions. For the out and in crankers, this is a great ball for tournaments. It gets down the lane and comes up with a nice finish to the pocket. Can't go wrong with this ball!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by couleurlove


900 Global Train Reviewed By: David W. 04/04/2012 14:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
 
This ball is my favorite 900 Global ball so far. I drilled it with a strong layout that has a lot of backend and that is exactly what it is. Every part of the lane was playable with a simple wrist adjustment with this layout/ball. Also this ball hits like the name suggests...a TRAIN!

For anyone looking for a strong ball that absolutely crushes the pocket I highly recommend this ball.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by David W.


900 Global Train Reviewed By: perfectfitproshopjason 02/16/2012 17:45 ( stars)


 
The train is a great symmetric ball if you want something that hooks and continues through the pins. My train has a layout of 65X4X35. This ball had a short pin for me so I drilled it with one of my more favorite layouts of pin over ring. Even with the surface being dull the ball clears the front and stores up energy. It doesnt burn up and quit like some other dull balls would. I haven't had as much of a chance to use it around the area where I bowl we just don't have enough volume of oil on house shots to get more then a game or 2 before having to make a switch to something weaker. Overall a great looking ball with great performance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by perfectfitproshopjason


900 Global Train Reviewed By: Gunny 02/13/2012 20:29 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 3/4 x 1 up
 
My initial thinking was to have the Train replace the Requiem I was missing for my heavy oiler. The Train is no doubt a strong ball, but comes up short to the Requiem in that category. Just missing it by a smidge, and just a smidge stronger than the AMF Mega Recovery. Still plenty of hook in the box for tweeners and above.

For me, the Train gets through the heads well(as long as there\\\'s a bit oil), with a nice midlane read. Strong and continuous on the backend, carrying through the pin deck. Very strong, yet smooth and controllable ball motion, that is easy to read. Reminds me of the AMF Grip\\\'s ball motion. When the lanes start to dry, the Train will find it early, making it easy for you to make adjustments. I found small adjustments don\\\'t work to well, I usually make a 3-1 move left when I see the ball checking up.

As far as carrying, and keeping pins low, your guess is as good as mine. All that is hype and over excitement. My opinion is, make shots, and hopefully they all fall. Make your own assessment after watching the video.

The video is over 5mins long. A lot of shots in there. Each shot in the video is in succession of one another. I left the bad in there with the good. You see the breakdown in the lanes, and the adjustments I made. There is a few shots of the Nuts Pearl, showing you how much of a monster it is on busted up lanes, equaling the hook of the Train. The lanes are 2-3yr old Brunswick Anvilanes. Not much oil, and a lot of friction. I threw the Creature(video included also) on the lane for a game and a half before I started with the Train.

My final thoughts on the Train is, I love the roll of it, the predictability, readability, and overall lane consistency of it so far. That is why I bought two of them. How much more I will like it will depend on the sport shot review. My only problem now is, it\\\'s taking lane time away from my Blackout, Raging Bull Charged, and Nuts Pearl.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Gunny


900 Global Train Reviewed By: mbigum 01/24/2012 04:14 ( stars)


 
When I received this ball, I wanted to be able to use the ball on my sport league and on the fresh house condition. I drilled the ball with a 4” X 3” layout and box condition. I was quite satisfied with the way the ball eased thru the front part of the lane and when it hit mid lane it really showed its strength. I then hit the ball with a T-pad and it gave me about two more feet of fade before it picked up. I am going to drill another one use the T-pad with the pin above my fingers with cg kicked out for when the front and the middle of the lanes start to go away. This is the best and most versatile ball from 900 Global I have used, a must-have for your bag…….

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mbigum


900 Global Train Reviewed By: frogjam4@gmail.com 01/15/2012 16:01 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    205
 
I recently picked up a Train and had it drilled similar to Tony Rouco's ball in the reaction video. This ball definitely lives up to the hype. Very smooth roll through the midlane and packs a huge punch in the pocket. When the Train hits the pocket the pins do not stand a chance. The factory finish and new coverstock on this ball will work the best on mid to heavy oil. On dryer lanes this ball can start to get a little unpredictable and it will make you work a little harder. But overall I really enjoy throwing this ball and consider it a big winner for 900 Global. I suggest picking one up and trying it out yourself.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by frogjam4@gmail.com


900 Global Train Reviewed By: evans800 01/10/2012 22:51 ( stars)


 
I drilled mine pin over my bridge with the cg under my bridge, then took the coverstock to the T finish and then polished it. I was trying to get this ball down lane knowing that this was a very strong ball. The hybrid cover gives the ball a smooth roll in the middle part of lane and still has a strong backend.Buy this ball and get a free jersey just pay s&h.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by evans800


900 Global Train Reviewed By: zerocool 01/10/2012 15:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Hands down best ball I've thrown from Global so far. The symmetric core combined with it's strong hybrid Coverstock is a perfect combination for versatility. This ball looks great shined or with stronger surface.

My first worry with this ball was it wasn't going to get through the front part of the lane very easily and store enough energy on the back, boy I was wrong! It has a very strong controlled reaction downlane. Also, because it's symmetrical, you'll have no problem starting right and then moving in as the lanes break down. I myself run into a lot of issues moving in and watching the ball burn up not making the corner and leaving weak corner pins. With the train, I can just increase my axis rotation a little and I have no problem kicking out corners.

Do yourself a favor and get a train! CHOOO CHOOOO!!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by zerocool


900 Global Train Reviewed By: Edrock1969 01/10/2012 07:16 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    235
Sport Shot Average    197
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 15/16 x 5/16 up
 
When I got this ball, I wanted to be able to use it on my late league on synthetics where the lanes are a wet dry condition. I wanted ball to retain some energy down the lane, so I used an "a" pad using NEAT finishing system. Then I used a "t" pad and then put a dirty rag on ball just to put a little gloss on it. My pap is 5 15/16 by 5/16 up, I layed ball out with a 12 o clock pin and kicked cg out about half an inch with no hole. So I took it to league that night and hadn't thrown it yet. The results speak for themselves, I shot 300 and 783 at one point I threw 20 in a row. The way this new core just retains energy down the lane, visually the ball shape reminds me of the old Hammer 3d offset. This ball just responds to what I want to do with it. I throw it harder and it saves energy for the down the lane, I throw it slower and it makes a great move in the mids and keeps the pins low. I am going to drill another one with layout real close to what previous reviewer Tony Ruocco has on his video for my sport league. This one's a winner!! A must-have!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Edrock1969


900 Global Train Reviewed By: Mike@Bowlingball.com 01/06/2012 17:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" Right -1/8" Up
 

Click to Enlarge

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 7/8"
Dual Angle Layout - 55* x 5 ?” x 40*
Balance Hole - None

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (E pad from NEAT system)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
I was expecting this ball to be a fairly strong midlane ball with more continuation through the pin deck being a matte finished pearl reactive with a strong symmetrical core. We kept the pin much further from my PAP to get the ball down lane due to my rev rate being higher than average.

As with most high performance symmetric equipment I knew that this ball would be very predictable at the breakpoint. Utilizing a longer pin, we were able to keep the CG lower in the thumb quadrant along with using more aggressive drilling angles to get the ball to read the lanes aggressively.


What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This ball was everything I expected and more. Being a higher rev player, I tend to favor the pearl symmetric equipment. Also bowling on more sport patterns I have grown accustomed to taking shine off a ball so that I can use it deeper in a multi game set. This ball is perfect for both fresh lanes and as they break down because it is predictable when it hits friction. Even with the strong length and backend layout used, we noticed that it would not take off once it hits the dry like many other pearl bowling balls do. You can see by our video that even playing more toward the track area of the Tony and Curlie, the ball reads the friction without over reacting and going through the face. With that being said, I was surprised by how well it held line when I moved deeper and provided a nice skid snap reaction.

The predictability of this ball along with its incredible versatility to play different lines on a variety of patterns makes this ball a definite must have. I can honestly say that this ball will be a great addition to anyone’s arsenal whether you bowl on house conditions or tournament. Knowing exactly what your ball will do as soon as it hits the lane is a feeling that is hard to describe.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mike@Bowlingball.com


900 Global Train Reviewed By: vincentbravo92@yahoo.com 01/03/2012 01:55 ( stars)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


 
This ball hits like a TRAIN. Drilled with a 1 3/4 inch leverage. Nice continious turn and doesn't spike when it hits a dry spot.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Read all 13 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter