Go to Roto Grip Defiant »

Only show reviews for Roto Grip Defiant

Customer Reviews          Average: 4.81Write a Review    Read all 37 reviews

I Love It
 
89% (33 of 37)
I Like It
 
5% (2 of 37)
It's Ok
 
3% (1 of 37)
I Don't Like It
 
3% (1 of 37)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 37)

Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: bowlingball.com reviews by Tony Ruocco 12/22/2011 13:54 ( stars)

1257 of 1266 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" over 1/8" up
 

Click to Enlarge


At Roto Grip, we rule the lanes! And you better have your game in gear if you want the same.


Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/4"
PSA Layout - 5 1/4 x 3 3/4" x 4"
Balance Hole - n/a

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (3000 Grit Abralon)

What I Was Looking For In This Ball Layout:
We knew the new Roto Grip Defiant was going to be one of the strongest balls in their line since the original Cell. Knowing this we wanted to make sure that the layouts used would suit the ball in its out of box finish on our THS pattern. This layout has become a regular in my test videos and I think gives me a really good look from start to finish.

We expected to see this ball react pretty strong to friction with a continuous motion downlane.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
What I ended up with in the new Defiant was possibly the best High Performance ball ever from Roto.

On our fresh typical house shot this ball was everything you would want. Even with its 3000 grit Abralon finish the Defiant cleared the heads smoothly. In the part of the lane I was playing I never really saw it read the heads early and it transitioned perfectly into the middle part of the lane.

As it got into the middle section of the lane it picked up a very strong roll and really made a nice move into the back ends where it just exploded into the pocket. I had so much area with this ball due to how strong it was down lane. I swear in some of the shots that did not make our video I would miss by an arrow and the ball would get back to the pocket.

All in all I could see where this ball would be a little strong as the night went on but I could easily see where this ball would react great with some polish on the cover. If you threw the Virtual Gravity series from Storm and wished that Roto Grip had something comparable, here it is. The Defiant will go up against the strongest balls released this year and definitely hold its own.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 01/27/2012 16:54 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Defiant is the new ball for heavy oil. The roll is strong and the backend will always make that strong move when you need it. The new Micro bite cover is very versatile if you need more length just add polish and get more length and a stronger angle to the pocket.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: Mike@Bowlingball.com 12/22/2011 12:38 ( stars)

542 of 550 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    215
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/8" Right -1/8" Up
 

Click to Enlarge

Roto Grip, King Of Them All!!

Pin to PAP(5 1/8" over 1/8" up) - 5 1/4"
PSA Layout - 5 ¼” x 4” x 2 ½”
Balance Hole - N/A

Surface Preparation - Out of Box (3000 Abralon)

What I Was Expecting From This Layout:
Based on past high performance solids from Roto Grip, we knew this ball was going to be a hook monster. We wanted to give a good comparison using Tony’s Pin down, and my Pin up layouts. We kept the Pin to PAP distance identical, but wanted the layouts to show how different the ball can be by altering the MB to PAP distance and Pin Buffer.

5 ¼” Pin to PAP is typically in the more aggressive zone for layouts with my rev rate and speed. We still thought it would get down lane with a strong backend motion. And like most other Roto Grip bowling balls, we fully expected a very clean ball through the fronts with a lot of backend movement.

What I Ended Up With in the Ball and Layout:
This ball hooked much much more than I had originally anticipated. The strong coverstock and core, combined with the stronger layout used almost made this ball too much for me. I can honestly say that we could have used much more oil and we would have still seen a ton of movement out of this ball.

The Defiant from Roto Grip will be an excellent choice for anyone looking for a strong ball on heavier oiled conditions. The mid lane roll from this ball was way more anything I have ever seen come from Roto Grip. This ball is like a Cell on steroids. When it wants to hook, just get out of its way.

I have since thrown this ball on both heavier volume shots out of box and some other house patterns with some polish added. This ball can handle any amount of oil and really takes to surface changes very well. Polished it was like a completely different ball. Same overall hook, but further down lane and much more angular.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Mike@Bowlingball.com


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: senor roto grip 12/24/2011 12:14 ( stars)

8 of 14 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    213
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 5/8 x 11/16
 
I used a 4 x 4 x 1 layout on my Defiant (see pic). The x-tra hole was placed 1" from my PAP to produce a hook/stop reaction on the back end. Shot 703 with it the first time out on a fresh house condition bowling with the kids on beat the coach day.

The Paragon core was smooth through the heads, revved up easily in the mid-lane, and provided a strong, continuous movement through the pins. The 3000 abralon, Microbite coverstock reacted evenly off the friction. Energy retention in the Defiant is excellent.

As the first ball in the new Royal Line, the Defiant will provide bowlers with a ball that gets through the oil, reads the mid-lane, and reacts evenly off the break point with strong pin hit. Surface adjustments for more or less oil volume can easily be made by hand or on a ball spinner.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by senor roto grip


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: mikelj 12/30/2011 06:05 ( stars)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    214
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 

I had my ball drilled with the pin down below the fingers. (25? X 4 ½ X 70? )This provided me with a strong midlane roll and a very effective continuous, backend! I was able to play 3-4 boards left of where I would normally play with the Critical Theory. One noticeable difference with this ball is the way it takes out the corner pins. Some of my in-between hits that would normally result in a weak 10 pin are being tripped off. This gives me the hooking power and reaction I need on the longer oil patterns.

The Microbite technology coverstock gives me the look and the down lane reaction I am looking for. With this cover I don’t have to worry about the lanes getting burned up. This ball gets through the head and maintains its power all night long. What a great addition to my arsenal.

The Defiant, Critical Theory, Shooting Star, Bandit and Outlaw provides me with everything I need to handle most conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by mikelj


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: YANKEEMAN 01/05/2012 22:43 ( stars)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    219
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4" right 1/8" up
 
I drilled my Defiant 4 x 4 x 1, 4" pin to PAP, 4"PSA to PAP and 1"pin buffer to VAL.It has a 3/4" balance hole 5"right of grip center.
I was pleasantly surprised to see how easily this matte finished ball got through the heads to the mid lane. The ball read and reacted very nicely in the midlane, started revving up and changing direction. By the time it hit the backend it was in 3rd gear, very smoothly but also strong and continuous. Not too snappy, but smooth, angular and continuous. on the back end the micro bite shell is grabbing hard. I would say this ball deflects less and rolls harder than any thing. This combination gives me better carry than anything I can remember. i carry a few more 10 pins per night than I did before, this keeps those strings alive and improves scores.
If I had to compare it to a previous ball Its like a combination of the Epic and the Quest but revs up a little better.
The only negative quality is it starts to burn up when the head oil starts to disipate and that can be remedied by higher grit Abralon.This is a must for medium to heavy oil, and tournament bowlers.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by YANKEEMAN


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: tatkins85@hotmail.com 01/12/2012 14:40 ( stars)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Best ball i have used hands down. my list is short but here is a couple balls i have thrown and i love this ball the best. VG Nano, anarchy, c system's, black widows. I love how this ball get farther down the lane before making its move then any other solid i have thrown but yet it is not a polished ball. it hits harder and get more pin action then any ball i have thrown or seen.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: M333_01 01/16/2012 19:28 ( stars)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    221
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
I didn't think this ball lived up to the HYPE out of the box. But IF YOU POLISH this ball it becomes a different ANIMAL. I get the HOOK and LENGTH I was looking for when I decided to buy this ball now that I've polished this ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by M333_01


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: grstorm 01/13/2012 22:13 ( stars)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


 
Hand: Left
Ball Speed: 16-17mph
Ball Weight: 15lbs
PAP: 5 left 7/16 up
Degrees of Tilt: 17
Layout: 5 x 3.5 x 3

I drilled the defiant with the pin above the bridge and the mass bias an inch away from my thumb. The ball gives me a clean read through the heads with an even back end reaction. The defiant is a great all around ball for many types of bowlers. It is not a big flip ball so you can get a lot of control and it does not lack on power on the back end for a even ball. I did not think the defiant was going to be stronger than the Virtual Gravity Nano, but once I compared the two I got about 4 to 5 boards more recovery with the Defiant which was really surprising. With the way the ball is designed it is driller friendly so you can use your favorite layout with no problem. The first night of league with the defiant I shot 747 with the factory surface on it. If you are looking for a ball that is an overall strong ball this is the one for you!

Garrett Richardson
Storm/Vise Inserts Amateur Staff
The Bowler’s Advantage


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by grstorm


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: wigg@embarqmail.com 02/10/2014 18:03 ( stars)


 
Started bowling again after 12 years. Kenny in the Pro Shop recommended this ball. Averaged 220 composite over three leagues. Bowled two 299s and a 300 the first year with it. Even though it is no longer produced if you can get one, get it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by wigg@embarqmail.com


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: WSUDBomb 11/15/2012 13:34 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
First off, I'd like to state that I bowl for Wright State University in Fairborn, Ohio. I recently purchased this ball (along with the Shatter and Berserk, both fantastic balls) and I absolutely love it. I tend to have slightly less hand in the ball, but the Defiant gives me the power and hook to allow me to play more angled shots rather than straight up like I normally do. It has opened up my repertoire to where I can play anywhere from up the ditch to deep inside, and I love it. I look forward to purchasing more amazing Roto Grip bowling balls in the future!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: Ballinup1006 08/21/2012 17:18 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    187
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
This ball is great! It gives me the backend i needed, and its very controllable! I have it drilled 4' X 4' X 2'. I only have 20 games on this ball, but it has given me everything I wanted! I also own a Roto Grip Nomad Dagger, and that ball has a great reaction for me as well! Roto Grip is just a great brand! I highly recommend this ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: The German Shepherd 08/18/2012 18:29 ( stars)


 
I had been hearing great things about the Defiant, though I have not seen too many at my local bowling house. I knew that I needed a ball that could handle the longish pattern at my local house (45') and have the ability to chew it's way through carried down oil.

I asked my pro-shop owner (a good fellow named "Jules") to drill it up as close to 4x4x1 as he could and this was not easy since the pin was about 1.5-2 inches. I wanted a ball that could clear the heads, read the mid-lanes and make a huge move at the back-end. He placed an x-hole near my PAP (4.75 over and .75 up).

When I got to the lanes, we got a pair that had some carry down; the number of games thrown on the pair was around 15 games mostly with polyester lanes balls.

Out of the box, I threw 246/197/227 - not to bad. The ball made a HUGE move on the back end and carried every high-flush ball I threw. I did leave a few 10s and a few 7s but I fault the fact that there were probably 6 or so broken pins (meaning DEAD) in both lanes and this really kills your carry.

The Defiant is an excellent ball. It will make a fantastic compliment to my Critical Theory....

Jay


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by The German Shepherd


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: MrSmartJohnson 08/06/2012 16:23 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    175
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
This Roto Grip Defiant is an Awesome Ball! It's in between my Nano and Tabbo blueelectric! This ball hits like being run over by a Mack Truck! I thought my Taboo hit Hard! I started with a 160 average when Bowlingball.com notified me I had won the Defiant! A month later I rolled 187 pins over average with it and have seen Nothing but 200++'s with it. Bowled my first 685 scratch with it! Took a while to find the right ball for my style of throwing and this Defiant is Definately IT!
You cannot go wrong with this ball! It is also very forgiving too!

Thanks again Bowlingball.com for such a Sweet ball that you let me win! I will be a Forever Customer, love your prices, Free Shipping and Customer Service!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by MrSmartJohnson


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: jlimbeck852@gmail.com 08/01/2012 01:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    225
Sport Shot Average    218
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    5 1/4 over 1/8 up
 
This was the first time I have strayed from buying a Hammer bowling ball, and boy do I regret it... I have this ball drilled for a long roll with a hard backend move... what I got was a strong arc with little continuation. I would not recommend this ball to any of my friends.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jlimbeck852@gmail.com


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 07/28/2012 08:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Roto Grip Defiant #5 serial#12RDED03K013 layout: 65 x 5 ½ x 40
Drilled this Defiant to compliant my two new EDGES and my new Critical Theory I drilled for the upcoming tournament season. Mainly, did this for longer sport patterns I will be seeing. Tested on Dead Man’s Curve, Highway to Hell and Mexico City on HPL… Found the length and the hook angle ideal for these patterns, the ball was too strong on HPL house and on the SPL house pattern it was MONEY… Love the length this layout gave me, it did not burn up in the front part of the lane on SPL and still had plenty of backend and pocket angle. I drilled a number of these balls for some of my customers at HBC in Hanover, because the SPL is new and the lane pattern is super tight. If you bowl in a center with a tight house pattern, this BALL is for you.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: bklynguy1 05/25/2012 16:05 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    204
Ball Speed    Slow
Style    Tweener
 
Just got the Roto Grip Defiant with a 3 inch pin.
had it drilled with the pin below but between the fingers but the two fingers and kicked out with no weight hole.
have to say I simply love this ball. out of the box it reads the lanes and hit the pocket hard. I dont' throw a fast ball, my speed is varies from 13 to 15 mph depending on the oil conditions. but wow :)
I throw it out and it comes back hard.
anyone who wants a great Hooking ball this is a MUST HAVE.



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bklynguy1


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: coletheslawslaw@yahoo.com 05/24/2012 12:17 ( stars)


 
I love the Roto Grip Defiant bowling. i love how it hits the pins hard and how much i get the ball to hook

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by coletheslawslaw@yahoo.com


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: dmill76 04/28/2012 10:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    167
Style    Stroker
 
awesome ball. has a tremendous amount of controlled break and hits hard in the pocket. still had a few 10 pin shots but i greatly reduced the amount from about 7 or 8 in a 3-game series to just about 3 or less. light hits also carry well with this ball. after experimenting with foot position and release, i went from playing inside from around the 10th board to playing outside around the 20th board with a strong backend movement. i was getting frustrated trying different balls with the same results, little hook and backend until i tried the "defiant". glad i tried one more ball. this will definitely be my ball for the future, thanks rotogrip.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by dmill76


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: DTJJ 04/06/2012 02:13 ( stars)


 
Of all the other pro performance balls, my hats are off to this one. Even with my really low average revs of 300 rpms & 16 mph speeds, this ball ACTUALLY RETURNS IF I MISS 5 BOARDS RIGHT & DOESN'T OVERHOOK IF OTHERWISE. The perfect ball for me. The only downside to this ball is you have to resurface it every 80-100 games or it'll lose a lot of that backend pop.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: watson24@suddenlink.net 03/31/2012 22:52 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
PAP    4 up 1 1/4
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3 inches
Ball Weight: 15

DRILL PATTE
RNPin to PAP: 4.5
CG to PAP: 4.5
X Hole (if there is one): No hole

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 376
Ball Speed: 16 Qubica at the backend of the lane

PAP/Track: 4 up 1 1/4

SURFACE PREP
Grit: 3000 Factory
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Storm Step 2 Compound

LANE CONDITION
Length: 42

Volume: Med-Heavy
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc):THS

BALL REACTION
Length: 7
Back End: Good continuous arc 8

Overall Hook: 9
Midlane Read: 8
Breakpoint Shape: 8

COMMENTS
Likes: The Defiant was very clean through the fronts for a strong Asymmetrical Ball. But it has very good mid-lane read and doesn\'t squirt through the break-point. The Defiant showed its strength on our house shot when the backs very not very clean and had some carrydown. The ball didn\'t wiggle down lane like some balls would. We have over a 100 units of oil in the middle part of our house shot and defiant cut right through it and had a strong arcing motion on the back. Feedback from our customers was that they were amazed with the great carry they got from the Defiant.
This ball is will fit all styles of bowlers as the coverstock is very versatile. Along with the ball being driller friendly.
The high rev bowlers will have to add step 2 or some light polish.

Compared to Virtual Gravity Nano, the Defiant is cleaner through the fronts and has a little more backend motion.
Defiant is another great product from Storm/Roto Grip Family.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by watson24@suddenlink.net


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: L.Hoffman 03/31/2012 00:12 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
League Average    229
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
Likes:The new Defiant has lived up to all early reviews on the left & right side. As a Senior Lefty Stroker I found the ball is super both dull & shined...My dull ball has a 3 inch pin below ring finger & CG is kicked out 1 inch. My polished ball has the pin 1 inch left of ring finger..On house shot the shine gets the ball out & down lane on the dry with a strong back end. 3 700's in 1st 3 weeks of use. In a local Senior 9 game tournament changing lanes each game I used the dull box surface. I was able to stay in the oil & go straight up 12-13 and the ball went long with a smooth back end to the pocket & 10 in the pit, as a 290-2310 total for the win can attest. All other lefties were out in the dry & left lots of 7 pins...Larry Hoffman, RG Advisory Staff..



Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by L.Hoffman


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: petec 03/23/2012 12:25 ( stars)


 
Bought this ball to compliment my Critical Theory. Used same ball drilling of 4 x 4 x 2. I use this ball on my second league which uses more oil than first league. Have bowled twice with it and shot 664-704. Very happy with ball.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: mattas19 03/22/2012 22:00 ( stars)


 
i am a 190 average bowler. i am a tweener and just got this ball.
I have had this ball for 3 weeks now. I bowl in two leagues and havent bowled under a 600 yet. Its so strong it cuts through the oil and slams the pocket like its nothing.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: quilt64@charter.net 03/15/2012 17:08 ( stars)


 
I just started using this ball 2 weeks ago it is a perfect fit for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: JOEYF 03/06/2012 13:27 ( stars)


 
this ball does what is asked of it, had to move 5 boards left of normal shot, right handed bowler, usually shot storm or global 900

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: ztcox12@gmail.com 03/03/2012 14:19 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
bought this ball yesterday. i most definetly underestimated this ball. the first shot i threw almost hit the 7 pin. so i moved 10 boards left and threw it hard (about 19 mph) from about 30-5. and still hit brooklen. after i figured it out. (took me abuot 5-6 frames) my next game was 258! it may say on this website that this ball is a little weaker than the VG Nano solid. but in my opinion this ball is wayyyyy stronger!. dont underestimate this ball. it definetly exceeded my expectations. it glides really smooth through the front part of the lane and gives you the HUGE snap, that roto grip is famous for. 6 stars in my opinion.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by ztcox12@gmail.com


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: ramtough 02/26/2012 17:14 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    218
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I just purchased this ball about a week ago. Drilling was 4x4x3.
I was amazed at the consistancy and accuracy this ball and drilling possessed. this ball will play any part of the lane with great results. Thank you Hank Bomershine for making great products !!!!!!!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 02/21/2012 15:37 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
DEFIANT #4 – 50 X 3 3/16 X 70 PIN DOWN AND P3 HOLE AT 2000AB

INTENDED TO REPLACE A THEORY I HAD TO REPLACE A MUTANT CELL I HAD OVER 300 GAMES ON IT

TESTED ON 4 DIFFERENT HOUSE PATTERNS WITH WOOD, HPL, SPL, AND PRO-ANVIL
USED MAINLY ON HPL AND SPL FOR HOUSE PATTERNS ONLY. MY CURRENT BENCHMARK BALL. I FOUND THIS BALL BE HAVE THE MOST EVEN AND CONSTANT ROLL AND HOOK I SEEN IN AWHILE WITH A PIN UNDER DRILLING. ITS STRONG ENOUGH NOT TO BURN OUT IN THE FRONT PART OF THE LANE. I START WITH THIS BALL AT 3 OF THE 4 CENTERS I BOWL AT ON A WEEKLY BASIS. I SWITCH THEN TO A PIN UP, AND THEN TO A PIN UP POLISHED VERSION OF THE DEFIANT.
THIS IS MY 4 DEFIANT I HAD DRILLED AND ALL OF THEM ARE WORKING TO THEIR INTENDED USE. MOST VERSTILE BALL I FOUND SINCE THE ORGINIAL CELL.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: Roto Grip Rick 02/21/2012 15:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    200
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
DEFIANT #3 – 50 X 5 X 55 PIN ABOVE THE MIDDLE FINGER AND THE MASS IS LEFT OF THE THUMB AND THE CG IS OUT AT TO THE LEFT OF THE CENTER GRIP LINE

INTENDED USE FOR HEAVY OIL SPORT CONDITIONS WITH DRIER BACK END

TEST BALL ON TURNPIKE, DEAD MAN'S CURVE, AND AUTOBAHN AND A THS

FOUND THE BALL TO ROLL QUITE NICE ALL THE WAY DOWN THE LANE, IT WORKED TO MY ADVANTAGE TO HAVE THIS ONE LAYED OUT THIS WAY AND ANOTHER DRILL WITH A LITTLE MORE BACKEND IN IT. I ENJOYED USING THIS BALL ON SOME FRESH HOUSE SHOT WITH A LITTLE GRITTY LANE PANELS AND SUPER SLICK PANELS. THE BALL PATH WAS NICE AND CONSISENT AND NEVER SHOWED SIGNS OF ANY OVER/UNDER REACTIONS. ONE THING I DID FIND AFTER PLAYING THE SAME TRACK AREA ON THE SAME PAIR OF LANES AND TRANSITIONED TO THE POLISHED PIN UP DEFIANT I HAVE AND CONTINUED TO PLAY THE SAME AREA.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Roto Grip Rick


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: jrdiveman@msn.com 02/01/2012 20:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    198
Sport Shot Average    181
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 1/2 over 1/4 up
 
layout pin above ring finger 4 1/2x4x2 What a ball!!! I waited a week before I wrote this review because I just couldnt believe it! I normally roll about a 170 average on my 42 ft heavy oil house shot! Well with this ball no more ringing 7 pins!! Right out of the box first time I threw it 233! Next pratice session 254,220,198.the following pratice session 208, 198, 222. Then came league night 215, 193, 194 missed my mark by 1 board an left a couple of 7pins games two and three. You can see where this is going, this is the best long oil ball I have ever had. Miss by a board no problem comes roaring back to the pocket. I have rolled about 25 games with this ball and I'm luvin it!! As a left handed bowler, most of the time I have a line to myself, and the heavy oil was a problem, not anymore!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jrdiveman@msn.com


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: Dino 02/01/2012 09:33 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    230
Sport Shot Average    220
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
Defiant Ball Review.

I drilled this marvel with the pin in the center above the fingers with the CG in the center of my grip with the MB kicked out slightly. I use this drilling frequently for league as it tends to work well on my THS (Typical House Shot.) Using the box surface with no alterations I anxiously pulled it out of the bag for league night. I was pleasantly surprised at how stable this ball rolled mostly due to the core design. The longer I left the Defiant in the oil the harder it seemed to hit. With ample oil I have yet to shoot under 250 with this ball when I am able to use it. Sometimes, as with many high performance balls there is simply not enough oil to use it before it “burns up.” This has become my benchmark heavy oil ball. In summation, I strongly recommend this ball from intermediate to advanced players looking for a better look on heavy oiled/long pattern lane conditions.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Dino


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: davkarsports 01/30/2012 09:46 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Sport Shot Average    205
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
I had stayed away from Roto Grip balls for a while because the last two I had purchased (Mutant Cell, Mutant Pearl( performed great out of the box, but faded fast after about 50 or so tournament games.

Had this drilled with pin above ring finger and mass-bias slightly kicked right of thumb hole. Used it for the first time over the weekend in a tournament on Shark - and the ball makes a strong yet predictable response. It handled the midlane well and had plenty of energy left to beat up the pins in the backend.

I hope this ball doesn't fade fast like the others...if it continues to roll like this, though...I'll be singing it's praises for a while! Good job, Roto...


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by davkarsports


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: jeff_mersch 01/29/2012 17:04 ( stars)


 
Layout on the ball is dual angle layout 45x4.5x60 with a balance hole down.

I am a left handed tweener with a 325 rev rate.

This ball is the next great high performance ball from Roto Grip. This ball is very continuous on the backend. It really does not stop. It goes through the pins with ease. This ball is perfect for longer/heavier patterns. Even with the strong backend, this ball clears the front very well. I have used this ball on heavier house patterns and sport patterns.

I have tried this ball at multiple surfaces, and it has shown me that it is very versatile. This ball shines up well to get through the heads and save energy for maximum backend reaction. Even at 1000 grit, it still cleared the heads and continued on the backend.

This ball is a must have for your bag. Who doesn’t need a ball that will hook on anything?

Jeff Mersch
Roto Grip Amateur Staff
PBA Member


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by jeff_mersch


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: moody488 01/17/2012 10:28 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    183
Ball Speed    Fast
 
I've rolled quite a few balls for no older than I am but this the best carry I've ever had. It was an experimental drill layout that's worked beautifully. Continuous motion great carry but I will say this isn't a ball for people who lack control.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by moody488


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: John Brodersen 01/11/2012 13:00 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
PAP    5 1/4 Over
 
Ball specs – 15 lbs 2 oz, 2.86top weight, and 3 1/4-inch pin.

Using the dual angle method, the Defiant was drilled with a 4 1/4 inch pin distance, 75 degree drill angle and a 40 degree VAL angle. Using Strom’s drilling methodology the layout is 4 1/4 X 6 X 2 1/2 pin buffer. An X-hole was not needed. The surface was initially left OOB.

With a new cover stock formula (MicroBite), new core (Paragon), and OOB surface at 3000, the Defiant is Roto Grip’s most aggressive ball to date. If you have some hand or slower ball speed the Defiant will definitely need some oil in terms of length, volume or both. I initially threw the Defiant with the cover left at OOB and found it to read early on a 41 foot, 24 micro-liter house pattern. Even reading early the Defiant never stopped on the backend. I was very impressed with the tremendous hit and carry. I then hit the cover with Storm’s Reacta-Shine for the next outing. The cover seems very tunable and took the polish very well. (a polished Defiant looks great and would have great shelf appeal) The ball motion was very different on the same pattern. The Defiant became clean through the heads and had a much stronger move down lane. Hit and carry was again very impressive.

The Defiant is a very strong ball that has more overall hook than the Theory. The OOB cover will benefit speed dominate or low rev players or play well on oilier conditions. Don’t be afraid to add some polish for more length and a stronger backend move.

John Brodersen
RG amateur staff


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by John Brodersen


Roto Grip Defiant Reviewed By: xaviertuggerson 01/10/2012 00:33 ( stars)


 
i used the layout 2 6b medium flare and this ball is the definition of brute force when hitting the pocket. i shot one game with it and felt i wasnt worthy to throw it anymore. it was so great that i even plugged my critical thoery and gave it to my mom lol a must have for anyonne who takes the game of bowling seriously.. i will be making a vid for this

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by xaviertuggerson


Read all 37 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter