Go to DV8 Too Reckless »

Only show reviews for DV8 Too Reckless

Customer Reviews          Average: 5Write a Review    Read all 15 reviews

I Love It
 
100% (15 of 15)
I Like It
 
0% ( of 15)
It's Ok
 
0% ( of 15)
I Don't Like It
 
0% ( of 15)
I Hate It
 
0% ( of 15)

DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: Ormond pro shop manager 12/06/2011 17:20 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
DV8 Too Reckless is here and wow this one has a strong move in the backend. Too Reckless is great for medium to light lane conditions also for that tough pattern. The Too Reckless will be your favorite ball when you just need the ball to read the lanes and make a move in the backend that will not surprise you.

Ormond Pro Shop Manager
ormond@bowlingball.com


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Ormond pro shop manager


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: shaffely 01/17/2013 20:17 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
 
I moved to a new area in which all they have is houses with old wood lanes with guardian heads. All of my equipment was for synthetics so I purchased this ball with the idea of clearing the heads with strong backend action. As everyone knows lanes break down fast on wood, but this ball is amazingly versatile as the night wears on. If I want to play down and in the ball retains energy and hits hard, as the night wears on, I pitch and it revs up. I haven't liked a ball this much since the original X-Factor.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: bootwo2000 10/19/2012 16:08 ( stars)


 
This ball is absolutely one of the best balls I have thrown. I own storm and Lane 1 balls for the most part but good job dV8. This ball has great striking power and hooks at the right time(most important thing). I shoot this baby on a THS in league and am on the most improved bowler list since buying it. The high gloss polish gives the ball length and stores just the right amount of energy to hook to the pocket from any number of angles and still strike convincingly(not those old man crumble strikes im talkin explosive.) If you are a high rev bowler having trouble finding a ball that won't consistently break towards the head pin this is it. 5 stars for sure.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bootwo2000


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: hellraiser 10/13/2012 19:32 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
Sport Shot Average    195
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Tweener
 
i bought this ball on an online auction for 10 bucks that's right 10.00!!! this ball is just another great ball from DV8!! hits hard keep the pins low and send the messengers to take out that damn 10 pin!!! this is by far one of my favorite balls it is the first out of the bag on league night...WAY TO GO DV8

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by hellraiser


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: brunswick802 06/04/2012 20:07 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    228
Sport Shot Average    205-210
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Tweener
PAP    4 7/8" right
 
DV8 Too Reckless

Bowler’s Stats:
Speed: 18 mph
Rev Rate: 400-450 rpm
Axis Tilt: 10-12 degrees
Axis Rotation: 25-60 degrees

Layout:
40 degrees by 5.25” by 60 degrees

Purpose:
I absolutely love my two Versa-maxes for anything close to a medium pattern. I wanted the Too Reckless to compliment both of them in the same hook potential region of my bag, but with a more pronounced move off of the dry boards.

On the lanes:
PERFECT! Regardless of the pattern, I got exactly what I wanted and I couldn’t be happier. House shots, USBC Blue patterns, the USBC Nationals pattern, and others all saw approximately the same result. The Too Reckless ignored the heads (even after plenty of burn) and made a very convincing move off of the spot downlane. Through the pins, this ball performs like every other DV8 ball for me in that the pins stay low. The Too Reckless rolls so hard through the pins that it’s as if the ball actually digs into the pin deck. Anytime that deflection is minimized in this context is a major bonus. In comparison to the Versa-Max with a very similar drilling, the Too Reckless was about 1-2 boards stronger overall on all patterns and much more angular. I could simply make the move inside with my feet and project the ball to the same spot downlane. Both would respond to the friction at the same distance, just with the Too Reckless standing up harder and the Versa being more continuous in nature.

Typically, I don’t care much for the out of the box surface when polish is involved. This ball is an exception for me. Having the solid cover with that core keeps the ball from squirting past the breakpoint regardless of the polished surface. In addition, the out of the box polish gives plenty of skid through the heads. It’s a great feeling knowing that I can really hit on it, even with some burn, and it still save its energy for a sharp move.

Overall:
My overall impression of this ball is that the Too Reckless is a great medium oil ball with a very quick move off the friction. If you are looking for mid-range ball with all the backend response, then look no further. Get the big backend response without the big price tag.

Jared Wolf
Jonesboro, AR
Brunswick Advisory Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by brunswick802


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: nyhtor@gmail.com 04/17/2012 14:20 ( stars)


 
Got into bowling with a 10 pound, brown house ball. Mind you, I'm 22, and I was throwing a Right-Handed fingertip drilled house ball, with my left hand. I also threw it straight, no spin. I wanted to change this.

Many games of horrible scores from 75-140 being my highest, I decided to buy my own ball, and have it drilled for myself. I fully intended on learning how to roll a ball, with a spin, properly. I figured 14 lbs would be a good starting point, seeing as I'd only thrown a 10, and a 16, and the 16 just felt a bit, too much.

My average went up to 125-155. But it was terribly inconsistent, and I still base most of it on dumb luck. I just couldn't get the wrist action down. Mind you, this was after dozens of practice games.

My friend is rolling 180-210 averages, and he started just a little before me, but my game wasn't getting any better. I went online to look up tips, and noticed there were 2-handed bowlers. Naturally, I gave it a shot.

1st Game: 55. ..alright. Not so good. But it's the first time trying.
2nd game: 85. A little better.
3rd game: 105. Alright, progress in only 3 games! And it's over 100! Woohoo!
4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, 80-146. Not great.

Until last night. My arm was well rested, my concentration was on, I promised myself I wouldn't get frustrated at a bad shot, and just take it all in stride.

I bowled 4 strikes in a row, for the first time ever. I was ecstatic. I thought, wow, I might finally break a 200. Unfortunately, the next shot was a 6 spare. The an unlucky 7/10 split. 6 spare. 8 spare. 9 open.. only a strike would've saved the 200 game, but it wasn't mean to be. 7, and 2. I missed the 5 pin by a mouse whisker.

In my first month of bowling, to end with a 187, after weeks of different styles, and tips from everyone under the sun about what I was doing wrong. I finally found a ball and a play style that felt right.

This ball is FANTASTIC for beginners. I would highly recommend it.
Another buddy of mine also just bought one, but he's been bowling for years. So, coming from his standpoint, he's an advanced bowler with an average of 225, and uses the same ball.

It's just an all around fantastic ball. Make sure to clean it. :)


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: TFbowling300 03/24/2012 15:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    180
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Cranker
 
This is just another great ball by DV8. I have this ball and the HRR and love both of them. This ball goes down the lane so nicely no matter what the condition of the lane and has a STRONG backend. Dont let the performance level fool you this ball for me hooks very close to the HRR. I use this ball after hard games with HR and the lanes start to break down. That being said that doesnt mean I would have a problem getting it out first either, over all you have a great ball for any day or any lane conditions.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by TFbowling300


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: kylfagan@yahoo.com 03/19/2012 12:42 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    155
Ball Speed    Medium
 
This is my first ball so I may not be a great judge, but so far it is great. I've used it mostly in free play, but also in leagues and it's performed wonderfully in both.

I was taught to bowl by a two finger bowler so, of course, I did too. After about a month I felt like my abilities had peaked. I bought this ball with the intention of learning to bowl with my thumb, and it has made it very easy to adjust. I've only bowled about 20 games with it and I am already scoring higher than before.

After drilling the ball for me my pro shop operator immediately bought one for himself and loves it. This proves that this is a great ball for a beginner and for a more advanced player.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by kylfagan@yahoo.com


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: Doug DV8 03/17/2012 11:04 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Left Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    238
Sport Shot Average    212
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
I am a DV8 Staffer and I am left handed. The Too Reckless is such a great ball that this ball is my go too ball to start off with. I have drilled 2 of these and one pin up and 1 pin down. The surface on these ball are the pin up is right out of the box, and the pin down I hit the track with a light 2000. I use both of these ball quit a bit and if i get some carry down,or the oil goes away I will just go with the other one.

The pattern that I am reviewing is on the USBC Blue Pattern and on Synthetic Lanes. The center that I bowled at is Thunderbowl in Fort Wayne, IN. I played around 10 to 5 and a month ago I shot 300-806. This ball is great on Medium to Light oil patterns. This ball is also good on tough sport patterns. If my Hell Raiser Revenge is hooking to much I will go to the Too Reckless.

This will be a ball that you will start with on fresh shots. If you can get two of these I would recommend drilling one pin up, and one pin down. You can change the surfaces to make sure when one goes away you can go to the other one and don't loose carry.

I love this ball very much, and I will not be dissapointed with this ball! Thank you DV8 for coming out with just great balls!


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by Doug DV8


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: BigJ612 03/06/2012 09:40 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    190
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Stroker
 
This ball is a must have for any league bowler! It rolls smooth and clean down the lane with a wicked backend. Very easy to control, even if you miss your mark the Too Reckless won't leave u bad! Right out of the box I shot a 640!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: laserboypa 02/29/2012 09:31 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    220
Ball Speed    Fast
Style    Cranker
 
BALL SPECS
Pin Length: 3"
Ball Weight: 16 lbs
DRILL PATTERN

Dual Angle: 80 x 5" x 60
X Hole: None

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: Higher, between 370 and 410 rpm, aka Cranker
Ball Speed: 16.50 mph
PAP/Track: 5 3/8" over and 7/8" up with a high track

SURFACE PREP
Grit: Box (500 Siaair, Rough Buff, High Gloss Polish)
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polished

LANE CONDITION
Length: Multiple
Volume: Multiple
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): Multiple

BALL REACTION (out of 10)
Length: 8
Back End: 8
Overall Hook: 7
Midlane Read: 7
Breakpoint Shape: 8

Likes: How well it clears the heads
Dislikes: None

With the layout I chose for this ball I though it would be way too weak for the fresh or broken down conditions, but it allows me to play deeper when the lanes break down. This ball really gets down the lane and makes a strong move when reaching friction. It works well when the lanes break down and I need to get inside to wheel it. The Too Reckless is cleaner through the front part of the lane compared to the Reckless, and has a stronger backend reaction. It works good because it has a solid coverstock with polish which allows it to read the lane better than a pearl and doesn't skid past the breakpoint when there is carrydown or heavier oil. This ball has an even roll and doesn't jump left when reaching friction. It would be good for higher friction surfaces or 2nd shift leagues.

Brandon Hinderer
Brunswick Advisory Staff

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by laserboypa


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: Justabowler 02/27/2012 22:25 ( stars)


About the Bowler
Bowling Hand    Right Handed
Experience    Advanced (I have bowled in a league)
League Average    197
Sport Shot Average    185
Ball Speed    Medium
Style    Stroker
 
So I got this ball last week Thursday. I was a little afraid that this ball wouldn't hook for me since I don't put a whole lot of revs on the ball and that it was my first 15lb. (Went from 16lb to 15lb) I got it drilled for max hook, and I throw a down and in shot around the 7 board. This ball was amazing! I couldn't believe the backend I was getting, or even the carry. I left a couple 9pins, but whatever that's still a good shot. Out of the box I threw a 258, and I also threw a 279 with it a couple days later. On a THS my average with this ball is 225!!! I've never had a ball do this for me. With this ball I definatly do some Damn Good Bowling!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: bannachb 02/27/2012 21:35 ( stars)


 
DRILL PATTERN
65* x 4 ½” x 35* P3
X Hole: P3

BOWLER STYLE
Rev Rate: 525 – 550 RPM
Ball Speed: 20 MPH at Release
PAP/Trac: 5 ¼ x ¾ Up
Axis Rotation: 65*
Axis Tilt: 12*

SURFACE PREP
Grit: 500 Siaair Micro Pad; Rough Buff; High Gloss Polish
Type: (Matte, Polish, Sanded): Polish

LANE CONDITION
Length: 42 Ft.
Volume: 19 mL
Type (THS, Sport Pattern etc): USBC Blue 1
Surface Type: Old Wood
BALL REACTION

Length: Great Length

Back End: Strong Angular
Overall Hook: Length with very strong mid lane and angular move at the break point.
Midlane Read: Amazing
Breakpoint Shape: Angular

The Too Reckless is a great compliment to the original Reckless. The Too Reckless glides through the heads easily while still reading the mid lane strong. When it gets to the breakpoint it makes a very strong angular move. When the reaction shape of the Reckless is preferred but the original Reckless is burning up and not getting through the heads, the Too Reckless fills the gap. This ball allows you to open up the lanes when the heads are burning up and you need a ball to get to the break point. One negative about this ball that I have experienced is at the OOB finish, if the volume up front is too high, this ball has a tendency to squirt through the break point.

Likes: Clean through the heads, and the colors.

Dislikes: OOB finish is slightly squirty.


Bryan Bannach
DV8 Regional Staff Member

The opinions expressed are solely those of the writer and not of Brunswick Corporation.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by bannachb


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: JBoresch5 02/25/2012 18:04 ( stars)


 
The DV8 Too Reckless is a ball I feel everyone should have in their arsenal. It is one of the most versatile balls that I have ever thrown and can be thrown on almost any lane condition depending on the drilling and surface.

I have two of them, one with the pin under the ring finger and the other with the pin above the ring. The pin up Too Reckless has out of the box finish on it while the pin down ball I have used with both 2000 abralon and 1000 as well.

I have a med-high rev rate and have used this ball on a variety of patterns. Both balls roll very steady through the entire lane in both the midlane and the backends. The pin down Too Reckless rolls more aggressive in the midlane but remains continuous on the back. It is very easy to keep this ball around the pocket and it has helped me in college tournaments and other difficult patterns. I used this ball on longer patterns as well, such as 47 ft Paris, and was amazed on how this ball was able to read the lane so well.

My pin up Too Reckless is still continuous and gives me the extra push on the backend that I need when the lanes break down and dry up. I've been able to play many different lines and angles with this ball and it continues to impress me. Even with a pin up drilling and polish on the cover, the ball is not too skid-snappy and still displays a continuous motion in the midlane and the smooth arc on the back.

The versatility of this ball is phenomenal.


Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


DV8 Too Reckless Reviewed By: whats it to you 01/25/2012 09:40 ( stars)


 
this ball is amazing. i got it drilled to go longer down the lane. it really finishes. you can count the number of 10 pins i have left on one hand. shot 289 first game with it. seriously. everybody needs to get this ball!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
permalink      


    Other Products Reviewed by whats it to you


Read all 15 reviews




 



Security Verified Seal





    follow us on Twitter